We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“up hill from beach”
Review of GF Fanabe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GF Fanabe
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“up hill from beach”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

rooms large pool good size up hill from beach. try to find table for breakfast, when you did stand over it untill your partner got juice or somthing on it. meal evening over crowded. tables to close .not very relaxing. rush ten oclock for sun beds if you wanted sunny side of pool.

Room Tip: pool side best. music on road side rooms in the evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eoprey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,422
    1,487
    543
    154
    67
See reviews for
1,392
1,617
40
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,233)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just had a week in this Hotel,Rooms great,Food Very Good never had so much choice at evening meal,only thing i could say is u like toast at breakfast the toasters are poor,the bread selection is also poor but i don't eat much bread anyway.all in all its a great hotel,what i also liked was the pool area only opened at 10 so there was no early morning bed stealers putting there towels on the beds.leave a returnable deposit at the reception and you can have clean towels for the pool every day if you want.The area is beautiful and clean,buses to Las Americas cheap and regular,taxis not expensive.Warning!!!!watch out for the scams with guys telling you that you can view hotels and get 50 Euro's,its a time share scam,don.t fall for it,
Its called Diamond Resorts,they can't wait to get you in a taxi.You have been warned.
Staff were allways helpfull and friendly.
PS;We have booked again for later in the year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fasttourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in early May. From the outside it is not very exciting but inside it is very clean and comfortable. Rooms are good and we had one overlooking the pool area which is a good size. When we wanted to sunbathe in a bit of quiet we went onto the roof terrace. There are lots of sunbeds and a small plunge pool.

Restaurant and food quality good at breakfast. We ate out so can't comment on any other meals.

Very good location - close to the beaches and bars/restaurants.
Would go back to this hotel again,

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool is always a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jo m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We (mum, dad, 5 and 3 year olds) have just returned from the fanabe costa sur hotel on half board following our 2nd stay here and it was even better than the first time. I apologise in advance for the length of this review!
I emailed in advance to request the same room we had last time but they were unable to do this for us, however, we did have a bottle of fizzy wine left in the room for us on arrival which was a nice surprise. We arrived at 8.30pm so went straight to the restaurant for tea where there was plenty to choose from then headed off to bed. The beds, chair bed and sofa bed were all equally comfortable - my husband spent 2 weeks on the sofa bed and was absolutely fine!
The next morning we had plenty to choose from at breakfast - freshly cooked fried eggs, omelettes and pancakes and buffet style cereal, pastries, fresh fruit, tinned fruit, yoghurt, ham, cheese, sausages, beans, bacon etc. plus a wide range of bread and bread rolls. I am sure even the fussiest eater would be able to find something!
We spent the day by the pool, where the no reserving sunbeds worked brilliantly. In the entire 2 weeks, no matter what time we went to the pool we were able to find 4 sunbeds and an umbrella together. Yes some areas are in shade for part of the day, but certainly across the middle of the day I would say the entire pool area was in full sun for a couple of hours. We hired the hotel towels from reception for a deposit of 10 euros each which was great, as you could change them as often as you wanted with the lifeguard in his hut by the pool.
The entertainment team were brilliant - they are from a variety of countries and in my opinion extremely talented, both for the number of languages they each speak and for the shows they put on at night. Added to this is their constant energy and enthusiasm and making the effort to know the kids names and wave at or high 5 them whenever they saw them. Both of ours enjoyed going into the mini club to join in the activities and make friends with other children. You could leave them for the full session or let them pop in and out as you/they chose.
One of the things we like about half board here is that you can chose to have either your dinner or tea each day, giving you the chance to go out on a night if you want to. Over the 2 weeks we ate out 4 times on a night, which was nice for a change. We had amazing ribs at Tony Romas, gorgeous pizza and pasta on 2 for 1 at Big Little Italy, a huge T-Bone steak with chips and potatoes?! for 10 euros at Bahamas and tasty pizza and pasta at Gran Reserva. The first 3 are all along the sea front at the top and the 4th is next to the little hiperdino supermarket on the street with isla bonita hotel (where a lot of the buses pick up from).
The hotel food is absolutely fine, although admittedly a little repetitive after 2 weeks. But there is always fresh meat, fish and pasta being cooked by chefs plus the buffet food of rice, chips, veg, meat, fish, pizza, salad, ham, cheese and bread. Desserts are amazing! Delicious cakes, fruit and ice cream, plus sprinkles, chocolate and wafers to decorate - our 5 year olds favourite every time!
Everywhere in the hotel is spotlessly clean, with cleaners working constantly all around the hotel. The pool area is cleaned and tidied everyday, perhaps this is why it doesn't open until 10am, as we often saw the man hosing down the pool side and cleaning the pool with a giant hosepipe/vacuum thing whilst we ate breakfast.
The reception staff were helpful when we had questions and most of the waiting staff were amazing. They were always happy and smiling and brilliant with the kids - they would come over to encourage them to eat or sit still if they were fidgety! I have to mention Maria Ines who worked in the restaurant, often at the drinks til, as she made such an effort to talk to the kids and remembered their names after the first time she met them. She was absolutely lovely!
We went to the mini disco most nights, where they both enjoyed half an hour of dancing to action songs - I think chitchi wah will be stuck in all of our heads for a long time! We enjoyed all of the entertainment team shows, we were really impressed! and some of the professional ones were good too - the illusionist/magician especially.
We visited: Loro Park - always good, we love the orca whale and dolphin shows.
Aqualand - excellent for younger children as they can do much more than at Siam Park plus there's the excellent free Dolphin show and the chance to pay to do the dolphin encounters. You can revisit in the next 10 days for 8 euros per adult if you buy tickets before you leave which we did. Free bus from isla bonita hotel bus stop.
Monkey Park - you can only spend a couple of hours here and it cost us 30 euros for the 2 taxis, plus another 25 for 2 adult and 1 child admissions so a very expensive morning! It was fun feeding the monkeys and lemurs though!
Peter Pan boat trip - sold to us as a kid friendly boat trip with face painting etc. and all you can eat and drink. In reality it was just a boat trip with no kids activities, just a lady videoing you to make a dvd to buy. You had to pay for your beer and sangria and the meal of chicken drumstick or meatballs with rice, salad and bread was served to you. We were very disappointed.
Jungle Park - totally different to Loro Park but much closer and free bus, again from isla bonita. Excellent bird of prey and parrot shows with plenty of opportunity to get close to birds.
Overall, we had a fantastic holiday and would definitely return to this hotel again, both for its location and the hotel itself.
A final point which may be useful for some people, we noticed a number of disabled people stayed here both in wheelchairs and motorised scooters, so not only is the whole hotel buggy friendly, but it seems to be wheelchair friendly too, despite the fairly steep slopes up to the pavement from reception.
If you're still reading, I hope you've found some of the information useful!

Room Tip: email ahead to request a quiet room - this has worked for us on both occasions and has allowed us to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank debbie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockermouth united kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

we returned on 14th may after staying one week all inclusive. i rate this hotel as very clean and well run by all the staff.the meals were of high quality some thing to eat for every one.you were shown to a table at lunch time and evening by the head waiter. house wine at meal times as well as soft drinks.the bar staff waited on you so you did not have to go to the bar which we found very good .the bar staff work so very hard to serve you .evening entertainment abit on the down side. can not comment on the pool as we are not pool people we like the beach .this is one of the cleanest friendlest hotel we have stayed in for a long time we would go back again .we highly recomend the fanabe

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Have just returned from a 4 night stay on Half board basis. The hotel public areas are very clean as are the bedrooms which were cleaned daily and also provided with clean towels.
The rooftop sunbathing area was ideal for us, no children and very peaceful, we had a room on the 4th floor so was in an ideal spot for easy access to teh roof. Pool was freezing but there was a shower which was ok to cool off.
The food was ok, 5 days was enough as I prefer to eat out, but couldnt complain really.
The hotel is in a fairly quite area, so for me I would rather be a little nearer Las Americas where there is more choice.

Playa del Duque beach was stunning and made my stay, it had lovely big matteresses on the beds and plenty space around you. The sea was however quite choppy, a bit of a challenge if you were not a strong swimmer. it was however a pleasant change from the normal black beaches in Tenerife. Some nice restaurants there as well.

Would I stay again? yes, but only for a short break.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Northumberians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We just returned from a 5 night stay at Fanabe Costa Sur. Upon arrival the staff were extremely welcoming and polite. I must rate the staff and the housekeeping!!!

We entered our room and were surprised of the size as it seemed a very good size. We had rooms overlooking the sea which was beautiful however there were a few tall buildings obstructing the view but was still lovely. The cleanliness of the room and bathroom was spotless, no complaints at all. The shower was slightly annoying as it didn't stay a constant temperature, so every 30 seconds had to adjust it.

The most disappointing thing of the hotel overall was the uncomfortable beds. A friend and I entered up with REALLY painful backs which resulting in having to take painkillers every day. We complained about the quality of the mattresses however they were not able to do another other than put blankets down. On our very last day they wanted to compensate us by giving us full board but there was no point at all especially being half way through our last day. I was getting better sleep on the sunbeds and even laying on the sand on the beach.... that's how bad it was!

The facilities were good in the resort. They had good entertainment for the kids which they referred to as the 'Disco' which wasn't a disco at all, but consisted of various games and entertainment. I must say the staff were absolutely brilliant!

Expect a request for a deposit for everything you ask for. Make sure you have money aside for these. They requested deposits for near enough everything, towels, safe, iron, etc.

The pool opened at 10am-6pm, outside these times you were not allowed to enter the poolside. I saw one lady trying to get a sunbed at about 9:55am and she was told to leave and return at 10am. The pool temperature was not good at all! In the whole 6 days we were at this resort we only went into the pool once....it was cold even though they claimed the temperature was about 26c. There were not many people going into the pool whilst we were there. Slightly annoying as we chose this holiday purely for relaxation.

The roof top garden with a bar was brilliant and we spent most of the time here. They did have a very small pool on the roof top garden but again it wasn't heated so only dipped our feet in as it was too cold.

The location was perfect, good walk-able distance from the beach, restaurants, shopping centres nearby. We loved the location. It wasn't too hectic nor too quiet....just right.

We had half board which we were slightly disappointed about. The selection of the food was the same with one or two dishes which they changed. They claimed to have two different themes but how can you call it a theme when you only have two or three dishes of that kind. The good thing about the half board was that we were able to choose whether we have lunch or dinner without giving advanced notice.

This hotel states its a 4* hotel however I would definitely rate it a 3* or 3.5*.

Would I stay at this hotel again......no. I would return to the same location but different hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 377 which was a good view of the sea and quiet location of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dhanisha U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Director General at GF Fanabe, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thanks for your positive and negative comments. All of them help us to improve our services.

Regarding to the matresses, and thanks to comments like this one, please note that we are changing all of them.

Concerning to the pool, the temperature is controlled daily by registers and we warm it up as the records say. This temperature is the recommended to avoid any water risk.

Finally, regarding to the food, please note that we do have a wide variety in our buffet: meat, fish, fruit, rice, etc. In any case, I am so sorry that you did not like our food.

We regret so that you left our Hotel with that bad feeling, but once again we thank you for the comments which will help us. And of course, we would be so glad if you would return to our place so that you could change your opinion.

With kind regards,
FAÑABÉ CosTaSuR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
GF Isabel
GF Isabel
#16 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,577 reviews
0.2 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Torviscas Playa
Iberostar Torviscas Playa
#29 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#33 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,993 reviews
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#13 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GF Fanabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GF Fanabe

Property: GF Fanabe
Address: Avenida Bruselas, 13, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#21 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#22 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#22 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GF Fanabe 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel GF FAÑABE**** is an ideal establishment to enjoy the services it offers, but we would like to recommend that you leave yourself in the hands of its professionals, personal, friendly and familiar attention that will make you feel right at home. For anything you may need, please don’t hesitate to ask and you will get an excellent service from one of our staff who will attend to you immediately and efficiently. You will miss them when you leave the hotel and you will remember the little things they did to take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your GF Fanabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fanabe Hotel Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Adeje
Hotel Fanabe Tenerife
Hotel Fanabe Costa Sur
Fanabe Costa Sur Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel Tenerife
GF Fanabe Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing