We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little restaurant just outsite the town”

Maria's Traditional Restaurant
Ranked #103 of 216 Restaurants in Mykonos Town
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant just outsite the town”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

After a good walk in town this restaurant is located just near the port. We wanted vegetarian food and were delighted to find authentic Greek option. We had stuffed vine leaf and it was very good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashish_Gaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    68
    27
    9
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Pretty setting, away from the tourist parade.”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

A wonderfully pretty setting, a block away from the waterfront tourist jams. Quiet, relaxing, and very fairly priced. A great respite from the waterfront craziness, yet an easy walk to the whole center of the city. Very, very iconically "mykonos".

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mulltiflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Astoundingly rude”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We found this spot, and thought it would be a lovely place to stop and enjoy a drink and a few appetizers in the afternoon, The waiter was so astoundingly rude and dismissive to us that we ended up telling him to forget it, and we left. So much for Greek hospitality!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We found this restaurant hidden in Mykonos town and couldn't wait to come back later in our holiday to try it after reading the reviews and it looked so pretty. Sadly we were very disappointed for the following reasons;
Toilets are awful
Taramasalata is probably the worst we've ever tasted
Terrible wine
We didn't bother ordering anything else as to be honest we just couldn't wait to leave, so we headed down to Kavos restaurant to enjoy the rest of our lunch with them.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beach261211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Surprised by other reviews”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Yes it's a little tucked away. The food was good but certainly nothing special. My husband had shrimp, only 4 on the plate, I had the eggplant special, which was basically eggplant, tomato and a little cheese so not so special. There was only 1 waiter and it was busy. He did an excellent job and was friendly. I also had a cappuccino. This tasted a little different so asked what it was. He then showed me a jar of Nescafé Cappuccino mix in a jar. Felt a little ripped off. This restaurant was recommended and it was pleasant enough but im surprised by all the good reviews. It was average!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SunnyDebW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria's Traditional Restaurant also viewed

Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 

Been to Maria's Traditional Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing