We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed at La Plancion del sur in late May, weather was perfect. Hotel was the best. A truly 5 star hotel. Staff treat you like royalty. Excellent food. Too many swimming pools to choose from. Very clean and tidy everywhere. Brilliant spa, evening entertainment wasn't very proffessional, it was more of a karaoke, but it didn't bother us. Its a child friendly environment, so i would recommend it especially if you have kids. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dom2473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen_VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear guest,

It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones.

We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.

Kindest regards.
Carmen Fernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,077 - 1,083 of 2,650 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014

I've stayed here before a few years ago and delighted to see that standards have been maintained and possibly enhanced. The grounds are beautifully manicured, each pool area feels like a small oasis, and cleverly makes you think there aren't that many people around. It's actually a deceptively small hotel (boutique?) in a good way. The service is very attentive and relaxed - I liked small touches like the waiter by the pool remembering my room number. The breakfasts are fantastic with a huge selection. Only ate at the buffet dinner one evening which was average at best and the only slight disappointment. Perhaps the gourmet restaurant is an improvement, but we chose to eat out for the other nights. It probably helped that we had glorious sunshine for our whole stay but I would absolutely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a restful break for a few days.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen_VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.

We would like to let you know that we will take your opinions into account: they will doubtless help us to improve the customer service we offer our guests in the future.

We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.

Kindest regards.
Carmen Fernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My wife and I have not long returned from a two week stay in La Plantacion del Sur. We had a Superior Room with Sea View (Room 118) and stayed on half board basis. From the minute we arrived to the moment we left everything went perfectly.

Hotel Transfer

We had a private taxi transfer from Tenerife South Airport and it is exactly as published, a short, relaxing 20 minute drive.

Check in

We arrived late in the evening as the Thomson Glasgow flight departs the UK at 4.30pm. The Check in was very smooth and efficient. Bradley was behind the desk and carried out the check in very quickly and gave us the important information we’d need to start the holiday – location of restaurant, bars etc and the opening times. A helpful bell boy takes your bags to your room straight away and shows you how the safe, A/C works etc. As the buffet was about to stop serving evening meal Bradley arranged for us to have a cold buffet delivered to the room. This was much more than a just your regular cold buffet, it had a selection of cold meats, fruit, breads, cheeses and desert pastries. This was a perfect touch and allowed us to settle in without any fuss.

The Room

The rooms are a great size and very clean. We had a comfy double bed and a sofa (this is a sofa bed if there are more than 2). The room has:

• Flat screen TV with a choice of UK and other European channels
• Mini bar
• Desk and chair
• Two well-lit built in wardrobes
• Good lighting and mirrors
• Safe (which is operated by use of one of your own cards – I used my Nectar card, but any one will do as long as it has a magnetic strip)
• Balcony with two chairs and table (those with larger balconies have sun loungers)
• Bathroom with two sinks, hair drier, large bath, walk in rainfall shower with wall mounted water jets and separate WC.

Using the cards in the bathroom and main room you choose when you want your bed linen and towels changed. Helps to do your bit for the environment and would you change your towels and linen every day if you were at home?

Poolside

The hotel is relatively small by Tenerife standards and that is a good thing. There are plenty of sun loungers and parasols around the pool area. There a several Balinese beds too but we prefer the loungers which come with good quality padded cushions. There is an enforced ‘no reservation of beds’ policy which works really well and is adhered to by residents. I think this works because the hotel puts fresh towels out on most of the beds during the morning set up – there is none of this hand over your towel card to get a towel. We would come back from our morning walk around 11 and always found a couple beds and a parasol. If you want more towels you can help yourself. The pool area is very clean and protected from any breeze that is about. The pool side bar is great. You can have snacks by the pool or in the shaded seating area. You can have a full blown lunch if you can cope with that much food. Drinks are also served by the pool by the staff. You can pay by cash or do as I did and put it on the room.
There is shallow child’s paddling pool with toys. This is up near the children’s’ club.
There is also a well equipped gym if that is your thing and a spa if you are going for the full indulgence.

Restaurant

We were half board. At breakfast you had your choice of dining inside or on the terrace overlooking the pool and out towards the sea and La Gomera. The breakfast is a hearty affair. There are Nespresso machines - mine is a decaff latte – choice of teas and regular coffee. The choice of food is too great to list here but my typical Plantacion breakfast was:

• Latte with a fresh warm croissant;
• Bowl of cereal (with almond and sunflower seeds);
• Slice of toasted whole meal bread with small ham and cheese omelette with a couple of crispy bacon rashers;
• Tub of natural yogurt; and a
• Banana

This was all washed down with glasses of fruit juice, sparkling water and a large pot of tea.

As I write this I am thinking that was way too much food, but I burned it off with long walks and days out. You will not leave breakfast hungry and on more than one occasion I had to have pancakes and maple syrup too!

The evening meals could be taken inside, on the terrace or in the courtyard. We ate in each depending on the evening weather. We had a couple of breezy evening s and the courtyard and inside were perfect.

Gents are required to wear long trousers at the evening meal. Ladies just have to look as glamorous as they normally do.

The evening buffet is varied and filling. Each evening has a theme – Spanish, BBQ, International, Sea Food, Canarian etc. There is always something tasty to eat. We found it all to be fresh, well prepared and enjoyable. Depending on the theme, the chef on the hot plate cooks chicken, beef, salmon, Sea Bass, Hake, Lamb chops, stir-frys and more to order. There is a great choice of starters and desserts and I would reckon that vegetarians are well catered for too.

We never, ever left the table feeling anything other than fully wined and dined. There are plenty of tables and it is yours until you are done or you are unable to squeeze in that last profiterole.

The wine list is reasonably priced – something for every pocket.

The evening entertainment starts during the buffet sitting out on the terrace. It is of a good quality and very low key, which we thought just right. The stand out is the guitarist and saxophonist duo – talented, entertaining and added to the evening relaxation. The evening bar is the other side of the terrace from the restaurant. While we were there it was operated by Grima, who always had a hello and a smile for every guest. She always remembered what we wanted and served everyone with such cheeriness.

All the staff are very friendly and helpful. I am only sorry I did not take note of there names to give them a mention. I improved my Spanish by talking with the Maître D’s, waiters, waitresses and life guard.

Location

The hotel has an elevated position which gives it the very best sea views. We loved going for a walk after breakfast and would stroll down to the see front promenade. There are loads of lovely Bar/Cafes to have a coffee, tea, water, beer or whatever you fancy. The Plaza Del Duque is nearby and has a very wide selection of shops of all types – fashion, jewellery, shoes, supermarket etc. My wife likes Esprit and Mango and picked up some lovely summer wear and a new handbag. To the left on the promenade takes you along towards Playas Del Duque, Fanabe, Torviscas and onward for Las Americas. To the right take you to La Caleta. If you go to La Caleta stop for a coffee or tea at Rosso Sul Mare.

The walk back up the hill justifies the breakfast!

If you are adventurous, Siam Water Park is about 10 minutes by taxi or bus, and Mount Teide and La Laguna about an hour by hire car. La Laguna is worth a visit. It is an historical World Heritage site and very Spanish, and 500 years apart in appearance from the southern part of the island. It has great shops and places to eat too.

Last Word

Would we go back….yes.
Will we go back……yes, already looking at dates for August.

Room Tip: Try for a room above the restaurant terrace for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Drumbowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen_VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear guest,

We appreciate your comments, and we will pass on your congratulations to the whole team. It is our greatest satisfaction to hear that you have had a good experience at our hotel, and this is our motivation for working every day. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.

We would be delighted to welcome you again to our hotel.

With best wishes.
Carmen Fernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The hotel staff and the cleanliness throughout is excellent. Pool and public areas always kept clean and tidy. always a sunbed available. I was disappointed on the location of the hotel; felt it was the wrong side of a busy road, make sure you have a good pair of comfy shoes as the walk to and from the centre is all up hill on the way back. there is a shuttle service fron the hotel to the centte which is good.
our room was good booked a superior twin plenty of room the bathroom was fab. towel changes twice a day.
buffet food was good the evening chef cooking the fresh fish and steak to order was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lymergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen_VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear guest,

We appreciate your comments, and we will pass on your congratulations to the whole team. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to be able to welcome you again soon at our hotel.

With best wishes,
Carmen Fernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This was my 4th stay at this hotel and once again it failed to disappoint. It has a beautiful setting, quiet and high up with amazing views of the sea. Within walking distance of Del Duque beach with its nice selection of shops, bars and restaurants.

The staff here are first class, always very welcoming, polite and friendly. The rooms are very spacious with large balconies with wonderful tranquil views. The spa I have used on many occasions, it's very peaceful with great treatment rooms and the treatments to match, it also has an outdoor circuit pool with lots of jets, which is like having a massage in itself. Breakfast here is fantastic and they serve a lovely lunch down at the pool area.

I love the layout of this hotel as there are many pools but all individually surrounded by native and unitive plants and trees, giving it a more private and relaxed feel. There are plenty of sun beds too so never a rush to get down there early.

It has a baby pool and kids club, we couldn't put our little one in the club as she was too young (minimum age of 4) however,she loved splashing about in the very warm baby pool with toys provided.

Once again a wonderful stay, I am already looking forward to our next.

Room Tip: Rooms facing inwards have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seashore987654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen_VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to read comments such as yours that encourage us to continue making an effort so that our customers' experiences at our hotels is pleasant and enjoyable.

We would be delighted to be able to welcome you again to any of our hotels.

With best wishes,
Carmen Fernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The hotel itself is lovely, tranquil being the best way to describe the pool and grounds. Rooms are fab, we are staying in a junior suite and are a family of four and there is plenty of room as well as lots of hanging space. Currently writing this by the pool and we have been her a week and have another left.
The reception staff are five star and only too happy to help. However, poolside and restaurant service is not up to five star level. Breakfast is poor, everything seems watered down/tasteless and although choice is good is more along the quality of a four star. Slow to set tables and this morning before we had time to fill our cups, they had been removed so had to ask for more but then had no teaspoons. Little things that you would expect like new cutlery to be laid and not having to search for a waiter to order milk/coffee etc add to the frustration. We are bed and breakfast so hasn't affected us too much but they need more staff especially inside where they seem to rely on one waiter to serve all the tables.
The poolside restaurant food is very good but again always having to get the waiters attention for a drink is not what I would expect in a five star hotel.
The service needs to be consistent for example one night after the turndown service we received chocolates and a weather forecast next night just choccies, next night nothing. Could do to have some complimentary water for guests both in rooms and at the poolside and perhaps mattress covers on the pool beds would be a good idea as these things are the norm in most top hotels around the world.
Overall though the facilities are great and the Spa is worth a visit but beware the offer to use the spa pool as there is a 15 euro charge they do not tell you about although it is free to use if you are having a treatment.
The local area is very upmarket compared to the rest of Fanabe/Toviscas and there are plenty of good quality restaurants. It is much quieter and there are fewer bars but the Safari Centre is only ten minutes if that, in a taxi.

Room Tip: Junior suite with full sea view to be recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014


The service we received in every aspect and experience at this hotel is better than anywhere else we had previously stayed.
Rooms are very tastefully appointed with big comfy beds and stunning views The tv has uk sky itv2 and kids channels, the room also enjoyed good wifi coverage. A very large bathroom actually split into three areas with a powerful 'rain' shower
The well appointed public areas really do give the impression of a luxury plantation house they are both relaxing and spacious.
The Reception, check in and out experience was totally friendly and efficient.
Eating in the restaurant both in the morning and evening we found the choice exceptional, the staff very attentitive making a special effort to amuse our 10 year old son which gave us a better and informal feel, certainly not stuffy. The a la carte restaurant is for the formal occasion with a delicious menu.
The pool areas, all fresh water with one of the pools being properly heated are a delight. Plenty of comfy padded beds and towels are available, the large double day beds get reserved by the early birds despite the polite notice asking people not to.
The kids club was superb, catering for all ages, keeping them well amuzed and seemed to be well occupied. The staff really did make an effort. The activities were varied day to day and not repetitive.

A proper relaxing yet informal 5 star hotel, which truly deserves every one of the awards it proudly displays in the reception.

Stayed: June 2013
1  Thank bangerack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.5 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.2 mi away
Baobab Suites
Baobab Suites
#9 of 60 in Costa Adeje
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#17 of 60 in Costa Adeje
5,693 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#15 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,468 reviews
0.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Anthelia
IBEROSTAR Anthelia
#5 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur

Address: C/ Roque Nublo 1 | Sector 8 Fanabe, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $229 - $769 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful hotel is located in the privileged zone in the South of Tenerife, Costa Adeje. Given it offers privileged views. It is of Colonial Canarian style, with tropical gardens and has an exquisite decoration full of harmony and elegance in each corner. Located only 500 meters from the Bahia del Duque Beach, it is in the proximity of the best Golf course on the island and is only 20 minutes from the Airport Reina Sofia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion Del Sur Hotel Costa Adeje
Seleccion La Plantacion Vincci
La Plantacion
Vincci La Plantacion
Vincci Playa De Las Americas
Vincci Plantacion
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion Del Sur Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing