We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWAY FROM THE MAD CROWD BUT.......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We liked the slightly remote location apart from the terrible lack of connection to anything - beach or shops is a long hilly walk away, and the noisy traffic from the main road in front of the hotel.

The bed was very comfortable, the room was large, the view is great, the bathroom is well planned, the public areas a cool, generous and quiet. We liked the pools always finding somewhere to sit. Breakfast was excellent.

It was a great shame that my good impressions of the hotel were shattered when I asked reception for an additional room card for my partner who was joining me the next day, I was shouted at by an overly aggressive receptionist who felt the need to tell me that my partner 'must come immediately to reception on arrival with passport!' I accepted this demand and agreed that we would do this, however the receptionist continued to berate me very rudely.

By this point I had had enough and asked to speak with a manager Daniela Tadialova the Guest Relations Manager who witnessed the whole thing told me that the receptionist should not have spoken to me this way, however she did not mean offence. I then spoke to Adian Gonzalez - Deputy General Manager who said that they would speak with the receptionist - but was not really interested.

Overall I felt that the whole thing slightly spoiled my impression of the hotel, and whilst I found Daniela to be very pleasant, I thought she was ineffectual in dealing with this issue. Adrian was even less effective - he seemed to wonder round the hotel as if he was unsure what his job involved, and although we had discussed the incident chose to ignore me when we met again in the restaurant and reception areas.

Room Tip: Make sure that your room is not over the restaurant and breakfast patio, the villas overhang the bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,818)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,245 - 1,251 of 2,818 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

The warm welcome we received from the staff on duty was the best I have experienced from all my hotel visits, this was before we were offered the upgrade from our standard room. The glass of cava was most welcome after a long journey and the visit to our suite was the wow factor. A beautiful private garden with hot tub before we entered into the suite, a huge bedroom with super king sized four poster bed leads into an area with dressing room (his and hers) huge bathroom with everything! and a separate toilet area. All rooms have mini bar and a complimentary bottle of wine.
The pools around the gardens are beautiful, clean very tidy. All the staff are polite, friendly and very attentive, it is their pleasure to make sure you are having a good holiday. We went for half board and enjoyed a breakfast of great choice definitely something for everyone. With a table specially for children a lovely touch. Children at the hotel were made very welcome. In the evening the food is again great choice and a different theme every evening. It was also nice to dress up, the entertainment was good, especially the saxophone and singer both outstanding. The bar by the pool had lovely views over the bay and sipping a martini cocktail made by Chelo's fine hand was perfect at sunset before dinner.
The location is right at the top of the hill, so a lovely walk to the esplanade takes about 5-10 minutes depending on your speed and if you turn right on the esplanade you will end up at Caleta where you have a choice of about 4-5 restaurants a great break for lunch or a drink.
I cannot fault this 5 star hotel , it certainly made our first trip to Tenerife and we will go back to this hotel. Thanks to Daniella and Zdena on reception for all you did for us.

Room Tip: If a villa is available, please book it, you will have the experience of a lifetime and enjoy the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DA364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

This is not a 5 star hotel as the food is sub standard, the service is appalling the staff make you feel as though you should be grateful they are serving you and the beds are so uncomfortable. We had a Junior Suite it was ok with two small children but not ideal. The kids club is insignificant so don't rely upon it with children. Our trip was severely overpriced probably because of half term. The principle problem is that staff do not comprehend the meaning of 5 star service. If you have an hour to wait for pool service whilst paying central London prices than stay here if not do not go to Tenerife at all. Really very little to do.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Priya318795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear guest,

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not what you expected. We take note of each and every one of our customers' observations, complaints, suggestions and comments, for the purpose of our improvement.

Regarding food, at all times we try to offer varied, top-quality options, among which our customers can find everything that they might desire. We are sorry that you did not enjoy it.

Our staff is known for offering exquisite treatment and attention to all our customers. We are sorry that in your case you did not feel that that was the case.

We are at your service for anything that you may need.

With best wishes,
Carmen Fernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 7 night stay at this hotel. If you want peace, quiet and relaxation in a super clean hotel with very friendly but professional staff we would recommend this property. Large rooms - we had a standard room away from the road - bery comfortable but minuscule bars of soap and not sure why the soap dish is stuck to the work top of the vanity unit? The wifi is erratic (probably did us good to keep us away from work emails!) and it is irritating that they give you a 5 day complimentary voucher for the wifi when you are there for 7 mights and then you have to get another voucher after 5 days from Reception ... This is not a 5 star offering wifi access should be complimentary for all guests it is something that truly irritates us it is the way of the world end of story! We did go to the bar one evening and sat for about 30 minutes and nobody approached us to take a drink order so we left ... These are our only niggles. Breakfast really had an excellent selection. The hill walk didn't cause us any issues and we enjoyed our walk to La Caleta and back each evening (about 25 minutes each way) Overall a non stuffy 5 star hotel keep up the good work and sort the wifi! Thanks for a truly relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from our holiday in Costa Adeje. We found this hotel to be over priced, expect to pay 40 euro for a basic lunch for two and 80 euro for an average buffet at night. (not incl any alcohol)

The location of the hotel is very inconvenient, it is on an isolated hill meaning taxis to everywhere are a must! The rooms are well kept and spacious although the beds are uncomfortable. The staff were the best thing about our stay as they were helpful and friendly.

The resort is upmarket, all the action is around the front promenade. We would stay at one of the hotels near beach in our return such as the Iberostar el mirador.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank honestgal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear guest,

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not what you expected. We take note of each and every one of our customers' observations, complaints, suggestions and comments, for the purpose of our improvement.

We are at your service for anything that you may need.

With best wishes,
Carmen Fernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed for a week 10th to 17th February.

A fabulous welcome from a most charming reception. All the staff were delightful.

Our seaview room was comfortable.

The hotel is poorly sited in our view and a taxi is required to reach any facility. There is NO hotel shop of any sort. There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room and no trouser press. Soap as usual was severely rationed.

Although we are both very fit we found it a bore to require a taxi to go anywere at all.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GESTOCHARLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had great weather, the staff are indeed very helpful, and the buffet food was excellent (we were thinking we'd use the gourmet a la carte restaurant but never felt the need). But we came away with "that was ok" rather than "wow!" .

On arrival we upgraded to a solarium villa. Our original room 019 was fine but the balcony was tiny and overlooked 5 lanes of traffic. Sure it wasn't exactly spaghetti junction but there was plenty of road noise outside. So we ended up in 732 which was still overlooking the roads, but had the outside space to relax in the sun. The room itself was just ok - but apart from a splendid multi-directional shower nothing special, and the floor tiles were scratched and need repair.

The biggest irritation was the number of maintenance problems. We moved in and there was no plug for the jacuzzi. No plugs of the right size were available. Eventually the staff member went next door and gave us their plug. I hope he found one for them! Then we discovered the Russian roulette called "opening the door with key cards". We just couldn't get them to work and neither could the staff. This is a luxury small hotel of the world, and we're repeatedly standing outside unable to get into our accommodation. It's not the end of the world when the English TV channels don't work for several days, but couple that with the above - to say nothing of the erratic wifi on top - and at these prices its starts to grate. Our safe locked us out and again we're on to the maintenance team. By this stage it felt like I was co-ordinating an entire repair programme.

I now have a thing about luxury hotels and wifi. Just fix it so it works for everybody all the time. Period. Its the way of the world that some of us have to do some work when we're away and supposed to be on holiday. I expect to be able to do that when I want and not have to stop what I'm enjoying doing because the wifi has kicked in. If it doesn't work we don't go back. It's as simple as that.

We used the gym quite a bit and the norm was that either the towels or the water or the cups needed replenishing; its not the end of the world for sure but in a proper luxury small hotel of the world (and we've been there) that doesn't happen.

Don't get me wrong. We still had a good week. We went for warmth, sun and a break to recharge and that was delivered. We hired a car and got an upgrade so we were exploring the magnificent Teide in a Mercedes SLK. It had done 185,000km but it was still an SLK. And we had a lovely afternoon on a yacht with attending dolphins and pilot whales. Despite the concrete jungle of South Tenerife we'd go back for a warm week and a relatively short flight......if there was a hotel that fully lived up to the luxury billing.

So overall despite the lovely staff, for the 5 star billing and the prices, for us La Plantacion has a bit to do.

PS We're around 60, and the hill wasn't an issue, even in heat of the day.

Stayed: February 2014
4  Thank Neal57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen us and for offering us your comments and opinions. We will take them into account carefully, because they will help us improve every day, and also to adapt our facilities and services to our customers' tastes and needs.

All our guestrooms and facilities are inspected and cleaned rigorously, and so we apologize if during your stay there may have been an isolated failure in the process that would have caused the inconveniences that you describe, and we will take measures so that it does not occur again.

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not what you expected. We hope that you can visit us in the near future so that you can enjoy a real Vincci experience.

With best wishes,
Carmen Fernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.5 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.4 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#19 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baobab Suites
Baobab Suites
#9 of 61 in Costa Adeje
712 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
#3 of 61 in Costa Adeje
729 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#2 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur

Address: C/ Roque Nublo 1 | Sector 8 Fanabe, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $215 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful hotel is located in the privileged zone in the South of Tenerife, Costa Adeje. Given it offers privileged views. It is of Colonial Canarian style, with tropical gardens and has an exquisite decoration full of harmony and elegance in each corner. Located only 500 meters from the Bahia del Duque Beach, it is in the proximity of the best Golf course on the island and is only 20 minutes from the Airport Reina Sofia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion Del Sur Hotel Costa Adeje
Seleccion La Plantacion Vincci
La Plantacion
Vincci La Plantacion
Vincci Playa De Las Americas
Vincci Plantacion
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion Del Sur Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing