We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic, relaxing, excellent steamed dumplings.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Ginger - CLOSED

Blue Ginger
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Romantic, relaxing, excellent steamed dumplings.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Went to Blue Ginger as it looked welcoming, situated across the road from our hotel. Definitely worth the walk up from Mykonos town. Fantastic view of the town and sunset. Food was delicious, service excellent. Very chatty owner. Steamed dumplings were very good as was the Thai curry. Thoroughly recommend.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BermudaDuffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    21
    4
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The rudest owner in Mykonos!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My family and I visited the restaurant 2 days ago as we fancied some oriental food abd had read the reviews on here.
The food was good, however the owner's rude attitude took the shine off the experience! It is not a child friendly place.We requested the vacant round table only to be told it was reserved & we saw that it remained vacant all night! The owner rushed us into ordering the main course & once our party of 8 had settled the bill he wanted us out.Also although the restaurant provides indian options on their menu, coming from an indian catering family, we have to say the indian options were poor and flavourless!
On the whole the food was good, the owners attitude and service really let this establishment down!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank opelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Interesting choice for Thai restaurant”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We visited the restaurant for dinner. The location is nice, with a panoramic view. The ambience is pleasant too, discrete lightning and careful table setup. There is a grand variety of options in the menu and the prices are not exaggerated.
As for the order, there was a mistake in the order of the salad but the staff handled it well and both salads were tasty. The specific impression of the main plates was that pork was a bit unsalty and the lamp not so tender but overall as plates they were good (caution with the "spicy" question - medium means rather spicy for a non spicy lover).
In general the visit was satisfying and it is recommendable option for a Thai-Chinese restaurant in Mykonos.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meredith54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamáki, Attiki, Greece
2 reviews
“BLUE GINGER”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

What a surprise to find a gem like this in Mykonos.
Excellent food with nice views .
Management friendly and accommodating every time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilias P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mégara, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Food - Great Veiw”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

It was a great experience. The view was breathtaking. Especially during the sunset. We were seated and after we ordered our food was at our table less than 10 minutes.
The food was heavenly. The staff very professional. ...And what can a say about the cook..he cooks masterpieces...Will go again for sure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ginger also viewed

Mykonos Town, Mykonos
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing