We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a Very good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
Ranked #35 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We have recently returned from a lovely week at this 4 star hotel. My wife and I (both mid 50's) have been going to this hotel since 2007 and so perhaps this may be a biased account. Well not really, if you find something that's good why risk booking somewhere else that may turn out to be a flop, especially if you are going just for a week of winter sun. The interesting thing to note is that since 2007 we have noted both small and significant improvements in this hotel. We will concede that perhaps the bathrooms are getting a bit tired but the rooms are tidy, well cleaned and adequate with sofa, chairs, TV, balcony, hair dryer etc. But you do have to pay extra for the safe and fridge. Excellent staff, really good food with no end of choice, very clean in all area's, nice pool side and bar area's, entertainment every night. The resort of Costa Adeje is also sympathetically growing and as well as new builds the area is continually being improved. Some neighbouring hotels charge in the region of £2k per person per week. This is fast becoming an up-market location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank telfordpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,662)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,323 - 2,329 of 3,662 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

it is the first time we have done a cruise and stay with thompson and they could not have picked a better hotel perfect for the beach and shops we have never been in a better 4 star hotel the food was spot on the staff were very friendly icant find anything to wrong to say about it all in all a great hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank richieSeaham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Poor weather ifrst 2 days but still go out . rest was good.
A first time at this hotel via a thompson package (good value for a 4* which we agree with less than £1700.00 for 2 including seats choice, transfers and 20kg each ) and we wern't disappointed.
Only the 2nd time to Canaries to get some sun after the poor summer in the UK.The last time was in the Gran Canaria Princess so did have some idea what to expect service wise. This one was better placed (less isolated) with the rear leading to the prom. at the beach with a lift. There are steps but wheelchair friendly. We didn't actually use the beach ( mainly walked extensive prom. both ways and chilled out near the pool level . Plenty of sun beds with brolly's. Beach looked good with ramp and boarded access (sand not black as we were expecting with reasonable beach area. take a towls to sit (you get a beach towl in the room) as the beds are E10 for 1 and E15 for 2 per day rent. bit steep we thought) but waves looked quite strong as it slopes steeply into the water. I did go for a paddle and there were swimmers in the protected bays Great views from the pool dec. Both in our later 60's and fairly active we had no difficulties, but someone with restricted walking may find it dificult to go verry far, but the local bus service recomended by the thompson rep. was great and friendly. Always seemed there was someone to help. Just ask! E2.90 for 2 to get to los Christianos. Taxi's seemed E18 for 4? ok but did not use.

Food was good and plenty of choice both for breakfast and dinner (we did 1/2 board which was fine for us) with plenty of food bars at reasonable prices for lunch if you want. You can get white and red wines in supermarkets (our favourite ) from as little as E1.99 to E10. + but the choice seemed very limited for what we came across, even in the hotel. Dont foget to pack a corkscrew as nearly all wines are still in corked bottles and not screw tops which are priced as more expensive (the first one we bought, a waiter type just fell to bits on first use :(( but a basic one OK)
Beer from 1euro and E1.5 if sport tv on the prom. hotel prices are higher for all drinks but for a 4* OK. Hotel happy hour half price (4 to 5 pm all drinks by the glass and 5 -7pm cocktails? )

Down sides?
We did have 1 cockroach in room so don't leave clothes on the floor. (or shake them out)

There are some who don't wait to be shown to a table by the staff which is the norm make sure they don't pinch your table while your getting food! A ladies shawl etc. would be useul. or one to start to get starter?

Our agent thompsons brochure sugested a Jacket and tie for dinner. confirmed at the shop?.. not needed but trousers and shirt for men, dress etc for ladies (as with most places smart casual order of the day - no swimware) A waste of packing space, and gets crumpled anyway.

A GYM would have been a good addition my wife thought, aqua airobics, tenis archery, shooting on offer.
A bit long but not used to these reviews. hope its useful for a first timer like us :))

Room Tip: Our room was on floor "0" and OK close to pool. but there were rooms below this level a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Seymour B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hotel Location - 9/10
This hotel is in a good location on the promenade next to Fanabe Beach. About a 90 minute stroll along the sea front to Los Cristianos and 30 minutes in the other direction to La Caleta. Plenty of restaurants bars and shops close by with typical "British" Las Americas in front of the hotel for a mile in one direction, however, there are posh expensive hotels, bars and more sophistication to the right of the hotel after a ten minute walk if that's what you are looking for.

Hotel - 7/10
The hotel has a large cavernous reception, bar and public seating area which has had a make-over since our last visit 5 years ago. However, it still shows signs of wear and tear and now looks a bit dated. All the plants which once hung from every floor have gone leaving the main part of the hotel interior rather barren and bland. The wicker seating on the lower floor has been replaced with chunky black and white chairs and settees which have added nothing to the interior décor in our opinion.

Pool and garden 8/10
There is a freeform pool and gardens at front of hotel with nice views along the coast. Large sunbathing areas around pool and at side of hotel with plenty of sun beds

Bedroom - 8/10
Rooms have been refurbished since our last visit 5 years ago. New furniture and armchair but the TV is rather ancient, however, it did have all the main English channels. The twin beds were comfortable and easy to sleep on. The wardrobe is a bit too narrow and it is difficult to close sliding doors without creasing clothes.

Bathroom - 4/10
It was very narrow and showing signs of wear and tear. A fixed shower head over a narrow bath with a fixed shower screen makes it impossible to wash your hair without taking a full shower. The room steamed up very quickly and turned into a sauna. Hairdryer worked well and clean towels were provided most days. Toiletries were very poor, just cheap sachets of gel and shampoo.

Dining room - 3/10
This is yet another area of the hotel which has been given a "modern and minimalist" make over. It is underneath the hotel with little daylight. The lighting is far too bright, tables are too close together giving no privacy and all in all the room has a very poor ambiance. The only décor in this vast space are five large abstract paintings on white walls. If the tables, chairs and paintings were removed it would be no better than are large underground car park. Also the dining room staff were clearing food away and resetting breakfast tables well before the 9.30pm closing time. We finished dining at 9.35pm one evening and they would not let us out of the main restaurant door and we had to be lead out via a fire exit!

Food - 8/10
A good buffet at breakfast time and in the evening with a large choice and hot and cold food, just a pity about the dining room itself.

Staff - 9/10
Staff in all areas were helpful, polite and always smiling, can't fault them.

Entertainment - 6/10
A large entertainment hall and bar with a different act each night. Another bar area adjoining the cavernous reception with a rather annoying piano playing for a couple of hours in the early evening

Value for Money - 6/10
We paid £640 each for a Thomson's 7 night package then had to pay another 19 euros for Wi-Fi and 15 euros for a safe.

Tips
• Ask for a room on a high floor, some rooms are below street level
• Leave the dining room by 9.20pm
• Have a freshly cooked omelette for breakfast

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Earwigo321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great place to stay for all the reasons other reviewers have already stated.Very comfortable and clean.These are my top tips.
Get a room number in the 1000's not the 100's to be above ground level.
E mail 2 weeks in advance to request a room.
Take a jug kettle - coffee is not included with your evening meal and a morning cuppa is always nice.
It is up to you if you use the safe and fridge at extra charge so make sure you do not pay for anything you do not use.
Table tennis is on level -2 not 2 . Past the dining room and down 2 floors ( we hunted on +2 in vain !) If you intend to play take your own bats and ball to avoid having to go to reception each time you wish to play.
Best supermarket to stock your own mini bar/water for kettle is left out of front door and straight across at mini roundabout , 100yds on right.
Nice walks are to seafront and turn right.
If you have been used to all inclusive in the past the hidden charges at this hotel potentially can add up , so allow for this when planning your holiday otherwise it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ros75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The weather at the end of February was mixed, so that didn't enhance the visit, but the location was good. Good walking for the able and adequate shops nearby. The rooms we had were fine with a partial sea view. The bathroom,as noted elsewhere,had a narrow bath with no handrail and a non moveable shower head. Not a major problems for us, but some would have difficulties.Room charges for a fridge and safe were seen by many as rip-offs and although the brochure stated Wi-Fi in public areas, that too was charged.Now the restaurant. More like a warehouse with no ambience. OK, with over 500 rooms they have to cater for the multitudes, but this is a hotel with impressive facilities let down by the restaurant. The food? The best description would be un appetising.There was plenty in quantity and variety but uninteresting. In summary not a hotel that will go on our return list and that is rare for us. (Back to Turkey in the summer)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holsgaloreMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here to chill out for a week in February with friends who are all retired.The hotel was full of like minded people.Everyone agreed it was a wonderful hotel,staff were very friendly and helpful.Although the restaurant was buffet it had a multitude of choices and we were able to reserve the same table for breakfast and dinner for our stay.There was a choice of roast meat or fish every night as well as the featured food and you could be served at your table if you requested.One of our friends has a food allergy and they advised her what she could eat and provided her with special bread and cakes.If you couldn`t find anything to eat is was your problem.To top it off the sunshine was great.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyjd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
Bahia Princess Hotel
Bahia Princess Hotel
#24 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#17 of 61 in Costa Adeje
765 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#12 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#19 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,893 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Hotel Jardin Tropical
#23 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,142 reviews
0.4 mi away
GF Fanabe
GF Fanabe
#25 of 61 in Costa Adeje
4,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guayarmina Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guayarmina Princess Hotel

Address: C/ Londres 1, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#27 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#28 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $158 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guayarmina Princess Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel in Costa Adeje features an extraordinary architecture. The Guayarmina Princess with its gigantic pillars is located directly at the boardwalk of Fanabe beach. Most of the balconies look out over the the beach, the sea or Costa Adeje; the popular resort in the south of Tenerife. The large outdoor pool with its turquoise waters and several beach entries is surrounded by various areas for sunbathing. One sun terrace is for adults only. Daily pool and sport activities are organized by the entertainment team and include aerobics, water aerobics, archery, darts and boules. Furthermore the hotel provides table tennis, multi-use court, billiard and squash court. For the little guests there’s a mini-club, mini-disco, children’s pool and a children's playground. The main restaurant Guayarmina with live-cooking offers buffet-style breakfast, lunch and dinner. Furthermore the Guayarmina Princess provides an A-la-carte-Restaurant La Palmera (Snacks & and a la carte meals) as well as 4 bars. The terraces of the Mojito Bar and Sunset Bar with their stylish, bright white furniture boast stunning sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Guayarmina Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guayarmina Princess Costa Adeje
Guayarmina Princess Tenerife
Guayarmina Princess Hotel Tenerife/Costa Adeje
Hotel Guayarmina Princess Tenerife
Guayarmina Hotel Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing