We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight hotel of our trip in Greece”
Review of Madalena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madalena Hotel
Ranked #43 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The Hotel madalena sits on a hill overlooking the beautiful Mykonos limani. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and extremely comfortable. The owners are friendly and helpful, the views from the balcony are to die for and they also serve a lovely breakfast. For a "budget" hotel it was a wonderful surprise, certainly worth the hill climb from town!

Room Tip: All have great views of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triantafilia60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elenamykonosisland, Director of Sales at Madalena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam
I do appreciate your time for this feedback and hope to give us the opportunity to welcome you at hotel madalena again

kind regards
the sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 319 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

My wife, daughter and son spent two nights at the Madalena Hotel during out recent trip to Greece, the staff was outstanding, truly going out of their way to make our experience a memorable one, giving information on restaurants, places to visit and general information about Greece and Mykonos. The vista from this hotel was outstanding, not sure you can find a better location to watch the sunset. If you enjoy a hearty breakfast this is also your place, this is no standard European buffet, these folks serve it up at your table and take egg orders to your specific liking. I look forward to my return and for an extended stay.

Room Tip: Top level for the best views of sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glady1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elenamykonosisland, Director of Sales at Madalena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam
I thank you very much for your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at hotel madalena

kind regards
the sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This hotel is warm and friendly, with large and immaculately clean rooms. I was actually the first person to stay there this holiday season, the staff could not have been nicer and gave me great service the whole weekend. Breakfast was included in the room and included fresh yogurt, home made crepes with chocolates and strawberry, Greek foods like spanakopita and omlettes with local cheeses and meats. I am a big eater and left food on the table each morning!

The hotel is a 5 minute walk from town, so if you want to access Mykonos town but not be in the middle of the crowds its perfect. Be warned that it is an uphill walk back, but not terribly exerting. Hotel had a small but nice pool and many sun decks with a direct view of the Aegean sunset. There are numerous restaurants close, and many are open late.

A few things ot be aware of - on Saturday night there is loud thumping music from the town - if you are a late sleeper you should bring ear plugs, with the AC on and windows shut it was not too bad for me. Also, 2 days is enough to see Mykonos town itself, if you want to see more of the island you should hire a car or scooter. Avoid the weekends if possible, as many cruise ships stop for the day and the romantic city streets become overwhelmed with tourists.

The hotel also offers complimentary pick up and drop off from the local airport. Nearby Delos island is well worth a visit, the boat does not operate on Mondays. Coswt is 17 euro plus 5 euro entry, well worth the price.

Room Tip: the nicest views are on the higher floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank photoguyZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elenamykonosisland, Director of Sales at Madalena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam
I honestly appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again at hotel madalena

kind regards
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I stayed here for the second time in 2011. With the renovations made since my first visit, the Madalena Hotel feels like luxury accommodation. Very clean, family feel service and extraordinary views from outside your room. Will definitely stay again and again

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daneno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elenamykonosisland, Director of Sales at Madalena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Dear Sir /Madam
thank you for your feedback
I hope to welcome you again at hotel madalena

kind regards
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We were in a group tour which always stays at quite budget places, so this one blew us away! It is fantastic, it's modern, spacious and has a great pool, amazing views and a lovely breakfast included. The bathroom was appointed well, I just wish I could've had the shower head on the wall - I got water everywhere! The bed was so comfortable I wanted to take it home. I would recommend trying to get one of the upper rooms so you get more of a view from your room, as we were a little lower and we didn't get big windows. In saying that, we didn't lack for lighting, in the room there was plenty of lighting that appeared 'natural'. I wouldn't hesitate staying here again, it was fantastic!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank islandlover39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elenamykonosisland, Director of Sales at Madalena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Dear Si/Madam
thank you for this review
I hope to welcome you at hotel madalena again

kind regards
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

After missing, due to weather, the departure of our cruise from Rome we decided to try and catch the ship in Mykonos. We got to Mykonos a day ahead of the ship and by blind luck had “Madalena” recommended to us as a reasonable place to spend the night and recoup. The reception we received and hospitality, from Madalena and Elena, were absolutely above and beyond. Our spotless room overlooked the town, and bay, and we were so impressed that it is our intention to return to this family run, modest sized, and recently renovated hotel as a destination in the near future. Thanks to “Madalena” for putting us in the right frame of mind to enjoy the rest of the cruise. We can’t believe it’s rated a 2 star; with its recent renovation it should be a solid 3 star at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room with bay view, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norskguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elenamykonosisland, Director of Sales at Madalena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Dear Madam
thank you very much for your time and this review
you are always very much welcome at hotel madalena

kind regards
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

This family-run hotel was awesome! I have never written a hotel review, but this hotel is worth it. We stayed here a few nights of our honeymoon, and Madalena and her mom, Elena were so welcoming. They were friendly, warm and kind-hearted. We really enjoyed our made-to-order breakfast and the beds were unbelievable. I happened to get food poisoning before we even got to the hotel and if there was ever a bed to have to lay in for 2 days, this would be it. We even got name of the bed manufacturer so that we could order them when we got back home. Also, ton of cable stations which we wouldn't normally care about - esp on our honeymoon - but being that I was sick, it really was an added perk. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay but mainly because we felt so welcome and comfortable. Madalena Hotel definitely has our recommendation . . . without a doubt!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yaldab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elenamykonosisland, Director of Sales at Madalena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam
thank you very much for your review
we would love to welcome you at hotel madalena again

kind regards
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Petasos Town Hotel
Petasos Town Hotel
#41 of 82 in Mykonos Town
242 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#24 of 82 in Mykonos Town
320 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibiscus Boutique Hotel
Ibiscus Boutique Hotel
#34 of 82 in Mykonos Town
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Mykonos Beach
Hotel Mykonos Beach
#42 of 82 in Mykonos Town
413 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vienoula's Garden
Vienoula's Garden
#10 of 82 in Mykonos Town
467 reviews
0.6 mi away
Semeli Hotel
Semeli Hotel
#12 of 82 in Mykonos Town
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madalena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madalena Hotel

Address: PO Box 94, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Price Range: $114 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Madalena Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
hotel MADALENA-MYKONOS TOWNhotel's location: 280 meters or 1 block distance from the center of the city, just above the old port, overlooks the center the port the sea and neighboring islandsit has an out door pool and 26 deluxe sea view rooms and suiteslobby-bar-breakfast room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Madalena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madalena Hotel Mykonos Town
Madalena Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing