We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place for a family holiday”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a stay of 11 nights in this hotel. In all aspects, it lived up to our expectations. Our room was spacious and clean and the balcony, with its own large sun umbrella, very comfortable for sitting out. The bathroom included both a bath and a separate walk-in double-sized shower, which was a real pleasure to use. Adequate towels, including pool towels and bathrobes, were provided.

Following the advice of other Tripadvisor reports, we chose a Superior room overlooking the pool area. If your budget stretches to it, I would recommend you do so if possible. The rooms on the outside of the hotel overlooking the roads, while probably similar in size, amenities, etc., must be nosier and of course face onto relatively busy roads.

The pool area is of a good size and there always seemed to enough chairs and umbrellas to go round. The pools are heated though there was some variation in temperature from (very) cold one day to warm to sauna on the following days, possibly the result of complaints.

We normally only book B & B terms but decided, for cost reasons, to go half-board this time. This proved to be a very good decision. Every night there was a wide and different choice of menus, with typically at least 6 main courses to chose from. The food was served buffet style, so you could eat as much of anything as you wished. The breakfast selection was also extensive, covering all the typical items. An additional bonus was that you could eat your meals on a dining terrace near to the pool area, which in the warm Tenerife mornings and evenings was a real luxury.

In contrast to a number of other reports, there were entertainments in the hotel all 11 nights we were there, usually a minimum of 2 acts. One good thing was that the entertainment ALWAYS finished on the dot of 11.30pm and then everybody seemed to go to bed. We found our room to be very quiet at night, which was a big help to me a I am a very light sleeper.

We found the staff to be cheerful and helpful, from the chambermaid through to the waiters and the front-desk staff. One thing in particular impressed me. Some reports had recommended that, for privacy, it is better to have a room not at pool level. About a month before travelling, I E-mailed the hotel about this and one other matter. I received a (positive) reply within a few hours and on arrival at the hotel I was allocated a room where I had requested.

The hotel is well-situated within the resort. The front is less than a 5 minutes stroll away and there are 2 well-stocked supermarkets close by. Bus stops for all the useful TITSA bus routes are very close and there is a taxi rank within hailing distance. The cost of a taxi to/from the airport seems to be a fixed price of €25. The prom is easy for walking along although it gets a bit garish the closer you go to Playas de Americas. A more pleasant route is to walk to La Caleta, which takes about an hour if you take it easy. There are a number of good restaurants for lunch in La Caleta, so a walk there, lunch and the bus back makes for a very pleasant way of passing a day.

Altogether, we found the Colon Guanahani to be an ideal place to stay. It is certainly not cheap but it delivers what is promises. A good sign is the wide age-range of the guests. There were a good number of parents with small (18 months or under) children, who I think would have found the compact nature of the hotel a very handy feature.

Room Tip: Go for a poolside room and also ask for a room on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank allanlGlasgowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlista, Director General at Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you so much for your detailed comment about our hotel and your stay with us. We are very glad to read that you have had enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you can recommend us. We always do our best to make the stay of our guests as enjoyable as posible and your words are a real motivation for us. Thank you. If clients want a room on one of the higher floors they should book a double room pool side superior, as you have mentioned already. It was nice reading your comment and we hope that we may welcome you again in our hotel in the future.
Please do not hesitate to contact us again.
Looking forward to hearing from you, we remain at your entire disposal.

Kind regards.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    243
    56
    12
    2
See reviews for
120
818
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
111 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Clean, well-run and quieter than most hotels in the area. Location is not right in the middle of the tacky Playa de Americas areas. Parking on the surrounding streets, you may have to look for a few minutes but even on a busy holiday weekend no major problem. Staff is outstanding, pleasant, professional and polite. Pool area is very nice. Agree with the comments on the guests that reserve sunbeds and then they stayed unused half the day, but this seems to be common everywhere. The gym is kind of a joke but most people don't go for that.

Room Tip: Definitely splurge a little and get one with a balcony overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EricfromParis02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlista, Director General at Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you very much writing a comment about your stay with us.
We are glad to know that you had a nice stay with us, saying that our hotel was an excellent choice in southern Tenerife. Although we have a sunbed policy, saying that reserving sun beds is forbidden, people keep doing it. As you have mentioned correctly this is not only the case in our hotel but a common kind of thing. But usually we have enough sunbeds for our guests as we provide a sun terrace with sunbeds as well.

We would like to welcome you again in the future and hope to see you again.

Kind regards.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hotel was superb from first impressions through to waving sadly good bye! The staff were so helpful and friendly throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were spotless, cleaned every day with fresh towels and linen. The pool area was also very clean and there were plenty of sunbeds to go round! We stayed bed and breakfast and the breakfast choice was huge! Something to please all tastes was offered. The only down side for me as I really love a cuppa was there was no kettle in the room! We didn't stay in the hotel for the evening entertainment as we chose to go out and about to sample the islands nightlife but there seemed to be something on every evening for anyone choosing to stay on site. The staff made this hotel such a brilliant place to stay, I would definatley stay here again. Thank you all so much for helping us have a fantastic time!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaz_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlista, Director General at Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you very much for you nice comment about your stay with us. We are very happy to read that we coul help you having a great time with us. Words like yours do motivate us and show us that we are doing it right and that we reach our aims. We are glad to know that we could reach your expectations and that you would stay with us again. Please do contact us for anything you may need regarding a future booking.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel in the future, we remain at you entire disposal.

Kind regards.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Smart modern clean good food, no children. Pleasant low key entertainment. Excellent pool and service.
Only down points the hotel should introduce a policy of not reserving sunbeds at 7.30 in the morning and leaving them unused all day.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlista, Director General at Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you so much for your time writing a comment about your stay with us here on tripadvisor.com. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, that you liked the food, our service and our entertainment.
We do have a policy saying that it is forbidden to reserve the sun beds but unfortunately most of the guests do not respect it. But we do not have only sun beds in the pool area, we also provide a sun terrace where people can sunbathe.

We hope that we may welcome you again in our hotel in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us regarding a future booking.

Kind regards.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The first impression of the hotel was "wow". We arrived at night to find the entrance well lit with flame shaped white lights leading up to the entrance, it looked very clean and posh! The checking in was faultless and man on reception (Pepe) was very polite and seemed genuinely happy to be there and to help. Nothing was a problem and we booked all of our excursions through him too. There was a man at the door of the hotel who put all of our cases onto a luggage trolly and pushed them to our rooms for us. A real feeling of being well looked after which continued throughout the whole holiday.

The best asset this hotel has is its staff. Everybody from cleaners, bar staff , waiters and reception were increadibly happy!! Which in turn makes us feel happy. We travelled as a family of 5, 2 adults and 3 kids aged 12, 4 and 2 and at first we were a bit dubious as the ambiance of the hotel was very quiet, laid back and relaxing and our kids are not the quietest or best behaved in the world! However this was not a problem at all. In particular the waiters actually seemed happy to have such lively young people to interact with. They made mealtimes fun for the kids as they could see their "new friends".

Our rooms were immaculately clean, however we were unfortunately not in one of the newly renovated ones and as such they had antique style furniture and rather large old fashioned TV in them. My advice would be to try and get one of the renovated rooms as they were much more modern and plush than ours. Having said that I have no complaints, i just prefer modern to antique. We saw absolutely NO bugs at all during our stay, not in the pool, the room or even flying around!

The hotel had many different nationalities staying with them. They were all very friendly and there was none of the normal rudeness or rush for things like sun beds or meal times. It seemed that everybody was as happy and content as we were. The hotel catered very well with the needs of each nationality.

The food in the hotel was the best that I have ever had abroad. There was a huge choice both at breakfast and at evening meal. There was show cooking where they cooked what you picked in front of you. To be fair I'm fairly picky with what I eat but I was entirely comfortable with all that was on offer. The fresh fruit was in abundance also.

Occassonally at night a pianist played you into your evening meal which felt like a touch of luxury. However in terms of night time entertainment, we struggled to keep the kids occupied as it was a bit dull. It would have been ample for couples looking for a quiet drink in the bar with a relaxing band playing quietly in the background. There is no kids club or mini disco etc, however 200 yards across the road at the Fanabe Costa Sur they had nightly kids mini disco and family entertainment. There was also no kids club or activities through the day which for some (including us) will be heaven compared to some very noisy hotels where they hijack the pool every 5 mins for games. The hotel isn't fully geared up towards kids , however they do not exclude them by any means. They have made effort by putting a paddling pool at one end of the swimming pool and there is also a small play ground at the front of the hotel suitable from around 4 years old and a play room next to the pool which has a couple of jigsaws and building blocks in it.

All in all we had a fantastic holiday and we wouldn't have changed it for the world. Usually I'm looking forward to going home after a holiday, however this time I left with a tear in my eye as I didn't want to leave. I think they have the balance perfectly right so whether you have a family or not you will enjoy yourselves. Well done Colon Guanahani and your wonderful staff!!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room as they are much more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mumof2boys24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlista, Director General at Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you very much for your detailed and nice comment about your stay with us. We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your time with us and that you felt comfortable with us. We also would like to thank you for your nice words about our staff. All of us always give our best to accomplish the wishes of our guests and we try to make their stay as enjoyable as posible. It was therefore nice to read that we could reach your expectations and that you actually did not want to leave us. That is a huge compliment for us.
We hope that we may welcome you again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us regarding a new booking.

Take care.

Kind regards.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel many times, and yet again it did not disapoint, It is so peaceful and pleasant. All the staff are extremely freindly, always having time for you. The rooms are always kept very clean, along with clean towel and linen
The staff at the poolside bar were very attentive, especially Juan who would aways ensure everything was OK.
We have always had a great stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlista, Director General at Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you so much for your nice words here in tripadvisor.com and for having stayed with us several times already. We are glad to read that you have had another enjoyable stay with us and we hope that we will see you again in the future.
Please contact us for anything you may need regarding your booking with us.

Kind regards and hopefully see you soon.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We are a family of four with two children aged 10 and 2. The reason i booked this hotel was due to the good reviews on trip advisor and other websites. On arrival our room wasn’t ready and we were told we would have to wait an hour until it was cleaned, my initial thought was, here we go, but after being offered free Champaign and drinks for the children, the wait didn’t seem too bad. Our family room 136a was amazing, the bathroom was a fantastic size with both a bath and shower, ideal for getting both kids ready at the same time, Flat screen T.V’s in both bedrooms with a few English channels, the majority were German though, as were the guests. The view from our room over looked the pool and courtyard; all in all first impressions were great.
The food was great; we chose bed and breakfast as half board wasn’t available when we booked, breakfast is served between 7.30 and 10.30 and there never seemed to be that dreaded rush, the waiters were all fantastic especially with the children and very helpful, nothing seemed to much of a bother for them at all. We ate at the hotel for the Mexican themed night, we paid 80euro’s for 4 including drinks which I didn’t think was overly expensive, but it seemed cheaper to eat out.
The pool area is lovely, there are two pools linked together and a kid’s pool for toddlers, mine loved it! I was happy that there was no noisy holiday rep’s taking the whole pool up and no mad rush for sun loungers like we’ve experienced before at other hotels and loathed. Over all the pool area was generally quite not overly populated a great experience.
Other things to do include: a gym, table tennis, squash court and spa, which wasn’t overly expensive.
The beach and towns are situated either sides of the hotel, to the left of the hotel you can walk down the hill which was a bit of an effort with the buggy and beach things but not bad enough to stop us from going again. The beach wasn’t the best on the island so we tended to walk to playas las Americas instead as it was a bit rocky. To the right you can take the hotel route which is longer! There is a nice shopping centre to the right of the hotel about 10 minutes’ walk away which closes at 10pm, they seems to sell most things designer and the kids will love the ground floor as ice cream and kids shops seem to be the theme.
The only thing I thought was lacking in the hotel was the entertainment in the evening, some nights were ok but they didn’t really seem to be anything for the kids to do. There is a kid’s games room which isn’t fantastic and consists of puzzles and building blokes, this wasn’t open in the evening and wasn’t supervised and there wasn’t a kids club on offer which was slightly disappointing but not a deal breaker.
Overall, the hotel was extremely clean- no cockroaches at all! stunning to look at, all the staff especially the waiters were excellent and very friendly. The food quality was very good, above average as hotel food goes with plenty of choices for everyone. Would I book again- 100% yes!

Room Tip: 136a Ground floor family room, fantastic room, good view of the pool and court yard and very spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssaammaanntthhaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlista, Director General at Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
First of all we would like to thank you for your detailed comment about your stay with us. We are very glad to hear that you had a nice stay with us and that your smallest liked our kids pool.
It is always nice to read that we could reach the expectations of our guests because our staff always give their best to accomplish the wishes of our guests and to make their stay as enjoyable as posible.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. Please contact us for whatever you may need regarding your booking.

Kind regards and take care.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.1 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.3 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
5,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
1.6 mi away
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
#3 of 57 in Costa Adeje
596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#5 of 57 in Costa Adeje
2,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles

Property: Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
Address: Calle Bruselas, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#26 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles Hotel Costa Adeje
Colon Guanahani Hotel
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing