We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and luxury in a spectacular location”
Review of GF Fanabe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GF Fanabe
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The rooms are a good size with an enormous comfortable bed, that felt like sleeping on a cloud. The buffet dinner is exquisite, and the drinks prices are very reasonable. on the roof there is a separate area for naturists with a little pool. paradise on earth. Mountains on one side, greeny blue sea on the other, An experience not to be beaten. there is another pool in the centre of the hotel with a nice lay out and a good size. Staff were friendly and helpful and i plan to go back there very soon.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Fanabe, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Mary C,

thank you so much for sharing your experience at Hotel Fanabe in TripAdvisor .

All our team is pleased to know you are satisfied with the quality found during your holiday stay, we work hard on daily basis to meet our demanding guests expectations and keep improving services and facilities to improve and offer the most pleasant stay possible.

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Hotel Fanabe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,076)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,656 - 2,662 of 4,076 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

I am staying here rite now! Due to go home 18.10.12. Had 12 nites here. Paid £2100 by packaging ourselves. Weather fab. Location great and reAlly clean. Food is repetitive dont know why people say its not cos it really is. We have ate out 3 times as sick of it. We are all inclusive but skipped breakfast and lunches alot too. Show cooking not cooked through half the time nor is the omellete in the morning. The drinks are defo watered down. No doubt abt that. We have drank everyday and never even felt an effect..... At all!! The bottled beer is better. People have started to reserve sunbeds b4 nine but the guy has been round and removed towels and people which is great. Only one and a half areAs of the pool gets the sun all day which is reAlly poor. Rooftop lovely but daughter prefers big pool. Get a deal and go but dont pay full price. Alit if people just bed and breakfast..... No wonder... But drink expensive so all inclusive good for that alone .

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kava6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Fanabe, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Kava6,


Thank you for taking some time to post your thoughts about Hotel Fanabe in TripAdvisor..

We try to offer a nice variety of options in our restaurant in order to please our demanding international guests, everybody has different need, likes and preferences, and we respect all of them and welcome any suggestion, which will help us to improve.

Please accept our excuses if our drinks didn't please you , but we can assure you drinks are not manipulated, it'd would have been helpful to know which ones were you ordering to do quality checking.

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Hotel Fanabe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent 10 days at the Fanabe and found it excellent.The restaurant catered very much for our needs,it didn,t get repetative like may all inclusives.We spent most afternoons on the roof sun terrace,also quite handy for the bar for a cooling drink as it gets very hot up there.Unfortunatey there aren.t enough sun shades to go round.The main problem for us was the entertainment......It was very poor.The nightly cabaret was in the basement disco and typically very amateurish.Saying that it was quite pleasant sitting out side at the front of the hotel sipping a gin and tonic and listening to one of the many solo artists who sat on the small stage performing songs by The Eagles and other M.O.R artistes.I suggest that the hotel entertainment manager utilises this area to its full potential....

Room Tip: Possibly a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Soulshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Fanabe, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Soulshaker,

thank you for the time spent in reviewing Fanabe Costa Sur in TripAdvisor .

You can imagine how difficult is to fullfill everyone's tastes in a hotel with international guests, but it's a challenge our team faces happily, that's why any suggestion is more than welcomed for us.

We'll work with our entertainment team to find a way to improve it.

Our staff is happy to know the room and services satisfied you and were above your expectations.

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Hotel Fanabe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed here with my husband for a 7 night break half board.
A wonderful and extreemly pleasant hotel. I will definatly be back. The food and hotel is maintained to an extreemly high standard.
Swimming pools and reception staff were extreemly helpful. Location is great and of course the weather was fantastic. 5 stars all round.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank diane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Fanabe, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Diane B,

thank you so much for sharing your experience at Hotel Fanabe in TripAdvisor .

Every day and every guest means a challenge for us as one of the goals we have is trying to please our demanding visitors and do our best to make stays memorable, so we are all very happy to know you had joyfull holidays with us and our staff, services and facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Hotel Fanabe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel. Can't fault any of the staff especially the restaurant staff and the cleaners who were always really busy but so pleasant. Food wasn't great, better to select food that was being cooked rather than the pre cooked options as these seemed to be a bit cold and the quality wasn't that great. The pool area was nice and had plenty of sunbeds, they are all very close together, people still put there towels down to reserve beds when there are signs displayed saying that they will be removed ( never seen this happen),also topless swimmers. The hotel advertises that there is 3 pools. This is 1 main pool and the other 2 are splash pools located on the roof terrace. Holiday rep told us kids were allowed on the roof top but went for a look and felt very intimidated as everyone was staring as if we shouldn't be there and lots of topless/naked adults when there is actaully a seperate nudist area which is behind closed screens. We stayed in room 160, the room was lovely and clean and was as we would expect. Until we discovered the fan for the air con for the hotel was right underneath our balcony and then at 5am the bin lorry collects the waste from the alley and then you have got all the delivery lorries. Having spoke to others from other AI hotels in Costa Adeje, Hotel Fanabe really doesn't come close to some. Great location and staff, shame about the room and pool areas. Wouldn't return as a family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't back on to the alley way.especially the first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Fanabe, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Linda H,


Thank you for taking some time to post your thoughts about Hotel Fanabe in TripAdvisor.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the noisy at night. When we are informed about anything that is not pleasant we offer another room.

We are quite strict about reserving sun beds, but due to your comment we'll insist to our staff in pay extra attention.

There is a nudist area on the top roof solarium but those guests in top less are allowed to use the other area as well and we hope you can accept our excuses if other visitors made you feel uncomfortable.

Thank you for all the suggestions made , as they are priceless for us to keep improving.


Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Hotel Fanabe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here with friends.
Friendly reception staff.
Restaurant was nice, good choice of food and plenty of it.
Lots of fresh fruit.
Somethings cooked fresh while you wait.
Rooms spacious and very clean.
Toiletries and hair dryer in bathroom.
Clean towels everyday
Our room was at the back by service entrance, very quiet at night,
but bit noisey first thing with deliverys.
Had sea view though.
Various entertainment.
Pool area very clean and lots of sunbeds and shades.
For any excursions go see "Clarkey" down at the beach does good deal..
Lots bars, restaurants and shops not far from hotel and very cheap.
Da Angelo`s bar very good for food and drink, Angelo very friendly...
Try "Decades" drag queen show, is fantastic at las americas.
Would definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 186220Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Fanabe, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear 186220Lisa,


thank you so much for sharing your experience at Hotel Fanabe in TripAdvisor .

All our team is pleased to know you are satisfied with the quality found during your holiday stay, we work hard on daily basis to meet our demanding guests expectations and keep improving services and facilities to provide memorable stays.

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Hotel Fanabe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The hotel itself is a little tired, looks like a concrete block really from the outside.If you want a real luxury not a good idea.No pretty gardens.
The pool area is great if you are a sardine and even out of school holidays not peaceful, noise and bingo.
Roof terrace is nice but very few sunshades. Does have a separate place for people wishing to go topless or whatever but sadly they do not use this so can be very unpleasant seeing things far better covered up.Put you really off your nice drink.

The rooms are very clean and not a bad size, balcony areas are fairly small, but fine.
The staff are impersonal as very large hotel, but do their best and are very helpful.
Entertainment is fairly good, but did get fed up with Dire Straights.

The food is very nice, bit samey, but so much choice, lots of fish which I enjoyed. I think think the dress code could be made amended at lunch time as men in vests all hairy and smelly which is not good, yet when my daughter and I went to eat in the restaurant one lunchtime both slim in fully covered sarongs no flesh showing except arms, could not be admitted yet next day saw ladies hardly covered eating there. Need a definitive ruling.

I did enjoy our stay which was my husband, daughter and myself, but certainly not an elite hotel.Would head to the Athelia by Duque next time, as a much more my sort of place. The amazing hot lovely weather made it all OK. Not for the lover of fine things.Would not return to this hotel, spend a bit more on somewhere with more class.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ally165228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Fanabe, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Ally165228,

thank you for the time spent in reviewing Fanabe Costa Sur in TripAdvisor .

Our hotel is not 5 stars, it's 4 stars and even when we work daily to offer the highest quality posible, we are not a luxury hotel.

The full information, including facilities and services and star rating ,is available in our site and we do not indicate we have great gardens or sophisticated services, as we do not want to generate false expectations we couldn't that cause disapointments. On the other hand we have fully renovated our suites recently which have large terraces in the upper floors that might have been more convenient for your preferences.

We apologize if other guests in top less caused you an unpleasant sensation. There is a nudist area, but not a top less one.

Thank you for the suggestion made about dressing code during lunch time, it will be for sure taken into account.

We are happy you liked the room booked and hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind regards from Hotel Fanabe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
GF Isabel
GF Isabel
#16 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,843 reviews
0.2 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#19 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,894 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#17 of 61 in Costa Adeje
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#12 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,985 reviews
1 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#32 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#15 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GF Fanabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GF Fanabe

Address: Avenida Bruselas, 13, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#18 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#21 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#23 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $65 - $1,547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GF Fanabe 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel GF FAÑABE**** is an ideal establishment to enjoy the services it offers, but we would like to recommend that you leave yourself in the hands of its professionals, personal, friendly and familiar attention that will make you feel right at home. For anything you may need, please don’t hesitate to ask and you will get an excellent service from one of our staff who will attend to you immediately and efficiently. You will miss them when you leave the hotel and you will remember the little things they did to take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your GF Fanabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fanabe Hotel Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Adeje
Hotel Fanabe Tenerife
Hotel Fanabe Costa Sur
Fanabe Costa Sur Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel Tenerife
GF Fanabe Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing