We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We have just returned from a week at this hotel. What an amazing week. On arrival we were upgraded to a suite at no extra cost. We felt like royalty. The reception staff were very efficient and we were in our room within minutes. The breakfast and dinner buffets were so varied it was difficult to know what to choose. At dinner we had something different every night. The general ambience of the hotel was quiet and peaceful and the glorious weather helped to make this a holiday to remember. Thank you to all at the Gran Tacande, we shall be returning.

Room Tip: Choose sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,481
    446
    110
    47
    25
See reviews for
687
1,039
37
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Gran Tacande with my grandfather in a superior suite which was nicely furnished and was ample for our needs. Buffet food was the best I have ever tasted with a wide variety of dishes available to choose from. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Although a full hotel it was surprisingly quiet. The attached spa is amazing and I can recommend it fully. Overall we had a great week at the Gran Tacande and would more than likely visit again should we come back to Tenerife in the future. Keep up the good work.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MellowActually
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear dannyjamesharris,
From our entire team at Dream Gran Tacande 5* we would like to thank you for your amazing comment about our hotel on Tripadvisor.
Like you said there is plenty of choice for our guests in our restaurant and the different theme nights are perfect to try new meals. You mentioning how friendly our staff is, is really great for us, since they all do their absolute best for our guests each day. Our hotel is built in the typical style of the Canary Islands, very bright and quiet, and it is painted in the typical colors so our guests can stay in beautiful traditional hotel. We hope you will stay in our hotel again soon. For loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us, we offer a special 5% discount.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We have stayed in this area numerous times but this was our first time in this hotel. Clearly we saved the best till the last. The location is great, rooms lovely, breakfast was brilliant but most of all the staff were exceptional, in all areas of hotel they were friendly but at the same time professional.
Looking forward to next visit

Room Tip: We were overlooking pool which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

This hotel is absolutely amazing and far exceeded my expectations. My wife and I are already planning a return trip for next year!

LOCATION
The location is perfect - A 20 minute taxi ride from the airport situated in a quiet part of the beautiful Costa Adeje resort but within easy walking distance (via the promenade) of the many restaurants and backing onto a beautiful beach. My wife enjoyed a relaxing time by the pool while I did a bit of cycling up the steep hills!

RECEPTION
Check-in was very quick and easy and included a very welcoming drink of cava. The reception staff were extremely courteous and provided lots of useful information when we needed to ask.

ROOMS
We were allocated a room on the ground floor which was very handy as I had taken my bike. The room was massive, very comfortable (sofa and armchair) and included a lovely secluded terrace overlooking the pool. The bathroom included 2 basins and a separate bath and shower. My only criticism would be that the bed was actually 2 seperate singles beds rather than a double which was a tad annoying.

FOOD
We only had breakfast but it was incredible. The choice on offer was the best I have ever seen and the quality was excellent. The made to order omelettes were my favourite but there was something for everyone with numerous varieties of fresh fruit, pastries, hot food, cereals, cold meat, cheeses, yoghurts, freshly squeezed fruit juices (the Papaya was amazing). The staff in the restaurant were incredibly attentive with coffee or tea appearing straight away and all empty plates whisked away as soon as you had finished. The only disappointment was the coffee which was pretty poor. I always find this a bit disappointing as it's really not difficult to produce decent coffee and the rest of the breakfast was of such a high standard.

POOL
The main pool wasn't heated so I didn't try it but the heated pool was lovely and warm. There is also an outdoor heated jacuzzi and a children's pool. There are loads of sun loungers and we never had any problems getting a decent spot despite numerous guests "reserving" lounges. The pool area was so quiet and relaxing.

SPA
The weather was fantastic so we only used the spa once. We are big lovers of spas and thought it was excellent with a huge hydropool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, showers and swimming pool. We had a free entry card (which I think you get for stays of 5 nights or more) but would have been happy to pay to go again (I believe it costs €20) if we were staying longer or the weather had been bad. The spa was very quiet with only 8 other people when we went in the late afternoon/early evening. I also had a sports massage which was OK and reasonably priced at €59 for 50 minutes.

STAFF
Finally, but very important - the staff. They were all fantastic and clearly very well training and happy in their work. They couldn't have been more helpful or attentive and ensured our holiday was a relaxing one.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Finknottle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Beautiful 5 star hotel with a great location ,near the shopping centre.The direct access onto the beach and seafront walk is a great bonus. The rooms are large and well stocked,The breakfast is great, there was lots of fresh food with great service

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geraldine186600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Just returned from a week at this hotel. Thanks to all TA's for your comments and advice which helped our decision in booking this hotel. Having never been to this island before we were pleased with the location which was ideal. Would advise though that you email ahead to request room preference as we assumed that booking a superior sea view room there would be no problem, but on checking-in we were first given a ground floor room (!), we asked for a higher floor and after an hour's wait for the room to be cleaned, was given a room on the 6th floor. Initially disappointed in the room size as having looked at the hotel website assumed the room would have both a chair and a settee, but on entering the room noticed that we only had a chair. However, the view made up for the disappointment as we had a large southwest facing corner balcony that overlooked both Adeje and the island of Gomera.

Hotel
Easy walking distance to two good beaches and the very expensive and exclusive shopping Plaza. This part of Adeje is really very upmarket and classy. Pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was with absolutely no aircraft noise considering the close proximity to the airport. Suggest you take kettle to save extra cost. Good empty fridge in room for milk etc. No charge for fridge or safe. Pleasantly surprised that towels on sunbeds didn't seem to be a problem when we were there.

Staff really friendly and helpful and any request dealt with immediately. The whole area looked spotlessly clean. Even outside the hotel the area was clean with well managed gardens. However, some public areas of the hotel do need sprucing up and are looking slightly tired. Surprised though at the drab, tired looking walkway/entrance to the Spa, we expected it to look far more glamorous, especially the way they promote the Spa.

Food
Hubby found that some mornings the cooked breakfast wasn't really hot enough. I had porridge (runny) a couple of mornings and, again, this was only warm (would the hotel please note that it may be a good idea not to have the bacon behind the bowl of porridge as any drips from the bacon will go straight into the porridge!). Otherwise good selection of food to suit all tastes. Good buffet selection in the evening to suit most tastes. Separate cooking stations for sushi, Chinese, fish, steak, pizza and roast meat. Good varied selection of vegetables. The only disappointment was the dessert section which lacked imagination with the same offerings each night. It must be difficult to please everyone, considering the different nationalities staying at the hotel, but they did do their best to provide a varied menu.

Entertainment
It was good to see a more mature offering of entertainment from live soothing music in the restaurant at breakfast to a pianist in the bar early evening, followed by resident musicians and singers and then finally guest appearances later in the evening. Some were better than others and it was a pity that most nights they only played to a small audience.

Out and About
Hired a car for two days from Namcar in Adeje, not far from the hotel; the hotel rate was very expensive. Probably cheaper to hire from the UK as we paid €79 for B Class fully inclusive). The drive to Tiede was scenic on good roads. Found cable car very expensive for what it was at €25 each and not worth the cost. The drive to Masca, north of Adeje, was very scenic but the road was very windy and if you get behind a coach it is very slow. Didn't seem to be anything to stop for at Masca and also difficult to park so just drove back up the other side. There is a nice cafe with brilliant views just out of Masca on the road to Garachico. Garachico also worth a visit.

As you check-in for your return flight be aware of official looking person with tablet asking for your name, date of birth and telephone number. They are not with the airlines, as they would like you to believe, but timeshare touts.

Would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel at some time in the future, if the price is right.

Room Tip: Be aware that rooms facing the swimming pools seemed to be in shade until late afternoon. Also avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank welltrodtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Wonderful. We stayed for 7 days and everything was perfect: the service, the structure, the restaurant, .... all. We started in the morning with a pantagruelic breakfast, we had even a local champagne Cava. The swimming pools where amazing and one was filled with warm water. The beach was in front of the hotel and we could swim in the ocean. The area was charmy with many high class restaurants. We had dinner only once but next time we'll buy the 5 dinner package for 25€ p.p. It was amazing.
We will go again next year. A special thank to the chef Omar for making my wife's birthday a very special one.

Room Tip: We were lucky because we had a front sea room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AntonioSusanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.2 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#5 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#25 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje

Property: Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
Address: Alcalde Walter Paetzmann s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Dream Hotel Gran Tacande)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the exclusive Costa Adeje area, beside Playa del Duque, in a glorious setting overlooking the sea with a beautiful view of southern Tenerife and the Island of La Gomera. This magnificent Canary mansion offers a peaceful and intimate atmosphere, splendid gardens and swimming pools for relaxation and enjoyment - the perfect spot for an unforgettable break. The construction is divided in four colonial style blocks: Sansofe, San Sebastian, Malpais and Casa Fuerte. Gran Tacande · Wellness & Relax not only offers magnificent seaviews from its rooms and suites, but also top Canary, national and international cuisine in its exquisite and pleasantly discrete restaurants. Take in the relaxing atmosphere of the “Vitanova Spa” thalassotherapy centre, where you can benefit from the thermal waters and special treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Agoda so you can book your Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Hotel Costa Adeje
Dream Resort Costa Adeje
Gran Tacande Tenerife
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing