We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION, PRICE, SERVICE did I mention LOCATION?”
Review of Matogianni Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Matogianni Hotel
Ranked #21 of 66 Mykonos Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have been to Mykonos over a half dozen time its an Island that must be experienced words can not do it justice. Last summer we stumbled upon this little JEM of a B&B after our initial reservation at a larger hotel had not been properly documented on their "hand written with a pencil" reservation system. (another tragic story). But fortunately, We stopped for a Freddo at White bar on Matoyianni street luggage and all. Where we were politely asked by the waitress (I think her name was Emily) if we are here to check in? Well at that point we asked where the hotel was? She said just in the back of the cafe. The rest is history LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!! Steps to the hot spots in the Island, the best clubs,the best lounges, the best bars the best restaurants are all STEPS away!!! No more waiting in a 2 hour lineups for a TAXI at 6 am!! NO more waiting for the (Sardine) Bus with thousands of teenagers at Paradise beach, We where in the centre of everything!!

Fortunately for us they had the only in the basement rooms available because the rest of the hotel in High season was obviously fully booked. But they were stylishly renovated, super clean and quiet which was a surprise for being so close to all the action. The price for the Island was super cheap I guess cause we were in the basement. The cleaning ladies did an amazing job as they would even pick up our mess of clothes and conveniently fold it for us and place it on our bed (we gave them a tip the next day!!) :) The rooms are a tight, but your in Mykonos if your planning on staying in your hotel room in Mykonos don't waist your time going to Mykonos, Mykonos is not for you!! Go to Kimolos or folegandros or something like that!

Those who complain about this place really haven't experienced mykonos and how many bad BB and hotels their are on this Island. People its not the Hilton so don't except it to be, if you want Hilton amenities go pay 400 euros a night. Its Renovated and super clean and super friendly, and the Walking score out of 100 is 1,000,000

I would DEFINATELY stay her again and actually its the only place I will stay Best Bang for my Buck!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank gnts99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Matogianni Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 104 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

We went to Mykonos for the first time in July and we stayed at this hotel there where 4 us traveling and we booked 2 rooms, We where very happy with this hotel the rooms where so clean and the cleaners really kept well with it all. We had go to the hotel a few hours early and they let us leave are bags in the lobby and it was safe.

The aircon worked really well and we had no dramas at all at this hotel and the location is really great it was a bit hard to find at first as its in a little nice alleyway. For the price you can not go wrong here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spit_sp2385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

The staff are very nice and helpful
The room is very clean
The furniture is modern and new
The room is very cute
Wifi in the lobby
Located in the middle of the town which I find perfect however when you sleep you may be disturbed by some noise of people walking by the hotel. I personally find no problem in that
I definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KHB90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Stayed there last summer,
Great hotel in a superb location and not the most expensive...
Just a step away from all the pubs and clubs
The 2 minuses would be the breakfast not a great choice but still nice and no wi-fi in the room.
Will definately go back there again this summer.

Room Tip: email the hotel with your requirements first, they are very helpful
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pierro_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

The hotel can be divided in two parts: the part with the "ok" rooms and the other part with the terrible rooms in the basement. Unfortunately for us we got a room in the basement. the room was tiny, there was only a tiny window, there was no air-condition and there was no refrigerator either. And we are talking about Mykonos, Greece in the summer time where the weather is hot.

In my opinion, this kind of rooms and this kind of hotels are responsible for the bad image and reputation of my country and the type of tourism it offers. I was totally disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Y0rg0sK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Could not believe this is only a 2 star hotel, I've stayed at 4 star hotels that were not as nice as this.

The best location, literally in the heart of Mykonos, with everything at your doorstep.

Very friendly and helpful staff, that will always look up and greet you with a welcoming smile no matter what that are doing.

We extended our honeymoon by 3 days with no dramas at all. The staff helped with recomendations on day trips and planning of the rest of the holiday.

The free wi-fi worked from our balcony whiched we loved, excellent water pressure in the shower.

Rooms are larger than we had expected.

The hotel is very old but has been completely renovated inside and out.

Sound and light proof balcony doors allow for a good nights sleep.

Would defiantly recommend to anyone and look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rob6980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: le stanze al piano superiore
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gigi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Philippi Hotel
Philippi Hotel
#51 of 82 in Mykonos Town
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
#14 of 82 in Mykonos Town
675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Despotiko Hotel Mykonos
Despotiko Hotel Mykonos
#63 of 82 in Mykonos Town
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Semeli Hotel
Semeli Hotel
#12 of 82 in Mykonos Town
601 reviews
1.0 mi away
Milena Hotel
Milena Hotel
#17 of 82 in Mykonos Town
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matogianni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matogianni Hotel

Address: Matogianni, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Mykonos Town
Price Range: $40 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Matogianni Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Matogianni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matogianni Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing