We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem - the place to stay for total relaxation!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,286 reviews
294 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 674 helpful votes
“A Real Gem - the place to stay for total relaxation!!!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were very fortunate to be staying here for our 2nd time in the past 9 months!

Rather than just repeat everything word for word from my review back in September 2012 (all of which is still true!) I will try to help with information on location, rooms, food, and staff.

Location -

For me the location of this hotel is a key asset. It is built on a hill sitting up above the other 5* hotels in the area. As a result you have a hotel which gives you the most amazing sea views, whether in your room, on your balcony, eating on the terrace or around the magnificent grounds. From the terrace one night I could see no other hotel or building, just the hotel grounds and the sea; this must have been in the thinking when designed. You are about 500 yards from the beach and it is a steep hill but I think this can be overcome with either the twice a day courtesy bus, cheap taxis or (for most) taking the hill on and knowing you'll have earned some calories back!

I have also read that some have said only turn right out of the hotel (towards La Caleta) and avoid turning left (towards Torviscas) as it is a bit like "Blackpool". I would agree that the area to the right is quieter and a little more upmarket, however don't avoid turning left as you'll miss some good beaches, great views, and decent bars & restaurants. It is nothing like Blackpool.

Rooms -

Like last time we were on floor 2 (room 232) in a superior twin room with sea view. The location of this room was even better than last time with a greater sea view. I had hoped for an upgrade as we were here celebrating 2 events and in fact the hotel did say we had been upgraded (I think the room grade had stayed the same and perhaps it was the better sea view which had been the upgrade). Shame it was not to a Suite or Villa as others may have experienced but in no way is that to dismiss the quality and location of the room we had - it was great. Personally I would avoid rooms below floor 1 as they seem to have solid balcony walls which may interrupt your view if sitting there.

Our room was kept immaculate at all times (not by us!). Free wifi via vouchers lasting 5 days each.

Food -

Just as last time food choice and quality was very good. Far too many options to list but whether you are an avid meat eater, vegetarian, fish lover or love your cheeses there is plenty for you here. Our holiday included evening meal in the buffet restaurant (€35 per person if you pay whilst here). In the evenings there is low key musical entertainment as you enjoy dinner on the outdoor terrace looking out to sea. Perfect.

Most nights started with a complimentary cocktail to take into dinner. Most wine prices were in the €16 to €20 range.

Staff -

They are fabulous! Friendly, efficient, courteous and so hard working. There are a few who are even better than the general high standard. Top of our list is Lkadi; on our 1st morning he greeted us with "this is your 2nd time?" and from that point on was a mixture of great fun/humour, incredible service, friendliness, and doing everything he could to add to our holiday. He would always find you the best table, sometimes randomly take your dinner plate off you and walk you back to your table with it, and never stopped smiling. I would go as far as to say he is the best employee I have experienced in any hotel I have visited - a real asset that the hotel should make sure they keep!

The hotel "would be even better if........."

1. It provided complimentary water/tea/coffee in the room.
2. It published some of its offers whilst here a bit better (in September we were given an "eat at the restaurant for €50" voucher - we asked guest services about it this time and nobody came back to us about it but we sensed other guests may have had it).
3. It changed the time of its turndown service away from the time most people are probably getting ready for dinner!

So that's it. Another great visit with great weather! Will be back either later this year, or next, or both. This is a fabulous hotel which is a very relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay in Tenerife and for writing your opinions. It is a pleasure for us to know that you liked the hotel, overall its location, the rooms, the staff and the restaurant service, among other aspects. We will pass along your praise to our entire team. Our guest´s satisfaction is surely our reason to be and what we work for day after day in Vincci Hotels.
Likewise, we can assure you that we will take note of all of your suggestions in order to improve the service we offer our guests in the future. We work to satisfy our guests and their opinions are what always guide us in doing so.
We hope to welcome you again to any one of our establishments.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,737
    459
    154
    45
    35
See reviews for
586
1,514
29
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife & I celebrated our 30th Wedding Anniversary at Vincci La Plantacion Tenerife and for us it was the perfect hotel and location. We wanted a quiet relaxing hotel not far from everything yet far enough to chill and enjoy and that's what we got.
Our celebration was made all the more special with the help of La Plantacion's public relations manager Daniella who assigned us to a beautiful villa with a fantastic view.
And what can I say about the food and the friendly staff 'brilliant'.
In the light of these things and our experience I have no hesitation in recommending La Plantacion hotel to others.

Room Tip: Our villa was excellent and the view fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ge0rGe89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just returned from our 5th stay at this wonderful hotel. Once again we had a fantastic time, from the moment we arrived, which was 8 hours late due to air traffic control strike, to the time of our departure. As we arrived late we were offered the option of a buffet in our room but as the restaurant was still open we opted to go there and there was still plenty of choice available and the staff were very attentive even though it was late. We had a fantastic room with wonderful views and for the next 6 days our every need was taken care of. We didn't have to lift a finger! Although the food has always been good I thought it was better than ever this time. The grounds and pools are extremely tranquil and I came home chilled and relaxed. I can't wait for my next visit! Just a special mention for Remy and Lkadi who always greet us like old friends and can't do enough for us, thanks! Its people like this who make it special.

Room Tip: Just ask for a high floor for amazing views and sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed for one week in the middle of June and thoroughly enjoyed our time at this hotel. Tenerife, as a holiday destination, wasn't to our tastes at all, so having a great hotel to escape to was A great relief. As other reviewers have commented, the pools and gardens are beautiful and the staff work tirelessly to keep everything in order. We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a garden villa which had everything we could possibly want. We stayed B&B and breakfast was a real treat each morning after the daily 8-9 mile run along the coast. The location up hill away from the beach wasn't a problem for us and we certainly wouldn't have wanted to be closer to the busier resorts around the hotel. La Caleta to the west of the hotel is fine and we enjoyed the walk in the evening sunshine. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel if you're sure you want to visit Tenerife.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picklelilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Having never been to Tenerife, we booked La Plantacion based on the reviews we read and were so glad we did. The hotel is an oasis of calm, situated on the top of a hill with beautiful views out to sea. We stayed in a sea view room on the second floor which was very clean, spacious and had a private balcony overlooking the hotel garden and pools. The breakfast and dinner buffet offered in the main restaurant was very good quality offering an extensive choice of dishes and a cook to order grill. The pools and gardens are very well kept and being set over different levels makes for a more intimate atmosphere.
The highest compliment we can pay La Plantacion though is to its staff who made us feel so welcome. A special thank you goes to Joseph, Lkadi, Danielle and Reme.

Room Tip: Definitely worth booking a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack0Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We received a very warm welcome, greeted with a glass of cava and the news that we had been upgraded to a villa! From then on, our stay was perfect - the villa was lovely with our own rooftop terrace and jacuzzi and the hotel was spacious with many pools and pretty garden areas.
I stayed with my daughter, who has been very unwell and needed a relaxing break - the venue was perfect. We used the spa on several occasions and both of us agreed that the treatments were top quality. Yes, it's certainly not cheap, but on the whole, combined with the use of the hydrotherapy pool (simply the best we've ever experienced) we felt that we received value for money.
Breakfast was exceptional and dinner buffets were very good. Our only real criticism is that evening entertainment wasn't great - a shame as the evening views are to die for. I've seen comments re. Air conditioning - it certainly wasn't the best I've experienced but we managed to sleep with no problem.
Staff were friendly and willing to help at all times. The hotel location isn't perfect, being a 15 min walk from the town and beach, but for a relaxing break in a beautiful setting, it couldn't be better.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wirral_Stewarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We will certainly keep in mind your suggestions: without a doubt they will help us to continue improving the service we offer our guests.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The desperate UK weather prompted my wife and I to grab a short break in Tenerife South (we had stayed at the El Botanico in the North earlier in the year – excellent). We opted for the La Plantacion del Sur on the basis of excellent reviews from fellow Trip Advisor travellers. Retired, we are reasonably seasoned travellers look for hassle free breaks in good quality customer alert hotels. Sadly, this experience proved to be anything but.. Our reception at the hotel was warm, freindly and courteous We were surprised the hotel deducted the whole amount payable when registering our Amex card – in our experience not the usual practice but in these days of economic owe anything is possible, I guess. Our room, listed as being superior sea view was sizeable, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was comprehensively fitted out with more than enough space. The view from the balcony was as per the hotel’s web site but regrettably offered little privacy. A small matter but if we had been booked for a longer stay we would probably have mentioned it to the management. The kettle we had requested (or medical purposes as well as tea) when booking was regrettably not there. In its own way not a big issue other than it took thee chasing phone calls to have it delivered. During this time it was apparent that the air conditioning had a mind of its own in that it seemingly blocked any of my efforts to reduce the heat. By this time I was beginning to strike up a relationship with reception (first name terms) given the regular phone contact. They assured me having viewed their master control panel all was well but after my insistence that it was anything but OK, they dispatched a maintenance man to resolve the issue. We in the meantime needing some exercise and cool air and went out, calling in the pool bar on the way down. Excellent mojitos served with courtesy, good humour at a reasonable price set us up for the start of a short but necessary break.. On our return late night so the problem with the air conditioning raised its head again and again. The record of what took place is well recorded elsewhere on this site, suffice it to say that at 7.00 am after a sleepless and uncomfortable first night and given we only had six days left, we decided enough was enough, saw reception and asked for our monies to be reimbursed as we had elected to leave. The receptionist was excellent in that she listened well, apologised for the problem but then pointed out the air conditioning was set at a threshold of 22 degrees! She offered us another room which we rejected primarily on the grounds that it would not alter the temperature problem. The other proposal following her discussion with the management was that we should pay for the night’s stay (we had no food at the hotel) which I considered insulting and flatly rejected.
We accept no business is perfect but often the quality measure of a hotel/client relationship can be judged on the way and manner in which they handle complaints however small or large. In this instance, following my wife’s (a senior reviewer) posting re; La Plantacion on Trip Advisor, the hotel management responded, the bottom line of which being that they asked us to leave the hotel. To put it kindly. this claim is totally untrue; sadly it says more about them than us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Philanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear guest,
We are sorry that your experience in our hotel was not as we would have wished. We will bear close in mind your feedback as it will help us continue improving.
However, we would like to inform you that on the date of 02/06/2013 we already responded to your case in your first review related to this stay: http://www.tripadvisor.es/ShowUserReviews-g662606-d598367-r162771197-Vincci_Seleccion_La_Plantacion_del_Sur-Costa_Adeje_Tenerife_Canary_Islands.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT
We are at your disposal for whatever you may need.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.5 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.4 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
5,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baobab Suites
Baobab Suites
#8 of 57 in Costa Adeje
579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
0.1 mi away
Bahia del Duque
Bahia del Duque
#10 of 57 in Costa Adeje
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur

Property: Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
Address: C/ Roque Nublo 1 | Sector 8 Fanabe, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful hotel is located in the privileged zone in the South of Tenerife, Costa Adeje. Given it offers privileged views. It is of Colonial Canarian style, with tropical gardens and has an exquisite decoration full of harmony and elegance in each corner. Located only 500 meters from the Bahia del Duque Beach, it is in the proximity of the best Golf course on the island and is only 20 minutes from the Airport Reina Sofia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion Del Sur Hotel Costa Adeje
Seleccion La Plantacion Vincci
La Plantacion
Vincci La Plantacion
Vincci Playa De Las Americas
Vincci Plantacion
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion Del Sur Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing