We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aweful- worst accomadation-ruined our Xmas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Los Olivos Aparthotel
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Aweful- worst accomadation-ruined our Xmas”
Reviewed December 27, 2010

We read some poor reviews before booking, but as my work colleague stays there 5 times a year we thought we would go against the tide and see for ourselves. Well were back and although the location was good, especially finding one of our best ever beaches, Playa el Duque which is only a 10 to 15 minute walk away and some nice friendly bars and nice restaurants near our hotel. This hotel was the WORST accommodation we have had in over 10 years! I requested a sea view and got a head on view of the bogs with the seats up! The beds! well don't get me started, camp beds with ultra light mattresses and baby pee under covers, we had to get drunk to sleep on them. The TV, was a nightmare, humming, BBC un watchable and wires hanging out the back, I complained 4 times and nothing done. The sofa bed was worn out, the towel's not fit for use, balcony light useless amount of light. Kitchen! dangerous, kettle over the sink, leaky T pot, horrible cups, B day between your legs when sat on the throne and a cooker I wouldn't even put on just in case. Apart from these complaints it was clean : ) Olive oil has given us the slip ... I got some 200 fags for my friend, but he don't deserve them after his recommendation.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BobTheBusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    149
    83
    48
    37
See reviews for
129
186
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, England
Level 6 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We traded 1 week through II for a 2 bed apartment. Were allocated one right on the sea front, it was lovely sitting on the patio area and being able to use the rooftop area.

Downside was that the apartment is very very tired, although the maids were very good. There is no air conditioning and we had to leave the patio door open to let some air in as it was stifiling hot, only nuisance was being on the sea front you would hear revellers returning to their accommodation then a few hours later hear the tide coming in - but we felt it was a small price to pay for the location of this accommodation.

The onsite pool bar/snack bar is good, but you can eat cheaper elsewhere.

If luxury is important to you - wait till the fixtures and fittings have been upgraded but if you can live with old tired fittings give it a try.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nemesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

We arrived to what we thought was going to be a great appartment, three bedrooms and our own pool. We walked in to find a very dated apartment, which was poorly cleaned. You had to go downstairs to the second and third bedrooms which were underground, like a basement! There were three tiny windows on this level towards the ceiling which had bars over them letting in hardly any light.
On the ground floor, the bathroom was falling apart, the bath curtain held up by the light, the light filthy, bugs and baby cockroaches constantly found coming from under the bath.
The kitchen cupboards were dirty and rusty, needless to say we did no cooking in here!
The whole apartment was very dissapointing, and felt filthy.
We complained to reception and asked to be moved, we had a look around some other rooms they had free, only to find they were of similar quality.
We found things to go missing, like my boyfriends aftershave, we can only assume the cleaners spend more time thieving than cleaning.
There was a jaccuzi on the roof which did not work.
The gods save of this holiday was our own pool, and the location, everything else was a huge dissapointment.
This place needs refurbing to get the best out of it.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunnyholsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Costa Adeje hotels

London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Myself and a friend stayed at the Los Olivos for a week. The apartments/complex is pretty dated, but we had a really nice relaxing week and couldn't fault the friendly staff!
On arrival we were a bit concerned. We were given a room at the back of the complex which was dull and upon entering found it had not been cleaned (despite a late arrival). On returning to reception we were given the keys to the other empty apartments and given the opportunity to choose our own! Novel idea... it was a bit like house hunting.
We settled on a room near reception and towards the front of the complex. The room was very basic, reasonably clean, the furniture is quite dated and the kitchen/bathroom facilities I would say are 2 star. Watch out for the boiler - You get about 2 mins of very hot water, 5 mins of luke warm water and then you have to wait 20 mins for it to heat up again for the next person. I wouldn't advise any more than 2 people staying in an apartment!
If your room is important to you, I would not recommend this complex, but as we were 2 girls out and about most nights, it didn't bother us - we had a nice patio with gardens and 2 beds to sleep in so we were ok.
The swimming pool area is nice (although the sunbeds are not the most comfortable... watch out for the ones with the dips in!). There are 2 pools and when we stayed we sometimes had the small pool all to ourselves.
The top floor apartments have their own roof terraces with sunbeds... I'd recommended requesting one of them, although if you have kids I'd imagine they would be a bit hazadous (steps up to apartment and a kind of fire escape staircase to the roof)
There are alot of steps/hills so I wouldn't necessarily consider this complex if you have mobility problems.
The pool bar is fab and the guy who runs it was brilliant - nice atmosphere, nice food and watch out for his honker and happy hour at 3pm!
Alot of the rooms are been refurbished (which can led to some noise!) and when it's all done I think the place will be really nice. It's location is brilliant.... near the beach, walking distance to the bars/resturants and 10 euros in a cab to the centre of Las Americas.
There were mixed opinions of the place. We heard alot of people complaining but also noticed alot of people who were regularly visitors - I think it's all dependant on the apartment you're allocated.
I would however suggest maybe you leave it this year and go next year when they've hopefully done up all the rooms!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jax73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

The location is brilliant, The complex itself is situated on a hill slopes, pretty terraced apartment, all with either balconies or terraces, top ones are with roof terraces, which all looks beautyful from the outside. Hovewer, the rooms are not all refurbished, which you want them to be, considering the complex was built in early 1990s. We were given a non-refurbished room. Not bad, small though, just enough space for two adult and one child. When you pull the sofa bed out kin the dining-kitchen area, the bed almost pushed the kitchen units. Good points - balcony with the swimming pool view on th second floor (room 2083), rooftop terrace with beacutyful panoramic views of sea, the resort, mountains. all stunning. But don't let young childrent run up to the roof by themselves! Danger to fall down - very low railings. Hot water - the apartment has a small boiler, so don't expect to finish washing with hot water after two people in front of you. You nave to wait for 30 min. Bad points - cooker quite dated, rusty parts, smelly, but it does the job. Some kitchen utensils are not up to the scratch, we thought some were collected from the second hand shops:-) Could do with better frying pans. No coffee maker, just kettle.
Sofa bed quite worn out, heavy to pull in and out. Master bed consists of two separate beds, which move apart easily, creating a hole in the middle:-) Not too good for a honeymoon couple, needing more comfortable bed:-) Afetr reading reviews about coackroaches we made sure to book a second floor room, but still found lone cockroach in the bathroom, only once though. Not a nice experience
Good selection of TV channels for Russians, not soo good for children - no cartoon channells, only occasionally through French channells or CBBS, but very limited, My little one was missing his favourites. Could do with at least cartoon network.
Two swimming pools, one shallow for kids. Not heated. Poolside bar with happy hour from 3 to 6pm.
Onside grossery shop, very expensive goods, don't buy fruits there, to dear and not fresh. Go to either Spar, Mercadona or Hiperdino-all close by, Mercadona is the farest. Lot's of steps within the complex. There is a rooftop jacuzzi overlooking promenade and the sea front, but it wasn't working properly. Some apartments within the colpmlex are privately owned. Overall,all the rooms could have been refurbished, then there would be no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Los Olivos is totally run down and needs total renovation. The rooms are outdated we had a kitchen that had a dirty cooker and knobs missing off the hob. The bed sloped in the middle making a very uncomfortable, and yes, waiting for us in the bedroom at night usually a large cockroach. The walk to our room at night was difficult as the lighting was very bad. No light outside our door difficult finding the keyhole. The room was dark in the day as well as we were put into a ground floor apartment in the shaded area.

Some apartments have been renovated but mainly russians get allocated those. Seem to be alot of disgruntled Timeshare owners who are not happy as they get moved from there owned rooms to any room on the complex and they are being pestered to pay for renovation by the management of the complex. The pool area was a meet and moan centre.

The complex is a death trap if it rains as the tiles are very smooth we saw lots of people fall outside our aparment. Complex has loads of steps and is not suitable for elderly or infirm. While we were there we had storms and lots of apartments were flooded especially close to the supermarket.

The reception was busy with people complaining either about their accommodation or Timeshare people complaining someone has there the room they own.

There are better places close by and if you think you have scored by booking Lagos de Fanabe don't be fooled people are put into Los Olivios so be warned. Also be warned SandandSea company is offering cheap weeks here, I would not go if were FREE. Will never stay there again. In this economic climate there are plenty of other places available.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank justiceforus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

We have stayed at Los Olivos several times over the last few years in a variety of apartments. Location brilliant as just on the sea front. Loads of restaurants,bars,shops,buses nearby. Walks flat and scenic in both directions along the prom - one way to Caletta a lovely fishing village, (4hrs walk over the cliffs to Playa Pairaiso in this direction) and the other all the way to Las Americas and onwards to Los Cristianos (nearly 2hrs) .
Great supermarket just over the motorway 20 mins walk away - Mercadona Gran Sur - lovely fresh fish/meat/fruit veg etc. Watch your bill in the shop on site (they tried to seriously overcharge us on our first day) Swimming pool lovely and clean ...but not heated. Upstairs apartments have individual roof terraces which we really like for the views and sun - these offset some of the deficiences! The apartments downstairs are not good as they are not particularly secure and some have poor outlooks and tatty balconies. We would now only go for apartments on the upper floors with room nos 2000 + . There has been a deterioration in the upkeep of the apartments- soft furnishings looking worn, towels not great, paintwork getting tatty, kitchen not very well equipped, patio door juddery and not very secure ... etc. Fuses blow if oven is on with kettle! The apartments are usually cleaned adequately but a few we have rented have had a musty or drainy smell when first opened up. Maintenence requests are usually met quite promptly. There is evidence of some apartments having been updated. We always use the provided safe on holiday. Would we go back - yesbut only if guaranteed an upstairs apartment

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Adeje
0.4 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#12 of 58 in Costa Adeje
697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.2 mi away
Sol Sun Beach Apartments
Sol Sun Beach Apartments
#1 of 3 in Playa de Fanabe
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.1 mi away
Lagos de Fanabe Resort
Lagos de Fanabe Resort
#52 of 58 in Costa Adeje
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#3 of 58 in Costa Adeje
2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Olivos Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Olivos Aparthotel

Property: Los Olivos Aparthotel
Address: Calle Paris no 1 | Urbanizacion Playa de Fanabe, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Olivos Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Los Olivos Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Olivos Aparthotel Hotel Costa Adeje
Los Olivos Adeje
Los Olivos Hotel Adeje
Los Olivos Tenerife
Los Olivos Aparthotel Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing