We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most perfect vacation in the most amazing...”
other travelers have booked this property
Unique architecture / spectacular pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Unique architecture / spectacular pool
lounging areas with breathtaking views infinity lap pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Unique architecture / spectacular pool
lounging areas with breathtaking views
infinity lap pool
Comfortable lounging around the pool
Dinning room in white and wood , country elegance
fun and comfortable living room
kitchen
spacious bedrooms
Villa Drakothea on the cover of Town & Country Travel magazine
Villa Drakothea was featured in AD ITALIA
Madame Figaro featured the unique traditional architecture of villa Drakothea
Enjoying the pool and the unbelievable blues of the sky and water
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Mykonos Town, Mykonos, Cyclades, South Aegean

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mikecosta...
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most perfect vacation in the most amazing property we ever stayed!”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

if someone is looking for the most breathtaking spot on a beautiful Greek island , the friendliest and most helpful property owner and the best service for a dream vacation , then villa Drakothea is the villa to book .
WOW is the first impression when you get to the grounds of the villa! Beautiful views , secluded area, private and breathtaking . The villa is a dream and the pool is unreal .
Every little detail of this house is like you are in a fairytale . And to top all of this , the owner Antonis is an amazingly friendly host , that personally took care of us and answered all our questions and made sure that we have the best advise and guidance during our stay ! Our only regret is that we had only one week and we promised to ourselves that we come back for more .
Thank you Antonis and villa Drakothea for the best vacation ever, we are greatful and we miss you!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2018
Dear guest, thank you very much for the kind words and we are super happy that you had such a wonderful time . All of us in Drakothea we are trying our best to give not only a stay but an experience!
Thank you again and we will be very happy to see you back ANYTIME!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichePan
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great outside areas, but inside areas need a refresh!”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018

The outside areas of the villa are really fantastic with spectacular views, amazing infinity pool and a lot of different seating areas to enjoy the outdoor. However I don’t feel that the property deserves a 5 star rating, just because the inside of the villa feels a little bit moldy and really necessitates to be freshened up. Finally, there are really a lot of flies and mosquitoes to the point that is difficult to enjoy a meal outdoor. I would strongly recommend some larger scale pest control treatment of the villa to keep those insects away!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2018
Dear guest, if someone reads your review and then ALL other reviews of our property then they can immediately realize that there is something wrong . We have glowing reviews everywhere and from any other guest . Unfortunately you chose to do different . Against all our advise right from the first moment you and your family was constantly leaving exposed food and left overs EVERYWHERE in the property . Our cleaning team was finding breakfast food and left over from children food thrown even in the garden . We informed you very politely but the situation had not changed . We are on the country side and on an island so exposed food will attract flies . And pieces of food even in the walls of the villa ( and I mean inside and outside ) - I suppose from your child - do not mean that the villa needs freshen up , but most probably means that everyone needs to respect the place they stay a little more . WE are renting the villa for more than 15 years , 80% of our guests are repeaters , and it is a first time that we really felt that a guest of us did not respect the property the way they should and we are used too . Definitely a very unpleasant experience!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yumi B
Santa Barbara
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“TRUE WORK OF ART FOR THE SOUL & SENSES!”
Reviewed June 30, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

First of all, stay here if you love to connect with nature. It is all around you!
It's hands down of the most unique villas we have ever visited. It's a once in a lifetime experience to stay here. Here, the views of the dragon island are exceptional and other worldly and the villa just melds into the countryside.
We saw the photos and reviews online, but it's even more breathtaking and alluring in reality. It feels very Zen here.
The villa is sublimely decorated and well appointed. Each room is like a little rustic cultural corner with vintage, one-of-a- kind art, found objects, unique furniture, beautiful designs and colorful items that reflect Mykonos and the natural splendor of the island. Each day you will discover some new gem or treasure. There are even vintage and art books for you to enjoy.
This villa is the perfect combination of organic living yet with luxury touches. I am serious when I write that every window, wall and room is a perfect painting and photo.
Each room also has beautiful views and yes, it's all about the views and connection to nature. You look out to the stunning sea view with the dragon island in the distance. No houses are built below the villa, so it's just connect with the splendor of nature in all directions. The goats call to each other in the distance and you really feel like you have stepped into another world and time. Sunrise and sunsets are an ethereal experience from this place.
We absolutely felt we landed in a heavenly spot and my family of 5 was able to unwind and relax in comfort. Here, the stress does melt away, guaranteed. The infinity pool is amazing and relaxing. It's large enough to take a lap or two and there is a shallow end to just take in sun and stay cool in the heat or for younger children. It's so private and quiet. It's like you have the whole tip of the island to yourself, yet you are really just a short drive to anything you may need.
Antonis is the most welcoming and kind host and makes sure you are well taken care of. We absolutely adored him and are staying in touch. He greeted us at the airport with a warm and welcoming smile and hug and helped us meet our rental car pick up person. He also took us to buy groceries and supplies before reaching the villa. You can get anything you need in Ano Mera, just minutes from the villa. He takes time to really showed us around the house and explain things. It's also worth noting that Antonis lives nearby should you need him. He made reservations at the Skorpios beach club at Paraga, which was a beautiful experience with top amenities that we highly recommend you try. There is also Liasti Beach club which is closer to the house and it was very enjoyable and a tranquil more low key beach club.
Each room at this villa has comfortable double beds with mosquito nets. In June, the nets need to be used after dusk, but the mosquitos are very minor. Just shut doors and windows by evening time. Also, by the family citronella spray at the grocery store if you want to stay outdoors after dark. My husband and sons stayed outside in the lounging area every evening and enjoyed being outdoors at the villa. There is a gentle wind that helps keep you cool and comfortable all day and night. Each room has doors that open to decks and also a/c for your needs.
There is a nice kitchen with everything set up for cooking and enjoying yourself. Easy Nespresso for coffees each morning or you also have a regular espresso maker, too. Large refrigerator for groceries that you can buy in Ano Mera. Large high end range top that we used to make breakfasts and some low key lunches here. Went to Chora for our dinners and drinks most nights. Ano Mera also has many nice tavernas for a more relaxed and casual evening dining very close to the villa.
There are many areas to lounge and relax both indoors and outside.
There are 3 big bedrooms in the main house and 2 casitas off the main structure. Plenty of space here and beautiful natural rock scapes and gardens. Even the bathrooms are gorgeous and works of natural art with rock, art and light infused in the shower and walls. There are clean towels for the bathroom and pools. There is a wonderful housekeeper that comes daily. If you need laundry done, she can help you each day. We didn't have her prepare any meals for us, but I know she is available to do so, if you wish.
You will need a rental car to get here and it seems like you are driving off the edge of the island to get here, but it's all an easy drive and well worth it. Ano Mera was just a 7 minute drive and it has a great bakery, grocery store, farmers market, pharmacy, tavernas and boutique type shops. Ano Mera is small and quiet compared to Chora. Chora is only 15 minutes by car and there are parking lots that you pay and park for the evening just before the main town. No cars allowed in the main part of town, which is nice. Such a great place for nightlife, people watching and having fun. Shopping is everywhere. Many excellent restaurants and so many bars and clubs in Chora. So many great beach areas to enjoy on the island. We just fell in love with Mykonos and it's charm is undeniable. We also visited Santorini, which has outstanding Caldera and cliff house views, but we really preferred Mykonos. After leaving Villa Drakothea, we missed it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2018
Thank you so much for the kind words and detailed review which is also very informative for all guests . You are from now on a part of Drakothea's family and hopefully our paths will cross again soon !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islndgrlt...
Seattle, Washingon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A memory of a lifetime - a slice of heaven on earth”
Reviewed May 23, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My family and friends traveled to Mykonos and Santorini to celebrate my 50th birthday. Villa Drakothea was an absolute dream! The stunning architecture of the house, the unique and interesting interior design and most importantly, the hospitality of Antonis, Efi and George created a memory none of us will ever forget.

The view from the villa is par excellence to say the very least. The villa is nestled in amongst the hills of Mykonos just past the village of Ano Mera. This village becomes your center to buy groceries, wine and wonderful baked products from several bakeries. We had the blessing of vacationing on the same residential road where Dolce & Gabbana, Lady Gaga, Tom Hanks & Rita Wilson and Michael Star have homes. This area is secluded and gives you the sense that you're on the island alone with nothing obstructing your view to the blue waters of the Aegean Sea. You can see Dragon Island in front of you, while the silhouette of Ikaria (the island where mythological Icarus flew too near to the sun) hides on the horizon.

The grounds are immaculate. Whether one gets up early to greet the sun as it makes its triumphant appearance on the skyline or you experience the languid setting of the sun back into the cerulean seas, you’re in for a treat. The brilliant colors of the various plants to the cushions on the myriad of lounge areas beckons one to fully appreciate the atmosphere of the outdoor spaces. From every balcony there awaits a different perspective on the view – it’s as though this property is a getaway that calls to the inner child in all of us to explore all of the different nooks and crannies that are tucked away. The center piece of the outside is the mesmorizing infinity pool which beckons all to take a swim, even it's not warm enough yet.

Within the home, there are 3 simply adorned king size bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms. Again, each possessing its own personality and charm. The bathrooms are all well sized with a couple of them having dazzlingly colored glass pieces inset into the ceiling to provide a kaleidoscope of hues. The fourth bedroom is just outside of the kitchen door in a studio of its own which has a queen sized bed and ensuite bathroom for an even more secluded experience. Our friend enjoyed the privacy of having her own space. There is ample closet space in each bedroom and when the summer months become too warm, even for those who are sun worshippers, there are air conditioners in each room.

Climbing the stairs to the upper part of the villa brought back memories of my childhood as I pretended to live in a Mediterranean castle. The curved staircase hewn out of rock provides a whimsical and playful, yet majestic presence to this home.

The villa has an entertainment system for use (although we never once turned on the TV). We did, however, utilize the sound system which can be piped outdoors as well to enjoy whatever genre of music strikes your fancy. The lighting, both inside and out, is beautiful in the evenings. There are plenty of outlets within the home. We were able to easily accommodate 6 adults all utilizing the wifi on a consistent basis with relative ease of access
.
The kitchen is well stocked with dishes, glassware, cutlery, pots & pans, two refrigerators, microwave, dishwasher and stove. The contrast of the red in the kitchen simply makes it stand out against the pristine white backdrop of the rest of the home. We made ourselves quite at home in the kitchen and Efi taught me how to make my beloved Greek coffee each morning.

The dining area has table which can easily accommodate 9 for entertaining and on our last evening we put that to full use with an exquisite dinner prepared by our beautiful and incomparable Efi. There is a pastoral quality to the furniture in that room which provides a charming and openhearted invite to come and break bread together. We had many great conversations around that table. If you have the opportunity to enjoy a meal prepared by Efi, I wholeheartedly encourage you to do so. You will not be disappointed. We spoke about our culinary delight at her hands the entire trip. And her homemade spanakopita and Greek salad is out of this world!

If you take the time, you will find throughout the home trinkets, artifacts and items of interest which have a story behind them. There is a collection of books nestled into various nooks around the home for your reading leisure. Some of the artifacts were actually dug up from the land and thought to have been from a monastery which once stood on the property.

Antonis has taken great care to provide more than a vacation rental – he provides a superb experience to all who come here to spend precious time with loved ones. In fact, Antonis, in his own right is quite the celebrity on this island and is quite the Renaissance man. He is not only a property owner, but is an accomplished artist, having exhibited his art around the world. He is absolutely knowledgeable about almost anything you would want to know about the island and truly became our island resource for things we wanted to explore. Efi, who was more than our cook and housekeeper, has an understated elegance about her that welcomes you to make yourself at home. And, there’s George, the maintenance man – quiet with a hint of mischief of in his kind eyes.

Aside from the numerous accolades and achievements this property has received by assorted travel, architectural and financial magazines, there is something that distinguishes Villa Drakothea apart from those recognitions. It is the soul of this villa - the people! From the moment Antonis greeted us at the airport to Efi graciously escorting us to the port when it was time to leave for Santorini, we were taken care of with dignity, grace and unparalleled hospitality. These people became family to us on this trip. A house is just house without a soul – yet these three incredible human beings infuse this beautiful villa with a sense of peace, warmth, luxury and plenty of agape. We were simply blessed.

My words are anemic in describing the actual splendor of Villa Drakothea. All I can do is encourage you to take the journey of celebrating a moment in time at this sublime home – come create memories with your loved ones. You will not regret it.

To our newly adopted family members, Antonis, Efi and George - we look forward to seeing you again one day and we extend a loving and heartfelt EFXARISTO to you!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: It would be difficult to choose what we liked best as everything magnificent!
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim R
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Photos don't do justice to the actual view!”
Reviewed December 17, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We had a great week-long visit at Villa Drakothea, and left feeling we had stayed somewhere very special. The pictures are very representative of the house, but they still don't do justice to the view from the villa. Every bedroom has an ocean view, with a balcony. You literally wake up to the sun rising over the sea, islands in the distance. We felt like royalty!

The house has everything you need, along with a great support staff (George and Effie). They will help you with anything you need (car arrangements from the airport, dining suggestions, you name it). Effie made breakfast for us a few times, and a great Greek salad that we're still talking about. The beds were comfortable and better than most of the houses we've stayed at in Europe.

A few pointers:
- A car is a must to stay here. George met us at the airport and had a SUV rental ready. It's located on the quietest part of the island, away from the Mykonos craziness. With that being said, it's only a 15 minute drive to Elia beach and 20 minute drive to Mykonos town.
- The pool is just as amazing as it looks. Note that it isn't heated, but that didn't stop us form jumping in! When it gets hot, it's the perfect way to cool off.
- The house is perfect for large groups - 6-8 people. You may not want to leave the house once you get there. We would not recommend this place for less than 4-6 people (it was just two of us), as the house is very large. There were whole sections of the property we didn't see or use.
- We visited off season so know that our experience on Mykonos was very different than someone visiting in August, for example.
- You HAVE to stop at the bakery in Ano Mera - they had a ham/cheese croissant that was to die for.
- Lastly, contact the owner directly for the best rates, information, etc. You may not get the best deal through Airbnb or other travel sites.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view. Can't be beat. Seriously.
Liked least: If I had one request, an addition of a hot tub would really be amazing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 18, 2014
Jim , thank you for your kind words but mostly thank you for being such great guests . George and Effie they both speak very highly of you and Eric . I am very happy you are part of Drakothea family now :):) and we hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte...
New york
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Oh beautiful Villa Drakothea.....”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We rented this villa with friends amounting to 3 couples. It was absolutely breathtaking. The views from every bedroom are incredible. The house was custom built by the owner with extraordinary attention to detail of every inch of the home. Fun, whimsical, yet serene and beautiful, it was a delight to call this our home for 1 week. The owners are simply fabulous helpful in every way. And a lot of fun too. We rented a boat for the day and traveled the islands. We danced on the tables at a beach restaurant in town. The landscape is stunning. Had a wonderful first time in Mykonos.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 18, 2014
Thank you all for being such great guests and it was our pleasure to have such nice people to share our little heaven . Your zest for life still remains in Drakothea and we are happy that you are part of the family of guests now . We know that we will see you again somewhere in the world because we really enjoyed your company.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Drakothea is nothing less than perfection! The villa itself is loaded with character and luxury, and the location provides complete privacy with breathtaking views! The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the bathrooms are modern, yet designed to look rustic. The kitchen is well appointed; everything you need to prepare whatever you desire is available. The owner is wonderful! He is kind, gracious, and willing to help you in any way possible. In fact, we found him more of a reason to return than the home itself :-) If you are planning a trip to Mykonos, I can't recommend Drakothea enough! It truly IS heaven on earth!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the uniqueness of the home
Liked least: the fact that we had to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing