We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and over rated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Barcelona
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overpriced and over rated”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I booked a suprerior room which was advertised as being ' sunny rooms with balcony and pool view '. I was given a ground floor pool facing room without a balcony where the sun could'ent shine and no view. Iwas told that the superior rooms were pool facing as opposed to standard rooms which are road facing. Apart from that fact and a bathrobe the room was average for a 4 star.
Luckily I was able change rooms to one with a sunny balcony and good pool view. But not until third day.
I arrived at the hotel about 8pm. I was told that dinner is served up to 9.30pm . Having gone through the reception process and freshened up a bit I arrived at the restaurant at about 9pm. i was invited to a table the head waiter who took my order for some wine. I then made for the buffet to select my food. At around 9.30pm I was enjoying my meal when a very aggressive waiter told me repeatedly in Spanish that the restaurant was now closed . the head waiter came to the rescue and later, the rude waiter apologised to me. However, I at a later date i was reminded by another waiting staff of the time boundary , like I was likely to forget ! To be confronted like that on my first night tainted my stay.
On a more positive note , the rooms are cleaned to a high standard and the cleaning staff are very nice.
Free use of Wifi in the rooms is an asset. And the hotel is a quiet hotel.
They offer freshly grilled fish and meat. I chose tuna one time and asked for it to be lightly grilled as it should be but he over cooked it twice... I gave up !
Generally the food is quite good. At breakfast they offer a pot of coffee and warm milk ( far better than having to use a coffee machine as some other 4 stars do)
Quite an expensive hotel for what it offers as a 4 star and the drinks are over priced in comparison to other 4 stars. A small hotel .

Room Tip: Room 209D has a decent balcony, view and it's quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karlrennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Adrian_Hoteles, Director General at Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your words about your gained experiences during your stay with us.
We are sorry that we did not meet completely your expectations and that you did not enjoy your stay with us 100%. As you can read in previous comments, our clients are usually very happy with our rooms, service and installations. On TA it is the client who write his opinion, as you did, and many others think we do a good job. Obviously not everyone can be of the same opinion, but we always try to make the stay of our clients as enjoyable as possible and are very sorry, that we could not do so in your case.

Take care.

Kind regards,

the Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    251
    56
    12
    2
See reviews for
123
835
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel. Last year the reception desk team were very helpful and friendly and we even had a free upgrade to a superior room.
This year our experience upon arrival and departure was poor in contrast.
As recommended in other Trip Advisor reviews we e-mailed the hotel several weeks in advance to see if it was possible to have a 4th floor room as we had booked with Thomson Holidays À La Carte (superior room).
The recptionist lady told us that nothing was recorded on her list of expected guests and that the hotel was fully occupied and an alternative room was not available. There was no apology or friendly welcome etc in her conversation which we didn't understand as no one else was waiting.
Our departure was even more "low key". We were only asked one question ie "had we used the mini bar"? His attention (Manola) was clearly on other matters and not really focussed on us. We paid the bill and he moved away forgetting to give us the change. There was no farewells etc we just went and awaited our taxi.
Our room on level D adjacent to the pool was very clean and comfortable with good lighting and storage, large safe (free this time). A nice bathroom with an excellent walk-in shower. The cleaner did an excellent job and she was always friendly and cheerful whenever we saw her on a few occasions.
As mentioned in other reviews the dining experience both for breakfast and evening meals was excellent and all the staff were well organised and fully focussed on their guests and seemed happy in their work. A special mention goes to Ivan and Rosario who we think were outstanding. The quality of the food and variety was very good too.
Despite the reception staff we would visit again and recommend the hotel to other people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PJYarm30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Adrian_Hoteles, Director General at Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your words about your gained experiences during your second stay with us. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in general and are very sorry for your experience referring our reception staff. As you can read in previous comments, clients are usually very happy and contend with them and we normally do not receive any reclamation regarding their attitude.
Please apologise, things like the ones you experienced hardly occur at all.
We hope to see you again and please write us an e-mail before your arrival. We always send an answer! So if you do not receive any reply in between three days, you know we did not receive your e-mail or that something went wrong.

Looking forward to hearing from you, we remain at your entire disposal.

Kind regards,

the Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed here March 2013 with my best friend and we had a lovely time. We were definately the youngest guests and its clear that the hotel caters for the older generation and families which didnt actually bother us.

The location was excellent, in walking distance to local shops, restuarants and the beach. We did find the location quite touristy but it only took a few mins in the taxi to get to La Caleta which was lovely for dinner and also Los Crisianos which again was lovely.

The hotel breakfast was good and we were very impressed with the quality of food (fresh orange juice every morning). The deco was a little dated throughout the hotel, but again this didnt bother us too much.

The staff were very helpful and we felt very welcome during our stay. Only a few minor things to flag, the cleaners were very loud in the morning, shouting outside our room which often woke us up, the pool towels were always hard to get hold of and the room we had didnt have a very nice view (the main road).

Overall a nice hotel and i would consider going again maybe in the future.

Room Tip: We had a standard suite, maybe ask for one of their luxury rooms if you can afford to pay the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Persephone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Adrian_Hoteles, Director General at Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice words. It is true that we have many older guests, some families but not too many children. All in all a very calm and tranquil atmosphere, which is much appreciated by our guests.
You stayed in a standard room, these are street facing rooms. But you also could have booked a double room pool side, or a double room pool side superior room. Both are facing the swimming pool, you do not have pool view from all of the room though, which is why they are called "pool side" rooms. Maybe one of them would be an option for your next stay.
If you should have any further question, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

the Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Recently returned from our second visit to the hotel and would like to thank everbody there for a lovely holiday. All the staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. They obviously very much enjoy looking after their guests and making their stay a memorable experience.
The room was lovely, very comfortable and spacious with a nice terrace that caught the sun all day.
The food is excellent, prepared to a very high standard with a lot of choice for both meat and fish eaters.
THe hotel is kept in a spotless condition and the pool area is very relaxing with two salt water pools-we shall definitely return.

Mike- Cheam, Surrey

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Adrian_Hoteles, Director General at Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you very much for having stayed with us for a second time and for your, much appreciated, positive words about your stay.
We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Please do not hesitate to contact us before your next stay, if there is anything we could do for you.

Kind regards,

the Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a little gem , slightly expensive but worth it..., have stayed in all the Adrian hotels and they are great,they all seem to have heated pools and are peaceful but not boring,the staff are all very nice , also in the jardines de navaria and the roca , we stay in all 3 every year and love them

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sterlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Adrian_Hoteles, Director General at Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive words and for staying in all our three (3) Adrian Hotels.
We do have heated pools in every hotel of the Adrian Hotels and also the same hotel philosophy, as you probably have noticed.
Please let us know as soon as you have booked a new stay with us so that we can prebook a nice room for you. Or you even might have a special room wish.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotels.

Kind regards.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

The staff at this hotel are attentive and pleasant without fail. The location provides you with options either to stroll down the beach to Las Americas, which I wouldn't recommend unless you enjoy watered down beer and pictures of fried breakfasts,or to explore further into Adeje which has a much more pleasant, upmarket vibe.

We were in a standard room which was exactly that. Nothing wrong with it but wasn't blown away either.

The food was of a very high standard both for breakfast and in the evening.

Overall would recommend for a quiet stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MightyDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Adrian_Hoteles, Director General at Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment and for the positive rating.
We hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we will welcome you again in the future.
We recommend to book a double room pool side superior, which are renovated rooms with an extra shower in the bathroom.

Kind regards.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and myself spent 7 days at this hotel during the end of February and the start of March 2013 and we are delighted to state that we found nothing that we could fault. We had a pool view superior double room which was well furnished, roomy and very comfortable. The shower in the bathroom was easily the largest we have found in any other hotel. On arrival the bed was made up as two separate though quite comfortable, beds. The next morning without any request from us the two single beds were joined to form a large and extremely comfortable double. Throughout our stay the room was kept scrupulously clean and tidy. The food was of a very high standard as was the hygiene of the restaurants, chefs and waiting staff. Breakfast was something we looked forward to each morning and could be eaten in the indoor restaurant or on the open terrace - our choice. Similarly, unless prevented by the weather, we ate our, always very pleasant, evening meal there. Lunch could be purchased at the pool bar/restaurant and a wide choice of reasonably priced meals was always available.
The pool areas were adequately supplied with comfortable sun-loungers. Pool towels were supplied.
Each evening there was a range of entertainment events in the main bar area adjacent to the dining room and terrace. It was only a five minute walk from the hotel to the promenade beside the beach. A right turn along the promenade results in a lovely, long walk which reaches the small town of La Caleta. A left turn leads you to las Americas and los Christianos developments. We found that one visit to these areas was enough.
Our room had a large safe provided at no extra cost providing the activation key was returned.
Free room wifi was available. The air conditioning in the room was excellent
The single most outstanding aspect of the hotel was the staff. All that we had contact with were extremely efficient, helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are quieter than those on the outer, road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BelfastJ_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Adrian_Hoteles, Director General at Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for having stayed with us and for your detailed comment about your stay at our Hotel Colón Guanahaní. We are pleased to read that you have had a pleasant time with us.
We always do our utmost to create a homely atmosphere so that our clients feel good during their stay with us plus we always try to accomplish the wishes of our guests.
We hope that you will be back soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us for anything you may need for your next stay.

Kind regards.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.1 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.3 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#16 of 58 in Costa Adeje
5,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#3 of 58 in Costa Adeje
2,507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles

Property: Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
Address: Calle Bruselas, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#26 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles Hotel Costa Adeje
Colon Guanahani Hotel
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing