We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful and friendly hotel”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This was our second visit to this wonderful hotel and before we left we booked again for next year. Such a welcome as soon as we entered into the beautiful and spacious reception, and then taken to our room with balcony overlooking the garden and sea. Somehow the friendliness of all the staff is reflected in the guests all contributing to a memorable holiday.
The friendliness of the staff is encompassed with true professionalism all making this such a wonderful hotel...and why so many are drawn back so many times.
The location is superb, just two minutes from the glorious "promenade", providing easy access to
beach and walking along the coast.
We can but thank the management and all the staff for making our holiday so enjoyable again, with especially thanks to Ruth and Omar in the dining room.
Looking forward to seeing you all again in 2015!
Derek and Alma
especial thanks to Ruth our "

Room Tip: Room overlooking the garden and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avoca70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear avoca70,
Thank you very much for sharing your fantastic experience in our Dream Gran Tacande 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear that you had a nice welcome to the hotel. Our rooms offer enough space so our guests can spread out and relax on their holiday. We appreciate your comment about our staff they all do their absolute best for our guests to be left without wishes and completely happy. The gorgeous Playa del Duque is only 2 min walking distance behind our hotel and there our guests can go for a swim in the unbelievable blue water. Thank you for mentioning our hard workers Ruth and Omar, we will convey to them your kind words in relation to their work. We hope you will be back for another amazing holiday in our hotel soon. For repeating guests, there is a special 5% discount, if they book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,546
    469
    124
    55
    45
See reviews for
737
1,107
39
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Have just returned from a 2 week stay here. We will return!

The hotel decor was beautiful, especially the foyer and main areas. Our room was lovely, large and well furnished, very comfortable beds, blackout curtains, complimentary safe, very clean etc. Also in a very peaceful environment. Sitting on the balcony and around the pool area we spent the day listening to the birds singing.
Even though the hotel was quite full, there was still a peaceful air of tranquility to it. This was before the start of the school holidays when it did become a bit noisier - in our last couple of days, but we try to avoid school holidays for that very reason!

The restaurant was excellent. The food was lovely with a huge choice with the emphasis on fresh food. The maitre d' was very welcoming and personally spoke to all of his guests.

The pool area is cleverly landscaped into lots of smaller more private areas, that ensures that you are not all sunbathing 'en masse'. There were always plenty of sunbeds and brollies.

The staff were all very genuinely friendly and accommodating, from the reception staff, bell boys, pool staff and night turn down staff. Our special thanks go to Omar for his attention to detail for our breakfast service, Estafania from housekeeping, for her very friendly and efficient service, Lianne and Aranza for our complimentary Spanish lessons and Adam from entertainments for his unwavering spirit and organisation of the evening's entertainment.

The icing on the cake would be to have access to BBC news service on the TV as English channels were rather limited.

Thank you

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 187069Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear 187069Catherine,
From the entire team of Dream Gran Tacande 5* we would like to thank you for your great comment on Tripadvisor.
Our rooms are designed to make the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible, we are glad to read your satisfaction with the comfort of your accommodation. We appreciate your comment about the nice atmosphere and calmness of our hotel. As you mentioned the food in our restaurant is first class at breakfast and also at dinner. Like you said our hotel is stunning and at our three pools our guests can relax and enjoy the many sunny hours on Tenerife. For our guests to be able to spend a wonderful holiday nothing is too much trouble for our staff and we appreciate you mentioning it. Thank you for mentioning to our chef Omar, our housekeeper Estefanía, and our animators Lianne, Aranza and Adam, we will convey to them your kind words in relation to their work. We hope to welcome you back again soon. On bookings of our loyal guests, which are made with us directly, we apply a special 5% discount.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Got children ? Don't stay here. We are in room 637.

There's a piece of ply wood between us and a 140 foot drop. The plywood is keeping a window in place. Oh and there's tissue paper between the window and plywood.


Food ok.

Service ok.

Won't stay here again for €500 a night.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jo2009traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear jo2009traveller,
We at Dream Gran Tacande 5* would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel with us on Tripadvisor.
We understand your concern, but in our facilities there has never been any security problems. We follow the rules of the tour operators and the spanish regulation to avoid conflicted issues. Just in the moment that we saw his concern at reception we proceeded to change your room for your peace and comfort. We hope you give us a second chance to show what we can offer to our 5* Dream Gran Tacande. We offer a special 5% discount to our loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a weeks stay in this hotel, we don't normally return to the same places as there are so many places we haven't been to yet! We needed a relaxing break to recharge our batteries, and remembered from staying here a few years ago that it was a lovely hotel, well placed for bars, restaurants etc, and it has one of the quietest air conditioning systems I've ever encountered! Being a light sleeper, these things are important! So upgraded to a senior suite to give ourselves a treat and were not disappointed! It was more of a corporate room than a holiday room, perhaps some more homely touches could be incorporated? We had an enormous bedroom, a lounge with 2 large settes, a dining table that would comfortably seat 6 if we had needed it, plus a large balcony with sea views, that had comfortable settes, a table and chairs, plus 2 sunbeds! There was unfortunately no shading on the balcony, think there was at some stage but now just big holes where a canopy used to be. A parasol of some sort would have been appreciated. The hotel itself was quiet, being on the 6th floor helped as well, the only thing we were confused about was the noisy plastic coated mattress cover, which crackled and rasped every time you turned over! We removed it in the end, and had a much quieter night! We did mention this to reception, who seemed very surprised, but I would recommend someone from the hotel sleeping on one of these to see what we mean! The breakfasts were amazing, a huge variety of food both hot and cold, we never tried dinner as we ate somwhere different each night, but had a couple of lunches there which were good too. I swam in both pools, and yes the large pool is cold, but I've been in colder! I like to pick a hotel with a good sized pool as I like to swim to burn some calories off! All in all a very reaxing break, and exactly what we wanted!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Pauline T,
We are grateful for you to share your great holidays in our Dream Gran Tacande 5* on Tripadvisor with us.
Our hotel is located in Costa Adeje with the amazing Playa del Duque and various shopping centers within a few minutes walking distance. It is fantastic that you upgraded your room, all our suites are very spacious and offer everything our guests may require during their stay including a fully equipped bathroom. It is a pity that you did not report about the parasol on your balcony to the reception, so we could know and act immediately in your room to keep our 5 Stars Standard as high as our clients deserve. We are sorry about the issues with the plastic cover of the mattress if it was uncomfortable for you. We appreciate your comment about the calmness of our hotel. For their perfect start in the day our guests can find everything at our breakfast buffet like different chesses, various cereals and fruits and much more and at night they can enjoy the delicious freshly cooked meals in our restaurant. Like you said there are two salt water pools in our hotel and one of them is heated so during the winter months our guests can still go for a swim. We hope you will be back for another amazing holiday in our hotel soon. There is a special 5% discount for loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We went there during French school holidays from March 8-18th with our 3 year old boy. Overall, we absolutely loved it. Some highlights that are worth mentioning:

1. The absolute nicest & kid-friendlist cooks & waiters I have ever experienced. For our son the breakfast and dinner time is normally something rather boring to do, but it almost turned to the highlight of the day with the great attention, high-5's, kitchen visits etc. that he got from the cooks and waiters. A BIG thank you again for this!!! Food itself was a real pleasure as well with large diversity and many freshly cooked choices each day

2. Besides the main restaurant, the Service overall is another highlight in itself, no matter if reception or cleaning staff, people were all extremely friendly - especially kids-friendly- in a very natural way

3. It was great that the medium sized and kids pool were heated, otherwise swimming wouldn't have been possible at tihs time of the year

4. The location - just a few meters from a nice beach area and from there you can easily access other beaches for some variety. The El Duque Plaza is just a 3 minute walk and to the hotel 'isla bonita' which has the bus stop for buses that go to most of the attractions it is less than 10 minutes walk.

A few things that I had wished for to make the holidays just perfect:
- a few more families (not the hotel's fault, but being no. 2 rated family hotel in Teneriffa, we would have expected more families with smaller kids)
- and related to that: a mini-disco (our son really, really missed that! Every evening he looked into the bar with great hope that finally there was a mini-disco - mini-disco was mentioned as one of the entertainment activities in the hotel description, but apparently only takes place during the main holidays season); some more possibilities at the kid's pool (e.g. a small slide); an open mini-club to just go spontanously and play for a round without having to pre-register 24 hours in advance
- most of the balconies (even with pool view and partial sea view) are most of the day very much in the shadow. We only had a bit of sun for about an hour or so as of 5pm.

Room Tip: Rooms are overall nice. But if you want some sun on your balcony, ask for that at the reception and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatrinGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear KatrinGeneva,
We from Dream Gran Tacande 5* would like to say thank you that you shared your amazing experience in our hotel with us on Tripadvisor.
We are so glad to know that the variety of food and the quality of service in our restaurant during the breakfast and as well as during the dinner is a highlight for our guests. We appreciate your comment about our staff they all do their absolute best for our guests to be left without wishes and completely happy. Like you said there are two salt water pools in our hotel and one of them is heated so during the winter months our guests can still go for a swim. The gorgeous Playa del Duque is only 2 min walking distance behind our hotel and there our guests can go for a swim in the unbelievable blue water. We are sorry about the mini-disco, as you said we provide it during the high seasons, but your comments are very useful to make decisions to improve even more our satisfaction levels. We are looking forward to your next stay with us. If you book your next stay directly with us, you will receive a special 5% discount for loyal guests.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed here recently and did some hotel hopping. Stayed for 2 nights and found it pretty good value. Rooms were very nice and spacious. Food was very good also. Very clean in general.
. Nothing really bad to note. Not a total luxury hotel but very adequate and no complaints. For the area and by comparison its pretty good. I would stay again. Its in a great area too and next door to the Bahia Del Duque. They share the same beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mantra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear mantra1,
We from Dream Gran Tacande 5* would like to say thank you that you shared your amazing experience in our hotel with us on Tripadvisor.
Our rooms offer enough space so our guests can spread out and relax on their holiday. As you mentioned the food in our restaurant is first class at breakfast and also at dinner. We always make sure our hotel is very clean and tidy. The amazing Playa del Duque is only 2 min walking distance behind our hotel and there our guests can go for a swim in the unbelievable blue water. We are very happy to hear that you would repeat your holidays with us. We offer a special 5% discount to our loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 10 days in February and were not disappointed. We read many reviews before booking and were very impressed with the standard.
The staff were all friendly, helpful and very efficient. From Vanessa on reception (who helped me with my Wifi) to Victor in the dining room and everyone inbetween.
Our room and all the public areas including the pool area were spotlessly clean.
We stayed here on a bed & breakfast basis and the buffet at breakfast was very good with so much choice. Eggs and omelettes are cooked to order and staff are continually on the go replenishing areas and clearing tables. Sometimes there was live music which was very pleasant.
There are 2 pools at the Gran Tacande and unfortunately as lovely as it is, the larger one is unheated. We did not see many braving the freezing temperature and I confess to not staying in the water very long.
The hotel benefits from a secure car park which is underground and quite difficult to find initially. it is very useful as parking in Costa Adeje can be quite difficult, even in February.
The lunch time restaurant here is very good. You can eat inside or out and there is a good choice. The bar area inside is very comfortable but when we were there, not very many people drinking. However, I enjoyed the cocktails and they were quite reasonably priced compared to other places in the area.
All in all it was one of our best holidays and we hope to return next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fellwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Fellwalkers,
Thank you very much for sharing your fantastic experience in our Dream Gran Tacande 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your comment about our staff they all do their absolute best for our guests to be left without wishes and completely happy. We always make sure that the rooms and the hotel are very clean and tidy. For their perfect start in the day our guests can find everything at our breakfast buffet like different chesses, various cereals and fruits and much more and at night they can enjoy the delicious freshly cooked meals in our restaurant. We are sorry that you did not like the temperature of our pool, but there is another heated pool in our hotel in addition of a children pool and a Jacuzzi. Our guests can enjoy our delicious cocktails in one of the three bars in our hotel. We hope to welcome you back again soon. For repeating guests, there is a special 5% discount, if they book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.3 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#16 of 58 in Costa Adeje
5,502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.7 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#32 of 58 in Costa Adeje
3,078 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#12 of 58 in Costa Adeje
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje

Property: Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
Address: Alcalde Walter Paetzmann s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Dream Hotel Gran Tacande)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#11 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the exclusive Costa Adeje area, beside Playa del Duque, in a glorious setting overlooking the sea with a beautiful view of southern Tenerife and the Island of La Gomera. This magnificent Canary mansion offers a peaceful and intimate atmosphere, splendid gardens and swimming pools for relaxation and enjoyment - the perfect spot for an unforgettable break. The construction is divided in four colonial style blocks: Sansofe, San Sebastian, Malpais and Casa Fuerte. Gran Tacande · Wellness & Relax not only offers magnificent seaviews from its rooms and suites, but also top Canary, national and international cuisine in its exquisite and pleasantly discrete restaurants. Take in the relaxing atmosphere of the “Vitanova Spa” thalassotherapy centre, where you can benefit from the thermal waters and special treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Hotel Costa Adeje
Dream Resort Costa Adeje
Gran Tacande Tenerife
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing