We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic fanabe”
Review of GF Fanabe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GF Fanabe
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic fanabe”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel twice, in 2011 and 2012. It is a really nice hotel, excellent service and food. It had made huge improvements.. Re roof terrace since our first stay but even then it was a very nice accommodation. I will be going again in 2013.. I would highly recommend this hotel: especially the superb Paella.

Room Tip: Don't go for the ground floor.. Re: you can be seen by passersby in some of the rooms. I found t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CockneyCounsellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,447
    1,502
    555
    155
    67
See reviews for
1,414
1,643
40
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,246)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Yes, this holiday last week at the Fanabe was good but with some issues. This hotel is certainly not 4star but in no way is it the pits made out by Mogster I think they would have had complaints in a 5/6 star! At the end of the day you get what you pay for and at the Fanabe that was a spacious and clean room yes, the fridge was falling apart and the TV was ancient but it did have BBC1 and ITV which I have never had at any other European hotel and as I am retired and was on this holiday with my adult daughter it was nice to have the TV when it got dark by 6pm. Yes, the hotel is very ugly and badly designed casting a permanent shadow across 50% of the pool area but it has fab views of the mountains and the area is very pleasant with local shops and buses outside. We paid for a pool view and as said before it was worth it. I found the staff very pleasant and no one was rude, far from it. I saw none of the cleanliness issues and not one cockroach. The outside bar area was very pleasant and lovely in the evening when some live light music was played. Cannot comment on any of the other entertainments as we did not partake of any of them. My daughter who is the sun worshipper enjoyed the roof terrace I preferred to sit around the pool area. It is a steep walk back up from the beach as a number of others have commented ok if you are young and agile!
My main issue was the dining room/food. It was very geared towards German taste and I didn't care for the "cattle market" atmosphere, it was very nice to sit on the tables outside but you are plagued with the smokers so we had to eat inside. Complete mayhem shoving and pushing and at breakfast running the risk of someone else taking your table whilst you go to get more food and endless queues whilst others shove in front, then dodging the crowds on your return, not for me! Also the chefs need some training as they seem incapable of cooking anything properly the eggs were always raw and more importantly one night we had a pork chop which was also raw when cut into. I also agree about the dry bread but maybe that is how it is as it wasn't stale.
We were very lucky with the weather as it was 24 -25 degrees every day and it was a lovely break but I would only return on a B&B basis.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Dalehound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

A really nice hotel that was very clean with efficient staff.The food was of a high standard and it is close to many amenities.
One of the main reasons that I booked the hotel was that it advertised gym fitness facilities.I was really disappointed to find the gym in a poor state of repair with the equipment being old and dangerous.I paid the extra to go to this hotel as it had these facilities.
Additionally one of the female supervisors within the restaurant was particularly rude on one occasion due to the fact that My elderly father ad I had sat at a table for four due to the tables for two all being occupied.She informed us that we should have waited.Please let me say that all the other staff were very helpful and the roof top solarium is a lovely area to sunbathe.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel faces the road and the open air bar area where there is a lot of smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BKW65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Fanabe, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear BKW65,

Thank you for taking some time to post your thoughts about Hotel Fanabe in TripAdvisor.

We do apologize for the attitude you found rude to your family , so we can take the right measures to avoid this situation to happen again.Please accept our excuses.

Our guest s' feedback is highly valued by all our team , so thank you for letting us know your personal opinion about the gym facilities that we'll take into account to increase the quality of our hotel.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Hotel Fanabe Team - @HotelFanabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Did Mobster really stay in the same hotel as us? We have just had a really lovely week at the Fanabe (9th to 16th Nov). The food was fab, plenty of choice, shown to our tables lunch and dinner with the tables set out really nice, with waiter service for the drinks. There were small queues for the freshly cooked food, but that was expected if you wanted freshly cooked eggs etc. Plenty of other choices if you couldn't wait. We were never that starving that we couldn't wait a few minutes. The cleaning staff were in abundance and very friendly, always a smile and an "Ola". All the other staff were friendly. The picnic lunch that you could order up to 8pm the day before was enough to feed on for a week, with lots of fresh fruit included. The location of the hotel is just a 10 minute stroll from one of the loveliest beaches I've been on - Beach del Duque. Catch the bus to Los Christionas and walk back along the lovely promenade, takes most of the day if you call in a few shops/bars on the way. We stopped spontaneously for a 2 hour boat ride to see the Whales and Dolphins which was brilliant.
Never saw a cockroach once!!! This was our 8th visit to Tenerife but our first stay at the Fanabe, second stay for our friends, we would definately stay there again and would stay in the same side of the hotel overlooking the mountains.

Room Tip: High floor, overlooking the Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Fanabe, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Kim S,

Thank you for your review about your great holiday at Hotel Fanabe and for recommending it to others.

We are all very happy to know you are satisfied with the hotel staff, services and facilities. It's priceless for us to read our guests have had an enjoyable stay as it encourages our team to keep working to offer the highest quality posible.

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Hotel Fanabe Team - @HotelFanabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Really nice hotel - maybe needed a bit of TLC but it was very clean and tidy. Staff were very effiencient and on the ball. Only stayed B & B but the breakfast was very good - something for everyone. The hotel is near everything - supermarket across the road, bars nearby, restaurants also nearby, short walk to the beach. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 331debspaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Fanabe, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear 331debspaul

thank you so much for sharing your experience at Hotel Fanabe in TripAdvisor .

All our team is pleased to know you are satisfied with the quality found during your holiday stay, we work hard on daily basis to meet our demanding guests expectations and keep improving services and facilities to offer the most pleasant stay possible.

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Hotel Fanabe Team - @HotelFanabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have not written a review on here before but I cannot let folk who have booked a holiday in this hotel get worried about Mogsters review which is a complete nonsense. We have just returned from this Hotel for the second time this year.It was very good once again,( the length of Mogsters review goes to show that they went on holiday just to compile a huge list of complaints which, unfortunately, is what some people go on holiday to do.).

We requested a room overlooking the pool on the sunny side of the hotel, ( opposite the restaurant ), which we got.
The hotel is not pretty from the outside as lots of previous reviewers have mentioned , but inside , it is spotless. We had to step past an army of cleaners to get to breakfast, I have no idea what mogster was on about.
It's true that the design of the hotel means that some of the pool area is in shade if you go out of season, but they try to stop block booking sunbeds with towels, and there are loads available so you can drag one from the shady side to the sunny side if you want.
The rooms are a wee bit old fashioned but they are spotless, cleaned to an excellent standard daily , what more can you ask for?.
The buffet breakfast was very good, great choice of fruit , plus there was fresh eggs and omelettes cooked for you if you were prepared to wait for a few minutes.
Evening meal buffet was good, 2 meats and 2 fish dishes cooked as you waited as well as other pre-cooked options, downside was the freshly cooked options could become a bit overdone if there were no takers once it was ready, but that is the same for a buffet choice in any hotel.
If you are looking for a good, very clean hotel,with excellent staff , you can't go wrong with this hotel. We're planning to return again in March next year.

If you want rooms to an ideal homes 2012 exhibition standard hotel with Gordon Ramsey providing individual catering, then perhaps you'll need to dig deeper into your pocket and go elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you want a pool view , ask for an even numbered room, however the side of the hotel above the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Mick_Greenock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Fanabe, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Mick_Greenock,

Thank you for your review about your great holiday at Hotel Fanabe and for recommending it to others.


We consider a balanced value for money is one of our strenghts and also working on permanent basis to meet our guests expectations.
It's priceless for us to read our guests have had an enjoyable stay as it encourages our team to keep working to offer the highest quality posible.

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Hotel Fanabe Team - @HotelFanabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed there for one week but i think the price is a bit too high for received services. Rooms were clean but very "tired"-looking...elevators had some troubles on working...had to use stairs..no problem for us to move from the 3rd floor to the 1st or 0 by stairs,..but for elderly ones quite challenge. ..
Dinners are not worth of mentioning...after the first experience we went all other nights outside for dinners...due to the very good location we had great dinners nearby...hotel has nice lobby bar and musicians to entertain at the evenings...Breakfast-choice is very good.
Free wifi covers only information about the Tenerife...for using all other internet-needed sites you have to pay for it...It was also too noisy for me...(voices from corridor at nights were very well-heard into the room...
Excellent 3 star hotel, but a bit poor for 4 stars. ...all-in-all good but not perfect..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seppi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Fanabe, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear seppi77,

Thank you for taking some time to post your thoughts about Hotel Fanabe in TripAdvisor.

We have been changing elevators, We hope you accept our excuses about any inconvenience caused due to the works that took place during your stay.
We are sorry to hear our food didn't please you, We can assure you we happily welcome any comments and suggestions from our visitors given via TripAdvisor to improve.

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Hotel Fanabe Team - @HotelFanabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
GF Isabel
GF Isabel
#16 of 57 in Costa Adeje
2,609 reviews
0.2 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
5,444 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#13 of 57 in Costa Adeje
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#32 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,035 reviews
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#20 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GF Fanabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GF Fanabe

Property: GF Fanabe
Address: Avenida Bruselas, 13, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#21 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#22 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#22 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GF Fanabe 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel GF FAÑABE**** is an ideal establishment to enjoy the services it offers, but we would like to recommend that you leave yourself in the hands of its professionals, personal, friendly and familiar attention that will make you feel right at home. For anything you may need, please don’t hesitate to ask and you will get an excellent service from one of our staff who will attend to you immediately and efficiently. You will miss them when you leave the hotel and you will remember the little things they did to take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your GF Fanabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fanabe Hotel Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Adeje
Hotel Fanabe Tenerife
Hotel Fanabe Costa Sur
Fanabe Costa Sur Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel Tenerife
GF Fanabe Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing