We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - very quiet and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - very quiet and relaxing”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a four night stay with bed and breakfast. Our check in was very quick and efficient and the hotel reception as with all areas of the hotel was very clean and well presented.
We thought we had booked an upgrade and when we asked at reception we were told we had but in hindsight I do not think this was the case.
Good Points:
We were in room 15 which is really spacious with a fantastic bathroom, the balcony was a good size we had a side sea view and I did like the view over the island. We were overlooking the road which was not an issue for us as at night we didn't hear the traffic.
Rooms are really very clean with a turn down service in the evening, we found the bed very comfortable and slept really well.
Pool side areas are beautiful and we always found space and it is so peaceful, the pool side bar/restaurant is great and we had lunch there one day, although be careful not to ask for a side order of chips as this will set you back 9 euros!
Breakfast has an excellent choice and the food is a good quality. It is served from 7.30 until 11am which we were appreciative of and we never found it busy as is sometimes the case in other hotels.
Staff are really friendly and pleasant.

Points to note:
Be mindful if you are staying in the next few weeks and you are in rooms (odd numbers) 10 - 19 as they are doing road works which is very noisy and goes on until about 7pm. We didn't mention this or ask to move as we were only there for a short period and were not in our room a great deal.
I think our room must have been over the kitchen as at breakfast and some evening times there was a smell of food in the bathroom area and we could hear the staff clearing plates etc. Again, it is not a massive distraction as we didn't spend copious amounts of time in the bathroom but when you are paying a lot of money to stay somewhere it is sometimes difficult not to get fastidious.
As per another review the hotel does not seem to have a bar area for the evenings, we went out every evening but I did not see anywhere to have a drink beforehand or when we arrived back. However, the plus side to this was the hotel was quiet all the time.
The walk up the hill is steep, it was more than manageable for us but it is about a ten minute walk to the front.
There is a lot to recommend about this hotel - it is aesthetically pleasing, a high standard of cleanliness, beautiful pool areas, room size, bathrooms, breakfast and friendly staff but I am not sure if I would return as it was a bit quiet for me and I am not sure that the price reflects what you receive in return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BecciWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,744
    462
    154
    45
    35
See reviews for
589
1,521
29
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We think the prior reviews on TA are pretty balanced here.

The hotel itself is on quite a compact plot on a rocky outcrop but the grounds are nicely planted. The buffet breakfast and dinner were perfect for us with a young family and the quality and selection was just fine for a week. The staff are lovely (thank you, Moises and Alma). The hill walk to and from the beach is a bit of a grind with buggy, toddler and beach bag and, if going to Costa Adeje again, we'd look better at the comparably priced hotels on the seafront (Bahia del Duque, Mirador and others) rather than pick the highest TA rated hotel in our price range. The WiFi is a bit droppy but, hey, you're on holiday.

We do want to flag some room positioning issues. There are 94 rooms in the main building. About half have front-on or panoramic sea views with the other half have side sea views. Of the latter, 18 rooms overlook the 5 lane highway that runs along the eastern edge of the hotel, only about 15m from the main building, which serves as the main access road into the resort (see pictures). There is not insignificant traffic noise which continues through the night. We didn't appreciate this when we booked. The hotel were unable to offer us a similar room (superior side sea view) away from the road. We were given the option of staying put or paying an additional €100 per night (payable up front) to move to a suite. We've never had the need to request a room move before and were slightly shocked that a 5 star Lux hotel would request an additional €700 for the week (on top of the previously paid rate) to provide guests with reasonable and acceptable level of accommodation.

If La Plantacion del Sur is the hotel for you and you don't want the nasty shock we got we'd suggest that you specifically request a room (or villa) away from the road. Or be prepared to pay a surcharge on arrival.

Room Tip: See main comment and pictures. Road noise in the side sea rooms/ villas on/ facing the east of the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColinM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit and it was fantastic. We were given a very warm greeting when we arrived and a lovely villa with rooftop jacuzzi. Just what we needed to relax and enjoy all that this hotel has to offer - particularly the tranquil location, stunning views and friendly staff.

Yes we had problems with the wifi initially but it was sorted out very promptly.

We were celebrating my husbands birthday and nice extra touches were provided (wine, chocolates and an after dinner drink).

The setting on an old banana plantation, gorgeous vanilla scent in the hotel reception, comfortable bed, huge Balinese day beds will help you to really relax. There was a good breakfast selection (we recommend the fruit smoothies), the terrace provides lovely views to enjoy and the tapas bar in the evening is also great.

We've been lucky to stay in lots of different international hotels and in our view this is up there with the best of them but with the advantage of a shorter flight.

We're looking forward to returning.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
205 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We liked the slightly remote location apart from the terrible lack of connection to anything - beach or shops is a long hilly walk away, and the noisy traffic from the main road in front of the hotel.

The bed was very comfortable, the room was large, the view is great, the bathroom is well planned, the public areas a cool, generous and quiet. We liked the pools always finding somewhere to sit. Breakfast was excellent.

It was a great shame that my good impressions of the hotel were shattered when I asked reception for an additional room card for my partner who was joining me the next day, I was shouted at by an overly aggressive receptionist who felt the need to tell me that my partner 'must come immediately to reception on arrival with passport!' I accepted this demand and agreed that we would do this, however the receptionist continued to berate me very rudely.

By this point I had had enough and asked to speak with a manager Daniela Tadialova the Guest Relations Manager who witnessed the whole thing told me that the receptionist should not have spoken to me this way, however she did not mean offence. I then spoke to Adian Gonzalez - Deputy General Manager who said that they would speak with the receptionist - but was not really interested.

Overall I felt that the whole thing slightly spoiled my impression of the hotel, and whilst I found Daniela to be very pleasant, I thought she was ineffectual in dealing with this issue. Adrian was even less effective - he seemed to wonder round the hotel as if he was unsure what his job involved, and although we had discussed the incident chose to ignore me when we met again in the restaurant and reception areas.

Room Tip: Make sure that your room is not over the restaurant and breakfast patio, the villas overhang the bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The warm welcome we received from the staff on duty was the best I have experienced from all my hotel visits, this was before we were offered the upgrade from our standard room. The glass of cava was most welcome after a long journey and the visit to our suite was the wow factor. A beautiful private garden with hot tub before we entered into the suite, a huge bedroom with super king sized four poster bed leads into an area with dressing room (his and hers) huge bathroom with everything! and a separate toilet area. All rooms have mini bar and a complimentary bottle of wine.
The pools around the gardens are beautiful, clean very tidy. All the staff are polite, friendly and very attentive, it is their pleasure to make sure you are having a good holiday. We went for half board and enjoyed a breakfast of great choice definitely something for everyone. With a table specially for children a lovely touch. Children at the hotel were made very welcome. In the evening the food is again great choice and a different theme every evening. It was also nice to dress up, the entertainment was good, especially the saxophone and singer both outstanding. The bar by the pool had lovely views over the bay and sipping a martini cocktail made by Chelo's fine hand was perfect at sunset before dinner.
The location is right at the top of the hill, so a lovely walk to the esplanade takes about 5-10 minutes depending on your speed and if you turn right on the esplanade you will end up at Caleta where you have a choice of about 4-5 restaurants a great break for lunch or a drink.
I cannot fault this 5 star hotel , it certainly made our first trip to Tenerife and we will go back to this hotel. Thanks to Daniella and Zdena on reception for all you did for us.

Room Tip: If a villa is available, please book it, you will have the experience of a lifetime and enjoy the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DA364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

This is not a 5 star hotel as the food is sub standard, the service is appalling the staff make you feel as though you should be grateful they are serving you and the beds are so uncomfortable. We had a Junior Suite it was ok with two small children but not ideal. The kids club is insignificant so don't rely upon it with children. Our trip was severely overpriced probably because of half term. The principle problem is that staff do not comprehend the meaning of 5 star service. If you have an hour to wait for pool service whilst paying central London prices than stay here if not do not go to Tenerife at all. Really very little to do.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Priya318795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear guest,

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not what you expected. We take note of each and every one of our customers' observations, complaints, suggestions and comments, for the purpose of our improvement.

Regarding food, at all times we try to offer varied, top-quality options, among which our customers can find everything that they might desire. We are sorry that you did not enjoy it.

Our staff is known for offering exquisite treatment and attention to all our customers. We are sorry that in your case you did not feel that that was the case.

We are at your service for anything that you may need.

With best wishes,
Carmen Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 7 night stay at this hotel. If you want peace, quiet and relaxation in a super clean hotel with very friendly but professional staff we would recommend this property. Large rooms - we had a standard room away from the road - bery comfortable but minuscule bars of soap and not sure why the soap dish is stuck to the work top of the vanity unit? The wifi is erratic (probably did us good to keep us away from work emails!) and it is irritating that they give you a 5 day complimentary voucher for the wifi when you are there for 7 mights and then you have to get another voucher after 5 days from Reception ... This is not a 5 star offering wifi access should be complimentary for all guests it is something that truly irritates us it is the way of the world end of story! We did go to the bar one evening and sat for about 30 minutes and nobody approached us to take a drink order so we left ... These are our only niggles. Breakfast really had an excellent selection. The hill walk didn't cause us any issues and we enjoyed our walk to La Caleta and back each evening (about 25 minutes each way) Overall a non stuffy 5 star hotel keep up the good work and sort the wifi! Thanks for a truly relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.5 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.4 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
5,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baobab Suites
Baobab Suites
#8 of 57 in Costa Adeje
582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
0.1 mi away
Bahia del Duque
Bahia del Duque
#10 of 57 in Costa Adeje
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur

Property: Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
Address: C/ Roque Nublo 1 | Sector 8 Fanabe, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful hotel is located in the privileged zone in the South of Tenerife, Costa Adeje. Given it offers privileged views. It is of Colonial Canarian style, with tropical gardens and has an exquisite decoration full of harmony and elegance in each corner. Located only 500 meters from the Bahia del Duque Beach, it is in the proximity of the best Golf course on the island and is only 20 minutes from the Airport Reina Sofia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion Del Sur Hotel Costa Adeje
Seleccion La Plantacion Vincci
La Plantacion
Vincci La Plantacion
Vincci Playa De Las Americas
Vincci Plantacion
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion Del Sur Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing