We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An honest review from a young couple”
Review of GF Fanabe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GF Fanabe
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“An honest review from a young couple”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Hi,

This is lengthy, but detailed for your benefit. We stayed here end of August for 7 nights. It is the very first time either me or my partner have gone all inclusive on holiday, and this was our experience....

Check in was a smooth transaction. Reception staff were friendly and informative.

Our room was nice- clean, tidy and a good size. We had a pool view room on the first floor- plus the balcony was spacious. It was good that they had English speaking channels on t.v (bbc/itv) so there was something to watch if we woke early.

Food/Drink: We are glad we went all inclusive as not only has it saved us a lot of money but it has left us with a positive outlook on an all inclusive option. The reviews on here stating that ''the food was rubbish'', ''not enough variety'', ''more a 3*'' etc etc...has left me with the conclusion that these people are either ridiculously fussy eaters, have their expectations much higher than the price they paid or incredibly greedy and they ate all the food on the first night, leaving no variety for the rest of the week! We found something different to eat everyday/night. My partner is into his gym, so he likes his protein and veg- he was satisfied. I would consider myself a fairly fussy eater, but never went hungry. Table service was excellent- staff work their butts off and truly deserve lots of praise! Drinks were nice- was half expecting Rola Cola and watery vodka/beer from the reviews on here, but I can assure you the drinks are nice with plenty of taste/flavour and variety!

Facilities- We tend to do our own thing on holiday but wanted to make the most of what we paid for so we used the following at the hotel:

Roof top pool/bar- LOVED this bit. We don't have children so we like a quiet holiday around adults. Reviews on here complain that although it was a ''child free zone'', there was children up there BUT we did not see a sign stating children were not allowed in this area...its just common sense for parents to take their children to the downstairs pool as its a) more fun and b) safer to let them run around and play.

Downstairs pool/bar- This opened at 10am, which I thought was good because it gives everyone a fair chance of getting a sunbed- if you sat on one/lay towels down before then- you were moved- good on them (can't stand bed-hoggers!) It was hilarious watching people queue up as early as 8am to get sunbeds (yet there was always spare ones throughout the day). We preferred upstairs, but did use the bar on a couple of occasions.

Front bar- lovely settling, always had someone playing music in the evenings- definitely more for adults than children

Lower level- had internet access/PlayStation/hairdressers/spa/gym/mini arcade and 'Disco Drago', kids play area and what could only be described as a ''book corner'' with seating...
My partner used the gym on a couple of occasions which was free- not as high tech as what he's used to but he enjoyed his ''quiet time''. We both used the spa- 16euros each for 30 mins sauna, 30 mins steam room and 30 mins Jacuzzi..it was good value for money! We also had a go on the arcades- because we're big kids at heart!! Disco Drago- we called this ''Benidorm club'', I was half expecting the cast of Benidorm to tottle in at some point...it was cheesy, over the top, embarrassingly hilarious and designed for kids but we had a laugh, its a bit of fun!! If you expected West End but were bitterly disappointed, then I strongly suggest that next time you put your stingy hands into your incredibly deep pockets and pay for a 5* hotel!!

The location was lovely. Would strongly recommend that it your able to walk, then walk to the beach front (its closer than you think) and you can access los christianos and las americas in approx. 30-60 minutes- and the view is incredible! We made the mistake of using the bus which not only took twice as long due to the ridiculous roads and ''one way system'' but also left us feeling nauseous at how bad the journey was- maybe the driver was having a bad day?!

The only disappointment of the holiday (and this is not the fault of the hotel) was some of the other guests staying there- I suppose that you get it everywhere you go but never in my life have I witnessed such rudeness and impoliteness. We always mind our P's & Q's, apologise if we bump into someone, appreciate the hard work staff put into hotels, are courteous of people less able than ourselves- that's the way we were brought up- apparently others were not taught such things... I witnessed a man refuse to move out the way for a gentleman in a wheelchair, people shoving into others holding plates of food and not apologising, people being abrupt and rude to staff- disgusting behaviour- again, this is not the hotels fault but if everyone was polite then it would make the holiday experience better, for everyone!!

Would definitely return to this area, but not the same hotel...we loved it but we like to try new places every time we go away

p.s well done if you've read it all!!

Room Tip: ask for a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Gem1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,448
    1,503
    555
    155
    68
See reviews for
1,415
1,645
40
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,247)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnigaff, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were a group of 9 adults, who were there for 1 week, we got to the hotel late on the first day, dropped the bags into the rooms and straight to the bar. A lovely one of the bar staff then proceeded to bring us some toasted sandwiches which were most appreciated.
The rooms are very spacious and kept nice and clean. The restaurant is very busy and the only fault we could find was that there seemed to be a lot of fish dishes at the start of our week but by the end we were getting some lovely meat dishes, the staff are very efficient and would seat us all together at lunch and dinner.
Quite a walk to the beach via a hill, so not for the unfit, but a small train stops right outside the hotel.
Roof top was a great place to lie and relax and the plunge pools are ideal for cooling down. Enjoyed that its adults mostly on the rooftop.
Great little market on Thursdays and Saturdays, not to be missed.
Quite agree with one of the comments the guy with the long hair that does the night entertainment is hardly able to be heard as he mumbles his words.
Overall this hotel is a great place to stay, staff great, rooms great, would definitely recommend to people. Great memories brought home from our stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, General Manager at GF Fanabe, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Sirs,

thanks so much for sharing!

We are glad to hear that you have fully enjoyed your stay with us and we would be more than happy to host you once again at your earliest convenience,

With kind regards,

Gustavo Hernández,
FAÑABÉ Costa Sur Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knebworth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My boyfriend (20) and I (19) were looking for somewhere near a busy resort such as playa de las Americas but didn't want to be in the center of it surrounded by people our age on girls or lad holidays. I thought fanabe and the hotel were ideal for this sort of break. Short walk to the beach with a variety if restaurants but drinks are not cheap, especially if you're a student!
The hotel itself is not the prettiest from the outside mainly due to its colour but I wouldn't let that spoil it. Inside is nice and clean and check in is no hassle. We were originally placed in a room on the side of the hotel over the kitchen so at 6am I heard banging of pots in preparation for breakfast at 7 ..in addition to this the view was literally the side of another set of apartments so not much to look at. We asked if we could be moved to a pool side room and within 2 days we were on the sunny side of the hotel which was nice. People are right about the queuing for sunbeds around the pool but we never found a time when we couldn't find free sunbeds.. but we didn't go from 30th August to 6th September so maybe this was as it was late in the season. Food is average, buffet with wide selection of food .. If you can afford to go all inclusive I would recommend as we were half board and found that drinks, especially cocktails to be quite expensive. The roof terrace is definitely what made the hotel for me with it's two little pools, plenty of sunbeds and I didn't see any children up there which was nice in contrast to the main pool which can get quite noisy. The roof terrace provides views of the beach and the mountains, just thought it was lovely.


To conclude, a very pleasant stay and was very happy with the change of rooms. Ask to have a pool view If you can as it makes sitting out on the balcony so much nicer!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Talia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

First off i'd like to say this hotel is more like a 3* than a 4.I suppose it gets the 4 because it has a conference room and gym etc?

The best thing about the hotel is the staff from reception to bar.What lets it down and why it only gets 3 stars from me is the food is really poor.Breakfast is fine what you expect from any other hotel sausages,fried eggs,pancakes etc,juice from the machine though the tea is disgusting ;)

Lunch and dinner though are very much below standard unless you enjoy salads and fish.Even their lasagna was tuna.They had only 1 side of the island open for lunch with i think it was 12 trays of food.It's was always 2 rice in them and they had huge tomatoes where they'd maybe add something to the top one day.They over boiled the pasta and it looked dry and thought adding a tray of green chilies meant a dish. Spuds were most the time cold or luke warm.Kids section on at least one night i saw them add the same rice as the main section and they only had 4 to pick from,never nuggets or anything like that more unusual dishes aswell for the kids.The grill at lunch time was always chicken made in front of you and beef for dinner.

Rooms:We booked 13 months in advance with 6 adults and 2 kids(family of 4 and grandparents) costing nearly £4000 but we never got even adjoining rooms let alone pool view i asked(though more Thomsons that trying to con more cash from you).Pretty poor that though i suppose the view of the mountains was ok.

Entertainment:Rubbish!!! There isn't any during the day apart from the odd aqua-gym or pool so about 2 things per day.The evening is hit and miss with one act,a Elvis impersonator voted no.1 in Tenerife but he was that bad.There was also a water show around the pool one night lasted about 15mins and they spent 14 of that on the side lol. The guy with the long hair that plays guitar on the front bar is rubbish too more like Shooting Stars pub singer mumbles.The mini-golf is torn and worn out,the tennis rackets are bent.

We was always late for breakfast so missed the pool bed run but they opened earlier than 10,more like 9.30 and the grandparents would get some when we did venture downstairs but and you know who you are there are people(old in this case should know better) that literally run and when they don't get 'their' beds give you dirty looks.The upstairs is better though obviously the pools are tiny not good for swimming.
The rooms had 3 or 4 English channels for reference ITV,BBC1,Sky news and BBC world as well as a German Eurosport. Rooms get cleaned daily and you might get a pattern made out of your bed sheets.

Sorry to say this was my first visit to Tenerife nothing wrong with the island but put off with this tired and dated hotel with all the 5*'s around it.If i go back to the island again in the future,it won't be to this hotel sad to say.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalkirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have only just started leaving reviews but feel i need to in regards to this hotel as its upset me for the best part of a year. We spent a very wet oct /nov 12 here at the so called four star fanabe!
On arrival we got to our room and went out onto the veranda to a view of a car park where coaches pulled into morning ,noon and night not to mention the local market setting up once a week. The rain fall was quite severe for seven days out of ten and the hotel was not equipped nor the thompson rep in any way shape or form. There were buckets in the lobby and towels on the floor catching the rain, the glass lift was letting rain in, two of the lifts were constantly breaking down forcing people to use the stairs most of the holiday. The pool area was closed off for obvious reasons with the glass doors leading out to it having towels down on the floor to keep the water out. There were cockroaches every where including the soft play childrens area, and disco area but what really topped my holiday off was seeing them crawl out of the first salad bar on entry of the dining room when we pointed this out to the waiter he shrugged as if to say what do you want me to do. We then reported it to the one less than useless thompson rep whom gasped and said I'll let management know. We never had any correspondence from the hotel or rep on this matter for the rest of the holiday, oh and the cockroaches continued snacking in the four star salad bar!. When the weather was so bad i asked the rep if she could draft some more reps in to help entertain the seriously bored kids. I was told blankly there were non available.The animation team at the hotel tried but there were too many kids and not enough entertainment. The one games room was not air conditioned for them and half the games that were money slot games were not even working. The entertainment for adults at night was awful unless you are 90+ and like tie that yellow ribbon round the old oak tree!, oh and enjoyed playing cards! not what you want in your 30's or 40's.There is separate entertainment for the children down stairs in the disco area but this has clearly been an old night club at some stage. There are massive pillars every where restricting the views of the act and very limited seating, this area also smells terrible of damp like it has been flooded at some stage which isn't surprising from seeing the buckets and towels all over the rest of the hotel.
The food was o.k with exception of the salad bar that is... we didn't go there!! but we had to Que every night to get into the dining area.None of it 4 star.On arrival back home I went straight to our booking agent to expect them to have had a report from the one useless rep at the fanabe, but nothing they were completely oblivious to the situation and very understanding and apologetic. In all fairness to thompson we have since given them the benefit of the doubt and booked with them again this time at a 3 star in la pineda this 3 star hotel was amazing and ran rings round the fanabe. Please be aware some 4 stars really are awful and personal experience
now has taught me to go 3 star as they go the extra mile and you tend to get what you pay for.
The whole fanabe experience left us nearly £4000 out of pocket for ten days of misery, not to mention our 8 year old little boy whom has aspergers syndrome and adhd saying its the worse holiday he has ever had. (we have one holiday a year) this upset us more than anything.
So well done to the fanabe and its 4 stars for ruining our holiday in 2012.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Second visit, first one at Christmas. A totally different experience, all possitive. Staff extremely helpful and happy at thier work. rooms cleaned daily, towel change daily, food to die for, snacks and drinks all day long. 15 year old daughter spent her days around the pool, while my hubby and I spent them relaxing on the roof terrace. Only thing that spoiled that was the kids splashing and jumping and throwing toys in the plunge pools, parents should take the kids to the pools downstairs. Not good for people with walking problems, down hill hike to the beach and shops, and then an almighty trek back up the hills to the hotel. nearly had to call for an ambulance. Hotel entertainment was good, so stayed at hotel after that.

Room Tip: I asked for a room high facing pool, got one on 4th floor opposite dining room, no noise at all afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chucklebum01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

where to start... as a 17 year old travelling with my family including my older brother (19) and friend (17) it was a great holiday, the hotel itself and majority of staff are comical in both good and bad ways!

first the food... breakfast was poor, cereal decent milk warmish though, eggs nice and good choice of fruit not soo fresh, the bacon was not bacon more like a reconstituted slice of fried fatty ham but the sausages were worse!! i basically had cereal toast and hot chocolate with some beans and eggs, there was always something to find though, dinner and tea were both great just watch out for everything in batter/bread crumbs, looks like your standard nugget or breaded chicken however everything in batter or bread crumbs in some sort of fish, most food labelled but if it isn't just presume it is fish or some weird animal beware of the rabbet!!! but apart from that food spot on and same with drinks :) the whole trousers for dinner is a shambles!!!! they don't actually know what age you are classed as a 'gentleman' so there were 20 year olds in shorts then 15 year olds being made to wear pants!!! so it all kicked off with us but in the end we won as we found a loop whole and the manager of the hotel granted us permission to wear shorts after an hours argument outside of the restaurant as we proved that their was no official age stated anywhere!!!

the rooms were great, cleanest rooms i have ever stayed in and maids are great!!! probably due to the ten euro tip my mate left them as he was sick all over his bed on one of the first nights!!! everything we asked for pool view etc.. we got!!! beds really comfy and rooms were class overall!!

the entertainment in the hotel itself was possibly the worst thing i have ever seen in my life! enough said!! go to the front though 2 min walk and great karaoke bar with class entertainment and cheap drinks open till 2-2:30 am! the strip is 6 euro in a taxi if you're up for a mental night!!

pool area mega busy in the day apart from overcast days where is just right amount of people, lifeguard a bit of a jobsworth but he goes at six so people doing backflips of sunbeds till 8pm ;)

overall a good hotel would recommend for older people or younger families with children but bit boring for teens and people looking for fun in the day but with a bit of spending money there is a lot to do around the hotel just not in the hotel itself, made lots of mates, there is a complete mixture of ages but would stay again for a laugh probs just for a week though, last thing roof top is immense!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lewis g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
GF Isabel
GF Isabel
#16 of 57 in Costa Adeje
2,612 reviews
0.2 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
5,447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#13 of 57 in Costa Adeje
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#33 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,042 reviews
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,506 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#19 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GF Fanabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GF Fanabe

Property: GF Fanabe
Address: Avenida Bruselas, 13, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#21 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#22 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#22 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GF Fanabe 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel GF FAÑABE**** is an ideal establishment to enjoy the services it offers, but we would like to recommend that you leave yourself in the hands of its professionals, personal, friendly and familiar attention that will make you feel right at home. For anything you may need, please don’t hesitate to ask and you will get an excellent service from one of our staff who will attend to you immediately and efficiently. You will miss them when you leave the hotel and you will remember the little things they did to take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your GF Fanabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fanabe Hotel Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Adeje
Hotel Fanabe Tenerife
Hotel Fanabe Costa Sur
Fanabe Costa Sur Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel Tenerife
GF Fanabe Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing