We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good half board”
Review of GF Fanabe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GF Fanabe
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My wife have stayed in this hotel a few times now and will return.
The food is very good and varied, something for everyone, the hot food was HOT , and the plates were also warmed.
The rooms are adequate in size and are always clean, the staff are polite and courteous. The hotel is positioned up a hill from the sea front so take that into account if walking is a problem.

Room Tip: High floor rooms facing the sea get most sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VPM16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,073)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,190 - 2,196 of 4,073 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

Just come back from another really good holiday at the above hotel with visually impaired. Having made a few comments last year regarding the restaurant and a discussion with the Manager they had addressed all the issues and completely changed the atmosphere and efficiency of the Hotel making it excellent in all respects. We are planning to return next year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bob503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The location of the hotel was good but rather hilly for those who dont like walking. The room was spacious and spotless with a view over the main entrance. The lounge areas were comfortable. The restaurant was rather inadequate for the number of guests and we often had to queue. The food choice was poor. There was always plenty of fruit but not much to put with it - no custard or cream and only yogurt cartons.
The swimming pool was good but the beds were rather close together and the sun was only on half the pool for half the day. The rooftop was very relaxing with two plunge pools. I actually used the lift to go for a swim in the large pool and return upstairs to the roof. Just a word of advice - if going into the pool - go under the shower first - the pool is not half so cold - go under the shower on the way out and it feels really warm. Pool towels are provided and can be changed at any time so you never need to have wet towels. This was fortunate as we had very little sunshine while we were there.
We were half board and did not drink in the hotel or watch the entertainment. The bar across the road was handy for snacks and drinks. The best beach is Puerto Colon which is a fair walk away but the sea was calm and not too cold. You can always get the bus or small train.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pamsytam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Just returned from our 2nd visit to the Fanabe.Again enjoyed our 10 night break. Although the food was good could have a greater variety of potatoes as it was chips every meal, maybe boiled or more mash potatoes. Already looking to book for next January. All staff are very pleasant and always have a smile on their faces and make you feel very welcome.Listening to guests in other hotels locally I think the Fanabe is great value for money...

Room Tip: Went down to both Wigan pier and First and last bar for their evening entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as a couple looking for a winter sun filled break. Whilst the weather was disappointing, the hotel wasn't.
This is a lovely peaceful hotel and we enjoyed the rooftop terrace so much we used it everyday. There is a small bar, an even smaller pool but most of all there is no noise and you can just relax.

I had emailed the reception team in advance and asked for a fourth floor room with a sea view. We weren't disappointed, the room had a lovely view, spacious and well looked after. The beds were sons if the most comfiest we had slept in.

We were all inclusive and looking back this was a good decision. There was always something tasty to eat (and we are fussy) and unusually the drinks (wine and draught beer) were all very palatable, so we definitely got our monies worth.

It's in a good location with a supermarket directly opposite and a 3 minute downhill walk to the beach and bars.

Really impressed with this place and would go back if it comes up on next years holiday search

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Dazff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My husband arrived here on Xmas Eve for a two week all inclusive stay. The check in staff were very friendly and helpful and we were shown to a lovely room which was very clean and spacious with a sea view.With it being Xmas Eve we expected a lively night and good entertainment, there was a notice that the three tenors were on, but the the only tenor I saw was the one my husband dropped in the bedroom and it went straight in my purse! You would not of thought it was Xmas Eve and after that the entertainment got no better, every night it was a guitarist in the upstairs bar and an act in the downstairs bar which was anything from a magician to a parrot show. Most nights we had a few drinks at the bar and went out. My next gripe is having to pay for cocktails when I am A/I, there were probably 20 cocktails and only 5 were free even a couple of the non alcoholic cocktails were chargeable, I can understand premium drinks being chargeable but not local drinks.Then on New Years Eve we were told if we wanted to guarantee a table we had to buy a bottle of cava or champagne, this cost us 42 euros.
The sunbathing area on the roof was excellent , a small bar, two plunge pools and very comfortable sun beds.
The food was good quality always freshly cooked eggs and omelettes at breakfast and steak and fish at dinner, but did get repetitive with rice , chips pasta with no meat every lunch and dinner.
All in all we had a good time, we have stayed in worse hotels and stayed in better but this hotel spoils itself with its penny pinching ways. Last year at Xmas we had a week AI in Barbados and a week AI Carribbean cruise and paid just £500 more, so I know what we will be doing next year!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brownj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

General comment:- Lovely friendly staff. Especially helpful and supportive of my wife when I was hospitalised for 12 days right at the end of our 7 day holiday. They ensured she had a room and board for as long as she needed it, despite the fact we had checked out that day to come home.

That same level of care and attention was evident all through our holiday, whether at the bar, in the restaurant, room service or reception. We were on an all-inclusive basis and were provided with a varied choice of dishes through the week. Bar service was good although we suspected that some of the spirits were not always served "full-strength". Entertainment in the evening was ok (music/vocallist every night outside) and ABBA and 3 Tenors in the basement entertainment room, but not on a par with their sister hotel (Costa Adeje Gran) just up the road.
The twin bedded rooms were generously sized with 2 off "3-quarter" beds, a sofa, table and 2 chairs, plus another two chairs on the balcony. Beds were reasonably comfortable if not quite as good as home (never are!!!!). Room decor, as one of the other reviewers mentioned, is looking a little tired, but it did not detract from the overall experience.
All things considered, it is a good quality hotel, in a good location and was definitely value for money and we will go back there again - if I can get affordable travel insurance!!!

Room Tip: Try for a top floor room (4th) then all rooms will have decent view (mountains or sea). Personally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mallet-head
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
GF Isabel
GF Isabel
#16 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,843 reviews
0.2 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#19 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,893 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#17 of 61 in Costa Adeje
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#12 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,979 reviews
1 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#32 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#15 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GF Fanabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GF Fanabe

Address: Avenida Bruselas, 13, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#18 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#21 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#23 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $98 - $1,550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GF Fanabe 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel GF FAÑABE**** is an ideal establishment to enjoy the services it offers, but we would like to recommend that you leave yourself in the hands of its professionals, personal, friendly and familiar attention that will make you feel right at home. For anything you may need, please don’t hesitate to ask and you will get an excellent service from one of our staff who will attend to you immediately and efficiently. You will miss them when you leave the hotel and you will remember the little things they did to take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your GF Fanabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fanabe Hotel Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Adeje
Hotel Fanabe Tenerife
Hotel Fanabe Costa Sur
Fanabe Costa Sur Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel Tenerife
GF Fanabe Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing