We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best to discover Mykonos....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
PortoBello Boutique Hotel
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
357 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Best to discover Mykonos....”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

A beautifully restored residence in the city centre of Mykonos just next to everything and a walking distance from everything . to make it as usual short....spacy studios and apparts rooms, great sea views ...from old port to little venice and windmills ......excellent staff and helpful , Ionna Anna and Eva are great Host and always helpful with their recommendations and suggestions ....local authentic breakfast from the town specialities ... all was perfect ...will come again....for sure

Room Tip: sea view rooms and suites are the best ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    47
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
170
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We lucked out in finding a room at this hotel since we left our plans to the last minute and so I was not expecting much but I could not have been more wrong. So many things about this place were enjoyable:
- Friendly staff and service from Juana, Eva and the rest of the team. Every one of the staff were helpful, welcoming and highly capable.
- I decided to extend my stay for two days at the last minute and they managed to find me a room at another (much lesser) hotel at the peak of the high season.
- Minor issues with the room were dealt swiftly and effectively.
- The location is steps to the town and this is very important if you're staying up late in the town and don't want to have to drive around this small island with dark roads in the middle of the night.
- The quality of the rooms was excellent and apparently recently refreshed. The view from my sea view room was brilliant and my only regret here is that I did not spend much time in this one bedroom suite.
- The bed was very comfortable for recovering after exhausting active days.

I would easily stay here again when in Mykonos whether I had other options or not. It is perfect if you don't need extensive hotel facilities as we were on the beaches or in town most of the day. Only the villa rooms have access to a small but charming pool. We did have one villa room but never tried out the pool.

Room Tip: Seaview options are the best in my opinion. Since the hotel is at the top of the hill overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pendolino77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Great service, modern rooms, good breakfast as well as advice from staff. Is on the main road so although it is on outer part of town, if you are lucky or smart enough to get a taxi you will not have to lug your belongings far.

Paranga beach is excellent!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manOFmanhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is a review of our 3-night stay at the Portobello. While the hotel was adequate, we would not stay here again nor would we recommend it to others.

The hotel’s pre-check-in email suggests that while taxis are scarce, it is possible to find one. Being our first time in Mykonos, we were unaware that we would waste hours upon arrival trying to find a taxi for the short drive to the hotel. The Portobello should have been much clearer in its pre-check-in email urging guests to use its shuttle instead. Originally we were dissuaded from using the shuttle due to its high cost (20 euros per room for a one-way- trip) but unfortunately, one must submit to the scam or else walk 4km uphill next to high-speed traffic.

While most of the staff were very friendly and helpful in suggesting local restaurants and nightlife, our overall impression of the hotel was tainted by one receptionist’s consistently negative attitude. For reference, she is a woman with short-cropped blond hair who we suggest avoiding at all costs.

First, after we remarked that it took 2 hours to get a taxi, this receptionist did not seem to care; in fact, she became combative and blamed us for not obeying the hotel’s email to book its overpriced shuttle.

Next, after we were in our room for all of 5 minutes and saw that a window would not close properly, the same woman arrived to our room — clearly irritated that we had dared to ask for help — and blamed us for breaking the window. I believe her exact words were, “It’s not broken, it’s just not working properly.” Huh?? Thankfully, the issue was fixed the next morning.

The hotel also seems to have questionable relationships with tourist companies in Mykonos. The receptionist offered to book an ATV rental for us (a must if you want to explore the island), and then arranged a sketchy guy, from a company called George’s, who tried to scam us. He said that the hotel had promised that we would pay a particular rate which we had not agreed to (nor even heard about).

As for the hotel’s amenities and decor: very nicely appointed overall, and in line with the high nightly rate. Nice rainforest shower in the bathroom and beautiful outdoor common area and cafe overlooking the the town and sea. Great for watching the sunset. Our room was small but adequate for our needs. Unfortunately the bed was uncomfortable. The mattress was hard and the sheets had a weird, indescribably off-putting texture. Free WiFi was promised for every room but usually did not work (or was very slow when it did) even though our room was on the first floor next to the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank S1735XMscottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Excellent stay, the hotel is really recent and the service was great. Room is clean and the reception was really nice. Ideally located in Mykonos, you can access by foot (5 min walk) to the shops and restaurants in the center. They have a parking to park the car in the hotel, and a luggage valet is helping you with the luggages. Really nice view from the restaurant (place where you take the breakfast), especially at sunset.
They also help me the rent a car which pick me at the airport and drop me at the port. This was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ade15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Hotel is located very high with great views of Mykonos. Especially sunset is really stunning at this hotel. You can easily reach the shopping areas and restaurants by walking in 5 minutes.Rooms are very clean and functional. However beds aren't comfortable and narrow. Breakfast is nice .I want to say " Thank you so much " to Mrs.Eva because she was very nice and helpful , she was like a shining star in this hotel for trying to make everybody feel comfortable and has very helpful recommendations for beaches , restaurants and kids activities. But Mrs.Anna at reception isn't nice and she screamed to my young boy when he was asking something. This kind of persons shouldn't be at hotel jobs where is kindness and being helpful very important in today's high competitions hotel's industry. Other than this bad experience with Anna , everything was nice with this boutique hotel .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunwatcher3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this boutique hotel while in Mykonos during the month of June and we absolutely loved our two story suite with access to the pool which was shared with another suite so had wonderful privacy. The view was beautiful and the hotel staff was very pleasant and responsive to all of our needs. The breakfast was very nice each day with a stunning view over the town. It particularly looked beautiful at dusk. Easy access to the town. On foot it can be challenging as there are many steps to climb down and then back up at the end of the day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank margaret c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.7 mi away
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
#13 of 82 in Mykonos Town
634 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boheme
Boheme
#3 of 82 in Mykonos Town
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mykonos Bay Hotel
Mykonos Bay Hotel
#5 of 82 in Mykonos Town
893 reviews
0.2 mi away
Semeli Hotel
Semeli Hotel
#11 of 82 in Mykonos Town
559 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kouros Hotel & Suites
Kouros Hotel & Suites
#8 of 82 in Mykonos Town
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBello Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBello Boutique Hotel

Property: PortoBello Boutique Hotel
Address: Kaminaki, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
#10 Family Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — PortoBello Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on Mykonos sunset point, only 3 minute walking distance from the Old Port and 10-20 minute drive from all the beautiful beaches on the island, stands the Portobello Boutique Hotel facing breathtaking, romantic sunsets over the Aegean Sea. A particularly intimate hotel with a unique atmosphere, offering you every pampering opportunity, the Portobello will turn your vacation into a special event that will be remembered for years to come.The hotel offers free WiFi in all the public areas and in the rooms and also free parking(limited space). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Hotel.de so you can book your PortoBello Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
PortoBello Boutique Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing