We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
Ranked #4 of 60 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We spent a fortnight in this hotel over the Easter period. We found everything to be very good. The staff, particularly the waiting staff and reception staff were excellent, helpful, relaxed and very professional. The superior room was fine and the bathroom good with a great shower. We were greeted with a bowl of fruit and the whole atmosphere of the hotel was relaxed. The food was excellent, particularly the breakfasts. We would have preferred table service at dinner. It was provided but with a very limited menu, but the buffet was very comprehensive and always appetizing with plenty of choice. The hotel was very clean and the pool area, very pleasant.
Our only disappointment was "lumpy pillows". We requested softer ones, but were given the cushions from the room in pillow cases! These were better, but small and square, just two, on a very big bed( Could have been a language misunderstanding.) The bed was very comfortable.
There was evening entertainment in the bar for those who wished it and the television had English Channels and also Sky Sports ( which pleased my better half). On the whole we enjoyed the holiday very much. The area is quiet and pleasant and we would happily return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are better as they are very quiet and have a pleasant outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOAN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Adrian_Hoteles, Director General at Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice words about your stay with us. We are glad to read that you have had enjoyed every minute and that you would come back to us. We hope you will do so.
Please feel free to contact us in advance to inform us that you will need softer pillows so that we can organize one or two for you. We always try to accomplish the wishes of our guests and try to make their stay as enjoyable as possible.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel, we assure you our best service at all times.

Kind regards,

the Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

666 - 672 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife and I spent a week here over Easter and felt that everything about the hotel is first class.

The staff were friendly and welcoming from the minute we arrived. We were offered a drink on arrival, and found a basket of fresh fruit and a bottle of sparkling wine in the room.

We were on half board and the food was excellent, with a huge choice at breakfast and varied meals in the evening; we were able to exchange one evening meal for a lunch at the poolside bar as we like to have one dinner at the Filet de Coeur restaurant about 10 minutes walk away. We managed to eat all our meals, breakfast and dinner, outside on the terrace.

The rooms are spacious and clean, with plenty of wardrobe space and with bathrobes and slippers provided even in the basic rooms. There are at least ten English language channels on TV so it is possible to keep up to date with news/sports events while on holiday.

The pools are heated and there is little trouble finding sun-loungers, although a few arrogant guests do reserve them. There is a small gym which also has the hotel library. We did not use any of the spa facilities. There was entertainment most evenings, although we preferred to go for a stroll and a drink at the Rincon de la Fuente after dinner.

Hint - when you do go down to the beach area make sure you turn right and head towards La Caleta so that you avoid the tacky areas.

If you had to try to find fault then there are annoying cats pestering you at meal times if you are eating on the terrace (but the cats do not go in the dining room); people are allowed to have glasses rather than plastic cups poolside but we saw no broken glass; the one size fits all bathroom slippers may be small for people with big feet; and the cupboard space in the bedrooms might be limited if you are spending longer than a week at the hotel. But if any of this upsets you then you really are nit picking!

Overall a first class hotel in a quiet setting, a little oasis of tranquillity in a busy corner of the island. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Adrian_Hoteles, Director General at Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you very much for having stayed with us and for your detailed comment and positive words.
We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your time here with us and also would like to thank you for recommending us. We always to our best to make the stay of our clients as enjoyable as possible and are glad about receiving comments like yours.
If clients need more space because the wardrobe is not big enough they can let us know and we will provide a commode for them to be able to store all their cloths.

We hope to see you again in one of our Adrián Hoteles and assure you our best services at all times.

Kind regards,

the Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I had a lovely relaxing break with my daughter at this very pleasant small hotel.
The staff were excellent- friendly and professional. The hotel was probably the cleanest I have ever stayed in - spotless.
We had a superior room- the bathroom was recently refurbished and had a very good shower and separate bath. A bowl of fruit and bottle of cava was provided on arrival.
The food was generally very good, especially the breakfast. I would prefer waiter service however in the evening- food was mediocre and the restaurant is brightly lit and feels like a canteen.
The public areas are tired and in serious need of an upgrade and we found the evening entertainment to be poor although some guests seemed to enjoy it.
The pool area is small but pleasant- however children screaming and dive bombing some of the older guests on a couple of days spoiled the otherwise tranquil ambience. The hotel would benefit from having an over 14 years policy - the adjacent sister hotel has excellent facilities for children after all.
On the whole we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel. Upgrading the public areas and more attention to detail would make a very good hotel into an excellent one.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newhaven191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Adrian_Hoteles, Director General at Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel and it'sfacilities.
We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Depending on the time of the year we hardly have children staying in our hotel as families use to choose our Roca Nivaria Gran Hotel. Usually eldery couples are staying in our Colón Guanahaní because of it's small size and it's familiar atmosphere, as you have mentioned as well.

We hope to see you again in our hotel and remain at your entire disposal.

Kind regards,

the Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We are just back from 8 nights at this hotel, we booked a superior room which was very nice and bright with very comfortable beds, we had our 4 yr old son in the room with us and they made a single bed Up for him. The bathroom was spacious with a walk in shower & a bath with very powerful showers. The food at the hotel was fabulous, with a large selection of fruit, pastries, yoghurt s, cured meats cheeses, bread, toast, cereal, eggs, omelettes cooked to order, pancakes, eggs, bacon all cooked in front of you, the same quality in the evening, the staff were really friendly, the 2 pools are heated, with a section for children, this Hotel is so clean, they have an army of cleaners - the sun loungers are scrubbed every morning, the rooms cleaned thoroughly every day or ours was - they had some kind of entertainment in the bar area every night which was quitevaried, magic act, singers, all quite sedate, nit really aimed for younger people but we enjoyed it - the only thing that let it down for us is that there wasn't many English families at this hotel and no activities for the kids either, which we did know when booking but thought there may be other kids for him to play with, but this isn't really down to the hotel - I would definitely recommend this hotel but if you have young children then just be aware there isn't anything going on for them - except a lovely pool of course. It's also close to the beach approx a 5 minute walk which is quite a nice beach if you turn right at the bottom, if you go left yr heading towards las Americas.

Room Tip: We went straight for a superior poolside room, think you have to pay the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Adrian_Hoteles, Director General at Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you so much for having stayed with us and for your nice comment about your gained experiences. We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your holidays with us and that you liked our hotel.
It is correct that we are a children friendly hotel but we do not have many families with children staying in our hotel. Mostly elderly couples, as you have mentioned correctly.
Nevertheless some younger couples do enjoy the calm atmosphere in our hotel, as you did.
We hope to welcome you again in one of our Adrián Hoteles in the future and assure you our best services at all times.

Kind regards,

the Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is our favourite hotel !! We have been staying at the Colon Guanahani for a quick winter break for the last 10 years or so. Once you've been to southern Tenerife a couple of times, there is little to lure you back unless you're young, but each year when we're in need of a spot of relaxation and sun the Colon Guanahani is perfect for us. You can almost feel the stress drop from you as you enter the cool entrance-way. Because we've been there so often we like to choose a particular room/s and the hotel always tries to accommodate such requests to the best of their ability.

Each year we have always been treated with the utmost consideration, the staff are unfailingly very friendly, courteous and helpful. Food is a big plus for us and the food is very good with a wide choice - we use the Colon Guanahani as a benchmark against other hotels we stay in over the year and the food here is always tops. The location is lovely - far enough away from Playa de las Americas - we always walk towards La Caleta, with the aim of coffee or lunch at the lovely Rosso Sul Mare; just enough exercise on a warm day!! We are not keen on big impersonal 4star hotels so the Colon Guanahani suits us admirably and for a relaxing mid-winter break we would always recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank themannings10yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Adrian_Hoteles, Director General at Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Your nice and warm words a very much appreciated - thank you. And even more that you always choose us and keep coming back to us. That means a lot to us.
As you have mentioned, we always try our best to make the stay as good and enjoyable as possible for our clients. We want them to feel homely at our Colón Guanahaní.
We hope to see you again, as soon as you need a little sun break.
Let us know about your room wish.

Take care.

Kind regards,

the Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I booked a suprerior room which was advertised as being ' sunny rooms with balcony and pool view '. I was given a ground floor pool facing room without a balcony where the sun could'ent shine and no view. Iwas told that the superior rooms were pool facing as opposed to standard rooms which are road facing. Apart from that fact and a bathrobe the room was average for a 4 star.
Luckily I was able change rooms to one with a sunny balcony and good pool view. But not until third day.
I arrived at the hotel about 8pm. I was told that dinner is served up to 9.30pm . Having gone through the reception process and freshened up a bit I arrived at the restaurant at about 9pm. i was invited to a table the head waiter who took my order for some wine. I then made for the buffet to select my food. At around 9.30pm I was enjoying my meal when a very aggressive waiter told me repeatedly in Spanish that the restaurant was now closed . the head waiter came to the rescue and later, the rude waiter apologised to me. However, I at a later date i was reminded by another waiting staff of the time boundary , like I was likely to forget ! To be confronted like that on my first night tainted my stay.
On a more positive note , the rooms are cleaned to a high standard and the cleaning staff are very nice.
Free use of Wifi in the rooms is an asset. And the hotel is a quiet hotel.
They offer freshly grilled fish and meat. I chose tuna one time and asked for it to be lightly grilled as it should be but he over cooked it twice... I gave up !
Generally the food is quite good. At breakfast they offer a pot of coffee and warm milk ( far better than having to use a coffee machine as some other 4 stars do)
Quite an expensive hotel for what it offers as a 4 star and the drinks are over priced in comparison to other 4 stars. A small hotel .

Room Tip: Room 209D has a decent balcony, view and it's quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karlrennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Adrian_Hoteles, Director General at Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you very much for your words about your gained experiences during your stay with us.
We are sorry that we did not meet completely your expectations and that you did not enjoy your stay with us 100%. As you can read in previous comments, our clients are usually very happy with our rooms, service and installations. On TA it is the client who write his opinion, as you did, and many others think we do a good job. Obviously not everyone can be of the same opinion, but we always try to make the stay of our clients as enjoyable as possible and are very sorry, that we could not do so in your case.

Take care.

Kind regards,

the Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel. Last year the reception desk team were very helpful and friendly and we even had a free upgrade to a superior room.
This year our experience upon arrival and departure was poor in contrast.
As recommended in other Trip Advisor reviews we e-mailed the hotel several weeks in advance to see if it was possible to have a 4th floor room as we had booked with Thomson Holidays À La Carte (superior room).
The recptionist lady told us that nothing was recorded on her list of expected guests and that the hotel was fully occupied and an alternative room was not available. There was no apology or friendly welcome etc in her conversation which we didn't understand as no one else was waiting.
Our departure was even more "low key". We were only asked one question ie "had we used the mini bar"? His attention (Manola) was clearly on other matters and not really focussed on us. We paid the bill and he moved away forgetting to give us the change. There was no farewells etc we just went and awaited our taxi.
Our room on level D adjacent to the pool was very clean and comfortable with good lighting and storage, large safe (free this time). A nice bathroom with an excellent walk-in shower. The cleaner did an excellent job and she was always friendly and cheerful whenever we saw her on a few occasions.
As mentioned in other reviews the dining experience both for breakfast and evening meals was excellent and all the staff were well organised and fully focussed on their guests and seemed happy in their work. A special mention goes to Ivan and Rosario who we think were outstanding. The quality of the food and variety was very good too.
Despite the reception staff we would visit again and recommend the hotel to other people.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PJYarm30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Adrian_Hoteles, Director General at Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you very much for your words about your gained experiences during your second stay with us. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in general and are very sorry for your experience referring our reception staff. As you can read in previous comments, clients are usually very happy and contend with them and we normally do not receive any reclamation regarding their attitude.
Please apologise, things like the ones you experienced hardly occur at all.
We hope to see you again and please write us an e-mail before your arrival. We always send an answer! So if you do not receive any reply in between three days, you know we did not receive your e-mail or that something went wrong.

Looking forward to hearing from you, we remain at your entire disposal.

Kind regards,

the Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.1 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.3 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#17 of 60 in Costa Adeje
5,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#14 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,757 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Anthelia
IBEROSTAR Anthelia
#5 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles

Address: Calle Bruselas, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#26 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $200 - $1,415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles Hotel Costa Adeje
Colon Guanahani Hotel
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing