We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carbonaki, excellent choice”
Review of Hotel Carbonaki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Carbonaki
Ranked #37 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We have stayed at Carbonaki for 2 summers. We stayed in 2008 for the first time and liked it so much we stayed in 2010 as well. In it's price range it is an excellent hotel. The rooms have been redone. They are clean simple and the bathrooms are very nice. The hotel staff was very nice to us even allowing us to use their computer to go online. If you want a luxury resort this isn't the spot but if you want a great hotel, that is very clean, close to the bus station and in town this place is amazing. Not a single bad thing to say. It is perfect for those people who want to stay in town and take day trips to the beaches. It is much safer to do this than rent a scooter or ATV as the roads are narrow and very tricky. The only thing I didn't like is that from our first stay they had changed the swimming pool into a hot tub. Who needs a hot tub in Greece in 40 degree weather? Stayed at Golden Star in 2007 and much prefer Carbonaki and its even cheaper in high season.

Room Tip: We had room 120 for 3 people. Right on the first floor, easy for luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindyz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 347 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2011

This is the second time we stayed at the Carbonaki and again was not disappointed,.
From the owners to the support staff nothing was an issue and always attenditive to any of our needs. Owners have recruited very well
Anyone that wants to expierence the magic of Mykonos, this the Hotel to stay..
Very centrally located to all Bus/Bars/Cafes and nite clubs.
Even though its in town.. extremely quiet area, great for families/Couples and singles.

Rooms and cleaniless --- outstanding.

Room Tip: Get Room 131.. large balcony for litte get togethers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debraleemilos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Very comfortable and clean accommodations. Staff is extremely friendly and very helpful. Our ferry was canceled and they were really helpful assisting us with who to go to to find alternate transportation. We were really grateful for their help.

Only complaint is I think it's a little overpriced for what it is, but I guess that's what's you're going to get most places on Mykonos. But, when you read some of the things about other hotels, I will say it was well worth it for this trip.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

This pleasant traditional style hotel sits nestled amongst the narrow alleyways of the Mykonos waterfront.
If arriving by Ferry it is a trek along the waterfront and up through the alleyways to the hotel in the heat. I felt they should have met us off the ferry and at least helped with the bags. Make sure you have clear directions before arriving as it can be very confusing finding the hotel from the Ferry terminal.

We felt staff weren’t overly friendly and kept to themselves but were helpful and pleasant overall without going out of their way. On leaving they did carry our bags a distance up the alleyway for us to met our cab for the airport and this was a blessing as, due to the narrow streets, no vehicles can get near to this and many of the hotels in the waterfront area.
Our room was clean and simply decorated but quite small as was the bathroom. Other rooms may have been bigger but after 3 nights we were pleased to move on. For some reason( the hotel wasn’t full) we were put in one of the rooms overlooking the alleyway below and this was a nightmare with constant noise and talking rising up from passersby and from the convenience store next door which remained open all night.

This is as Mykonos is party town and there are people around all day and all night, often rowdy as they head to and from the nightclubs to the hotels beyond Carbonaki. The locals too have a habit of conversing loudly and no matter if it is 4pm or 4am. It drove us mad by the 3rd night.

Breakfast is offered at Carbonaki for Eur 10 and is ok but ask for hot eggs. Plenty of food options surround the hotel for meals. We would recommend this hotel but ask for a room away from the front of the hotel and the alleyway.

There is a spa pool (cold) but no swimming pool. This is a disappointment as the howling summer wind ( Mistral ?) makes the waterfront and only town beach very unpleasant to sit around and it would be good to retreat to a sheltered pool.

Mykonos often fills up with a surge of cruise ship tourists who flood the narrow shopping alleys.. best avoided by taking off to one of the sheltered beaches on the island easily reached by bus. Mykonos never sleeps, this can be a good or a bad thing depending on your needs.

Room Tip: Check out liklihood of rooom being noisy. Ask to move after 1st night and don't just put up with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank T0uringKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Realy into the town of Mykonos near everything!
I stayed at the Carbonaki Hotel for six days in June 2011.
Fantastic room ,clean and very helpful owner.Helpful staff and a fantastic jacuzzi!
"Theo and Evie, thank you for everything. I will be back in September !"

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

located in Myconos town. just down the way from Hotel Elena, very nice and friendly. has a nice small pool with cool water in it. looks like a lage hot tub.

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor with private lanai. but all rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notphaedaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The hotel is in a perfect location...walking distance to everything in town and a close bus ride to the beach. Panos, the manager, was wonderful! He was so helpful with honest recommendations for everything! We can't wait to come back and stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlestonmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Philippi Hotel
Philippi Hotel
#47 of 82 in Mykonos Town
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adonis Hotel
Adonis Hotel
#13 of 82 in Mykonos Town
687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galini Hotel
Galini Hotel
#66 of 82 in Mykonos Town
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#41 of 82 in Mykonos Town
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elena Hotel
Elena Hotel
#56 of 82 in Mykonos Town
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Semeli Hotel
Semeli Hotel
#12 of 82 in Mykonos Town
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carbonaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carbonaki

Address: 23 Panachradou, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Mykonos Town
#25 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range: $55 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carbonaki 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Mykonos town, Hotel Carbonaki is a popular, family run boutique hotel, offering delightful ambience blending with Mykonos domestic living experience. This traditional Mykonos styled boutique hotel is ideally situated in a quiet area of Mykonos Town, just a few steps from the town’s main attractions. The boutique hotel is also located within walking distance between the two main bus terminals in Mykonos town that serve all the major beaches. Renovated in 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Carbonaki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carbonaki Hotel Mykonos
Hotel Carbonaki Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing