We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
Ranked #35 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 11 nights in May and what a fantastic holiday it was. Staff were so helpful, rooms cleaned daily, entertainment good, food was excellent. Would definitely return again.

Room Tip: high room in the 2000-4000 have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,662)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,264 - 2,270 of 3,662 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

Would definately recomend a stay at the Guayarmina Princess Hotel and certainly hope to return ourselves. Stayed last week in May (two rooms as an extened family - parents/teenagers and grandmother) - the hotel suited all our individual needs. Allocated adjoining rooms on 2nd Floor above reception with side sea view, rooms a great size with lovely balconies - ideal for a nightcap in the evening. The beach is right at the back door of the hotel and there is a wonderful coastal walkway. Although our own children too old there was a well-run mini-club for children aged up to 12.

The staff are wonderful and do work incredibly hard at making sure that you enjoy your holiday. The hotel is kept spotless and rooms are cleaned daily. There were a few minor maintenance works going on at the hotel - painting etc - but nothing to interfere with the enjoyment of the holiday and they obviously take pride in the place.

Likes: Entertainment varied and entertaining - best of the week were - Johnny Circus, The Three Tenors, Mister Sister, The Four Tops Tribute Band. Breakfast - lots of choice - the Omlettes are great and made to order. Dinner - something for everyone - different choices each night. Babs - the Thomson Rep was brilliant - a font of knowledge and extremely helpful. Love the Pool area and sunbeds (plenty of them), we were lucky enough to get the same spot for the five of us each day even though the hotel was 85% full so plent of sunbeds to go round. The cappucino's - served with whipped cream - scrumptious. Ice-cream - lots of flavours to work your way through would recommend the Wine and Raison!

Dislikes: having to pay extra for a fridge and safe (should be included in the cost of the holiday) and also the water at dinner. Also too many ashtrays in the open areas of the hotel. Think the ones on the bridge seating area over the pool should be removed as no-one wants smoke wafting over them when swimming!! Expecially the kids!!

Recommend - trips to both Siam Park and Jungle Park (both have a free bus running to them). The Sunday market at Los Cristianos is good for holiday souviners. Also if you just fancy a lovely afternoon cuppa or cream tea then visit Harriets in the shopping centre close to the hotel - worth the wait if it is busy and also an ideal place to order sandwiches for your return flight as fresh and tasty and much cheaper than the airport.

Top Tips - do take a kettle if you fancy an early morning cuppa. Do take your own hairdryer (and travel plug) - the hotel hairdryer is the type you have to continuously hold the button in to use and can be a bit of hindrence.

Hope this review helps but would definately recommend you try the hotel for yourself and do have a great holiday in Tenerife!!!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 2010 and 2011 in main hotel. Music from the Piano Bar does drift up, but we found it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LondonMorsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Hotel, food, entertainment and cleanliness are all excellent. Also the hotel is in a prime location, handy for the beach etc. We spent a most enjoyable two weeks. We were lucky enough to be allocated room number 3001 on request and enjoyed the privilege of having a window facing the sea and a balcony at the side of the hotel which had beautiful views of the sea, pool and harbour etc.

Room Tip: We would recommend rooms 2001, 3001 or 4001. The rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HR21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

The best hotel i have ever stayed in. Food was great and the hotel was spotless. I will be going back there for sure.
The hotel is situated on the promenade and so close to the beach. There is everything you need nearby. Shopping was brilliant lots of fashion names in the shopping centre.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sarmst343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed for a week in late May 2013. T he hotel is large, clean and well organised; the entrance is impressive and the receptionists are knowledgeable and helpful. Having read reviews regarding the location of rooms we were relieved to be allocated one which was two floors above the reception area. It overlooked the main entrance, was adequate but a bit dark inside and the sun was on the balcony in for a few hours each day. The location of the bath was a bit cramped and dark, but the bathroom was large and fully equipped. The room itself had two beds, a sofa, and plenty of cupboard space. The cleaners did a great job daily and new towels were provided each day too.
The fridge and safe are available for an extra charge, that is normal and the charges were in line with other hotels. Hotel drinks are expensive in comparison to the resort bars – it is a matter of choice really, but the differences can be significant (i.e. Jack Daniels and lemonade in the hotel is 8.40e in the bars 4.5 to 6.0e). During the day a pint of beer was easily found at 1.0 e. For room based water, drink, sweets etc. the local shop is reasonable.
The meals were excellent, plenty of variety and presented well. Occasional themes are used including a Mexican night. The dining room staff are friendly and courteous. No waiting around to be seated and tables cleaned and reset very quickly.
Entertainment! - we did not bother with it much at the hotel as there were often better options in local bars. We did see much of a Queen Tribute band, but they were not too good, however the Johnny Circus (Charlie Chaplin) was very entertaining. The acts advertised were varied and people we spoke too seemed to enjoy them.
We only undertook one trip, to the island of La Gomeras. There is a bus to the ferry, and another on the island to tour around before ferry and bus back. A busy day day out; the scenery is impressive, the winding roads take you to great heights, the stops and viewpoints were all enjoyable. The meal provided at lunch was a joke; a thick soup followed by a few small pieces of meat, frozen vegetables and rice which disappointed as did the chilled red wine – but it was all put in the shade by the delivery of the dessert, which was a small tub of ice cream, frozen solid, with a totally inadequate plastic spoon – but as stated, the trip was otherwise very good with a demo of the islanders whistling language included.
There are plenty of areas to walk, to Los Christianos it was a two hour walk, and to Caleta it was about half that time in the other direction. Most seafront walking was on flat surfaces. We used the local bus to get to the Sunday Market (2.90e for two of us) and walked back which was a nice day.
The resorts were nice and only spoiled by the constant hassle from the restaurants, shops and the sunglasses/watch sellers. It seems to be significantly worse since our last visit to the island. Although you can just about cope with the restaurants trying to entice you in (even if there are five in row, each one has to approach you individually), there are now a number of shops run by men who want to shake the hand of everyone passing by just as a way to encourage you into their shops, This practice is not particularly pleasant or hygienic and they are not too complimentary if ignored. If you do venture into the shops they pester you, which results in people leaving swiftly and avoiding them next time they pass – a strange sales strategy! The relentless hassle did spoil the daytime and evening walks along the splendid promenades which should be relaxing..
A really nice holiday overall, good value for money, but less hassle would have been much more appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravellingWilbury_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was mine and my wife's first time to Tenerife as a couple.We stayed here from the 6th-20th of may 2013. Just before we left we read some of the reviews on here and we were a bit worried. Our first impressions when we arrived at the hotel was 'wow'. The lobby and the reception area was very impressive and check in was very fast. We stayed in room 2010, our first impression of the room was a little bit disappointing, we felt that the bathroom was very small, how the bath and shower were situated you actually almost had to get in to turn the water on, the room felt a little dated, but nothing we could not live with. The room was cleaned daily, to a high standard with clean towels daily.
The hotel was situated close to the beach and all amenities. We thought the food was very good, we are fussy eaters but we always found something to eat. The dining staff were very friendly and polite. The only reason why I've put 'nice,but expensive' is because you are charged for everything extra. I.e fridge,safe & wifi which in other hotels tend to be free. When drinking in the bar in the evenings this was very expensive, so we tended to go out in the evenings. We don't want anyone to be put off by our comments, because we had a very good 2 weeks holiday, and we would return back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I pretty much agree with what has been written previously reagrding this hotel.
The staff are friendly, the rooms large & clean (507) was quiet & conveniently located for the pool & had a side sea view. The food is good, daily roast joint & fish cooked fresh at cooking station, further casserole style meat,chops, Fish, prawns, pate, blue cheese etc on buffet . We woud go down to dinner around 8.30 & never had to wait for a table. However the restaurant is not a place to linger but there are some very nice restaurants outside if you want a more relaxed dining experience. Pool area large & clean.
OTHER TIPS-
No face cloth, shaving mirror or tissues in room so remember to pack these if required. (Soap, shampoo & shower gel are provided)
Pool Towels are provided & changed (by the maid) once a week, if you want to change them before then there is a charge of E1.20.
OVERALL-
LIKED -We enjoyed the evening entertainment & there are nice restaurants nearby.
HATED- Street touts pestering you to eat/drink in bars & restaurants, too many Kareoke bars.

Room Tip: As per prev reviews avoid floors 1, 2, & 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAILBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
Bahia Princess Hotel
Bahia Princess Hotel
#24 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#17 of 61 in Costa Adeje
765 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#12 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#19 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,893 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Hotel Jardin Tropical
#23 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,142 reviews
0.4 mi away
GF Fanabe
GF Fanabe
#25 of 61 in Costa Adeje
4,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guayarmina Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guayarmina Princess Hotel

Address: C/ Londres 1, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#23 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#27 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#28 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $156 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guayarmina Princess Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel in Costa Adeje features an extraordinary architecture. The Guayarmina Princess with its gigantic pillars is located directly at the boardwalk of Fanabe beach. Most of the balconies look out over the the beach, the sea or Costa Adeje; the popular resort in the south of Tenerife. The large outdoor pool with its turquoise waters and several beach entries is surrounded by various areas for sunbathing. One sun terrace is for adults only. Daily pool and sport activities are organized by the entertainment team and include aerobics, water aerobics, archery, darts and boules. Furthermore the hotel provides table tennis, multi-use court, billiard and squash court. For the little guests there’s a mini-club, mini-disco, children’s pool and a children's playground. The main restaurant Guayarmina with live-cooking offers buffet-style breakfast, lunch and dinner. Furthermore the Guayarmina Princess provides an A-la-carte-Restaurant La Palmera (Snacks & and a la carte meals) as well as 4 bars. The terraces of the Mojito Bar and Sunset Bar with their stylish, bright white furniture boast stunning sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Guayarmina Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guayarmina Princess Costa Adeje
Guayarmina Princess Tenerife
Guayarmina Princess Hotel Tenerife/Costa Adeje
Hotel Guayarmina Princess Tenerife
Guayarmina Hotel Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing