We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL FOR KIDS BUT...”
Review of GF Fanabe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GF Fanabe
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

we travelled as a couple and found that children seemed to rule this hotel even to the extent of riding scooters in the dining room in the evening and they were allowed anywhere and everywhere at anytime day or night including the roof terrace, so there is no escape from them.

The hotel room itself was comfortable with large bathroom and everything you needed but in need of refurbishment along with other areas of the hotel which have seen better days.

We found breakfast resembled a very busy cafeteria, unable to find a table on several occasions and far from a relaxing start to the day. The food at lunch and dinner was usually of a good standard and variety and we were always able to find something we liked, if you like pork you will be happy and the chips were lovely.

The entertainment room was hopeless for shows due to its design but seemed perfect for the kids disco. The only other entertainment consisted of solo musicians who performed in the area outside the front of the hotel next to the car park. Two of the guitarists were good but others not so good.

The hotel is in a fairly good location and if you have a young family it would be a good choice.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
8  Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Fanabe, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Susan A,

thank you for the time spent in reviewing Hotel Fanabe Costa Sur in TripAdvisor.

We do apologize for the inconvenience caused by children in the restaurant, which is not the place to ride scooters. Please accept our excuses also for waiting to get a table at the restaurant, during peak hours we are trying our best to make guests wait as little as posible.

We are doing improvements on permanent basis, but it's not posible to do everything at a time. We have finished the suits new decoration, top roof solarium and now we are working in 4 new elevators, but we'll keep improving.

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Hotel Fanabe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,545 - 2,551 of 3,950 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just returned from 10days at the Costa Sur Hotel where my wife & I throughly enjoyed ourselves. We had the half Board option since both os us really do not like the AI optikn since we like to get out and about. The whole experience was good from the start with good customer facing reception staff. The room we had was on the front of the hotel so some road noise during the day plus the ever arriving coaches that seem to delight in having their engines running when the inherent fumes. Having said that at night we did not notice any noise as such so had a great sleep at night. The hotel was in reasonable shape but needs a refurb in places especially the outside of the building. The rooms are of a good size plus the bathrooms are decent but the room was looking a tad tied but nothing major. We did not use the swimming pool but some people where complaining regarding the dreaded leaving of towells that happens in a lot of hotels.

We had HB where both the breakfast and dinner was very good with a good selection although some night were better than others. All in all I always base my comments on what I paid and for the money I think this hotel is great value.

I would also like to add that the maid service is excellent plus all public area are kept really fresh & clean. The staff in general are all extremely good.

All in all I would return to this hotel with out a thought.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jeff013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Fanabe, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Jef013,

Thank you for taking some time to post your thoughts about Hotel Fanabe in TripAdvisor.

Our guests' feedback is highly valued by all our team , so thank you for letting us know your personal opinion about the improvements we should do.Being focused in working hard to fullfill everybody's expectations, what is something difficult to achieve, but is a permanent motivation as it helps us to pay attention on daily basis to personal likes and preferences that we take into account to increase the quality of our hotel.

Regarding the towels to reserve sunbeds , we try to make our "non reserving sun beds" policy respected, even though sometimes it's harder than usually. In these occasions the best is to inform us to take inmediate measures.

We consider a balanced value for money is one of our strenghts , thank you for pointing it.

Our team is pleased to know you had a joyfull family holidays and we have satisfied your expectations

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Hotel Fanabe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed in this hotel in the first week of October. Was a little dubious on approach. The appearance seems to be a little shabby on the front, but was pleasantly surprised on entry. The hotel is spotlessly clean. The maids and cleaners seem to be constantly working and are extremely pleasant. The rooms were clean, huge comfy beds and a lovely pool view. Mini bar was never stocked though even though we where all inclusive? Stayed with my family of 11 and we were really looked after day and night by all members of staff. The animation team where amazing with our five children. They knew each one by name and were constantly involving them and all my family in games and shows during the evening. Would definitley return to this hotel, purely for the animation team. Well done guys! Even when we where leaving, a few of them came to wave us off, which was lovely. I could have easily stopped here for two weeks! The 'El Drago!' was good entertainment every night, nice and spacious for the kids to run about in and plenty of room for the adults to sit and enjoy the shows.
The food was good, not fantastic but there was always something different to eat. We did eat out on one occasion, which was nice being waited on, instead of queuing like a canteen.
The waiter service in the dining room was not fantastic, we sometimes didn't get a drink with our meal, which was a bit annoying, but I suppose it must be quite hectic for them.
Siam Park is an absolute must on this holiday. We wished we had gone twice, the kids loved it. Loro Park was a bit over-rated. A lot of wandering around with not a lot to see. The food was terrible there also, and is a long drive away from the Fanabe.
All in all a fabulous holiday, we are already planning a return trip here in 2014, just hope it's as good as this time!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank catpee81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Fanabe, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Catpee81,

Thank you for taking some time to post your thoughts about Hotel Fanabe in TripAdvisor.

All our team is pleased to know you are satisfied with the general quality found during your holiday stay, we work hard on daily basis to meet our demanding guests expectations and keep improving services and facilities to offer the most pleasant stay possible.


We happily welcome your suggestions for improvements to work on the indicated points as our guests' feedback is highly valued for all of us.

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Costa Adeje

Kind regards from Hotel Fanabe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Hotel is in an ideal location with a short walk down a hill to the beach, we stayed B & B and the breakfast was varied but very busy. They do fresh eggs and pancakes to order very efficiently. I cannot comment on the other food. The rooms are a good size with a huge double bed and the decor is typical spanish, its not luxurious but very clean. There is a small fridge in the room which i think was once a minibar, it is great for storing drinks and snacks. The tv has bbc,itv and sky news. There is the hotel wifi that works in the lobby but also a local free wifi which works everywhere although i couldnt get it to work on the iphone it was fine on the lappy. The best part of this htel is the sun terrace on the roof, it has astro turf and posh wicker sunbeds rather than the cheap plastic ones downstairs. It is adults only, there are two plunge pools up there,but they are a little tired and are in need of some renovation. There is also a bar, it is amazing that people staying dont even know it is there!

The hotel has many facilities that can be purchased such as sauna, jaccuzi,massage etc. On checkout day there is a courtesy room to get a shower and a baggage room supplied which is very handy if you have a late flight, checkout time is 12 noon.

The all inclusive drinks system is very good, they let you have whatever you want with a subsidy on some of the 'named brands', it finishes at midnight, you then have to pay.
The restaurant requires long trousers for evening meal.

Im not so sure of the 4star rating, it is more a 3 and half i think, but the sun terrace makes the stay worthwhile

Room Tip: pool view rooms get the sun some of the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Fanabe, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear DaveCleethorpes,

thank you for the time spent in reviewing in detail Fanabe Costa Sur in TripAdvisor .

Every day and every guest means a challenge for us as one of the goals we have is trying to please our demanding visitors and do our best to make stays memorable, that's why we happily welcome your suggestion for improvements to work on the issues indicated.

All our team is pleased to know you are satisfied in the general with the hotel room and services

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Hotel Fanabe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just returned from this hotel , good points ! Staff great ,kids club great , hotel spotless ,plenty to do for the kids ,good location , bad points food crap little choice all the cooked meats like chicken breast tasted cheap and string like , not a good choice . Also get up early if you want a sunbed everyone reserves them even although it states you aren't meant in the rules , on the whole I would go back though if it was cheap enough

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kingjame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Fanabe, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Kingjame,

thank you for the time spent in reviewing Hotel Fanabe Costa Sur in TripAdvisor.

We are very strict about our not allowing sun beds reservation, in case our staff doesn't remove towels, what we regularly do to make our policy respected, we are thankful to be told about to take measures inmediately.

We are sorry our food selection didn't meet your expectations, we'll try to make improvements accordingly.

Our team is happy to know you are pleased with the rest of hotel services and staff which also satisfied your children.

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Hotel Fanabe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Having stayed in the area before at another hotel in this chain we knew of this hotel and it didn't dissappoint. We travelled with our 2 and a half year old, 4 month old and our father in law who was over from Australia. We emailed the hotel before we went to explain that the holiday was quite special to celebrate my 40th birthday and we got a response to our email. We were allocated a room on the fourth floor (457) with a gorgeous view of the sea and harbour. The hotel even provided a complomentary bottle of bubbly which was a very nice touch. We chose all inclusive and we believed it was very good value for money only choosing to eat out elsewhere one of the nights.

The room was reasonably spacious with a very large bed for me and my husband, a good sized comfortable bed for my toddler and a travel cot for the baby. The rooms were cleaned daily and the maids were very pleasant. In fact all staff we came into contact with were very helpful particularly when we were trying to track down swimming nappies. (they can be bought at the Pharmacy in shopping centre).

The restaurant was often busy but we never had a problem finding a table even when we had a pram with us so needed extra room. The food was of a good standard with a good choice at every sitting. My only gripe was the lunch option for my toddler was not kid friendly at all. At dinner, they had a childrens buffet with the usual nuggets, fish fingers etc and plastic plates, cuttlery etc, but this was not available at lunch. Some days my daughter ended up with chips and bread as there was little else she would eat. It would have been good to have options such as plain vegetables, mash potato, etc on offer. That said, the adults were all happy with the choices.

The facilities in the hotel were good. We never had a problem getting sun loungers or a parasol and my daughter loved spending her days splashing about in the pool or using the facilities of the kids club. Although the kids club is for 4-12 year olds, my daughter could use the facilities accompanied by an adult so that was an extra bonus.

In terms of the area, the beach is just at the bottom of the hill where there are many restaurants and bars and other activities for children. You can even walk all the way to Los Christionos if you're up for it. I walked back to the hotel from Las Vistas beach one afternoon which was lovely and it took about an hour.

Overall, we had an excellent holiday and would recommend this hotel for families looking for a hotel with good amenaties and a great location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Fanabe, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Rachel S,

thank you for the time spent in reviewing Fanabe Costa Sur in TripAdvisor .

We are all willing to be as helpful as posible and satisfy any request if we can in order to provide the quality stay our guests expect and deserve, in addition , we know including details, even small ones and human touch matter so much . Thanks for valueing them.

We are all very happy to know you had joyfull family holidays with us and our staff, services and facilities met your expectations, and we assure you your suggestions will be taken into account to improve .


Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Hotel Fanabe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The rooms are a good size with an enormous comfortable bed, that felt like sleeping on a cloud. The buffet dinner is exquisite, and the drinks prices are very reasonable. on the roof there is a separate area for naturists with a little pool. paradise on earth. Mountains on one side, greeny blue sea on the other, An experience not to be beaten. there is another pool in the centre of the hotel with a nice lay out and a good size. Staff were friendly and helpful and i plan to go back there very soon.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Fanabe, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Mary C,

thank you so much for sharing your experience at Hotel Fanabe in TripAdvisor .

All our team is pleased to know you are satisfied with the quality found during your holiday stay, we work hard on daily basis to meet our demanding guests expectations and keep improving services and facilities to improve and offer the most pleasant stay possible.

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Hotel Fanabe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
GF Isabel
GF Isabel
#18 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,756 reviews
0.2 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#17 of 60 in Costa Adeje
5,694 reviews
1.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#13 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#30 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
0.6 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#16 of 60 in Costa Adeje
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GF Fanabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GF Fanabe

Address: Avenida Bruselas, 13, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#21 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#22 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#22 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $93 - $1,402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GF Fanabe 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel GF FAÑABE**** is an ideal establishment to enjoy the services it offers, but we would like to recommend that you leave yourself in the hands of its professionals, personal, friendly and familiar attention that will make you feel right at home. For anything you may need, please don’t hesitate to ask and you will get an excellent service from one of our staff who will attend to you immediately and efficiently. You will miss them when you leave the hotel and you will remember the little things they did to take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your GF Fanabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fanabe Hotel Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Adeje
Hotel Fanabe Tenerife
Hotel Fanabe Costa Sur
Fanabe Costa Sur Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel Tenerife
GF Fanabe Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing