We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than most”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
Ranked #34 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The positives far outweighed the negatives, so first the positives;
The hotel is a lovely style, relatively modern, well located and very clean in ALL areas.
The staff are FANTASTIC (especially in the dining room) and there's a huge range of food that should suit everyone.

The negatives;
The hotel is BIG and being disabled I asked for a room close to an elevator but there must have been a breakdown in communication, as we were given one that couldn't have been a longer walk from reception. We asked for a change and were given H39 which was just yards away and on the same floor, so it was ideal. The room had a decent view of the sea and was acceptable in all respects, except that the air con thermostat was at a fixed setting but at least it was at an acceptable temperature.

Although the food selection was HUGE and mostly of great quality and taste, one or two of the options were poor (I chose a slice of steak one night which was inedible for example) but on another night a leg of pork was exceptional. As is often the case the bacon and sausage were of 'European' type, which is far from my liking but the eggs, omelette, etc. were very good and there were endless healthier alternatives to choose from, so it was probably a good thing.

The additional charges for fridge, safe, wifi, etc. are annoying and if the hotel had any sense they'd drop those, as they must lose repeat bookings that far outweigh the money they may make from them.

It sounds like we missed the best and the worst of the entertainment, as we found those we saw to be reasonably good.

Anyone who remembers the Clive James show will be reminded of the wacky Spanish pianist (Margarita Pracatan) who couldn't play more than a few good notes before hitting some bum notes, by the pianist in the lounge but it's a reasonably pleasant experience none the less.

One further thing relating to the operator (Thomson's) rather than the hotel (which did not influence my rating for the hotel), is the quality of the excursions;

1) The Loro Park trip is NOT to be missed, especially to see the Gorilla's, Orcas, Dolphins and seals, as they were an outstanding experience.

2) The inferred promise of seeing dolphins, whales and stingrays by the Thomson rep on the yellow submarine trip are never going to happen as the sub doesn't venture more than a few yards from the harbour. You don't even get to see fish bigger than a foot or so long, although you do get to see ONE relatively big stingray with the tail/sting cut off and hundreds of SMALL fish. If you go for just the experience of a ride in a submarine, rather than what you'll see, you wont be disappointed.

3) We missed the mountain trip but friends said it was a must.

4) The Gay musical night at the castle gets a mixed review. The food wasn't good (the soup was unpleasant and the chicken was tough) and there wasn't any alternative. The big 'girl' was very comical and the main singer was pretty good and it was generally an enjoyable experience but just like the food there were some less than palatable sections.

Room Tip: If you find it hard to walk ask for room H39 - go for at least half board as the food is a cheap bon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trevor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,260 - 2,266 of 3,625 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

Had a good week in this hotel generally everying good, except the mattresses, like sleeping on planks.Travelled with Thomsons, lost a case on way home, thankfully got it back, but it had been opened and 5 packs of tobacco had been removed, so there are some light fingered people handling the luggage somewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bluebird1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

A lovely looking hotel from the outside, the pool and sun terraces are good as are the public areas inside the hotel. All the staff are very polite and helpful. The location in Adeje is good near shops, bars and restaurants and a few paces from the beach with sunbeds and bars.
But here goes the bad bits, keep away from room H27 dark, very outdated, over the delivery entrance to the hotel and worst of all the bathroom over night fills with the odour of sewer, this happened on 3 nights, we asked to be moved and where moved straight away. Also the extras as mentioned by others ie safe hire, fridge hire, wifi, etc, etc,
Costa Adeje is great we really enjoyed it but next time will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

First the positives: the hotel is very clean, our room was cleaned every day, the staff in the restaurant are lovely and can't do enough to help, location in Adeje is good. You can always find a sunbed too.

Unfortunately the negatives outweighed the positives by a big margin. Room choice is essential. We were given 3039 on arrival which seemed great - lovely view - but we had to request a change as we were above the reception piano bar and from 6pm it sounded like the piano was being played at the bottom of the bed. No chance of an evening nap or an early night. The lady on reception was initially confrontational and defensive, saying that it was 'one of the best rooms in the hotel'. No doubt it was a lovely room but the piano bar was too noisy for us. There were only 2 rooms left that we could have moved to as the hotel was full. One was facing the adjoining hotel and its air-con units. We were advised by the bellboy not to take it because of the noise!!!
Our replacement room was 001 - avoid this room at all costs It seemed okay at first but in hindsight we should never have moved. It was next door to an "office" which turned out to be the service station for work men and cleaners and we were woken every morning just after 7am first by the squeaky door followed by the noisiest tap we have ever heard, as buckets were filled continuously throughout the morning. The room also overlooked the main boulevard so there was little privacy plus noise from the bars and restaurants. Some nights the music, or the vibrations of music from nearby bars kept us awake even though we had gone to bed after 12am. The noise of the toilet flush was also unbelievable....not helpful in the middle of the night.

A minor point but there seem to be a bizarre lack of stairs and you have to get to most places via lifts. The hotel layout is complicated and it isn't easy to get around. There were often queues for lifts especially the one by the pool which leads to the low numbered rooms.

The food is average and with very little variety, although this is probably because they are having to cater on such a large scale. The dining room is like a canteen. It is crammed, very busy and tables are very close together. At breakfast you can hardly hear yourself talk because of the volume of noise. We were half board but ate out 6 nights out of 7 so that we didn't have to eat in the 'canteen' and could get some variety of food.

The extra cost of drinks (water, coffee, tea), the fridge, safe and wifi is ridiculous for a 4*. We got free wifi at the Colonial Bar (great bar by the way) when we stopped for some lunch.
The cost of drinks at the pool bar is also very expensive (6 euros for a vodka, which was about 2 euros more expensive than local bars). There are no tea making facilities, which we knew upfront from the reviews. We took our own kettle even though you are asked not to use your own electrical items (via a letter from management on arrival).

We came on a last minute deal after having to cancel our March holiday due to a relative's illness. We were looking for a relaxing break at an upmarket hotel and good weather. Let's just say we got the weather! We read the reviews ahead of going to this hotel and were confident it would set us up for a good holiday but it really didn't and it definitely isn't 4* or 'platinum'. We wouldn't go back and would be looking for something much better and better value for our money in future.

Room Tip: Avoid 001! Try to book a high floor away from the reception unless you can stand the piano concerto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HJS1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just back from 11 night stay. Hotel is in a brilliant location right on the seafront. Lots of other reviews will tell you about the food, which we found to be fine with lots of choice, the pools and hotel rooms. I simply want to clarify the extra's. E4.00 per night to hire the fridge, E2.25 per night to hire the safe, E1.20 to change your pool towel ( no deposit required ) E50.00 for a late checkout room, E6.00 per nite to park your car in the garage below, the area can be difficult to find a parking space and finally on the Mexican theme night don't expect a free shot of tequila, it's E1.00 and sold to you at your dining table. We then experienced the worst cabaret act we have ever seen, the Elvis comedy show and the worst in house DJ we have ever listened to. The best trio were 'The Three Tenors' and at the end the DJ joined them and ruined the whole performance by trying to sing with them, he was showing off and playing to the audience and needs moving on to a hotel that suits his behaviour.

Room Tip: Keep clear of rooms near H25. This is mentioned in other reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boxroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

First time we stay there Summer June 12 it was just Great, every thing from the Hotel and more, So we went back for 2 weeks in January 13, we was put in off set of the Hotel, where the lifts went out of order and if your happy to look at the wall of the next hotel for there customer walkway then this room for you at 0311

Lots of people where ill and was sick, including myself, Our Rep gave us 12 Euros and a bottle of cava as as way of saying sorry, 5 days in Bed being ill not much FUN.. After saving hard what a let down

Room Tip: 311 is not bad if you look at a wall but if you look right you can see the sea :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank almightytez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed for a week and had a lovely time. Thought everything was very clean and litter free in the hotel and the resort itself. This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and again thought the food was amazingly tasty and there was a wide range of meats, salads and vegetables etc available at the evening meal. The meat was always cooked to perfection being very tender and extremely tasty- even the plain white rice was delicious. Breakfast also lots of choice. Of course it's busy- there are a lot of guests staying there. But you don't wait long for a table- I'm talking 5 mins on a bad day. The pool area is lovely and the good thing is there is an adult only sunbathing area away from the noise and kids in the pool- but that wasn't really that noisy and only for a couple of hours a day anyway. The hotel is seconds away from the front where there are lots of shops, bars and restaurants. Room was a good size and cleaned everyday as were the towels. Smoking is not allowed on the balconies so you can sit out without suffering the awful smell! My husband smokes so he had to go downstairs to one of the designated areas. I agree with the comment about the stairs to reception being non existent ! A lot of people seemed to find it slightly frustrating - however if you walk to the end of the hall there are stairs- but it looks as if only staff can use them so I think these could be signed better. As for entertainment it was standard for a hotel - kids disco as usual and tribute acts or comedian, magician, bird show were ok. I've not seen much better really anywhere . Perfect place to go for sunshine and a good rest . Will hopefully return .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joker87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
Bahia Princess Hotel
Bahia Princess Hotel
#23 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#17 of 61 in Costa Adeje
753 reviews
0.6 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#18 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#12 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,934 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Hotel Jardin Tropical
#24 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,107 reviews
0.4 mi away
GF Fanabe
GF Fanabe
#26 of 61 in Costa Adeje
4,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guayarmina Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guayarmina Princess Hotel

Address: C/ Londres 1, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#27 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#28 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $171 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guayarmina Princess Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel in Costa Adeje features an extraordinary architecture. The Guayarmina Princess with its gigantic pillars is located directly at the boardwalk of Fanabe beach. Most of the balconies look out over the the beach, the sea or Costa Adeje; the popular resort in the south of Tenerife. The large outdoor pool with its turquoise waters and several beach entries is surrounded by various areas for sunbathing. One sun terrace is for adults only. Daily pool and sport activities are organized by the entertainment team and include aerobics, water aerobics, archery, darts and boules. Furthermore the hotel provides table tennis, multi-use court, billiard and squash court. For the little guests there’s a mini-club, mini-disco, children’s pool and a children's playground. The main restaurant Guayarmina with live-cooking offers buffet-style breakfast, lunch and dinner. Furthermore the Guayarmina Princess provides an A-la-carte-Restaurant La Palmera (Snacks & and a la carte meals) as well as 4 bars. The terraces of the Mojito Bar and Sunset Bar with their stylish, bright white furniture boast stunning sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guayarmina Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guayarmina Princess Costa Adeje
Guayarmina Princess Tenerife
Guayarmina Princess Hotel Tenerife/Costa Adeje
Hotel Guayarmina Princess Tenerife
Guayarmina Hotel Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing