We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous holiday, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
Ranked #7 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 17, 2010

We arrived at 'Plantacion' mid afternoon to a lovely welcome and glass of cava. Our room was ready and we were taken up immediately. Lovely, big spacious room, with fantastic views. We settled in and went for a nosey around. The first thing we noticed was that the hotel was quite quiet, which for us, was perfect. We had lunch at the pool bar, which was delicious ( expensive-ish, but it is a hotel!) and served by Chelo, who we got to know over the fortnight, and is fantastic!
Having been to Costa Adeje before, we knew where to go, a 5 min walk downhill to the beach, shops and restauraunts. (not a problem) Great retauraunts- Portofino- cheap italian- huuuuge portions and really well priced, La Nonna, intimate- more upmarket Italian, La hacienda- great ribs and fajitas- but bit expensive! The Plaza el Duque shopping centre- has a bar called Mogu- great burgers!! Rajissimo downstairs is great for light snacks too. We walked a few times to Playa Fanabe- 10 mins walk- (slightly busier and more touristy)- ate in the supposedly 'number 1 restauraunt in Adeje' according to trip advisor-DEFINITELY NOT!! Waiters were rude and ignorant, Food was disgusting- barely edible, we couldnt get out of there quick enough!! We highly recommend 'Gran Reserva' just across the way. It is a steakhouse, serves the best Chateaubriand, lamb, pork etc. The steaks were delicious. There were 11 of us- not a complaint amongst us- and some ate there 2/3 times!
Back to the hotel, we really have no complaints, we were on a b&b board- no complaints- the food was delicious and plentiful. Other guests said that the Gourmet restauraunt was divine, and we heard no complaints about the evening buffet. The rooms are immaculate- air conditioning not great, but ok. Cleaned to a very high standard everyday. If you want newspapers- you have to ask. Basically whatever you ask for- they will get it for you. The staff on the whole are lovely, Chelo,Lorena, Tono- especially. We initially thought the barman Moises was an awful grump- but we got to know him and he is ok- english just isnt great!
If were were to gripe about anything at all it would be the pool bar. The food is delicious- drink is reasonably priced, but...... it closes at 6.30!!!! We liked to lie at the pool until 7/7.30pm as did a lot of other guests. We really would have used the bar more if it was open later- it is too hot to drink alcohol in the day. We also would have had our dinner there frequently if it was open later. Even until 8/9 pm. The last hotel we went to in Adeje- the pool bar opened til 11pm and it was great! So if you are the manager- please consider this!!! We met a lot of guests who agreed- they would eat there in the evening!!!!
A lot of reviews have complained about drink prices- it is a hotel, and it is 5star. If you want cheap- go all inclusive!! I do feel that water/ soft drinks should be cheaper or even free as should ice lollies for kids though!
We will definitely visit Plantacion again, the hill is NOT a problem, even in the 34 degree heat- we walked up it ( and i am a hefty girl!!) taxi's are 3euro to the beach & 3euro back- or use the hotel shuttle! Staff are great, food is delicious, pool areas are fantastic- you ask for towels, matresses and you get asap! It is not a rowdy hotel- but if you want that- Playa is ten mins away!! We look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacoboAlvarez, Director General at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2010

Dear Clara
Thank you for your review of your stay at La Plantacion del Sur. I can see that your know perfectly all the area and It is a honour that you have chose our hotel. I take note about the comments of the oppening until 19h30 and from the first of August our pool bar will be open until 19h30. Thank you to the comments of our guest we can take decisions about the organisation.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,684 - 1,690 of 2,723 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2010

From the moment we arrived we loved this hotel! The glass of champagne and piece of cake on arrival really set the tone.
Upon arrival in our room we were not 100% happy with our view but this was immediatly sorted out and we were in a different room in minutes.! We stayed in a twin room which was a great size with a large bathroom but as stated in other reviews you do have the twin bed pushed together. I think the junior suite is the way to go!

The service was great from start to finish especially the breakfast staff Babanna and Boofe were our favorite members of staff who were always friendly and remembered what we had to drink :)

The views and pool area are just as lovely, we especially liked the classes provided as well as the spec of the gym.

The pool bar could do with some lighter menu options and maybe a price review on the soft drinks menu. Wine was cheaper than Coca Cola :)

There are a few restaurants near by and Playa America is only about 15 minutes away!

We did not want to leave and would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a luxury break away.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chars86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacoboAlvarez, Director General at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2010

Dear Guest
Thank you for your time writting a review about your holidays at La Plantacion del Sur. I am happy to see that you have enjoy your holidays in your room. I take note about compose a light menu like suggestion of the day. I hope see you again in Tenerife.
kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

The hotel was wonderful except they did some work on one of the pools during our stay. The pool restaurant was closed and whole section of pool area closed off so the floor could be painted. The pool was drained for 4 days with workmen drilling and the strong smell of paint.

After a promising start in the stunning hotel and accommodation things started to disappoint me.....we have been used in other 5 star accommodation, to a pool area with all cushions on the sunbeds, umbrellas up and a sparkling clean pool. Not so here on arriving at the pool we struggled to find anyone to ask where to obtain cushions and towels from (only 2 or 3 beds had cushions and towels on them) in the end found the life guard who simply jestured to fetch them ourselves or take them off any beds we could find. There is no waitress service around the pool. Most sunbeds had towels on them and were reserved by 8.30am.

The hotel was very basic in some aspects of being 5 star. It wasn’t luxury 5 star. Our bed was 2 beds pushed together which doesn’t fair well when one of us ended up sleeping in a crack down the middle of the bed most nights. Not very romantic.

The Jazz night club was never open? Not that we saw anyway and we ate in the restaurant 3 times and walked past the entrance to the club.

Overall the staff were amazing and the food was fantastic. The spa was the best I’ve ever been too and I would highly recommend it.

Just a note that if you are not very mobile, don't come here. My partner and I consider ourselves fit and good walkers - to fetch even a newspaper (the hotel shop was closed during our stay) is a quarter mile walk up and down a very steep hill and the same walk to all the other shops and restaurants off site. Again being 5 star I would have expected a newspaper.

As per previous reports the hotel is very dark inside, obviously to keep it as cool as possible, but it is none the less as stunning as all the photographs we had seen. Don’t forget to take a cardigan or jacket as it’s very cold in the evenings and we were there late June!

I would say though that this area and holiday destination should be for families or anyone over 50. For a couple in their 30’s it didn’t really hit the mark for us and we travel a lot to some pretty luxurious places.

We were disappointed with the work being carried out in the pool area. Very strange to be doing that at the height of the holiday season?

I run my own business and needed internet access. They only had wi fi in the reception area which was a complete pain having to take my laptop down to reception every day.

Hotel was ok, it was our first pop at a 'package' holiday and not something we will do again. I would recommend this place to my friends for a long weekend but only because the spa was so great.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovelylass38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacoboAlvarez, Director General at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2010

Dear Guest
Thank you for your time writting a review about your stay at the hotel. I would like apologize about the works during 4 days at the pool. All these works are necessary to support the installations of Vincci La Plantacion del Sur. The service around the pool, we have the pool service, and sunbeds are not reserved, the poolboy put this towels on the subbeds for all the guest, when they arrive to the pool they find the towel ready on the sunbed as five star service.
The hotel disposed de Twin beds and King Size beds. The king size beds are on the Junior Suite and Villas and twin beds are in the double rooms. I recomend you request for your next stay a king size bed and kindly we will try to up grade you.
Vincci La Plantacion del Sur has a newspaper service a la carte, we take note of wich kind of newspaper you would like and at what time you want in your room like a 5 star hotel.
The hotel disposed of high speed internet acces in all the hotel, WI FI in the common areas like reception, the pool, bars... and by cable in the rooms. All this service is completly free.

Thank you for your comments about the SPA, food and the staff. I am sure that your next stay at La Plantacion will be better with new pools and all this information. Thank you again your your time.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

The hotel is very accessible for wheelchair users. They have accessible bedrooms, with a wheel in shower and shower seat. The toilet area is ok, has one grab rail, can get a manual chair in but isn't huge (toilet is in its own room within the bathroom). There is a pool hoist into one of the pools and double sun beds which are quite high so easy to transfer onto. The staff are excellent. The only problem for a wheelchair is the postion in the resort, being on top of a steep incline, and the pavements aren't great. - we just got taxi's to the front. I would recommend this hotel, very well presented, attentive staff, and also quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WheelyNewcastle_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHotels, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

To our esteemed guest:

We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

After the long cold winter my husband and I came to realise we were really in need of 'a fortnight in the sun' so without delay I accessed the internet to find just what we may be looking for. Having been to Tenerife on six previous occasions we were aware of the lovely climate, decided to make it a seventh time and settled for early June. La Plantacion just held a certain appeal for us and although we looked at many other 5* hotels in the Adeje region this particular one was most beckoning. So we made our reservation. What a wise choice it turned out to be! We arrived at our hotel late in the evening.After express check-in we were quickly shown to our room which, when the porter opened the door, left us lost for words. We had reserved a superior double room but the one we were allocated just happened to be a junior suite with breath-taking views from every angle! We had received an upgrade without requesting it and at no extra cost. We were happy from that moment on. The level of cleanliness was absolutely outstanding with towel change twice daily, room and beautiful large bathroom cleaned thoroughly daily, sheets on our four-poster bed changed daily, sheet turndown with little chocolates each evening, free newspaper delivered to our suite each morning, tea/coffee making facilities. Now that's what we call 5*. The breakfasts and evening meals were delicious with so much to choose from and food to please every palate. The waiters were fantastic, made us feel very welcome and did everything humanly possible to make our stay happy. They achieved their goal!! As for the grounds, swimming pools and sunbathing facilities!! 100% ... nothing less! For the first time in our lives I can honestly say we didn't really want to leave! It is our fullest intention to return again in the forseeable future.
Now, if there's one thing La Plantacion del Sur could provide it is evening entertainment . Yes, we missed music, singing, dancing as did many other people to whom we spoke. Perhaps management will consider it for the future. As for the location... well it was quite a challenging climb up those hills: but it was well worth the effort when we walked onto our verandah(s) and took in the breathtaking views by day and the fairyland views by night. Wonderful holiday and we cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patsy063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacoboAlvarez, Director General at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2010

Dear Guest
Thank you for the kind comments about your stay at Vincci La Plantacion del Sur. We try to give up grade to our guest when is possible. I appreciate that in your sixth visit to Tenerife you have decided trust in us. I take care personally about the comment of evening entertaiment and now in summer several grups play in live during and after the dinner.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We spent 7 pleasent days in Plantacion del Sur, in June 2010, and we appriciate it for 6 things:
1. The very large Balcony (front sea view) where we admired several sun sets listening to the pleasant life music from the restaurant.
2. The very pleasant stuff who even remember your preferences (which is rare now days). Special congratulations to Lkadi from Restaurant and Sara from Reception.
3. Life music every 2 nights, in the restaurant - performed by local artists in a very discret and pleasant manner.
4. The silance during the day - the majority of the guests were 40+ and during the day everybody was resting, reading, swiming, etc.
5. SPA - very professional.
6. The food (dinner) - sofisticated and diversified

See photos

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bogdancomanescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacoboAlvarez, Director General at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2010

Dear Bogdan
First of all I would l like to thank you for your time writting this review of La Plantacion del Sur. Thank you for all the points about the staff, room, food... I recomend you that in your next visit to try our a la carte restaurant El Gourmet Canario. I am sure that you will apreciate very much.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for four nights at the beginning of May 2010. The hotel has a stunning entrance, greeted with champagne and apple cake. Our bags were taken to our room, which was a standard twin room. The room was amazing, huge bathroom with two sinks, a large bath, seperate walk in shower room and seperate toilet.
The room was very spacious, mini bar and air conditioning. Our balcony was a little bit on the small side but not all rooms were like this. The service at the hotel was excellent, our room was cleaned every day, some one even came in about 6pm to leave a chocolate on you bed and pull down the bed sheets ready for that evening. We were only on bed and breakfast basis but the choice was great, cereals, bread, salad bar, juices, there was a chef ready to make eggs, pancakes and omlettes for you how you like it. We also had a thalasso cicuit in the spa pool, which was great for your muscles and back. I would love to have had a massage as the spa looked amazing!! There were five pools, plenty of sun loungers. When we were there the pools were a little bit cold but im sure they are lovely in the main summer months. The staff were very helpful, the receptionist called a taxi for us to head into Las Americas. There is quite a hill to walk up and down to get to the main supermarket/shops so may be difficult for people with walking difficulties. Overall excellent five star hotel, great service.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louise1986Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHotels, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

To our esteemed guest:

It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.

Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.4 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#18 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,779 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
#3 of 61 in Costa Adeje
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baobab Suites
Baobab Suites
#9 of 61 in Costa Adeje
687 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.3 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#15 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur

Address: C/ Roque Nublo 1 | Sector 8 Fanabe, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $199 - $614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful hotel is located in the privileged zone in the South of Tenerife, Costa Adeje. Given it offers privileged views. It is of Colonial Canarian style, with tropical gardens and has an exquisite decoration full of harmony and elegance in each corner. Located only 500 meters from the Bahia del Duque Beach, it is in the proximity of the best Golf course on the island and is only 20 minutes from the Airport Reina Sofia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion Del Sur Hotel Costa Adeje
Seleccion La Plantacion Vincci
La Plantacion
Vincci La Plantacion
Vincci Playa De Las Americas
Vincci Plantacion
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion Del Sur Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing