We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks buzzy”
Review of Bakalo

Bakalo
Ranked #18 of 215 Restaurants in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Newly born Greek Eatery in downtown Mykonos, Bakaló is a casual chic diner with retro decorative touches reminiscent of a Greek bistro of a bygone era but with modern flair. Its menu is a tribute to traditional Greek home cooking and is prepared using only fresh local ingredients; its friendly service and prices make it ideal for alfresco dining and people watching.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Looks buzzy”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We did not eat here but sat next to the restaurant and it was busy and buzzy. Food looked good and had lo'ts of table for two, ideal for couples. Will eat here at some point during the holiday.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsClark57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    462
    203
    80
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Try the beef stew and amber jack is”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Both the beef stew and amberjack which was recommended to us was very good. The salad that came with the amber jack wasn't to our liking but the tastiness of the fish made up for it. Would go to this place again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HADD_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
194 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“High End, Pricey Cuisine in Mykonos Town”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I ate at Bakalo last night. It was packed. The person who greeted us was enthusiastic and found a table for us right away. He was very friendly and explained the menu in detail. If you prefer privacy, this might not be the place for you, since patrons sit, cheek by jowl, throughout the place. The muscular, bearded fellow who took our order was wonderful, made some recommendations and then left us to decide. In the interim, a simple "hello" to our neighbors ended up being a companionable dinner conversation; we were literally sitting in each other's laps, as the tables are quite close together.

We ordered wine. In all of my years of travel never have I seen a smaller order of wine for 6 Euros. The bottle of water was 4 Euros and they charged us for three minuscule containers of wine, even though we only got 2.

We ordered the Cycladic cheese dumplings with tomato and lemon relish; a rather small order for the money. We thought them to be OK, but not a lot of flavor if it weren't for the relishes. The variety of spreads was nice; we got eggplant salad, Mykonian spicy cheese and pepper spread,
chickpea spread, tatziki (yogurt and cucumber salad with garlic) and fish roe spread. For all these, we got TWO crackers. If it were not for the bread (you pay for bread here, 5 Euros for the bread) we bought, we would have had almost nothing to spread the spreads on. For the main entree, we ordered the beef stew with thyme and mavrodafne sauce; it was served with delicious fried potatoes. This was the crowning glory of our meal.

Overall, we enjoyed the food but felt a bit taken. We got our entree before the appetizers and they made such a fuss about making this mistake, I thought they might buy us a round of wine instead of charging us for a round we never got.

Lesson learned, REVIEW YOUR CHECK before paying it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wpdesousa-mauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced....”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

and in Mykonos that really is saying something!!

Don't get me wrong food & service were good but compared with other equally good places and considering the relatively simple food we ordered - meatballs & chicken souvlaki & fries + drinks & wine - 100 euros for dinner for 2 just feels a little hard to swallow (no pun intended!!)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“We were not disappointed...”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Every course left us very satisfied. Almost made us want to lick the plate. :-)

The service was great along with the atmosphere. A don't miss in Mykonos.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gaylen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakalo also viewed

Mykonos Town, Mykonos
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 

Been to Bakalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing