We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small boutique style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A small boutique style hotel”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We returned last night from our one wwek stay in Hotel Colon in Costa Adeje.
We would like to thank you for the excellent service, very friendly and relaxed atmosphere and for the professional and always smiling waiters who were just perfect!
We had a half pension, breakfast and dinner very tasty, fresh fruit, salads and fish - big thank you and greetings to the cook Nacho:-)
The rooms were spacious and very very clean, bed comfortable.
The pool area quite, ideal for relaxing, with mainly couples, very few families with small kids.

We would like to come back again to this hotel again for a longer holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nati37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Adrian_Hoteles, Director General at Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice words here on tripadvisor and for taking some time to write the comment.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your first stay with us, as we always do our best to make the stay of our clients as enjoyable as possible and also try to accomplish their wishes.
You will see, next time arriving at the hotel, you will feel immediately like "coming home". :)

Please let us know before your next stay with us, so that we can provide a nice room for you. Or maybe you have a special room in mind?!

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel and remain at your entire disposal.

Kind regards,

the Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    244
    56
    12
    2
See reviews for
121
821
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was our third visit to this hotel and we spent a wonderful three weeks.
The friendly high standard has been maintained and we met people who were on their 15th (yes 15th) visit. that certainly speaks for itself.
The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful and every day they were welcoming repeat guests .We had requested a specific room and while the hotel was fully booked they went out of their way to let us have an identical one next door.
We are already looking forward to our next visit.
John & Catherine Sanders
Edinburgh

Room Tip: Choose whether you like morning or evening sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JohnSanders2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Adrian_Hoteles, Director General at Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive comment here on TA. We are glad to know that you liked our hotel and staff and that you did enjoy your stay with us.
It is true that we have many repeating clients and we are proud of it, because it shows us, that we are doing a good job. Our clients always say that they are coming to their second home, which is more or less the case. :)
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel and remain at your entire disposal.

Kind regards,

the Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I am currently booked into this hotel for a nine nights stay on half board which I booked through alpha rooms. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean.....all the staff are extremely professional and nothing is too much trouble for them. They always have a friendly hello and will help you with any queries or concerns. A real credit to the hotel. The food at breakfast and dinner is varied..plentiful..nicely cooked with wine very reasonably priced. Everyone should be to find things to eat here.
The room is a standard room I guess and while it is clean and tidy..it is very very noisy in the mornings with both guests and staff moving beds around and hanging room doors. The rooms are not carpeted so the noise is amplified. Not sure the room and corridor decor is up to four star standard as very 1960's.....perhaps I have been unlucky with the room allocated to me although the hotel charge for my stay is in excess of 1300 pounds sterling.
The hotel has a notified policy of not saving sunbeds...but for some reason they choose to do nothing about it. By 9am each morning at the latest 95per cent of the sun loungers already have towels on them. Yet there will only be 2 or3 guests actually sitting on them. Some of these beds stay "reserved" for a large part of the day until the occupant decides to return to the hotel. Very unfair if you are still waiting. I suggest the hotel should remove the notices if they are not prepared to act.
The biggest negative for me are all the guests who smoke and how they are accommodated by the hotel. Try dining outside in the evening on the beautiful terrace restaurant...and half way through your meal you can start inhaling the cigarette smoke from nearby diners.aaaGggghhh
The same thing around the pool..You relax into your book then start to choke from the fags all around you. There is no segregation for smokers and non smokers. At times the whole of the pool area......very nice as it is....smells like one big ash tray. Ugggggggvg
So fellow travellers beware....a lovely hotel but don't visit if you are offended by cigarettes!!!!

Jack Forrest

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Adrian_Hoteles, Director General at Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment here on TA.
We are very sorry that you could not entirely enjoy your stay because of the smokers. Outside people are allowed to smoke and unfortunately the hotel area, like pool area and terrace, is too small to be split into a smoking and non smoking area. We were thinking of this before.
The hotel is for everyone, but we cannot tell people where to smoke and where not, as long as they smoke outside.
Nevertheless we haven't had too many complaints about that, apparently most clients can deal with it.

Anyway, we would like to thank you for your open words and hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

the management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel itself is really well presented and the breakfast is good. We only stayed bed and breakfast and we were not sure how to order the buffet evening meal as it wasn't advertised so we went out, It's in a quiet location but there are some good sea front spots to eat within walking distance. We were offered a room upgrade but this room faced the road and was street level so we are not sure what the downgraded room would have been like. Pool facing rooms looked like they would have been really nice. The pool was lovely and warm. We have just got back so it was quiet when we were there, however had it not have been so quiet the sun loungers could have been a problem. The guests were mainly German and the infamous towels on the sunbed were very apparent with all of the best spots gone by 10am even though hardly anyone was physically on the beds. There were signs saying they would be removed but that never happened. Not the end of the world though as it didnt really impact us with it being so quiet, The hotel has a lovely cocktail bar. Its very reasonable too. Cheaper than in town! All in all a nice hotel. Not 5 star but a good 4 star never the less and I would go back.

Room Tip: Ask to face the pool. Facing the road was noisy and we had to close the inner door to get a good ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AmyMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Adrian_Hoteles, Director General at Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment here on TA and for having stayed with us. We are glad to know that you would stay with us again and hope that you will do so.

Regarding the buffet dinner, you just go and find yourself a table, you order the drinks and the waiter will know that you are on B&B and this way will know that he has to charge the buffet dinner on your room account. You just help yourself with whatever you like from the buffet.
Plus there is a waiter service, we offer two different meals that will be served on the table.
You still can have things from the buffet, of course.
Maybe this information will help you for a future stay. If you need more information, please do not hesitate and contact us again.

Kind regards,

the management,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week in July and found it a fantastic place to stay. This hotel is smaller than many others in the area but is very relaxed with a 'boutique' feel about it although
there were mainly Germans & Eastern Europeans staying at the hotel when we stayed so don't use this hotel if you like to be surrounded by fellow Brits. I believe it is also going Adult only from the end of this year so no good for family holidays.

I would recommend upgrading to a Superior room, all of which overlook the pool (although our view was partially obscured by trees but that's a minor gripe). The room was a good size and cleaned daily, they have very quiet efficient air-con and a modern bathroom with probably the best shower we have ever had in a European hotel. There was also a flat screen TV (with a lot of English channels for a change) for the short amount of time that we were actually in your room.

We stayed on a B&B basis as we like to go out to different restaurants so we can't comment on the quality of the food in the evenings, but breakfast times were a very relaxed affair. There was none of the usual crazy hustle and bustle of other hotels, the food was of a good standard and being able to eat breakfast out on the sun terrace by the pool with a glass of 'breakfast champagne' was a nice touch.

The pool area was very clean and well maintained with 2 decent sized salt water pools, both of which were always very warm. There were always sunbeds available (although many were reserved with towels fairly early on) and there is also a sun terrace and a jacuzzi on the roof which many people weren't aware of so if you're a bit of a sun worshipper you shouldn't have a problem! (This hotel is the sister hotel of the Jardines de Nivaria over the road so you can even use their pool as well if you fancy it).

Location was great, less than a 5 minute stroll to the beach but coming back is up a fairly steep hill so may not be ideal if you have limited mobility. From the hotel turning left along the beach it's only a 10 minute stroll towards Playa to get to the Puerto Colon marina and numerous restaurants but if you go right you'll get to the more upmarket (and pricier) area of Playa del Duque so really depends what you fancy! If anybody fancies a night out in Playa it's only a short 10 min taxi ride away for about 7 Euros (we also highly recommend the Papagayo Beach Club by the way).

Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxed holiday and would definitely stay again if we were to return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank StuWeightman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Adrian_Hoteles, Director General at Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your friendly comment about your stay with us. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holidays in our hotel.
All the superior double rooms are pool facing rooms (we do not sell pool view rooms), and most of them have a pool view, but no all of them. Please feel free to request a pool view room in advance and we will do our best to accomplish your wish.
Our sister hotel Jardines de Nivaria is across the road. But unfortunately guest of the Hotel Colón Guanahaní are not allowed to use the installations of our sister other neither the other way round. Of course you can go and have a coffee or drink at the bar or you can have a look-around, but pool use is only for the guests of the hotel.
You have mentioned correctly that our hotel will be and Adult Only hotel from November on, from 16 years onwards.
Once again we would like to thank you for your comment and hope that we will see you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

the Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
163 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Hotel Colon Guanahani is a lovely four star hotel. It is wonderfully quiet but very close to shops, restaurants and the beach. The staff are very caring and professional. Any little hiccups were sorted immediately even down to physically getting us a taxi back to the airport on the last day when phoning didn’t work. The pool is beautifully quiet. Both pools (one decent size pools really) are warm enough for a pleasant cool down. Sun beds are plentiful but, probably because the hotel leaves the beach towels with guests, sun-beds are reserved by 8:30. The sun deck on floor two is a welcome addition and helps with sun bed availability. The breakfast room is a pleasant experience. Food is plentiful and of a good standard – I love it when pancakes are cooked to order! The breakfast room was also very calm.
We got a standard room and I suppose the décor was a little tired. I’d probably upgrade to a better room next time. On saying that, the room was cleaned to a high standard every day.
All in all, a very good stay and one I would recommend.

Room Tip: Try an upgrade if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LancashireBells21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Adrian_Hoteles, Director General at Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive words about your stay with us. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are now, additionally, informing our guests on arrival not to reserve the sunbeds. But as we do not have any lifeguard at the pools (pool restaurant staff is trained), there is no one who is in control of the sunbeds, which is why some of them are reserved. We are sorry for that but, as you have mentioned as well, we have the sun terrace next to the Jacuzzi with plenty of sunbeds.

We hope to see you again in the future and assure you our best services at all times.

Kind regards,

the Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Have just returned from the Colon Guanahani we have stayed at the hotel many times and always find it a great place. The rooms are always very clean with a lovely bathroom and flat screen TV. The a/c worked well keeping the rooms cool in the throughout the evening.
The two pools are nice with plenty of sun beds around the pool area. The poolside bar serves some great lunches with a wide range of fresh food. Try the paella or king prawns these were some of the best I have had.
We had a small incident where my daughters bedtime toy monkey got mixed up with the bed linen and we thought was lost! But the reception staff managed to track it down, much to the relief of my daughter. It is small things like this that make you see that the staff really care about their clients and the level of service they provide to ensure your stay is 5 star.
Great hotel with really caring friendly staff.
Mr Bright & family

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Adrian_Hoteles, Director General at Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words about your stay with us. We are glad to know that you felt looked after and that you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel.
We always do our best to accomplish the wishes of our clients and we try to go out of our way for them.
We hope to see you again in the future and we assure you our best services at all times.

Kind regards,

the Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.1 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.3 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
5,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
1.6 mi away
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
#4 of 57 in Costa Adeje
599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#5 of 57 in Costa Adeje
2,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles

Property: Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
Address: Calle Bruselas, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#3 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#26 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles Hotel Costa Adeje
Colon Guanahani Hotel
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing