We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect”
Review of Semeli Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Semeli Hotel
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Simply Perfect”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The entire staff of the hotel was beyond exceptional. From Pauline at the front desk to Julian who helped us with luggage and everything else imagineable, to the sweetest cleaning lady, they all treated us like family. this was my second time staying at the hotel and they far surpassed my expectations during the trip. The room was lovely, food is phenomenal, and all of their recommendations were perfect. I would recommend this hotel to all of my friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southerngreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    145
    33
    9
    6
See reviews for
59
297
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Semeli qualifies in every sense as a Boutique Hotel. It gives the feeling of being run by a family rather than an impersonal corporate. From the time you enter the quaint reception area, you are in homely surroundings.
The location is quiet and a short walk from through the narrow and cute walkway takes you to the Sea-front where there is a lot of activitiy especially on a Sunday.
The only problem we faced was in carrying luggage out of the Hotel, up the steep incline to the road where the Coach picks you. That apart, the experience is worth it.

Room Tip: Far from the crowds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12kris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I travel every year two - three times to Mykonos and always stay at the Semeli hotel, which is a lovely small boutique hotel. Very friendly employees, a nice breakfast buffet and if you choose first floor rooms nice view. The hotel itself offers lovey and nice designed rooms even though they are quite small. Make sure you book at least a superior room.

Room Tip: Book at least a superior room in the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hephaistionch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Have stayed here before and I am never disappointed. Rooms are clean, employees friendly and you can't beat their breakfasts! Checking in is easy & quick - as well as checking out. Bar by pool is great and bar staff welcoming. Just steps from shopping, restaurants, bars in Mykonos Town. This is a place I will always return. Highest recommendation.

Room Tip: I like the jr. suites - more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I don’t normally feel compelled to write a “book” about my stay at a hotel, but I have so many great things to say about the Semeli that there isn’t a brief way to share all of my wonderful experiences with this property. My wife and I visited the Semeli with my mom and dad, sister and her boyfriend to celebrate my mother’s birthday. We loved the Semeli! In fact, we loved it so much we cancelled our trip to Santorini (gasp) and extended our stay on Mykonos. We’ll just have to go back again and visit Santorini, after staying at the Semeli first, of course. By the end of our third day at the Semeli we began planning our next visit with even more family, a large group of our friends and are really looking forward to returning.

The hotel seemed to be a popular place to stay for families of multiple generations while on Mykonos as there were at least two other extended-family groups staying at the hotel while we were there, both much larger than ours. The hotel was also popular with couples, though we didn’t see anyone visiting with small children.

We did a lot of research on Trip Advisor for our hotel selection, and emailed with Ketty several times. Ketty was always helpful with the multitudes of changes we made for our several rooms. Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted by Giorgos & Eliza and the impeccable service began right then and there. Once we were checked in, Giorgos took each couple on a tour of the property and showed each of us to our rooms. The bags were promptly delivered by Manolis, the bellman and shuttle driver, by the time we arrived at the room. The hotel’s website doesn’t do the property justice. The views were spectacular and we were very impressed with our room as we were upgraded from the Junior Suite Spa to an Executive Suite Spa. My parents were in a Superior Room which was very nice and spacious with a balcony overlooking the pool with a great view of the sunset and of Mykonos (see photo).

The bathrooms were clean and elegant. I appreciated having a proper shower door instead of a shower curtain. The shower had a lot of options for water output including hand wand, jets, overhead, etc making it a nice touch. The hairdryer required the handle to be squeezed in order to operate it, which was a safety feature that made it a little challenging to style my wife’s hair. We didn’t ask at the front desk if there was another hair dryer to use, but based on the incredible service at the hotel it seems likely that there was.

All of our rooms were open, airy and nicely decorated. The doors and windows had a feature that allowed them to be cracked at the top to allow air to circulate in the room while still keeping the room secure. Of course there is AC but Mykonos has such great breezes it seemed a shame not to take advantage of them sometimes. The beds were *very* comfortable. The rooms had satellite TV with English news channels. The rooms were cleaned daily by two lovely women, Vanglao and Donna, who did an impeccable job and seemed to time their arrival to coincide with our varied daily departure times from the room.

This section of Mykonos is built on a hillside that slopes to the sea so the property does have varied levels connected by stairs. While the property has some handrails they’re not everywhere, so if you’re challenged with stairs I would suggest letting the hotel know in advance of your stay. My parents, both in their 80s, didn’t have problems with the stairs but others may.

We had breakfast, which was included with our room, on the restaurant’s patio each morning. The food was *wonderful* and it was a nice place to meet up with our family and plan the day. All of the restaurant staff were very accommodating, including Costantina who made us eggs to order, Katarina who brought our “American” coffee and hot water for tea and Periklis who gave us endless ice for the tea and prepared frappuccinos for my sister and her boyfriend. The breakfast had an excellent selection including Constantina’s eggs made to order, spanakopita, baklava, croissants, “toast” which is toasted ham and cheese sandwich, baked tomato, cheeses, salads, Greek style bruschetta, cereals, etc. Giorgos explained on our welcome tour that breakfast is made in-house each morning and is served until noon.

We also enjoyed the restaurant during a few of our afternoons and evenings. We found the menu to have a large selection and to be reasonably priced. George, Natasha and Gohana took excellent care of us. George spent time with my parents, taking them afternoon coffee in their room. He always made all of us feel very welcome when we came into the restaurant! We had lunch in the restaurant one afternoon with my parents and each of our meals was excellent and exquisitely prepared. My father enjoyed pasta while my mother and wife enjoyed lovely fish entrees. I enjoyed an excellent mushroom risotto. George’s wine recommendations were fantastic. In fact, we’ve begun a search for our favorite of the Semeli’s wines back here in the States.

When we decided to stay on Mykonos instead of heading to Santorini, the hotel staff was exceptionally accommodating in their efforts to help us. Pauline and Anastasia tried for 40 minutes to contact the airline for us. After they waited on hold for us for all of this time, they suggested we would be more successful making a quick trip to the airport and changing the tickets at the airline’s counter. Manolis was about to leave with the hotel shuttle to take some guests to the airport and volunteered to take me with them and wait while I checked on changing the tickets.

The Semeli is located only a short walk from town. In fact, the hotel is so close to town we were back and forth several times each day. We enjoyed time shopping on Matoyianni Street, which was described as the Rodeo Drive of Mykonos. The town’s narrow and winding streets just added to the allure of Mykonos. We also enjoyed many of the town’s restaurants, never encountering a bad meal experience. The sunset from Myknonos’ Little Venice area bars is an experience not to be missed! The night clubs are a great place to listen to music and spend time with friends *late* into the night. One evening while we were walking through the streets after dinner, Natasha from the Semeli restaurant saw us and suggested a wonderful club for us to try. We had a great time at the club until the early hours of the morning. Keep in mind Mykonos is a late night town where dinner is at 10-ish and clubs began to become crowed at midnight.

In preparing for our trip, which I used Tripadvisor for feedback on the various properties, I was disappointed to read reviews of several hotels where the reviewers were offended by the gay cliental holding hands or kissing. Mykonos caters to a wide variety of tourists, both straight and gay. If seeing men holding hands is upsetting I would suggest that Mykonos is not the island for you.

We were glad we chose the Semeli over other properties we looked at on Trip Advisor because we found the Semeli to be a warm and inviting, where the guests are made to feel as a part of the hotel’s family. I hope you found this lengthy review to be helpful in planning your visit to Mykonos.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SinjinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel it's self was stunning with beautifully decorated communal areas, the bedrooms were small but very lovely. An incredible location, only a five minute walk to the shore via the alley shopping, and a five minute walk to the bus station.
An amazing group of staff, all completely dedicated to ensuring your stay is pleasant.
Could have spent weeks there!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
128 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel has the best of both world's in terms of it's location. Close enough to Mykonos town to enjoy the restaurants & nightlife, but just on the outskirts so it's still quiet & tranquil despite it's proximity to town. It's down a thin pedestrianised walkway & next to an outdoor amphitheatre which is a landmark to help you find the hotel's location on local maps. The common areas, restaurant, bar & rooms are all exquisitely designed. It was a pleasure staying in an environment where everything to the last detail was carefully selected & thought about. There is a small kid's public playground below the pool area however they weren't that noisy or bothersome when we were there luckily.

The superior room we stayed in was beautiful & overlooked the pool area. The bed & pillows were so comfortable, had the best sleeps here. The wifi did wane in & out whilst in the room but other than that our stay was flawless. The staff were very friendly & welcoming, the breakfast was fantastic & the setting eating on the terrace overlooking the pool was a relaxing way to start each day. Well done to the staff for making our stay fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laguida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mykonos Town
0.3 mi away
Boheme
Boheme
#3 of 82 in Mykonos Town
331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,227 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kouros Hotel & Suites
Kouros Hotel & Suites
#8 of 82 in Mykonos Town
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vencia Hotel
Vencia Hotel
#7 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mykonos Bay Hotel
Mykonos Bay Hotel
#4 of 82 in Mykonos Town
890 reviews
2.1 mi away
Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Semeli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Semeli Hotel

Property: Semeli Hotel
Address: Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Mykonos Town
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Semeli Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be amazed to discover, while crossing the paved narrow street of our sophisticated 5 star hotel amongst the distinct Aegean style small white houses of Mykonos town, how perfectly the architecture melts into nature. At daylight, all Semeli hotel's colors, stones, bushes and trees lie in perfect harmony with the sea and the sky, making you feel like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Semeli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Semeli Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing