We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plantacion del sur, luxury relaxation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Plantacion del sur, luxury relaxation.”
Reviewed February 3, 2010

We have traveled to this hotel six times in the last three years. The reason we keep returning is that it offers exactly what we want from a hotel. The rooms are beautiful, we always stay in a Junior suite. The huge beds and well appointed bathrooms are a big bonus and the view from the terrace is truly breathtaking. However, our children have traveled with us and stayed in the the superior sea view rooms which are also quite spacious and equally as comfortable. We have never stayed in the standard rooms but looked at them the first time we visited and felt we would not have stayed in the ones overlooking the main road as it is so much quieter on the other side with the spectacular views of the resort and ocean. Also the Hermes toiletries that you get in the Junior suites are lovely.
One of the main benefits of this hotel is the kids club which is run by a fantastic girl called Angie. The club is one of the best we have ever experienced. They take the children on trips out of the hotel, like horse riding, mini golf and to the beach. When we arrive at the hotel the first thing our daughter does is rush to see Angie in the kids club and always gets a big hug. I cannot recommend Angie enough, what an asset she is to the hotel.
Although we have children and look for a child friendly resort La Plantacion is by no means overrun with children, there is always a quiet spot available around the pools and the huge bali beds are a real luxury if you can manage to grab one.
Breakfast is great. Always plenty of choice and lots of fresh fruit and eggs/ pancakes cooked to order. Lunch- we have only ever eaten at the poolside restaurant as we like to wander over from our sunbeds to the other side of the pool and have a couple of G&TS and then wander back for a snooze. the food is ok, not always great but perfectly acceptable. Service can be a little slow but, hey relax, you're on holiday. We don't tend to eat at the hotel in the evening as we like to go out, thats why we book a hotel thats just B&B> The staff have always been very friendly and always welcome us back with a smile.
Admittedly, the £ to Euro rate has made things like drinks more expensive but this is a top class hotel and prices reflect this. Do be prepared to spend alot on drinks.
Overall, this is a great place, with very high standards in the most SPECTACULAR setting. The hill doesn't bother us, thats why you get the great views. Anyway we always hire a car, but you could always walk down and get a taxi back so bear this in mind.
We have never visited in high season so I can only comment on February, May and October half term periods. There is virtually no entertainment apart from the odd band in the evening or aerobics in the pool but if you want to go away to relax and your budget allows then this is the place for you.
We love it here and will definitely return again.

ps Fab spa and we love playing golf at the Adeje course, arranged through the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherylBrns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHotels, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
To our esteemed guest:

It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,824
    487
    161
    47
    35
See reviews for
628
1,582
32
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

We visited for a mini-break for my husband's birthday and had high hopes from this hotel especially as it is a member of the SLH hotel group which we regularly use and are usually very happy with.
Arrival was smooth enough, a glass of cava, a reasonably fast check in but then a bit of a wait as the hotel did only have one porter (slightly odd for a luxury hotel).
Our room was OK, the unfortunate two singles to make a double bed situation- not really a problem. were it not for the fact they were the cheapest matresses I've met for a very long time. Hard is an understatement!
Spooky problem in the bathroom. In itself a nice enough one. double ended bath, double sinks, etc, BUT, bloodstains, lots of them all over the travetine, soaked into it, hanprints, splats, drips, you name it. Someone had had something rather more than a shaving accident in that bathroom before us and the hotel had not done a good job of hiding it. I felt like I was in in an episode of Silent Witness. It was probably not really a case of bad housekeepping to be fair on them because the room was very clean, more a case of whatever have happened couldn't be cleaned as it had gone into the stone and would need to be retiled totally, but freaky none the less!
Breakfasts, were whilst at a glance looking ok not the quality expected of a hotel with five stars.
The hotel is very heavily airconditionned including the rooms and for a cool time of the year the room was cold. Even using the temperature control and the blankets we were very cold. The spa was also freezing so although the treatments that both my husband and I had were both in themselves quite good the rooms were so cold the tretments were unpleasant. Unfortunately the hotel had also taken the decision to close the interior bars/lounges and not pull closed any of the shutters on the pool bar hut making the only place for a coffee or snack by the pool even though the temperature was only in the mid-teens.
The hotel was a souless (dark, all lights off in communal areas-lounges halls, etc), low in staff, almost closed. But allegedly in full operation with a reasonable number of guests.
It seemed like they had decided it would be a quiet time of year and cut out most of the services from the hotel. I can imagine when staffed and in proper operation and fully up and running it is ok but I think on this occasion we were definately short-changed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Double_bed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2010

This hotel is simply charming. My partner and I were moved here at our request after falling ill at another hotel in Costa Adeje which left us feeling unable to eat there. Upon arrival we were extremely impressed by the attention of the staff who parked our car and transported our luggage. We were given,as others have said, a complementary glass of something chilled and sparkly which was very welcome. Our room was room number 233 which had a breathtaking view over the Playa Fanabe bay. Being what they call a lateral sea view there was no surcharge levied upon us. The staff were amongst the very best that we have encountered and everything was done with a smile and elegance. The buffet breakfast and evening meal are amongst the best that I have ever experienced with plenty of choice and of an excellent quality. To put it very simply... this hotel saved our holiday from becoming one that we would rather have forgotten and turned it into one that we will always remember. The bathroom and bedroom were spacious and comfortable and the shower is amazing. The pool area is clean and spacious and I partyicularly liked the four poster double sun beds beside one of the pools. Because the hotel was not busy when we were there getting one of these was not difficult but I would imagine that in busier times this would be harder given that there are only 6 or 8. One thing that I liked was that there are an amazing number of nooks and crannies that one can sit in for complete peace during the day. We will come back here again soon.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopefultraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHotels, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
To our esteemed guest:

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.

We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2010

I spent a week at this hotel with my wife for the New Year celebrations.
We found the property to be modern, well maintained and exceptionally well run by a management team who were always accessible to guests.
Our guest room was very comfortable, clean and spacious.
Catering in the restaurants and bars was of an exceptionally high standard, with friendly, helpful staff constantly on hand.
The location of the hotel is in an elevated position in Costa Adeje with superb views of the coastline and is close to a designer shopping centre.
Previously, my favoured hotel group has always been 'Four Seasons', but when in Spain I will certainly opt for Vincci Hoteles in the future as a result of my good experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikes777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHotels, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
To our esteemed guest:

We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2010

First things first this hotel is not in coste adeje. It is in the much nicer area of del duque. It is set up on a hill with great views (see pics). It is cleverly designed so that almost every room has a partial sea view even if the description doesn't say so. Partial sea view rooms have much better than most hotels give. Best rooms are 301, 302, 303 in my view. Villas are available but not cheap. The rooms generally are a good size with lovely bathrooms with great shower. The hotel is relaxed 5 star with good service worthy of the same but without the annoying snobbery that sometimes comes with it. The pool areas are some of the best I have seen. There are levels and a number of pools though water is cold! The design means that even when windy outside it is very calm by the pool. There is a seperate kids pool away from the other pools but we found they weren't used much. There is a very nice spa though 5 star pricey. The gym is 24 hour and free however. The hotel runs free activities most mornings around the pool area such as yoga, Pilates, aqua aerobics etc. The breakfast is good with all the usual things and fresh omlettes, pancakes etc. One negative is the cost of drinks especially by the pool. 5.50 for a coke and a water for instance. Alcoholic drinks are even worse. We thought this a mistake by the management as it made us not drink from the bar and just buy things from the local supermarket for a fraction of the price. For food la caleta is a lovely village 20 Mins walk away along the sea front with great fish restaurents for moderate charges with an amazing location. The del duque plaza shopping center is full of expensive shops and has Harry's steak house on the top floor. Don't be put off by the name. The food is exceptional especially the fresh pasta and all very reasonably priced. The only downside to the hotel is the location which whilst offering great views wouldn't suit the infirm with the hill up and down to the beach areas. Last thing transfer from hotel only 25 Mins.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leedssunseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHotels, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
To our esteemed guest:

It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this one week during Christmas, and fell in love with the place. We had a junior suite with marvellous view over the garden and the see, the best view you could dream of. The suite was very spacious, with dressing room and a large bathroom with everything you could ever want. A huge bed made like a sort of fourposter, good but unfortunately with just one matrass, so every move from my husband was a bit disturbing. The garden was lovely, with wix different pools, lovely sun beds and chairs.

However, the breakfast was quite ordinary. We never had buffet dinner, but were twice on the a la carte restaurant, El Gourmet Canary. The first evening we had the loveliest meal I have ever had, absolutely marvellous. The second time we went there, on Christmas Day, the food was ordinary. Why, I do not know.

It was an expensive experience to stay and eat at this hotel, but I would certainly stay here again any time!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHotels, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
To our esteemed guest:

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.

We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We stayed at La Plantation for 10 days in September. Upon arrival we were met with a glass of champagne and piece of banana cake each which was a very welcome touch. The hotel is situated in an elevated locaion high above Costa Adeje at the top of two steepish hills in two directions. I didn't feel the hills were too demanding and its offers the added benefit of gettng a little mini work out each time we went out, meaning I could eat a bt more at dinner! Most places are accessible from the hotel but there are no shops, bars or restaurants in the immediate location of the hotel (besides those of the hotel) and we had to walk some way to get anywhere. But having visted some of the other places in nearby areas - some parts of adeje and las amercias, we came to appreciate the tranquility of the hotels location. Its without doubt in one of the best locations in Tenerife, far away from the tackiness and overcrowding of some parts of the nearby area - we walked into the port at Fanabe on one occasion and got acosted by a holiday rep and had an uncomfortable time trying to get shot of him. We clocked up lots of miles each day and can apprecate that this could prove troublesome for the elderly or less mobile or those with children. If this is the case, then pre-booked half board would be a good alternative.

The Hotel was a really nice manageable size, not a monster and asthetically very pleasing unlike some other big monsters in the area. It never felt crowded. The majority of guests appeared to be Spanish. We stayed in a side sea view room and the views were amazing even with a side view. The room was very generous in size and the bathroom was especially large. We used the balcony frequently and the chairs converted into very comfy loungers.

Breakfast was excellent quality and there was a wide choice of hot, cooked and continental style food available. Breakfast was also open to 11am which was ideal for us as later risers. There is a hot station where eggs are freshly cooked to order meaning I could have pancakes each morning for breakfast.

In our experience it was always possible to get sunbeds in a good location around one of the pools. There were six double canoped beds which were very popular and we would need to get up a bit early to have any chance to get one of these.

The hotel gym was refreshingly well equipped and modern and my husband used this a number of times, as well as running down to the beach on a couple of occasions.

The hotel also offered free wi-fi.

We chose not to eat dinner at the hotel as it seemed quite expensive at 35 euro per head for a buffet dinner but the restuarant was always busy, and I assume the majority of people were on dinner packages as we never saw anyone walking to and from the hotel in the evenings. This was a shame as the view at night down into Adeje was superb.

We walked to nearby La Caleta on 4 occasions for dinner. It was quite a walk but worth it. There is a really good italian right on the seafront - Tossa del Mer - does great cocktails. There was another Italian on the road in which was also very good. There was a good chinese at the bottom of the hill walking into fanabe - Slow Boat - we ate here three times. Its not the most attractive setting but the food is excellent. The Gran Reserva steak house is the best restaurant we tried in the Fanabe area. The Hotel pool bar menu seemed excessively expensive for lunch and the room service menu was equally expensive.

We tried the black sandy beach torwards La Caleta which was very clean and never overcrowded.

This part of Tenerife isnt breathtakingly beautiful like some other parts of spain but the location and views of the La Plantation has to be up there with the best that tenerife has to offer. This was my first time to Tenerife and I wasnt sure at the time whether I would go back but I'm already looking at a repeat visit next Winter.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissMini53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHotels, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
To our esteemed guest:

We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.5 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.4 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#17 of 58 in Costa Adeje
5,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baobab Suites
Baobab Suites
#7 of 58 in Costa Adeje
619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#15 of 58 in Costa Adeje
2,162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur

Property: Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
Address: C/ Roque Nublo 1 | Sector 8 Fanabe, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful hotel is located in the privileged zone in the South of Tenerife, Costa Adeje. Given it offers privileged views. It is of Colonial Canarian style, with tropical gardens and has an exquisite decoration full of harmony and elegance in each corner. Located only 500 meters from the Bahia del Duque Beach, it is in the proximity of the best Golf course on the island and is only 20 minutes from the Airport Reina Sofia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion Del Sur Hotel Costa Adeje
Seleccion La Plantacion Vincci
La Plantacion
Vincci La Plantacion
Vincci Playa De Las Americas
Vincci Plantacion
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion Del Sur Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing