We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly memorable holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This was our first visit to Gran Tacande,,.and we have already booked for next year (2014)
Words are difficult to find to describe what a wonderful holiday my wife and I had. The experience started from the moment we arrived at the Hotel.. the warm and professional way in which we were greeted.. and then being taken to our large and typical Spanish designed bedroom, with terrace and large bath and shower room.
Then the dining experience... greeted by the smiling face of the waiter, again warm and professional at the same time... and the abundance of truly excellent food. We had half board following previous recommendations.. and this proved right. No need to go hunting for outside restaurants.
In the evenings there was entertainment in the Bar Lobby.. relaxing after relaxing in the beautifully laid out garden and pool area. This is excellently laid out and quite unique. A external protected area outside the Dining area provides outside dining.
The warm salt water in the pool areas is quite unique.
The beautiful beaches and coastal promenade is just two minutes from the hotel gardens.
This was one of the best holidays we had experienced and we look forward to returning next year
with the booking already confirmed.
The added bonus is the reasonably short journey to the airport

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avoca70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you very much for your very good comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate a lot that you recommend our Dream Gran Tacande 5* so much and that you are going to stay in our hotel again next year. It is really nice to hear that our staff enabled you a relaxing and comfortable holiday on Tenerife with their warm, professional and very friendly behavior. We are glad that you liked our food in and around our hotel, the bar and especially the location of our hotel. All our four pools include salt water of high quality and it is nice that you enjoyed them a lot. We are looking forward to seeing you in our Dream Gran Tacande 5* next year.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

939 - 945 of 2,323 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was our first holiday abroad without our children (now all grown up) so looking at previous reviews we decided to spoil ourselves, we were not disappointed. It was perfectly located for the beach and shops, from the moment we arrived the staff could not do enough for you, The hotel was very clean and the maid did an excellent job looking after our room, loved the chocolates each evening! We did mention it was our 25th wedding anniversary trip so the bottle of champagne in our room was a lovely touch, Breakfast and dinner was amazing, the choice was vast and Debbie made a lovely omelette cooked to your liking. The chocolate fountain was delicious! We hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a sea view and we were not disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shopaholics186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you very much for your really good comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate a lot that you had such an amazing holiday in our Dream Gran Tacande 5* and that you are planning to visit us again. The aim of our staff is to make your vacation unforgettable with their friendly behavior. It is nice that you mentioned the good of our staff. As soon you have a problem, a request or just a wish, tell our reception and they immediately take care of it. We are glad that you liked the location of our hotel and especially our food. We are looking forward to seeing you again in our hotel.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was our second time to Teneriffa. On our first trip in 2011 we stayed on the north side of the island. I can say that we both really liked the Costa Adeje area much better, which is located on the south side of the island. This trip we arrived for a week on 8 April 2013. The hotel was very nice, clean, and the staff was very helpful when we arrived. We were told that Americans very seldom come to this area and hotel. That was perfect for us, we just blended in the best we could with all the other guest, which mostly consisted of people from the UK, Germany, Spain and the Netherlands. For any Americans reading this review, fyi, the Europeans really know how to vacation/holiday, and the Dream Grand Tacande is a really good example!

First the staff. Every person we encountered was very nice and helpful. Many went out of their way to make sure that we were taken care of. I noticed a lot of guest arriving and greeting the staff as if they were regulars. That told me that these people must have liked this place so much that they return on a regular basis. That was impressive since there are so many other nice hotels in the area. It was obvious to me and my wife that the staff were not beginners or amateurs. Working at a 5 star resort requires being the best at providing service to the guest. I can say of all the places I have stayed in Europe over the past 10 years, this staff topped the cake.

The room was very nice. It was not what you would call fancy, but it was clean and very roomy and had a typical Spanish style. The balcony was very large and we had a beautiful view of the coast line. The only thing that would have made the room better was to have some English speaking TV channels. Watching the BBC and CNN got a little boring all week as these were the only English channels available. Actually this is normal in many hotels in non English speaking nations, so I always bring alone some movies we can watch on the computer, besides, there was so much to do, who would want to stay in a hotel room all day and watch TV! Another plus that impressed me was they have free high speed Wifi in the rooms, and all around the property. This was nice since we were able to use Skype to stay in touch with our kids.

The restaurant was amazing. The food consistently good and was the best we have had at any resort we have been to in Europe. We both kept telling each that almost everything we ate was near perfect. They did not cut any corners as far as we could tell. The variety was very good too, and the staff was there to assist you with anything you needed. We had dialog with several of the staff members and they made us feel like we were special and had known us a long time.

The pools were nice and clean, but still a little chilly for the wife. I did, however, swim some and enjoyed the slightly salty water. The best part of our stay though was the extra package we purchased when we arrived. This was an upgrade for 180,00 Euros that gave the wife and I a 15 minute massage for 5 days, and use of the very nice spa. This was something that we both looked forward to everyday, especially since we both are doing an exercise program on DVD to lose some extra weight and to tone up. After the exercising, we would go get a massage and use the jacuzzi, many different showers with pulsing cold and hot water, aroma room, steam room and sauna. I would finish up with some laps in the special pool for swimming laps. All I can say is we both were completely relaxed after all this and ready to enjoy our evening meal and walk on the boardwalk. This extra package also gave us some drinks in the minibar, a newspaper every morning, and 2 dinners at their special restaurant, which the food was amazing.

The Dream Hotel Gran Tacande was a week of paradise for my wife and I. We are still talking about our trip even weeks after returning. We are making plans with some friends to return to the same place next year, and that is a first time we have done that of all the places we have visited. If you are looking for a really nice affordable 5 star resort, we highly suggest this place. You will not be disappointed unless of course you are hard to please.

Room Tip: The have rooms that face the pool area and other rooms facing the ocean. We asked to have an ocean v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gregorync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you very much for your really good comment on tripadvisor. Our management appreciates a lot that you recommend our Dream Gran Tacande 5* so much and that this is the first time that you are planning to return to the same hotel. It is really nice that you mentioned the hard, professional, friendly and satisfying work of our staff. Their aim is to make you feel comfortable in our hotel and to fulfill every wish of you and even more. We are glad that you liked you room so much and especially the big balcony with the great view. We apologize for the small amount of English channels, it is good to know that is too less, so that we can solve that problem. It is also good to hear that you liked our four pools with salt water and that you wife enjoyed the high quality massages so much. You can book half board deluxe in our Dream Gran Tacande 5* which includes some extras for your holiday, for example the daily Thermal Circuit and 15 minutes DOSHA massage in our Spa Vitanova and daily newspaper in your room and a basic drinks package in the minibar and much more. It is very nice of you that you compare your stay in our hotel with paradise. We are looking forward to seeing you again in our Dream Gran Tacande 5*.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel. As we wanted to visit again our recent holiday lived up to expectations and exceeded them! The staff made our visit delightful , remembering our name as well as our tipple in the bar and the chef cooked our food just right in the restaurant. We look forward to our return visit,but even if it is your first visit every confidence that whatever you require they will be more than happy to make sure you enjoy you stay. It is definitely worth talking to the staff if anything is not quite how you want and it will be resolved .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karyn19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you very much for you really good comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate a lot that you had a fantastic stay in our Dream Gran Tacande 5* and that you are planning to visit out hotel again. If you have any problem or request or a wish, just talk with our reception and the will immediately take care of it, so that you can enjoy your holiday completely. It is nice to hear that you liked our food so much and how the chef performed it. We are really looking forward to seeing you again in our Dream Gran Tacande 5*. We also offer a special 5% discount with extras for repeater who book directly with us.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just returned from a week at the hotel Gran Tacande and the fact that we are intending returning probably says it all. Good quality, generally helpful staff, great position next to the beach, restaurants and the bes shopping in Tenerife.
Previous reports have talked about the great service and we also found the staff helpful without being overbearing. Eileen on reception was excellent (an impression helped by a nice room upgrade on arrival!) and as you get older that glass of champagne at reception is rarely turned down now.
Starting with the rooms - the upgrade helped so my comments relate to a senior suite. Understated and generally good quality. Probably lacked that REAL 5* pizzaz but at no point did we feel neglected. A massive family sized jacuzzi was a nice touch. A BIG bathroom in this room by the way (637) We had two furnished balconies (with a wall between them so no communication) with fabulous 270degree views of the water, hills, shops...One small cost of being near shops and restaurants is we were wakened by the early morning delivery/cleaning lorries a few times. Not the hotel's fault by any means. Beds were comfortable and the room was well maintained.
Pools - Not bad. Plenty water (salty) but the hotel needs to attend to loose tiles and crumbling plaster around the edges. One of a few things that took the 5* star edge off. Also very busy at peak times. At no time were me unable to get loungers but occasionally required a bit of a hunt.
Food - I wouldn't normally associate 5* hotels with buffet-style meals. A la carte menus, silver service and slower paced meals are the mark of a top-end hotel. Having said that the buffet was excellent. Great choice & good quality.
Entertainment - WELL....let's say 'mixed' Firstly the hotle should be commended for trying to lay on entertainment each night. But I would recommend they do LESS and BETTER. The good acts (Eagles tribute, Three tenors, Beatles tribute) were good fun but deserved bigger audiences. So, why didn't they get one? Because the guests get used to the woeful 'other' acts and assume the worst. lay on less, better and promote the good acts better. Some of the poor acts would have been chucked out of Butlins. I'm not even sure some of the acts were 'all there'!
Location - as good as it gets if you want to be near the shops, restaurants etc. And the good news...this is a fairly top-end area. You're only 10 minutes walk in one direction to 'Blackpool with sun' but 2 minutes walk in the other direction (right) finds lovely beach side restaurants, cafes and some decent 'middle-of-the-road' but neverthless very good music venues.
Gym / Spa - Well equipped and worth a visit. The guy on reception at the gym needs 'tuned in' though. he was one of the few grumpy, unsmiling and uncommunicative staff.
When commenting on this hotel some people have said it feels more like a good 4 star. I know what they mean as it does lack that 'special' feel. BUT...it lacks that 'special' price too. It was a good value, good quality hotel. I don't think it will feature in Conde Naste any time soon but it's really good and we intend to go back.

Room Tip: 637...a little occasional early morning noise (delivery trucks etc...) but 270 degree views and BIG
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FussyFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you very much for your comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate that you recommend our Dream Gran Tacande 5* so much and that you liked the high quality of the hotel. It is really nice to hear that you liked the Senior suite with the Jacuzzi, the big bathroom and the fabulous view over the sea. All our pools contain high quality salt water and we renovated our pools at the end of April so that there are no more crumbling plaster around the edges. We are happy that you liked the excellent buffet, the great choice and the good quality of our food. It is not always easy to meat everyone’s taste through the entertainment, but our animation team works really hard to animate and amuse all our clients. The hotel is located at the Playa del Duque, one of the best beaches in south of Tenerife and there are also a lot of restaurants and bars, where you can enjoy your time. We are glad that you mentioned that and also the shopping centre Plaza del Duque. Our Spa Vitanova is also high quality and we apologize for the one guy who was not that nice to you. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation in our hotel and that you are planning to return. We also offer a special 5% discount with extras for repeaters who book directly with us.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at the Dream hotel Gran Tacande for a week beginning 14th April 2013. This is a fabulous hotel food, service ,rooms and cleanliness are excellent had a great holiday hopefully returning in Oct. We stayed half board the choice at Breakfast and dinner is the best we have found in Tenerife. Cannot fault anything

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brenda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you very much for your good comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate a lot that you and your son had such a fantastic vacation in our Dream Gran Tacande 5*. Our hotel is suitable for persons in wheelchairs so that they can completely enjoy their stay. Our staff works hard to make your vacation amazing. So it is nice for them to hear that you liked the food and the cleanness of our hotel. Our hotel is also located at the Playa del Duque with a lot of different restaurants and bars and a nice shopping centre. We hope we can welcome you in our Dream Gran Tacande 5* again.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here for a quick 4 night get away with my partner . The staff are happy at work and it reflects in their efforts to please. The only other 5 star we have stayed at in Tenerife was the Bahia principe and although it has fantastic facilities etc I preferred the chilled out atmosphere of the Tacande for our mini break.
See review by ratbon couldn't have put it any better myself !

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eliroomel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you very much for your comment on tripadvisor. Our staff always gives their best to enable an amazing stay in our Dream Gran Tacande 5*. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed their services and the atmosphere in our hotel. We hope that you will come back soon for another relaxing vacation.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.3 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#17 of 60 in Costa Adeje
5,744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#12 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,830 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#16 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje

Address: Alcalde Walter Paetzmann s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Dream Hotel Gran Tacande)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $183 - $577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the exclusive Costa Adeje area, beside Playa del Duque, in a glorious setting overlooking the sea with a beautiful view of southern Tenerife and the Island of La Gomera. This magnificent Canary mansion offers a peaceful and intimate atmosphere, splendid gardens and swimming pools for relaxation and enjoyment - the perfect spot for an unforgettable break. The construction is divided in four colonial style blocks: Sansofe, San Sebastian, Malpais and Casa Fuerte. Gran Tacande · Wellness & Relax not only offers magnificent seaviews from its rooms and suites, but also top Canary, national and international cuisine in its exquisite and pleasantly discrete restaurants. Take in the relaxing atmosphere of the “Vitanova Spa” thalassotherapy centre, where you can benefit from the thermal waters and special treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Dreamplace Hotels & Resorts SL, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Hotel Costa Adeje
Dream Resort Costa Adeje
Gran Tacande Tenerife
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing