We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too good to be true”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
PortoBello Boutique Hotel
Ranked #16 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at Portobello for a week and I don't have a tiny single thing to complain about! This was one of the best hotel experiences - and I did quite a bit of traveling. So, everyone writing these positive reviews about this hotel and saying the staff was doing an excellent job were 100% right, they make you feel like at home.

The location of the hotel is quite optimal. It's not in the middle of everything, yet go down the steps and you're in the city center. Just a word of caution: If you have trouble with steps it might be a little difficult since there are about 40 steps to get to the city center. But if that's not a problem, don't miss this!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ipek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 244 of 361 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

The hotel is ideally located. Overlooking the town of Mykonos and magnificent sunsets.
Service at a very high level, the hotel's spectacular design, think there about everything.
You can not without a few words about the team. All you want to have a team, a smile, concern, courtesy, warmth, guidance, warmth and especially: Anha A., Anna B., and Panos did everything to please us to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jurnalist T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Wonderful service, delicious breakfast on the terrace, great location and even an upgrade to a suite with a gorgeous view over the ocean.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlust5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I loved this Hotel with its very helpful and charming staff. Clean and dinky rooms. A homemade breakfast with a fantastic town - and sea view. Town and bus stop to the beaches (e.g. Elia and Kalafati) in immediate vicinity. All in all an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We spent a vacation with a group of friends and had an excellent experience at PortoBello!
The location of the hotel is great. It's overlooking the beautiful town of Mykonos so it has an amazing view, and everything in town is minutes away by walking.
All the facilities and amenities are just great and clean, the breakfast is rich, long and delicious and is set in the lobby and terrace. (similar view to the attached image, which was taken 1fl above in our room).
On top of a perfect setting, the added value was the super attentive staff. Which was there all the time. They had great recommendations, from restaurants in different budgets, to different beaches around the island including detailed driving and walking directions.
We highly recommend PortoBello if you are looking for a relaxed comfortable place for your next vacation in Greece!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adamlewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Thanks to Anna's team to upgrade my room to sea view and recommend a very good restaurant in the mid of Mykonos downtown.

The view is excellent which cover the downtown of Mykonos and is 10 mins walk from old port. The room is very comfortable and the most surprising for me is the breakfast. There are some tapas like food which is my favorite and never seen in other hotels' breakfast !

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Oxygencube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

In over 30 years of travelling around Greece and staying in countless greek hotels, I can honestly say that this is one of the most comfortable I have ever stayed in. It is impeccably run by two lovely girls - both named Anna ('Morning' Anna and 'Evening' Anna as we came to think of them), and Panos. Nothing was too much trouble for this terrific, friendly team.

The hotel is situated high above Mykonos Town, right next to the Boni windmill (which you can visit between 5-7pm). Unfortunately, my husband developed arthritis in his knee since we booked our holiday, and the many steps down into the town were difficult for him - something to be aware of if mobility is a problem. It is a few steps down from the road and has a small car park at street level, so we hired a scooter from a company they recommended to us which helped us to get around.

We were welcomed with a plate of delicious Loukomades (little doughnuts) and coffee, and our suitcases were brought down the steps for us which was much appreciated. We found fresh fruit in our room - a deluxe suite, which was spacious and bright with the most spectacular views from both living room and bedroom. The living room had french windows opening onto a balcony which had no seating, but seats were provided when we asked. The bed was enormous and so comfy - more so than our own bed at home - now that IS a first for Greece! Both rooms had air conditioning and flat screen TVs.

The bathroom had a large, powerful shower with both fixed rainfall head and hand held attachment. Complimentary bathrobes and slippers were provided and the huge, white, fluffy towels were changed daily. Everything was kept spotlessly clean throughout our 7 day stay.

Breakfasts were exceptional. Spinach pies and rice pudding made by 'Morning' Anna's lovely mum, who also made the gorgeous, gooey confection from orange peel that went so well with the greek yoghurt. Freshly squeezed juice, a selection of cheeses and fruits, ham, freshly laid eggs and Nespresso coffee - all could be taken in the lobby area or outside with that fantastic view.

The free wi-fi was advertised as being just in the lobby, but we found that we received it in our room as well, which meant I got good use from my newly purchased i-pad!

We were given plenty of information about the island as well as restaurant recommendations (our favourite was To Maereio, which was also one of the nearest). Transfers to and from the airport were easy and cost 12 euros coming and 10 euros going..

Don't miss the chance to visit the neighbouring island of Delos and its famous archaeological site, and if you have transport, the beautiful beach and taverna at Fokos are lovely - a far cry from the built-up, crowded beaches of the south.

We cannot recommend the Portobello Hotel too highly for a stay in Mykonos, and would return in a heartbeat if we visit the island again.

Room Tip: The rooms with the beautiful views are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taxidiotissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mykonos Town
0.7 mi away
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vencia Hotel
Vencia Hotel
#5 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,562 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kouros Hotel & Suites
Kouros Hotel & Suites
#9 of 82 in Mykonos Town
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mykonos Bay Hotel
Mykonos Bay Hotel
#7 of 82 in Mykonos Town
964 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
Hermes Mykonos Hotel
#15 of 82 in Mykonos Town
691 reviews
2.0 mi away
Palladium Boutique Hotel
Palladium Boutique Hotel
#1 of 26 in Platys Gialos
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBello Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBello Boutique Hotel

Address: Kaminaki, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
#10 Family Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range: $134 - $1,778 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — PortoBello Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on Mykonos sunset point, only 3 minute walking distance from the Old Port and 10-20 minute drive from all the beautiful beaches on the island, stands the Portobello Boutique Hotel facing breathtaking, romantic sunsets over the Aegean Sea. A particularly intimate hotel with a unique atmosphere, offering you every pampering opportunity, the Portobello will turn your vacation into a special event that will be remembered for years to come.The hotel offers free WiFi in all the public areas and in the rooms and also free parking(limited space). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your PortoBello Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
PortoBello Boutique Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing