We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Buyer beware - this hotel is not on the beach as stated on the hotel website. Terrible location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apollonia Hotel & Resort
Ranked #59 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Buyer beware - this hotel is not on the beach as stated on the hotel website. Terrible location!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We used MeditterHoliday to book our trip to Greece. The agency chose this hotel because the website says it is on the beach. This is not the case. The beach is atleast 200 meters away down a windy hill. The view of the bay is nice if your high enough to see over the lines and abandoned lot in front of the hotel. I kindly requested the hotel manager let us move to a different hotel as this was not what I wanted. The hotel is very isolated with only 1 restaurant near. It's also a long walk to the bus stop. The manager acknowledge the hotel was not really on the beach but since you could see the beach (very far off) it should be acceptable. We ended up finding a room at the Mykonos Palace hotel which is amazing
and the staff if equally as amazing. I tried to negotiate with the manager to offer to pay for one night if he would not charge for the next two. I decided to start videoing our conversations and he threatened to call the police. He was very rude. Although the hotel is her beautiful, it is not a luxury hotel. The location is terrible and the website is an outright lie as to the location. Don't stay here unless you get a super good deal. It's not worth what they charged which was $350 per night. As of today, the hotel will only refund $400 to our agency which will not cover our current bill. Super sad that the hotel has chosen not to acknowledged the fraud and refund our money. Equally as upset with MediterraHolidays.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    47
    30
    11
    16
See reviews for
27
97
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed there 5 days in July 2014 - We highly recommend this hotel, a wonderful stylish place, with competent and charismatic personnel, a warm welcome at the arrival. Everything is just perfect, the rooms are clean, well kept, lovely terrace, excellent breakfast with an overwhelming view over the bay There are a few lovely beaches close by within walking distance.. Regular bus service in front of the hotel to Mykonos town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidenhead
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

I spent a long time trying to find the perfect hotel...small enough to not be too busy, big enough to be well catered for and overall at a good price. Apollonia Bay came in well under the price of nearby properties like the Grand but was a lovely little gem.

OK....it was not perfect but it did exactly what I wanted it too...provided typical Island hospitality, very clean and staff very friendly....I would definitely return.

Good points....Stratos the minibus driver is lovely and nothing was too much trouble for him. Anna and colleagues behind reception have the right mix of friendliness and professionalism.

Breakfast choice was ok...not amazing but was alright....staff always a bit over rushed but who cares....we can wait a while right...we are on our holidays

Bad point was the bar in the evening....never anyone on hand to get a drink....in the end we almost helped ourselves to a drink every night.

If you want to go anywhere do not rely on getting a taxi...there are only 30 on the island...the bus service is great....1.60Euro each way for adults....every 30mins or so and drops you almost at the door.

Local beach is good....Hippiefish restaurant is annoying and overpriced but ambience great.....Till (Gate in Greek) is less good but the staff are sooooo much better and way more friendly....that would be my preference

Room Tip: go for the high rooms...views are amazing and you get away from the smell of the restaurant extracto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We arrived late to check in and were thrilled to be upgraded without cost to a villa! Hotel driver Strados gets special mention for patiently waiting for our late sea ferry and for taking us to Mykonos Town and the airport! Hotel staff was very accommodating. We had two meals at the hotel which were good. And loved the location -- quiet but convenient. All in all a good stay. Beautiful decor and hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallas4some
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

TRANSFER
On arriving at Mykomos airport, we had to wait a while for the Transfer to the Hotel, but once on our way the journey was very short.
HOTEL
We had help with our suitcases, much needed as the hotel is on a slope. We were given, we think one of their best rooms, we booked a deluxe Jacuzzi twin, bed and breakfast, the balcony was very big, the room furniture quite basic and the shower was not very powerful but it did the job. The Jacuzzi was broken, so the hotel offered us half board as compensation, which was very good of them. Beds were comfortable, cleaned every day, Beach towels are provided by the hotel, so no need to pack one. The pool area is quite quiet, the pool was so warm, very clean, only a certain number of sun loungers around the pool, not enough if everyone wanted to chill there. They do not seem to have bar service around the pool, or food, this would earn them much more if they did, there is a bar but it is empty and you have to go to the inside bar to order drinks. Many holiday makers said they would have bought more drinks and bought food if it was available by the pool. All the staff at the reception area, were very very helpful, and the ladies very beautiful.
FOOD
I have dietary requirements due to health and allergies, the breakfast staff were very helpful in assisting me with my food, they even made fresh smoothies for me, thank you all.
Dinner was a little more challenging as there was not always fish available, the portions are very very large, a starter looks light a large main course. The waiter did at times have "Basil Faulty" traits, which was amusing, especially if certain food was off the menu, but overall they tried there best to come up with a dish I could eat. Room service is available too, so if you have a balcony with such a beautiful view of the sea then you have to do room service at least once. They do need some hanging facility on the balcony to dry off swimwear and beach towels.
BEACHES
The local beach is a couple of minutes walk across the road and down the hill, it is more rocky than sandy, the sea is hard to get into in some areas due to slippery rocks but there are sandbags in one area to walk on the get past these. Lovely sun loungers, at a price of course but work paying if you are chilling all day. Hippie fish is the restaurant on the beach, you can eat and/or drink day and night there, it is lovely. We travelled to most of the beaches on the island, there is something for everyone, For the Gay, young, loud and roundy crowd, Super Paradise and Paradise, for seclusion the beaches North of the island, we loved Panormas, as it had very large cushions as sun loungers, umbrellas and a table, which you do not pay for if you order drinks and or food, plus the waiting staff, male and female are very hot, eye candy for everyone.
LOCATION
there are not many restaurants to eat locally without renting a car/quad/bike, Mykonos town is about 4K away, worth a visit. The streets are full of delightful shops, bars, cafes, etc, too much to see in one night so worth arranging travel for minimum of 3 days. There is a Pelican, yes a Pelican that walks the streets of Mykonos, famous for it, he appears in some of the small restaurants, amazing sight. there are lots of wild cats on the island, they do seem to look after their cats, but unfortunately many get run over from the busy roads :( We saw some adorable kittens with their mother at the local mini market.
A very relaxing holiday with my best friend, but this is also a great hotel for couples as set in a romantic location. Mykonos town is very Gay, which was great for me as I am married so had no unwanted male attention. Different months brings differrent types of people. Must take my husband there now.

Room Tip: Room 304 Delux sea view, biggest balcony, excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Please dont use this hotel. Sleeping on the street is better then sleeping in this hotel. They dont understand basic english words . Most of the rooms lacks basic amneties. Go to the hotel if you ruin your holiday. I dont mind sleeping on the beach for the remaining nights. Lousy lousy customer service. Its not even a 3star forget their self proclaimed 5star

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mrj20mrj20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Lacking in SERVICE (other than the sweet lady, Maria, who works at the bar counter and sometimes during breakfast at the restaurant). Contrary to the description on its website, It's also lacking in many other hotel necessities such as complimentary water and bedroom slippers in the very basic room.

When asked for the restaurant menu, a gentlemen replied, "what do you want? We don't have a menu, but we have all types of pasta, chicken, steak, seafood..." It makes it inconvenient for guests to come up with their own food list.

Overall, we thought the only positive point to this hotel is its great sea view (which is a given in most hotels in the area) and Maria who's mentioned above.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Heysoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mykonos Town
2.4 mi away
Apanema Resort
Apanema Resort
#31 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
5.7 mi away
Archipelagos Hotel
Archipelagos Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kalo Livadi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bellissimo Resort
Bellissimo Resort
#6 of 12 in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Beach
Grand Beach
#19 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tharroe of Mykonos Hotel
Tharroe of Mykonos Hotel
#28 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
68.8 mi away
Andronikos Hotel
Andronikos Hotel
#4 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollonia Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollonia Hotel & Resort

Property: Apollonia Hotel & Resort
Address: P.O. Box 174, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollonia Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apollonia Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollonia Hotel And Resort
Apollonia Hotel Mykonos Town
Apollonia Hotel & Resort Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing