We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good view surrounding the old port”
Review of Madalena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madalena Hotel
Ranked #42 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Friendly hotel a few minutes away from the downtown where the main touristic activity is.
sufficiently far away from the town noises at night (but not away from the other customers of the hotel which think that they are alone here, whatever the time of the night).
Unfortunate that there is no restaurant inside the hotel, it's mandatory to walk down to the city center to have lunch and diner.

The goods in the mini-bar offered free during all the stay is an unusual attention, very useful (especially when you have just climbed back the long and steep street at midday).

The air con of the room 119 is noisy.
The quality of the view from the rooms is very inconstant depending of the room number, the one from our terrace was rather nice.

Note: the hotel shuttle from the airport is a white van used also by several other hotels, this means that this shuttle moves continuously between these hotels, the airport and the ferries harbour. It doesn't come specially for you and will go away without you if you don't have recognized it, mainly on the afternoon or in the evening because the afternoon's driver is a despicable man which treat you as ware (he doesn't hésitate to shout on you when he speaks to you, whereas he is on the phone and the van stereo is at the maximum level).
On the other hand, the morning driver is contrariwise especially punctual, kind and always ready to help you.

Trick for the diner:
I recommend the Antonini's restaurant terrace, located on the left background of the taxi station square at the old port, friendly family atmosphere, full card with soft price meals, served very quickly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilAngers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 319 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

I was just in Mykonos, Greece and stayed at Madalena Hotel. After reading the reviews on this site, I wasn't exactly sure what to expect. But, it far exceeded my expectations. First of all, every single room has a view of the ocean. Second, it is only a 5-7 minute walk to town. Third- and most important is the staff!! Elena will probably greet you upon arrival and is so incredibly nice and accommodating! She gave us great tips on where to go, what to see, and where to rent scooters from. Another woman who works there is Madalena- she is great!! And the hotel is named after her. She gave us great tips on the best beaches, restaurants and nightlife. It couldn't have been a better spot for us and when we are back in Mykonos, we will definitely stay there. Finally- the breakfast. Wow!! So much delicious food. Not at all like a continental breakfast in the US. They cook omelettes to order, not that you will need them with all of the other things they have. Scrambled eggs, omelettes, crepes, etc...delicious. In a word, Madalena is perfect!

Room Tip: There really are no bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gr8inNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for my first visit to Mykonos. I had searched the web for hotels and as there were so many i was not sure which to decide upon but eventually made my choice. I am so GLAD that i chose this hotel. It was close to the town ( although a fairly steep hill on the way back to the hotel) which meant that you could walk to the restaurants and shops. The room was nice and large and had a great view of the sea. The breakfast in the morning was basic BUT was absolutely tasty and served by nice and friendly staff. The staff overall were all very helpful with everything. The free internet and free mini bar made it extra special. I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Mykonos. ( the only negative would be that there was no beach close to the hotel which meant a bus ride or tax ride)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZiaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My wife and I just completed our Island hopping holiday with five nights at the Madalena (19.06.12 - 24.06.12). We cannot speak too highly of this hotel, its absolutely brilliant. Rooms are first class,with large and very comfortable beds, showers are walk in, modern, and spotlessley clean. Air con works quitely and efficiently, and our room had a mini bar/fridge which the hotel fill daily with free soft drinks and a couple of cans of beer. Free filter coffee maker also in room. Breakfast at the hotel comprises typical continental breakfast, but they will also happily cook you eggs bacon, scrambled eggs, omlettes etc, once again at no extra charge. Pool is small but perfectley fine for cooling off and we never had a problem getting a sun bed.
Anna the hotel/receptionist was a lovely sweet person who could'nt have been nicer, helping us with everything we asked for, and finding plenty of time to chat to us about our holiday, places to eat, visit etc etc . Sat by the pool one afternoon Anna arrived carrying a glass of ouzo for each of us just by way of a little gesture.
In summary, do stay at this hotel, you won't be dissapointed. We will go back for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms are reached by steep stairways so you need to be fit, but all have great views wherever you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonallary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I spent a very pleasant week at the Madalena Hotel in Mykonos in May 2012. The hotel is very close to the center of Mykonos (the old town and the old port), around 7 minutes walk. The room had a splendid view of the sea and it was clean. I was overwhelmed by the warmth of the host and their excellent service. I was given everything I asked for, and the breakfast was so healthy - I asked for it!
Also, the transportation to and from the airport is free. If you need it, make sure to ask for it.
I keep wonderful memories about my vacation in Mykonos at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband and I, and one other couple, spent two nights at Madalena Hotel in Mykonos, and it far exceeded our expectations! The location was perfect (a short - less than 10 min, easy walk into town), view was spectacular (all rooms have sea views) – we spent both nights out on the terrace watching the sunset, and the staff were friendly and always willing to answer our questions/help us plan out our days. Elena was especially helpful, as we exchanged many emails before our trip regarding the ferry schedules. Breakfast was included; Elena was happy to whip up omelettes for all four of us each morning, and deliver them to our table outside on the terrace. The rooms are very clean, comfortable, and spacious; and the fridge in the room was stocked with water, sodas, and beer – all complimentary! They also have a complimentary pick-up and drop-off service to and from the port. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Mykonos. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

the hotel is nicely located but rooms arent any good.
Rooms feel like hospital rooms, not nice at all. Very bad service. I asked for a taxi and was sent to town to catch one. very over priced for what it is.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elenamykonosisland, Director of Sales at Madalena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback
This is a great opportunity to advise all future visitors that Mykonos island has just 31 taxis, serving the island.
hotel madalena located 280 meters from the center of the city and about 450 meters from the taxi sq.
so sometimes if we keep calling 1 hour to get one we suggest that you do not waste your time waiting and just try your luck at the taxi sq.
bad taxi service in Mykonos is the main reason we provide free transportation by our buses on arrival and departure ( ports and airport of Mykonos).
bad taxi service is also the reason that Mykonos visitors hire scooters ,cars and 4 whellers.
about the room decoration : pictures of our rooms and description of hotel facilities are available on our website at www.madalena-mykonos.com
last and complete hotel renovation 2010
thank you for your time
the sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mykonos Town
0.6 mi away
Semeli Hotel
Semeli Hotel
#12 of 82 in Mykonos Town
624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Mykonos Hotel
Porto Mykonos Hotel
#59 of 82 in Mykonos Town
731 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mykonos View Hotel
Mykonos View Hotel
#23 of 82 in Mykonos Town
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibiscus Boutique Hotel
Ibiscus Boutique Hotel
#34 of 82 in Mykonos Town
67 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adonis Hotel
Adonis Hotel
#13 of 82 in Mykonos Town
687 reviews
0.8 mi away
Olia Hotel
Olia Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tourlos
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madalena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madalena Hotel

Address: PO Box 94, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Price Range: $113 - $1,084 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Madalena Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
hotel MADALENA-MYKONOS TOWNhotel's location: 280 meters or 1 block distance from the center of the city, just above the old port, overlooks the center the port the sea and neighboring islandsit has an out door pool and 26 deluxe sea view rooms and suiteslobby-bar-breakfast room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Madalena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madalena Hotel Mykonos Town
Madalena Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing