We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent place to stay...”
Review of Elysium Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elysium Hotel
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I spend a week in a standard room at the Elysium and I found my time very enjoyable. The rooms are small, the bathroom incredibly so, but, they do the job and although the bed is quite hard I never had any issues sleeping.
I think the hotel earns it's star value on the quality of the service provided, from the welcome when you arrive to the bar staff and exceptionally friendly and through cleaning staff. If anything I found the poolside bar staff a little overbearing, they are either too attentive or they have been told that someone without an overpriced drink is a missed opportunity.
Complimentary buffet breakfast is very nice. The pool area is lovely as is the communal lounge area.
Many have complained about the hill climb to reach the hotel and I have to say it's not so bad, Mykonos is an island of hills so if you aren't comfortable with working out your leg muscles this may not be the holiday for you.
Unlike some hotel's Elysium does not arrange to pick you up at the airport, but you can get a cab for 10 euro. The hotel did provide us with a lift back to the airport to their credit.
Don't hire your quads via the hotel, the company (if it can be called that) they use are pretty shabby and our quads were barely road worthy, two broke down.
Overall the Elysium is a fine place to stay, and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kruger1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 318 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012

Three months ago I booked this hotel from their website. And I just received an email notifying me that they have cancelled my reservation and I should rebook at a rate that is DOUBLE what I originally booked. I called the hotel directly and received no apology.
Everyone on Tripadvisor is right - this hotel is very overpriced for some pretty unimpressive rooms. I have stayed at this hotel twice before - mostly because it is GAY and has a great location. And I would like to book it again. But I feel rather strongly right now that you can't overcharge and treat your customers poorly and expect to get away with it just because you're basically the only gay hotel option in town. And why do gay men settle for this mediocrity???

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Steves_Rickshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This hotel is over priced for what you get. Great view but you can get that by visiting the hotel at sunset without paying the high prices for an outdated room. The crowd is fun at happy hour so it is something you definitely should not miss. Good morning breakfast if you get up early.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I have stayed here several times. Each time I wonder why I come back, probably because it is the main gay hotel in Mykonos. The rooms are extremely basic and very expensive for what you get. The breakfast in the morning is decent, and cocktails at sunset is always nice. That said, there are plenty of other options that are much cheaper, including the Rochari down the street, and you can still come over to see the sun set. I doubt that I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not book one of the very small rooms. Friends did and they really regretted it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This gay hotel was a gem among all the hotels in Mykonos the view is amazing , the best you can have on the island to watch the amazing sunset with a cocktail and your best friends.
The room are very nice , not too big tho.
Some rooms have a nice little terrace also .
The team is great and friendly, there is a show everyday in the summer to entertain the massive gay crowed who come everyday to watch the sunset til late before going back into town to eat.
I loved his place and will go again for sure

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frenchdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I must say old rooms (outdated) for a 200 EUR per night , but on the other hand very friendly service from everyone at the hotel. Breakfast is good and adequate, good location near Mykonos Town. The best view of the island with excellent cocktails (overpriced) but obviously you are paying for the location and the show everyday during summer time around 8pm.

I will go back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GiancarloA330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Room : Complete, nice basket with soaps, toiletries, lubricant etc, minibar, great seaview from balcony, good cleaning. Negative points : Room is not to big, beds a little hard and small (i hate spiral matras), bathroom very small
Staff and service : GREAT We love them all
Pool and terras : I like the lounge sets and sunchairs. Poolbar with all kind of drinks, toilets very clean, nice pool To improve : Wirlpool is not heated To think about : I liked the music at the pool, my partner did like it less because he wanted to listen his own music of just no music
Food : Breakfast buffet is OK and enough; however a little more variation during the week would be appreciated; Negative : juices are kind of instant chemical stuff (Blehe)
Lunches and drinks at the pool are very good. However the prices for drinks are MUCH TO HIGH. This makes it very expensive to have a drink during the day at the pool and most guests buy their own drinks at the supermarket.

It is a steep climb from downtown to the hotel. But we did not mind. The view was more than a compensation :-)

All together we had a great stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Take care in july and August the sunset parties can be later and it can be more noise. So better the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank daveErwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mykonos Town
0.3 mi away
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Damianos Hotel
Damianos Hotel
#6 of 82 in Mykonos Town
708 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leto Hotel
Leto Hotel
#45 of 82 in Mykonos Town
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lithos by Spyros & Flora
Lithos by Spyros & Flora
#1 of 13 in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#24 of 82 in Mykonos Town
320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vencia Hotel
Vencia Hotel
#5 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysium Hotel

Address: Area, School of Fine Arts, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Mykonos Town
Price Range: $163 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elysium Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elysium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysium Hotel Mykonos Town
Elysium Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing