We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only a few minus points-Generally Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
Ranked #31 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Only a few minus points-Generally Very Good”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Have been to Tenerife many times, over the years, and stayed all around the island's major resorts. This was the first stay in Costa Adeje and more specifically Playa Fanabe.

Was I impressed? Yes I was!

Why?

Location -
Right on the promenade equi-distance between Puerto Colon and El Duque Castle. Fronted by good beaches, bars & restaurants. Mostly flat paved walkway between the two. Higher quality feel to the Fanabe resort .While Puerto Colon is a bit down market and El Duque top notch 5 star.

Hotel-
513 rooms over multiple floors. The hotel is set out in a "Y" shape, lying on it's side, roughly on a west(back)/east(front) axis. Some of the accommodation(another 4 floors) is housed under the extensive pool area and accessed by 2 lifts which also lead down to the promenade. Impressive Greco/roman pillars front and back. 4 storey atrium and grand marble staircase down to the pool area. 2 Glass fronted lifts reach the 4 floors above reception. 0 being reception and 1 to 4 for the upper floors. Oddly the restaurant is one floor down, and access to the pool area, from reception but shown as level 4 in the lift. They get very busy at peak meal times.

Restaurant-
Functional but gets crowded at peak times. Breakfast starts @ 07.30 and by 09.00 people are queuing so aim for 08.00/08.30. Not sure about lunch situation having stayed H/B.
Dinner is when it obvious that the restaurant has too small a capacity for the number of guests. Dinner is from 18.30 and the queues start @ 19.00. They were opening the doors 5 to 10 minutes earlier, during our stay, so we went down then to be able to pick the table we wanted and beat the rush.

Pool Area-
Many sunbeds and parasols.(free sunbed towels in your room) A bit too close together for my liking compounded by the lower winter sun. The parasol bases are fixed and the poles are too long , for this time of year, and cast their shadow on your neighbour. Quite a few people, with little spacial awareness or basic knowledge of physics, were casting shadows 6 feet away from where required.
Twice each day there were sessions in the pool accompanied by loud music. 11.00 for 45 minutes of keep fit and 16.00 for water polo.. Some days were louder than others depending on the team member taking it. I'm not too keen on anything that disturbs my slumber but some seem to enjoy it. Nice pool/snack bar with shaded seating giving great views of sea and mountains.

Didn't bother too much with the entertainment which took place in the Princess Bar by the pool area entrance. Same issue on capacity as restaurant. Too small to accommodate all guests in one go. I allowed my place to Herr Gunter Lunch.
Oh,I nearly forgot to mention the TV. If you get withdrawal symptoms when not watching your favourite programmes- fear not! Probably for the first time ever a hotel that has all 5 of UK major channels. Amazing or what and no reception problems! We don't come abroad to watch TV but it's handy to have a home comfort.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ccws50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,237
    1,212
    517
    148
    76
See reviews for
987
1,683
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,121)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
falkirk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Just arrived back from a great holiday in tenerife.Spent 7 nights in the guayarmina princess previous reviews almost all are spot on,our room was large and on the third floor we had a bit of a sea view, but the outlook was a fairly busy road,in saying that the holiday on a half board basis cost under 500 a head so decent value,the entertainement was better than most hotel entertainement my wife particularly enjoyed the three tenors, and drinks at three euros fifty for a pint and two euros ninety for a glass of wine was reasanable,there is a happy hour between four and five when beer is one euro seventy five.like my headline says only downside was the mealtimes food was very good with plentiful choice but space between tables is at a premium and the evening meal could be very busy and noisy,and at breakfast you have to go to a dispenser for tea and coffee which adds to the noise.all in all i agree with the majority of reviewers in giving this hotel a four out of five

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FalkirkDisenchanted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel on the 14 Jan and were hoping to get a decent room this time as our last visit was spoiled by getting a bad one. Some hope. We were on the first floor on the side that gets no sun. The room was level with the street, and a constant procession of cars and people were going past, looking in every room at that level. We tried to swap but were told 4 days, which on a 7 day holiday is a lot. We consequently spent all week with the net drawn and did not sit on the balcony at all. You look forwards all year to sitting outside with a glass of wine, but this is impossible on that floor.
The reception staff are rude and unhelpful. I told them I was asthmatic and should not sleep level with passing traffic fumes but this made no difference. We therefore could not leave the window open.
I doubt if we will visit the hotel again. The room lottery is too unfair.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We first visited his hotel around two years ago. Our impression at that time, was that the service, the food, room quality and overall attraction experience was good and that we would re-visit in the future. Our second holiday was during the second week of January 14. The room allocated was below gound floor, cold and oppressive. Reception responded by saying nothing could be done for several days. We were moved four days later and discovered the reason for the delay was the hotel had a maximum of eight room changes per day and we had to wait our turn. Not very confidence building that so many are dissatisfied with their allocated room. The 'new' room suffered significant noise pollution from the entertainment room, which is located off the main lounge area below.

The hotel restaurant is buffet style with some fresh cooked meat and fish. The food standard was lower than on our first visit with the buffet element becoming dried out and fresh food overcooked. The overall attraction experience was adversely affected by both a reduction in the amount of sunbathing area caused by the construction of a new pool bar area and the recently provided sunloungers being contructed in such a way that when you sat down, the recliner section sprang foward and attacked you and could not be adjusted. This made comfortable sunbathing virtually impossible.

This hotel generally creates a good impression upon arrival and if you get a room above first floor, the views can be very good. However, there are aspects that would have to improve before we would consider holidaying at this hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: Make a request directly to the hotel for a room on the first floor or higher for views and more comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denners111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed here 9th-16th Jan and from check-in at the hotel to departure everything was great.Excellent location,best looking hotel in the area,compared to others we dropped off at on way from airport.Spotlessly clean throughout,food was plentiful and a good selection.Service from all staff from reception to cleaners and waiters was top notch.Attractive pool area and grounds,good evening entertainment which if you didnt fancy you could easily go to a local bar for live music etc.The piano bar in the evening was very nice,have a cocktail there before dinner.Would recommend and definatly return sometime.

Room Tip: email ahead for particular requests,high floor if you want views.Rooms 4025-4035 best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tessa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We have just spent a week here following a cruise around the canaries. This is a huge, but very comfortable hotel. It offers two pools, one of which is heated and the sun loungers are readily available, comfortable and numerous. We stayed on a half board basis and found a very varied range of food, which was tasty and attractively displayed. The only drawback being that there was sometimes a queue to be seated. The food was really plentiful and satisfying and the service, once seated was excellent, the hotel is well situated and it's easy to access shops, trips etc. We found it to be a very relaxing stay and would definitely visit again if we come back to Tenerife.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

On arrival check in was quick and efficient, had requested a lower floor and that's what we got.
The hotel entrance and main foyer are impressive as are all public areas, food was good typical buffet fare, not a la carte but there was always something you could have . The location of the hotel is excellent, if you take the lift down from the pool area you are at the beach more or less and there are loads of lovely restaurants and cafe's. turn right and you can walk for miles eventually taking you to lacalleta, and if you turn left you walk to Las Americas and eventually Los christianos.
My only gripe with the hotel was the bed, I have never tried to sleep in such an uncomfortable one , it is solid! We asked if anything could be done and was assured they could add padding as this is a common complaint , the padding turned out to be a blanket under the sheet that made no difference at all . If you can sleep anywhere then I would recommend this hotel , This is the only reason I will not return as a good nights sleep for me is paramount for a relaxing winter break..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sweetprimeras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
Bahia Princess Hotel
Bahia Princess Hotel
#21 of 57 in Costa Adeje
2,012 reviews
0.6 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
5,305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Torviscas Playa
Iberostar Torviscas Playa
#28 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#33 of 57 in Costa Adeje
2,945 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Hotel Jardin Tropical
#22 of 57 in Costa Adeje
1,774 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guayarmina Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guayarmina Princess Hotel

Property: Guayarmina Princess Hotel
Address: C/ Londres 1, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#26 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#27 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#28 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Guayarmina Princess Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel in Costa Adeje features an extraordinary architecture. The Guayarmina Princess with its gigantic pillars is located directly at the boardwalk of Fanabe beach. Most of the balconies look out over the the beach, the sea or Costa Adeje; the popular resort in the south of Tenerife. The large outdoor pool with its turquoise waters and several beach entries is surrounded by various areas for sunbathing. One sun terrace is for adults only. Daily pool and sport activities are organized by the entertainment team and include aerobics, water aerobics, archery, darts and boules. Furthermore the hotel provides table tennis, multi-use court, billiard and squash court. For the little guests there’s a mini-club, mini-disco, children’s pool and a children's playground. The main restaurant Guayarmina with live-cooking offers buffet-style breakfast, lunch and dinner. Furthermore the Guayarmina Princess provides an A-la-carte-Restaurant La Palmera (Snacks & and a la carte meals) as well as 4 bars. The terraces of the Mojito Bar and Sunset Bar with their stylish, bright white furniture boast stunning sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guayarmina Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guayarmina Princess Costa Adeje
Guayarmina Princess Tenerife
Guayarmina Princess Hotel Tenerife/Costa Adeje
Hotel Guayarmina Princess Tenerife
Guayarmina Hotel Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing