We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an excellent hotel close to the sea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel
Ranked #23 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“an excellent hotel close to the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

this is a really good hotel, firstly clean is high, food is most excellent, caters for all tastes, enjoy the food guys and dolls, it was excellent. swimming pool area is large and spacious, always easy to get a lounger. close walk to the beach, and lovely tennis courts too, i played on them. highly recommend. even has some parking outside.

Room Tip: they were all good here, no views though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonybrownuk777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,369
    1,437
    527
    150
    64
See reviews for
1,345
1,561
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed at the Fanabe Costa Sur for the third year running. Staff excellent as usual. Pool was a bit hectic with kids but it was August after all.
People started queueing for sun beds around the pool from half eight onwards I kid you not. Pool doesn't open officially til ten oclock. By half past nine there would be up to 40 people congregated behind the chains with towels in their hands. They were mainly Brits and they then started to break ranks prior to ten oclock each morning and sprint for the beds to get their towels on them, usually one person with four towels who would cover the beds and then grab as many parasols as they could for the beds before disappearing for several hours then coming back to claim "their beds".
Last year the hotel security staff removed towels from beds when people did this but this year I felt they were powerless to stop these muppet Brits from breaking ranks and reserving as many beds as they could spoiling it for others. Come on Fanabe Costa Sur, please sort this out!

Room Tip: Ground floor pool view rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here in October last year and had a really nice holiday. We had a ground floor room which was very handy for getting out to the pool. Often we went to the rooftop terrace in the afternoon for the peace and quiet. The food was good and the service at the bars was always with a smile.

The hotel was also very handy for the nearby market.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mand_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We are a Scottish family who spent a fantastic two weeks in the fanabe 2012, my husband wanted to return as we had such a good break.
This is a honest review -
We arrived August 11 till the 25th
Check in was fantastic and quick, got the room we requested, 220 pool view with the sun all day.
The rooms are large with plenty of room for your clothes etc, tv with some English channels , balcony ok size, added extra a bottle of chilled champagne, lovely touch.bathroom , has shower bath , two sinks with hair dryer supplied.

Firstly - this hotel is spotless , your rooms are cleaned every day , fresh towels every day, everywhere is spotless only room for improvement is the toilets at the pool, the floors get very slippy during the day , floor could be dried of a little more. But 10/10 for being clean.

Food -

Being all inclusive for 2 weeks can become a little repetitive, but I enjoyed the food last year a lot better, we ate out 8 nights out of 14 which isn't good , missed lunch a few times and if you didn't get for breakfast for 8.30 it was just to busy and you had a long wait.
There is plenty of choice but when it's so busy waiting a long time for a piece of chicken is a big put off. If you enjoy fish you will love this hotel, one lunch time every single dish had fish in it , big put off point for me. Found the meals aimed very much to the Spanish , which is fine but there was a lot of British and there's only so much salad and chips you can eat , I mean who wants tuna lasagne!!

The biggest issue - the pool.

They have a no sunbed reserve , pool opened at 9am last year - 10AM THIS YEAR.
This is the down fall of this hotel and if this is not changed ASAP it will lose a lot of customers.
I asked Jesus , why 10 am he said - the lifeguard wasn't on duty till then , but he's off duty at 6pm people were still in the pool till 8.30 pm. The minute that life guard walks out that door there's loads of kids and adult diving and bombing off the middle circle , surly this is more dangerous than a few little kids being in a pool at 9 am with there parents watching them.
I must admit only 1 day did I wait till 10 am me and another few guest went early every day as we felt we had spent a lot of money to be on holiday, to be told to wait, we all had kids to hot dying to be in the pool , 10am is to late , 10am it's to warm !!!!!!!!!!! Plus on my first day I witnessed around 150/200 people running full force to get sunbeds , that is a major accident waiting to happen !! My advice pay your life guard for a extra hour, before someone gets hurt.
If you don't need to go to the main pool, this hotel has a fab roof terrace , very quiet, warm and luxurious , with its own bar.

Staff - most staff were lovely and went out there way for you every day.
But there are a few staff that should at least have a smile it costs nothing.

Entertainment - the entertainment team was ok , but giordano and Pierre are such a big loss to this hotel.
This hotel has such a lot of space they could use safely out side , the disco down stairs is stuck in the 80s and stinks, out the front has a singer everynight , but at peak if your not out front for 8.30 ish you won't get a table, this not getting drinks at the bar , drinks being brought to you at all times I do not like , being a/I means you've paid before you go so you should not be treated different!!!!
Also the hotel seems to just shut down after 12 !!!
This hotel has fab space down the stairs , it could cater for teenagers better , there's nothing for them at all , teens just want to hang about together, all they needs a space to get together, some music , the ability to get on the web, playstations xboxs etc I know you have a couple downstairs but its not enough,, use the downstairs space better.
More out door entertainment is a big big must for this hotel.

All in all the hotel is in a fab and clean location,
Not a lot for teenagers.
Only a singer at the front ,no other out door entertainment .
They did put a tv in the pool bar the day before we went home, so the men could watch the football , so that's a plus I suppose.but a little to late for my hubby , he went out to watch the football several times.
Pool opens to late and school sports dash to get a sunbed.
We had a fab holiday only because we met some fab people.
Unless the hotel changes I think our 2013 holiday will be our last holiday in the fanabe costa sur.

Room Tip: A pool view or front of the hotel is the best as you can be looking at a wall .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Director General at Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments.

Regarding to the opening hours of the pool, please note that this is a new rule that we took due to the problem we had with the reservations of the sunbeds. People came so early and put their towels on the sunbed and they went to have breakfast at 9 and left everything on the sunbeds. With this opening hours´change, the problem has been quite solved.

On the other side and concerning to the Disco, we do have in mind the updating for next year,

With kind regards,

Gustavo Hernández,
FAÑABÉ Costa Sur Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a week at the Fanebe with the 4 kids it was a really relaxing time. We didn't rush down and queue for sun beds but always found ourselves some when we went down by the pool. One morning there were no free beds so i asked the reception staff and they got me some there were a few selfish people who put the towels on beds and went out for the day which should have been policed by the pool attendant/lifeguard. The food was good plenty of choice even our picky 7 year old ate more than he does at home as there was a separate children buffet. The entertainment for the kids was good the singer in the bar left a lot to be desired. It was nice to be waited on in the evenings with our drinks it was nice no to have to queue at the bar. The staff were friendly and helpful the hotel and the resort was clean a five minute walk to the beach but don’t take a sun bed as extortionate prices to hire for the day. We had a great day out at Aqualand the dolphin show was out of this world, this attraction is a much better option than Siam Park if you have younger children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louiseann1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I too like one of the other reviews felt conned. Tired and old rooms and furniture, ripped and dirty bed linen.mini-bar with no drinks in. Air conditioning you can't adjust or turn off.
The rush for the sun beds in the morning, means if you don't get I the queue early you don't get a bed and therefore no swimming.
Now to the food , the first day we has a family only had eggs, and toast. Queues for both horrendous , and after all that the eggs were under cooked. LUnch times were no better not much choice most meats were processed and had the same taste, we didn't.go to dinner that evening as we were all suffering from upset stomachs.
We did speak to the Thomson rep Fran, who told us they have never had any complaints about the food. I find this very hard to believe, or perhaps as English people we don't complain enough.
Obvious to say we ate out for the rest of the week and found a great place called the Colonial which did a mean breakfast for 4 euros and good value evening meals with a large choice.
For anyone out there of thinking of booking this hotel if you want All inclusive try the Bahia Principe Costa adeje fab food with a great choice,or go room only as food and drink is very cheap in Tenerife.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Director General at Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we take care a lot about the client opinion, and we are very sorry that your holidays did not meet your expectations.

Regarding to the sunbeds, please note that the end of August is still high season and our hotel was 100% full and we were aware of that fact. That is why we have two swimming-pools on the roof so that guests can sunbathing there as well and of course on the roof there are always sunbeds left.
With relation to the food, the health and safety of our clients are the most important thing for us, and we strictly comply with hygiene and safety procedure. We take care about any client who has upset stomach. We immediately got in contact with Fran, the Thompson rep and tried to solve the situation. Nobody else had this problem and a lot of people had the same eggs for breakfast as well. Anyway, we kept in touch with you during the stay. The upset stomach doesn’t need to be from the hotel food at all. It could be from everywhere else.

Our clients like our food and never feel sick from this. We have offered that we could prepare any kind of food especially for you, as we think it is fair if you have paid money for All inclusive, but you refused.

We would be more than glad to host you once again hoping that you can change your mind concerning us and our service.

With warm regards,

Gustavo Hernández,
FAÑABÉ Costa Sur Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We travelled as a family of 5. (3 adults 2 children aged 7 and 3) staying as A.I from 20th August for 9 nights. I did have some reservations having reviewed comments on here previous to going (re people grumbling its tatty and rundown etc)
I however found it fantastic.Yes put it against a newly built 4* and it may show as being less modern but in my opinion it is well deserved. I would think the worst reviews may come from couples travelling without children and probably expect too much for the money paid. I have seen many 4* hotels in Tenerife A.I that are priced at £6K for our family.
So onto the review in my honest opinion as a Mum with 2 small children.

MEALS:
Absolutely LOADS of choice as everyone as has previously mentioned. Fresh cooked omelettes with your choice of fillings and fried eggs while you wait. Pancakes with many toppings also cooked to order. You do have to wait for these so at busy times you can be waiting awhile. I personally don't mid this as i much prefer freshly cooked than sloppy dried up food.
Lunch is much the same set up. Plenty to choose from hot food meats cooked again to order so always fresh and plenty of lovely cold meats and salad also
Dinner - same as lunch but always different menu to lunch so you dont eat the same again
Waiter service at lunch and dinner, shown to a suitable table for your needs. (ie family size) and drinks were brought to your table. (House wine was of a very good quality and went down a treat)
Again at peak busy times you do have to wait a SHORT time to be shown to your table but its a big busy hotel so I expected this and it really didn't bother me.

DRINKS AND SNACKS
Again I had no problem at all with either. The only drink we paid for was slush puppies during the day at 1 euro for my daughter.
Snacks all day long just about. The cold buffet opens early morning and is filled with breads, cheeses, cold meats, jams, butters, and pastries. Chiller cabinet always full wiith many choices of fresh cakes. Freezers full of ice cream too. At 1pm out come the burgers and hot dogs so you really dont have eat lunch in the restaurant if you don't want too. Sandwiches are also available at night from the outside bar until 11pm if your really still hungry!
Waiter service all night from the bars.

MAID SERVICE
Absolutely excellent, cleaned every day and fresh towels each day too. SPOTLESS!

POOL
Yes you do have to queue! but i really did find it too much of a problem. You are in a catch 22 situation. I didn't like being kept out till 10am and queuing but if you don't you don't get sunbeds together and a choice of where of you sit. Having said this we did have cause to complain, if your kids are early risers it is frustrating having to wait till 10. We raised this with the manager eventually who like all other staff say the lifeguard doesn't start till 10 and finish at 6pm that's why. However people were still in at 7pm onwards. This was what was the most frustrating part, they can't play that card when they don't enforce it at the end of the day. He compromised and promised to open up at 9.30 the following day.(He did and all was well)

All in all well worth the money and the 4*

Would I go back? yes but prefer Americas for the nightlife as Adeje was just a little too quite for our tastes. The hotel more than made up for it though and would recommend it without hesistation.

Room Tip: We emailed and asked for 4th floor pool view after seeing other reviews and have to agree they seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#17 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Torviscas Playa
Iberostar Torviscas Playa
#29 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#34 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,905 reviews
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#13 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel

Property: Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel
Address: Avda Bruselas 13 | Urb. Playa De Fanabe, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#21 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#21 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#22 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel FANABE Costa Sur is an ideal establishment to enjoy the services it offers, but we would like to recommend that you leave yourself in the hands of its professionals, personal, friendly and familiar attention that will make you feel right at home. For anything you may need, please don’t hesitate to ask and you will get an excellent service from one of our staff who will attend to you immediately and efficiently. You will miss them when you leave the hotel and you will remember the little things they did to take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fanabe Hotel Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Adeje
Hotel Fanabe Tenerife
Hotel Fanabe Costa Sur
Fanabe Costa Sur Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing