We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty, Comfort and Perfection rolled into one big box”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
Ranked #34 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beauty, Comfort and Perfection rolled into one big box”
Reviewed September 12, 2009

Although some parts of Tenerife are known for their neon nightclubs and loud obnoxious 18-21year olds with little care for anything other than the bottle of larger that is clasped between their grotty fingers, Costa Adeje is certainly NOT one of these areas. It has beautiful brown sanded beaches (Playa de Torvicas & Playa de Fanabe), family restaurants and beautiful 4 and 5 star hotels. Of course it has its pubs and its street sellers, but they no way impose upon its natural beauty, or ruin your holiday.

The Guayarmina Princess Hotel is situated along the promenade, with numerous rooms facing the resorts glorious glittering ocean or stunning mountains, and is central to almost everything you need for a great holiday. Puerto colon, Las Americas and Los Cristianos are easily accessible via walking in one direction from the hotel and Playa del Duque/la Caleta are just as accessible via walking in the other direction from the hotel.

The hotel itself is gorgeous, with sweeping palm trees, huge white Romanesque pillars, marble flooring and floor to sky glass are only a few aspects of the Guayarmina that make it truly outstanding. The reception area is beautiful and the staff always appear helpful and speak extremely good English. The communal hallways, although could do with some modernisation are always immaculately clean. The rooms which have gone under a completely re-decoration are exactly what you would expect from a 4* hotel. White wide screen television, cream leather sofa, modern white furnishings, double beds, floor to ceiling tiled bathroom with very good power shower and a balcony with a sea view to die for, means i have nothing at all to complain about.

Some people may say the rooms are lacking some Spanish charm, but you cant have it all. The hallways with their cacti, tiled door numbers and wooden doors show off some of its Canarian culture, which works perfectly for me.
The room was very clean, with fresh towels made into swan shapes, fresh bath robes and an array of soaps to use.
The maids are all friendly and always happy to assist you whenever you require it. They do clean everyday, but they do provide you with a do not disturb sigh if you wish them to skip your room.

The 2 pools although not massive, are large enough considering the blue sea that’s waiting for you a few meters away. Towards the end of the day the pool does get a few leaves in it, but what pool doesn’t. Compared to the other pools I’ve been in, this one is amazingly clean and I couldn’t' really fault it. Yes its slippy, this is dangerous but so are most pools, you just need to be careful.
There are numerous sun loungers, and I never failed to find one, even in the afternoon. This may be different during peak August time, or school holiday times but ive been in July and September and there are always plenty available.

The Guayarmina has a Half board or Full Board option with Thomson, I don’t think you can stay self-catering, but then again why would you want to?
I know that Buffets don’t appeal to everyone, and some people seem to be offended by the mere thought of one, but I can’t really see why.
There is a wide choice of foods for breakfast and for dinner.
Breakfast - Croissants, pastries, numerous types of bread for toast, rolls, fresh fruit, cold meats, numerous cereals, hot sausages, bacon, chicken nuggets (a bit odd but fair enough), potatoes, bakes beans, roasted tomatoes, fried eggs, scrambled eggs...i could go on.... it really is endless.

Dinner - Steak, pork, veal, rabbit, chicken, pastas, salads, cheeses, chips, nuggets, numerous styles of potatoes, fresh fish, gazpacho, nachos, noodles, rice, again i could go on.
The dinner does have themes, Canarian and American (i think) and occasionally you might get a night where you're not over;y fond of a few things, but unless you are incredibly fussy, you will always find something delicious! i always did.
It warm and yummy (and I haven’t even mentioned the puddings)
The puddings can be a bit odd; i feel that the ice-cream and cake are probably what’s aimed at the Brits unfortunately. But there are lots of other things to chose from and I did get some porfiteroles one night which where gorgeous, and some coconut tart mmm.

There are other facilities, kids club, about 4 bars, sports activities, evening entertainment ect...but i never used any of these so of course, i cant comment.

Siam Water park & Aqualand are near by via a bus or taxi, which is good for children.

The Freebird trip to see the Wales and dolphins is lovely, but not with Thomson, they charge extortionate amounts! Book with them directly or via the man in the beach hut on the walk to Puerto Colon!

Overall i couldn’t fault the Guayarmina Princess Hotel or Costa Adeje. It may not be everyone’s cuppa tea, but it certainly is mine.
It’s stunning and peaceful and makes for such an amazing holiday, that I always dread the day I fly home.
I will, for the 3rd year in a row, be returning in 2010!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SummerXSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,279
    1,248
    529
    154
    82
See reviews for
1,019
1,742
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,148)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

we flew with portland hols 2 weeks 2 persons £1,500, we have been going on hols for 25 yrs, this year because of the credit crunch we took a last min deal which i didnt think it was that cheap but it was a lovely hotel well worth the money,the staff was wonderful and the rooms ,where quiet big. we had the top floor room 4040 and the views was nice,the sunbeds by the pool was a nightmare to get i think its best to get up at 4am to get one !lol! we went to the beach instead and the sun beds where 15eros still not cheap,we come for the fishing so if there are anybody mad for big game fishing go to see victor who owns his own family run boat there are marlins,sail fish all caught here his boat is called the "dotsy too " dont bother to go on the whale watching you will see them while you fish.we think this hotel was really valve you for your money we go to the caribbean neally every year and this hotel standard are well up with hotels in the caribbean,ok now for the latest scam over there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!SCAM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!10 yrs ago we decided to set aside one day of our hols to go on these scams just to tell everyone how bad they are in europe ,so here it is, we was stopped by 2 young people on the way back from the beach,they asked us would we like free cigarettes and scent oh cause we said"YES" they said they were part of thomsons and they were doing a promotion great we thought ,scratch these cards off and see what we won """guess what """ we won first prize 2 weeks hol,or 1,2000,eros they told us only 3 of these cards were given out every year and we were so "LUCKY" (yer what ever) anyway next thing was to go with them and collect our prize ,in their thomson car,so we said we would go tomorrow morning has we were soaking wet from the sea ,so next morning right on time they were there (not in the thomson car i might add) but in there own car because the thomson car was in the garage pity ,we was early for the office to be opened so we went to a cafe she offered us a coffee but i told her we didnt bring any money she said no problems it was on the house so i asked if i could have a full breakfast and to my surprise she said ok ! she told us that if we stay for 90mins to lishen to this promotion we will get the prize ok we said no probs,next we had to see on of her colleague,so off she went with a big smile on her face,then came the forms to fill out !!on no account do you tell them your detail!!! lie! my hubby left that too me so i gave a false address,telephone no etc then the BIG question bank details yer what ever has if i was going to give a stranger them so i told her i didnt bring them ,she was not happy so she asked if we could get them later (they will take us too the hotel and back)so i smiled and said ok! next stage was to see the main man the hard seller,PAUL STOKES was his name and the company is CONNECTIONS 6 they wanted you buy this cd to down load onto your computer so you can cheap hols for the rest of your life cutting out the middle man ,after 3 coffees later i looked around and saw large families ,young couples all doing the same has us having the hard sell ,by now we had enough of this and i said straight out !!!!!!HOW MUCH!!!!! he said i havent finished yet telling you about it i pushed him more and he finally told me £4,500 i said !!!!!!! your having a laugh!!!!!!!! what makes you think i would give you £4,500 for a product that might not even work,then i ask for my prize and of cause he wouldnt give me it saying i havent stayed the full 90mins so i made him wait in silence untill drunk my new fresh coffee and then we left smiling all the way the sad thing about it was there was a lot of people there having the same hard sell ,did anyone stay for the full 90mins???? e-mail if you bought the product or have your prize

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pontypoolgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2009

Before we went on holiday with Thomson we were a little worried about all of the bad reviews, but we were pleasently suprised. Very impressive looking on the outside and it doesn't disappoint inside. Yes, some of the furnishings in the communal area could do with updating, for example the patterns on the seating is a little 90's but nothing is tatty and everything is very clean. We were very pleased with our room, it had a fantastic sea view and the furnishing was very modern and classy, we particularly liked the bathroom. Great wardrobe space and plenty of seating. Our room faced the seafront, so we were a little worried about the noise at night, however as soon as the french doors out on the balcony was shut it was silent. The only negative point we would say about the room was the bed, absolutly rock hard! Although we were very pleased with our room we can see how some people may have been disappointed with their rooms - i would definately recommend requesting a high floor when you book. Some of the rooms are below ground level and look out onto the street or the side of the tennes court, but if you get a room on the 2nd floor or above your onto a winner. The food at theis hotel we found to be excellent, alot of choice and really nice meat. There is a carvery every night andthen a choice of all sorts of salad pasta rice potatoes... absolutly loadz of stuff! and there is a large area for puddings with everything from yoghurt and icecream to fresh cream cakes and pancakes. For breakfast there was a similar amount of choice, cereal, cooked breakfast fruit yoghurt.. really good. The only thing we would say is to budget for paying for drinks at your evening meal even if you go half board. and they arn't cheap on the first night i had a small glass bottle of fanta costing 2 euros 80 cents!!! and a beer is 2 40, even soft drinks or water are not included. We found all the staff very friendly and welcoming especially the waiters and reception staff. The maids can come across a little rude, however, I think its important to take into account that many of the maids dont speak any english!! The hotel itself is in a prime position, their are plently of shops and bars on the seafront and it takes 2 minutes to get their! beer is also alot cheaper in these bars 1 euro for a large beer. The beach gets very busy, so be sure to get theri early if you want a good spot or sun lounger... I didnt even bother with the hotel pool as we went in august it was full of kids and it was impossible to get a sun lounger unless u got up at the crack of dawn to put your towel on one like everyone else, but it didnt matter becuase it is perfectly safe to go swimming in the sea, they even have massive inflatables for the kids to go on down at the sea front which seemed to be a big hit and their are loadz of watersports too, jet bikes paracending and peddle boats!! Oh and beware getting absolutly hounded if u go to the seafront... some very pushy sales men especially witht he sunglasses, so if you dont want fake gucci sunglasses make sure you have your own with you at all times and dont be afraid to get firm with them, after being asked for the third time in a hour whilst i was trying to relax i said " no and u have asked me three times, i dont want any" they didnt bother me after that. With regards to tenerife itself we thought it wass brilliant loadz to do if you have the money!! we would definatley recommend a trip up the mountain!! although be prepared if you go with thomson its expensive!! and in total will cost u 55 euros each as its an extra 25 euros each to go in the cable car to the top. however when u get their the views are breath taking and when are you ever going to get the chance to go up a volcano again??? We also went to Loro parque and this was comparable to something you would see in florida!.... a definate must see!! dolphins, killer whales, crocs, tigers absolutly everything! but if you go with thomson you will pay through the nose for it .... we found it much better to hire a car (3 days for 75 euros) go everywhere at your own pace, no horrid coach trips and alot cheaper!! but beware the roads arn't the easiest to get used to driving on!! We cant really comment on the hotel entertainment as we were that eghausted from the days trips and everything to do we didnt go see any, but their seemed to be a variety and plenty of shows. Overall a very nice holiday, a beautiful lively hotel and resort.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayley_76543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIGHTON
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

just returned from the guayarmina princess having had a brilliant holiday. the hotel was lovely and clean, the staff were all very nice. the food was brilliant could not fault it.yes the prices of drinks were high but we just went outside to one of the bars.the pool was,nt that big but was ok.i thought the entertainment was the best i,d seen going by previous holidays i,ve had. also men can wear three quarter length trousers to dinner.all in all a very nice holiday.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SANDWICH108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Gauyarmina princess was lovely,very clean,
very friendly and food was everything you could ask for.
was a bit wary after reading some reviews,yes hotel was very
expensive and thought 4euros a night for the fridge [which was on anyway just locked up] was extortionate.
Was first time in tenerife,absolutely loved it couldnt think of a better base
than the Guayamrina princess
whatever you do DO NOT go on the island tour booked with thomsons
it was ******* ****
Catamaran Seabird Gold sailng was absolutely brilliant
[done it twice]
was a great holiday the hotel made big part of it as did the place..

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2009

went to this hotel with mixed feeling, having read some reviews, but shouldnt have bothered, the hotel is great the staff were excellent, dont like to single out anyone but the dinning room staff were brill as was the food, great choice and carvery every night, the hotel entertainment is not great in fact quite poor, but there is loads just outside the door. boat trip to see whales etc was ok, went to monkey zoo which was again ok good for kids. but go early as the lemurs ect get well fed and sleepy in afternoon, the evening entertainment outside the hotel is far better and drinks much cheaper than hotel. go out back of hotel turn left and just wander and you will find great rock group called soundchasers they are amazing, also some good tribute act the guy that does rod stewart is good as is the motown guy, elvis was crap. but lots to do and see its worth local bus trips which are pretty cheap to get around to see more of the island, enjoy

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucaglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, UK
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Despite a lengthy wait to check in and an over-zealous porter removing one of our suitcases to the wrong room, we enjoyed our 2 week stay at the Guayarmina Princess.
A large hotel with friendly staff and good food, albeit the usual buffet-style serving. We particularly enjoyed the freshly cooked fish and meat on the hotplates each evening.
Reservations for us concerned the pool size, which was too small and cramped for the number of guests. Sunbeds were 'grabbed' from 4am and the evening entertainment was dire with amateurish 'tribute' bands etc......Beatles not too bad, but Abba an embarrassment!
The hotel bar prices were high but a short stroll outside to the left provided many cheap bars and the up-market La Duque was a 15 minute walk to the right.
The Torviscas Steak House (just past MacDonalds (!) provided a great value-for-money lunch (Cheese and Ham Toastie and Fries....2 euros). The Indian owner was very friendly and amused us all with his English catchphrases. Well recommended.
Overall, a good hotel and well-situated. Our 15 year old daughter has asked me to mention the beach......just in front of the hotel, which she reckons was 'awesome' !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preston_UKPhilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
Bahia Princess Hotel
Bahia Princess Hotel
#23 of 57 in Costa Adeje
2,075 reviews
0.6 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
5,445 reviews
1.2 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#32 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Hotel Jardin Tropical
#21 of 57 in Costa Adeje
1,852 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,503 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guayarmina Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guayarmina Princess Hotel

Property: Guayarmina Princess Hotel
Address: C/ Londres 1, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#27 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#27 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#28 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Guayarmina Princess Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel in Costa Adeje features an extraordinary architecture. The Guayarmina Princess with its gigantic pillars is located directly at the boardwalk of Fanabe beach. Most of the balconies look out over the the beach, the sea or Costa Adeje; the popular resort in the south of Tenerife. The large outdoor pool with its turquoise waters and several beach entries is surrounded by various areas for sunbathing. One sun terrace is for adults only. Daily pool and sport activities are organized by the entertainment team and include aerobics, water aerobics, archery, darts and boules. Furthermore the hotel provides table tennis, multi-use court, billiard and squash court. For the little guests there’s a mini-club, mini-disco, children’s pool and a children's playground. The main restaurant Guayarmina with live-cooking offers buffet-style breakfast, lunch and dinner. Furthermore the Guayarmina Princess provides an A-la-carte-Restaurant La Palmera (Snacks & and a la carte meals) as well as 4 bars. The terraces of the Mojito Bar and Sunset Bar with their stylish, bright white furniture boast stunning sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guayarmina Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guayarmina Princess Costa Adeje
Guayarmina Princess Tenerife
Guayarmina Princess Hotel Tenerife/Costa Adeje
Hotel Guayarmina Princess Tenerife
Guayarmina Hotel Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing