We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Mykonos Hotel
Ranked #56 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not good value for money”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We spent 5 weeks island hopping 8 Greek islands. Experienced many hotels, Porto Mykonos was the most expensive and the least impressive. It was a beautiful hotel, but lacked atmosphere, warmth, cold staff and totally over rated. So disappointing!

Room Tip: Poorly located balcony, not worth paying extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebritts56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    223
    102
    57
    53
See reviews for
81
381
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Αθήνα, Ελλάδα
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had a nice time there. The hotel is near the town -walking distance. The view is perfect. The breakfast is ok. We liked the balkoni with the sofas and we enjoed the decoration. Everyone from the staff was helpful. The hotel has also a parking. The only thing is that the relationship between the price and the service is not in correct balance. With this price we wanted something more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed Porto Mykonos very much. The hotel is very well located at the old port. The hotel is located at the edge of town, so it was very quiet, yet just a 5 minute walk to all the shops and restaurants in old port. The staff was very courteous. The breakfast was included in our room price and offerred a full buffet and excellent selection of food. The views are exceptional, over-looking over the old port of Mykonos. Please know, ferry boats (except to/from Santorini) arrive in the new port, so one must arrange for transportion to Porto Mykonos. Port Mykonos provided our pickup with room rate, however, charges 11 euro for return to new port.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel is nice, just 5 minutes walk from Remmezzo old bar and 10-15 minutes walk from Matoyannia center.

I liked the rooms inside but i did not like the bathroom. They could have made a better job provided the price they ask and what the competition offers in same range.

I did not like their accommodation because I booked the hotel the same day I arrived. I knew they had enough rooms to provide (both over the internet various sites and by phone) at same level and type to the one I booked, but they chose to accommodate us to a room less privileged with almost no view at all, at the far side and back of the hotel, not the good one. Also they were very strict to their rules and did not let us in before 14:00 which I believe was ridiculous as there were rooms available for the next days for the same type we booked.

One more thing was the cleaning service as the lady decided to knock at 10:00 am, unlock the door and enter the room and at that point I had to wake up and ask her to come back later.

Also we noticed a lot of gay couples, which was fine by us. After all the island is also gay friendly among other things and you have to love this aspect as well to visit it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in front and not on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The reception and breakfast area had stunning view of the mykonos port and the town centre. The hotels location is ideal as it takes only 10 minutes to reach the centre. Hotel wifi is provided free in the lobby/reception/breakfast area which was a plus.
There are 2-3 scooter/bike rental agencies (appx cost 25 euro per day) in 100 meter vicinity of this hotel and i would recommend travellers to hire a scooter or atv for their stay. It surely saved us a lot of money which we would have paid otherwise for the use of taxis (that dont have meter and charge you a one way fixed rate of 20-30 euros depending upon your destination)
Staff attitude was very warm, welcoming and friendly. They were ready to guide, suggest and reserve tables/entrys to discos/taxis/scuba diving times etc at our request.
Rooms were small, bathrooms were extremely small, but i guess thats how all the hotels are on this island. The cleaning service was good and efficient.
We just ate breakfast at the hotel as it was included in our room cost. The breakfast was nothing great with very less items on their menu.
The pool is small and pretty, although we did not use it and preferred going to the different beaches.
While reaching, airport to hotel took us 20 minutes and while leaving It just took us a 5 minute walk till the port to catch our high speed ferry to santorini.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madhurtodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Porto Mykonos Hotel is ideally located for a short walk into town.We stayed on a bed and breakfast so cant say much about the food suffice to say that the breakfast was very good with a good selection of different foods.
I would beg to differ with those who say that the staff were not courteous, we found that nothing was too much trouble for them, they went out of their way to make our stay as p[easant as possible.
The rooms are simply furnished but very comfortable with lovely views from the balcony.
If there is a down side it is that there are a lot of steps down to the road and promenade so it is not really suitable for the less mobile.
Some people complaining about the bathroom floor getting wet when they shower should have realised that the room is a wet room and the water drains away at two different points.
Overall a very pleasant holiday.

Room Tip: Book a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHappyHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I would not recommend this, was extremely disappointed with the standards and value for money. Breackfast was really poor, as was the condition of the room. The safe was damaged and could only be accessed with a key, electrics were dangerous, TV did not work, balcony was dangerous although the view and sun set were stunning.

Pool was ok, sun loungers fine, the location to he town very good.

All in all, will not be going back

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ethan336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
1.2 mi away
Tharroe of Mykonos Hotel
Tharroe of Mykonos Hotel
#22 of 82 in Mykonos Town
316 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ostraco Suites
Ostraco Suites
#31 of 82 in Mykonos Town
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Madalena Hotel
Madalena Hotel
#44 of 82 in Mykonos Town
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
San Antonio Summerland Hotel
San Antonio Summerland Hotel
#53 of 82 in Mykonos Town
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kouros Hotel & Suites
Kouros Hotel & Suites
#10 of 82 in Mykonos Town
792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mykonos View Hotel
Mykonos View Hotel
#20 of 82 in Mykonos Town
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mykonos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mykonos Hotel

Property: Porto Mykonos Hotel
Address: Mykonos Island, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Mykonos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Mykonos Hotel boasts the most ideal location in the town of Mykonos, overlooking the quiet pace of the Port and the dark colors of the sea through the rooms' windows and balconies. The charm of the Cyclades and the lifestyle of Mykonos are combined with the serenity of a privileged location, just a short stroll away from Mykonos town. The hotel's sea view pool offers magnificent views for sunbathers and, after sunset, it is lit with candles and sparkling lights from town that evidence the active nightlife at the short distance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Mykonos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Hotel Mykonos
Porto Mykonos Hotel Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing