We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional value and views!”
Review of Madalena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madalena Hotel
Ranked #43 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Clean spacious rooms with good a/c., a short 10 min. walk downhill to the main area of Mykonos. Great breakfast and free mini bar included. Very nice pool onsite. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Airport pick up and drop off (ferry terminals also) and free wi-fi. Complimentary bottles of drinking water are provided. They will even make you bacon and eggs for breakfast! Superb value.

I suppose if you are older or disabled, getting back up the hill (a road) after a night in town may be a little taxing otherwise it doesn't get much better.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room on a higher level with a little table and chairs outside your front door. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinnpusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 319 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in early October as the last stay of our Greek island hopping trip. A lovely smallish hotel up a hill to the west of the main town. It is set on the hillside so the steps up to reception and many of the rooms are very steep but you get great views, we had help with our luggage both up and down. It takes about 15 minutes to walk from the centre of town but it is all uphill coming back. We managed it most times (and we are elderly and not that fit!) but got a taxi up once after visiting Delos, the charge was 3.5 Euros, the taxis go from the main square.

We were offered a choice of two rooms when we arrived, one larger one opposite reception but without private balcony and one a couple of levels up which was smaller but had a better shower (or so we were told) a better view and a private balcony. We chose the latter and were very pleased with our choice. The balcony had a table& two chairs and a stunning view. The room was a lovely twin room, beds with comfortable soft mattresses, feather duvets, flat screen TV, fridge, nice bright lighting, air conditioning, coffee maker with filter coffee etc provided, large bottles of water, lovely shower room with multi position shower jets, shower screen, large marble shower base, shaver socket, hairdryer, toiletries. Just to mention, if the electric goes off suddenly in your room (as our air conditioning did one night) check that the card key system card is triggering the power, ours suddenly stopped for no reason (power surge?)& only restarted when I pulled the card in and out. You are also told that the air conditioning won't work if the door or windows are open – very sensible system.

Our breakfast was included. Two types of cereal, ham, cheese, croissants, breads, fruit, eggs and bacon to order, fruit juice drinks, teas &coffee plus ‘specials’ each day. The best breakfast we were offered anywhere on our holiday. There are a few outside tables you can breakfast on plus an inside dining room.

The hotel had about a third full occupancy so it was very quiet. In all a lovely comfortable hotel with friendly staff & a great end to our holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

we had a very short stay at the end of Sept, The mini bus was there at the airport for our transfer which was most welcome. yes there are a lot of steps , and we did have help with the cases, worth the climb for the superb view, room was very nice , spacious airy, and free mini bar, We both wanted to take the bed with us onto our next 2 islands. such a treat to have a duvet in Greece, and comfy bed. Breakfast was good we had bacon and eggs served on the outside terrace, at night we strolled down to maria's restaurant just back from the beach which was very good, only thing that spoilt it was some very loud selfish Americans above us, not the hotels fault

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boeing747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

If you are looking for a very reasonably priced hotel with clean rooms in a great location - look no further. If you are expecting luxury - don't bother.

I stayed at the Madalena Hotel for 5 nights in late September 2012. Yes, it is a hike up the hill from town, but still easily walkable. Yes, there are many, many stairs to negotiate around the hotel - just keep in mind that the more steps you climb to your room, the better your view!

The rooms and baths are very clean with excellent quality linens and amenities. Each room has its own whisper-quiet A/C unit. Ask for a room with a "private" sea-view terrace, these will be the upper rooms which don't have the walk-by traffic like the ones closer to the office.

A full American breakfast was included - more than you could want. Elena and Anna were very helpful with maps and restaurant recomendations. (Thanks!) Their pool is small with very little room to sunbathe, but at least they have one!

For the price, I can't imagine any hotel better than the Madalena!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenaswright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

A great hotel with a very good location in the town of mykonos.
pros: Location,Price,Servise.
cons:When you come back from town ,there is a very steep climb to the hotel so you should be fit or with a taxi.
2.when reach the hotel the are a lot of stairs and no one to help you with the lugguage.
3.the pictures on the web site show a different reallity . the rooms seemed bigger the pool seemed bigger etc......

Room Tip: pay more for a superior room it is bigger and may look like in the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eyal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have just spent 4 days at this hotel. Booked online from London, so I wasn't sure about what to expect. I was so pleasantly surprised as soon as we got there. We had been travelling for nearly 2 months so when we arrived we were presented with a cold fresh orange juice while we waited for our bags. The hotel is fantastic, clean, bright and staff are wonderful. The rooms were very spacious for 3 people and each room has it's own little verandah to sit and enjoy the view over the mediteranean.
Breakfast was fantastic, best so far on our trip. The staff will also cook you eggs anyway and bacon. The mini bar was free and stocked daily which is amazing for any hotel.
The hotel itself was well maintained and clean. The beds are so comfy, pillows a little high and hard. Air con in all rooms but the power surges on the island is troublesome. So you need to turn the air con back on each time the power goes out.
This little hotel is just up the hill (500 paces) from the main town. Its fine going down but coming back up can be tough. Taxi is only 4 euros to get you back up if your feeling lazy.
Overall I absolutely love this place. It's a credit to the staff and management. Will come back if I come back to mykonos

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have a sea view and verandah, except for room 111. We had 115 and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel is a ten-fifteen minute walk from Mykonos town (so it is nice and quiet) with great views of the bay. You can have a relaxed beer with a view of the bay/town/windmills

The rooms, though comfortable, are a bit cramped.

They have a swimming pool and WiFi

Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
Thank anuragc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Petasos Town Hotel
Petasos Town Hotel
#40 of 82 in Mykonos Town
242 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 82 in Mykonos Town
320 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibiscus Boutique Hotel
Ibiscus Boutique Hotel
#37 of 82 in Mykonos Town
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Mykonos Beach
Hotel Mykonos Beach
#42 of 82 in Mykonos Town
413 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vienoula's Garden
Vienoula's Garden
#10 of 82 in Mykonos Town
467 reviews
0.6 mi away
Semeli Hotel
Semeli Hotel
#12 of 82 in Mykonos Town
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madalena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madalena Hotel

Address: PO Box 94, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Price Range: $117 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Madalena Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
hotel MADALENA-MYKONOS TOWNhotel's location: 280 meters or 1 block distance from the center of the city, just above the old port, overlooks the center the port the sea and neighboring islandsit has an out door pool and 26 deluxe sea view rooms and suiteslobby-bar-breakfast room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Madalena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madalena Hotel Mykonos Town
Madalena Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing