We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break in Tenerife”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
Ranked #7 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at this wonderful Hotel, up on the hill, with a lovely view of the sea and located away from the main tourist area near the beach which is a walking distance away.
There were no complaints and we loved every bit of its Colonial Canarian style architecture, with beautifully manicured tropical gardens.
Our room gave us a fantastic sea view and the bed was large with a sofa and plenty of space. The spacious bathroom had a bath, twin sinks, separate toilet and a separate shower.

We had read on trip advisor that the food in the hotel is a little pricey and there are numerous restaurants in this area, so we chose to stay on BB basis. It was easy going to various lovely and exquisite restaurants with our hired car and finding free close by parking to enjoy the bars along the main beach and listening to live music. If you don’t have a car be prepared for a bit of a tiring climb back from the restaurants on the sea front or I suggest staying on HB basis as there is a lovely buffet restaurant for evening buffet style meals of exceptional quality with good meat and fish, langoustine, crab, large prawns and sea bass. The breakfasts are fantastic with a huge selection and a " help yourself bubbly station".

The free wifi is very good, and it worked well in the rooms as well as the public areas..

The service is by attentive and professional staff who always provided good customer care.

The pool area is large and beautiful with many small areas secluded by numerous plants and palm trees that achieves the feeling of privacy as all the sun beds are spread around the resting places.
The spa is good value for the money and with our internet booking, we had a free spa circuit which was very enjoyable.

We had great sunshine during our stay and had a relaxing holiday. If you are looking for a restful break for a few days, do go to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sudhir P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,135 - 1,141 of 2,770 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

We've just returned from an 8 night stay at Vinci La Plantacian. We had a fantastic stay, a few things could've been improved if you are looking for 'ultimate five star' but nothing too major. We are a couple of 28 and 32.
First of all the positives;
Upon arrival at 11.30am we were told we could go to our room- which was great! We expected to wait until 3pm. We were greeted with a glass of champagne,check in was very smooth and we were shown to our room and shown how certain things work; safe, air con etc.
As other reviews say the staff are fantastic, very attentive, polite and work hard to keep the place impeccably clean. They are happy to help with anything and want to treat you well.
The hotel is great, very grand with huge seating areas inside - this seemed a bit weird but I expect in the later months these areas would be used a lo more. The area for breakfast is very nice, you can sit in a court yard, outside or inside- this is the same for buffet dinner. It's really nice to sit outside overlooking the pools.. The view of the pools with the backdrop of the sea is stunning.
There are 3 main pool areas to choose from (excluding the spa an kids area). They are kept very clean an are each big areas. They are very tranquil and relaxing - we loved them! There are lots of sunbeds, we didn't find a problem getting one but tended to reserve at about 10am (everyone else reserves too!) The cabana/ beds seem to go quite early so we didn't use one of them. On our last couple of days the hotel got busier and we saw people struggling to find a bed after midday.
The rooms again great, absolutely massive, cleaned each day very well and also a turndown service at night where they change the towels if needed and make the beds.. Leaving a little chocolate each by the pillow which was a nice touch. The room we were in had double sinks, a shower with lots of different settings an also a huge bath. We did have a small balcony but perfectly fine for 2 and we had a partial view of the sea (although we had only booked a standard room). We stayed in room no 9 on the ground floor.
Location for us was fine, the walk up the hill was fine for us but might be trouble for anyone that as trouble walking as it is quite steep. There is a mini 24hr supermarket at the bottom of the hill about a 5min walk which is good for beers, water etc if you want on your terrace. The main area Fañabe is no more than a 15min walk and there are places too eat loser than that. We enjoyed the walk at lunch time to go somewhere for lunch. Walking to Las Americas takes about an hour.
We ate a couple of times at the pool bar at lunch, food was lovely. Some reviews say its very expensive, we didn't find this, yes it's much more expensive than in town but the setting is nicer and also it's easy. All sandwiches come with chips and start a €11.

Slight negatives
The buffet at dinner in my opinion was not worth €35, it was okay but a bit expensive for what it is. The food was good quality though, we only dined there 1 night.
Overall the breakfast buffet was good but a bit boring by the 8th day. Good selection of cheeses, ham, cereal etc. A couple of days the hot selection was fantastic! But others it was a bit samey.. The omelettes were ok but no poached eggs or soft boiled etc. For Europe it was great but by no means disappointed but not comparable to Mexico/Vegas etc (but I didn't expect it to be).
The games room is a dark room on the bottom floor with a battered pool table that you have to a for and a football table. We didn't use it - this could be improved.
Gym fine for a holiday, not a huge amount of equipment there so don't expect too much.

I think they could have improved by offering filtered water around the hotel, we had to pay €4 for a large bottle which one of same size is 80cents in the shop!
We didn't really stay at the hotel of an evening so can't really comment on entertainment. There was a different programme each night. Jazz, soul singers etc. More what you'd expect of a 5 star, no karaoke etc (not a problem for us!)
Again because its 5star it's mainly couples and families so a relaxed atmosphere, no music really around the pool during the day again no problem with this.
Also we are not beach lovers but if you are it's about a 10-15min walk.


Overall an absolutely amazing hotel!! I would not hesitate to go back. The negatives did not cause an enjoyment to be lost they are just things that maybe could be better.
The staff really make this place, the service is really really great I am sad that we've left.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rdack86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Tough hotel to review as I can't really put my finger on why I don't want to give it a five star rating. Last year we stayed at the Elysium in Paphos which was truly outstanding and a tough act to follow. Arrived at Plantacion at 23.00 due to three hour delay on BA flight, nice glass of fizz and efficient check in. I had emailed through to say we were late and hotel provided a superb platter of cheese, bread, hams and pastries, sadly we were so tired that we couldn't take full advantage but it was an excellent touch. We had a sea view suite - enormous bed, dual aspect balconies and plush bathroom which were all immaculately clean - room 137. Room right at the end of the hotel so very quiet apart from a little road noise.

Breakfast was buffet type but very good variety - good pastries though coffee undrinkable as tasted of the metal serving pots - use the Nespresso machines as they are much better. I thought dinners of an exceptional quality for such buffet style catering. Meat and fish quality very high with langoustine, crab, large prawns, sea bass and bream all fresh and delicious with Cook to order options on the grill available every night. Stand out quality for me and this from someone who enjoys good eating. Accompanying wine list majored in Spain with modest mark ups which makes a refreshing change. Service always good and amusing for our 6 year old - Moises and Danny looked after us so well.

Kids Club was a big hit and the delightful Mikaela was so kind to all the children and provided an array of irresistible activities - out daughter loved it!

Seven pools but contrary to other reports we found there to be a shortage of sun beds as the hotel filled up towards the end of our stay. Evening entertainment of the crooning type which we enjoyed but some might find a bit dated. Bar area lacked atmosphere and the hotel didn't use the bar higher up with its terrace and view which we thought odd. Drinks were not expensive at five star rates, nor was the mini bar.

In summary a very good hotel with excellent service levels. I just felt a bit of atmosphere was missing and the hotel struggling to define its target market. As such just lacked a little passion and soul hence not achieving the five star award though a good 4.5.

Room Tip: 137 quiet at the end of the corridor and good dual aspect balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We spent a week at this hotel in one of the villas around the hotel. I was a little worried because I couldn't find any photos anywhere however it was absolutely brilliant. We had our own private garden and jacuzzi which went down really well. Bed was comfy and the shower was good too. It was a shame to be near the road but didn't really bother us, we had a lovely view of the sea. Other than the odd car it was very quiet and peaceful.

The hotel pools are nice and you never have look far for a sun lounger no matter the time of day. A few times we were sat by a pool and there were only 2 or 3 other couples there too.

Food is a little pricey, we prefer to eat out though so didn't really matter to us although it is a bit of a mission to the restaurants on the sea front. One thing to bear in mind is that the hotel don't like you to bring your own food into the hotel.

On the whole a very relaxing stay would definately go again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at La Plantacion for 4 nights in July. We had a balcony with a side view of the sea which looked over towards La Caleta, the balcony was huge with two chairs which collapsed into loungers and a good sized coffee table. We spent most early evening watching the sun down from our balcony. The hotel is almost spotless - so much so they were steam cleaning outside our room at 9am.

The food was well varied and presented and to a great standard, they have theme nights in the buffet restaurant, we enjoyed 3 of the 4 nights there but dined out on the 'marine evening' as we do not eat fish. The terrace has a superb view looking over the sea, and let's you enjoy the evening even more.

The bar lounge was quiet throughout our stay, I had read reviews about prices so thought I'd put what I remember,
A glass of house white - €3
Gin and tonic -€6
Small bottle of water -€2
Large bottle of water -€4
Coke/lemonade €3 I think
12 yr old Macallan €10

All the staff within the hotel are fabulous and cannot do enough to help, the concierge was so so friendly and helped make the beginning and end relaxing for us.

The poolside areas are very comfortable, nice sunloungers, with the choice of ones in sunshine or shade and most mornings towels ready to go on the edge of the loungers for you. There is also table service around the pool so we could relax and enjoy the sunshine and gorgeous pools.

Would I visit again?

Yes - but perhaps just for another long weekend

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank HolRStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My partner and I, stayed here for 2 weeks on half board basis, We came to Tenerife the year before and stayed closer to the Fanabe beach. We said then we would definitely return and would look to book a hotel further up the hill towards El Duque, and we are so glad we did. Before arriving, I was very positive about the hotel after reading a lot of reviews on Trip Advisor. I feel everyone has varied opinions, so need to read a lot to get a good overview.

To the hotel: As soon as we arrived we were treated superbly. A glass of fizz at reception whilst filling in the paperwork went down nicely and then we were immediately whisked off to the buffet restaurant for evening meal so we did not go hungry. Our bags were taken to our room for us, and we were very happy with the room. It was very large and spacious, even a pillow menu located in the wardrobe if you fancy a change.There was a lovely fruit plate and bottle of bubbly for us in the room on arrival too.The room throughout the two weeks, was cleaned up to twice a day if desired and we always slept well. The room had a gorgeous view with the mountains / hillsides to the left and the seafront the right.

The food was brilliant and catered for all needs. Usually after two weeks, you would think you would be fed up of the buffet, but we definitely were not. Before we arrived we were planning on a couple of evening meals elsewhere, but we did not feel this was necessary because the food was so good. I have never been to somewhere where the variation of freshly cooked meat is so good each night.The breakfast was also the best you could ask for, a huge variety of options and my personal favourite, pancakes and scrambled eggs went down perfectly every morning. There was also the option to help yourself to a glass of Cava for a bubbly breakfast. The waiters can not do enough for you, and will always seat you for all meals and provide you with drinks of your choice. I do feel the drinks are a little pricey, but it is understandable in a five star hotel.

The pool areas were beautiful and relaxing. For the majority of our stay the hotel was mainly occupied by couples. The chilled atmosphere meant that we spent most of the time around the pool. We would often venture out for a light lunch because we did find the pool bar also a little high cost for simple snacks (i.e. 7 euros for a small portion of nachos and guacamole). We did eat there to begin with but found an afternoon walk for food was a lot more to our taste. There were always sun beds available no matter what time of day and several Balinese beds. We never once felt the need to reserve beds. No need to bring a towel with you as lots available around the pool and within the room.

The area is a quiet area but that is exactly what we were after. A lot of the nights we did venture down to the bars along the main beach where you can get a cheap drink and listen to live music acts. A couple of nights we had a nice relaxed walk to Playa Da Las Americas to visit our favourite Irish bar and beach club. Other nights we were just as happy to sit on the balcony and have drinks from the local shop (5 minutes down the hill).

The free wifi is very good, and it worked well throughout our stay.

We also went to Loro Parque one day, its definitely worth the day out! We booked this excursion through Thomson and although a little more expensive than other companies we felt our booking was secure and our travel was guaranteed this way.

The Thursday/Sunday market just down the road is worth a look if you wanted something different to do in the morning. It was a little crowded but would be good for buying gifts for beach dresses for your stay.

The hotel overall is beautiful and the staff really make every effort to make sure all your needs are met. I would definitely return to this hotel if was to come to this area again. It certainly lives up to its 5 star status and is perfect, peaceful, beach break.

Room Tip: Ours was a 'limited sea view' but the view was stunning. We had the best of both worlds, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Greg140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

As per the title this was our 2nd visit to this hotel having thoroughly enjoyed ourselves last year. As previous reviews the hotel is located away from the main tourist area. We actually like this fact as the hotel is a good distance from 'Blackpool'. Check went smoothly, the glass of cava certainly helped filling in the paperwork. We actually did not have the correct paperwork with us but the staff were really professional and allowed us to e-mail it to them later in the day. It was really appreciated. Our room, 118, gave us a fantastic sea view and whilst some rooms had larger balconies ours was sufficient with 2 chairs and a table. The bed was large and a sofa was also in the room giving us plenty of space. The room was air conditioned and ran quietly. The bathroom was large with bath, twin sinks, separate toilet and separate shower which worked incredibly well. Complimentary toiletries etc was also provided as were dressing gowns and slippers. We did find a pillow menu on the last day of our holiday. This was stored in the wardrobe. Perhaps this could be located in a better position for guests to find it. We certainly would have made use of this service.

We stayed for 2 weeks on a half board basis. As other reviews there are not too many decent restaurants located around the hotel. The food at the buffet generally suits us as it enables both of us to find food we enjoy and gives us an opportunity to try something new. We actually thought the food was better this year. We would probably rate the evening meals at 8/10. Breakfast however is always 10/10.

One of the things that stands out at this hotel is the professionalism of the staff working there. Customer care is clearly important to this hotel and at no time were we let down.

This year we used the spa which we felt was good value for the money and would certainly go again. We also used the gym most mornings although there was only us in there most days (07.15am though!!!). The gym is not air conditioned and was quite warm. Perhaps some pedestal fans in there would help.

If you are looking for a relaxing break in This area I would definitely recommend this hotel. Having walked past other hotels ranked higher on trip advisor I certainly know which hotel I prefer. It is definitely this one. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we are returning for a week in September.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skyewalker16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.4 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#18 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,832 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
#4 of 61 in Costa Adeje
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baobab Suites
Baobab Suites
#8 of 61 in Costa Adeje
693 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#3 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur

Address: C/ Roque Nublo 1 | Sector 8 Fanabe, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $235 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful hotel is located in the privileged zone in the South of Tenerife, Costa Adeje. Given it offers privileged views. It is of Colonial Canarian style, with tropical gardens and has an exquisite decoration full of harmony and elegance in each corner. Located only 500 meters from the Bahia del Duque Beach, it is in the proximity of the best Golf course on the island and is only 20 minutes from the Airport Reina Sofia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion Del Sur Hotel Costa Adeje
Seleccion La Plantacion Vincci
La Plantacion
Vincci La Plantacion
Vincci Playa De Las Americas
Vincci Plantacion
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion Del Sur Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing