We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
Ranked #12 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxery”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have stayed at Dreams Hotels for a number of years. The Gran Tacande was another beautiful Dreams - the staff were just as friendly and a few of them we knew from other hotels we have stayed. Our room was fantastic, food excellent, cleanliness couldn't be bettered, comfortable, spotless beds. A really lovely holiday and can't wait to go back. On speaking to the manager when asked if we were enjoying our stay, we informed him that we had stayed at the other Dreams hotel 12 times and were always pleased with our treatment, room upgrades and champagne.etc. When we got back to our room later that afternoon, there was champagne on ice and a basket of fruit with his compliments. We looked forward to every meal because of the selection and quallity. Absolutely first class, also there was always music being played at each meal, be it piano, classic guitar etc, which was inobtrusive but beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment on tripadvisor and especially for your trust in our Dreamplace Hotels & Resorts. We are happy to hear that you appreciate your stays in our hotels and the surprises of our management so much. It is nice to hear that you enjoy the high quality of our food, rooms and cleanliness of our hotels. Our staff always give their best to enable you an amazing and unforgettable vacation. We are really looking forward to seeing you next time to guarantee you the best service again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,532
    467
    122
    54
    42
See reviews for
724
1,100
39
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks and came home so relaxed.There is no rush and bustle in this excellent hotel.Greeted with a welcome cold drink( orange or cava).The rooms are spacious and clean and very comfortable, with a great bathroom offering a power shower in a separate cubicle as well as a shower over the bath.We always stay in 5* and this is the first one to have toothbrushes and toothpaste/razors and shaving gel/ plus combs as well as the usual standard toiletries.( also bathrobe and slippers)
We had a room with partial sea view and a very large balcony with a fold away clothes dryer on it, which was very useful.
The breakfast was the best we have ever had .There is so much choice, in fact I cannot believe anyone would be disappointed.( even chips and vegetables!!)There is an omelette station and eggs are cooked to order ....a very enjoyable long relaxed breakfast with coffee and hot milk topped up by very efficient waiters.Breakfast can be eaten in or out of doors.
There was entertainment every evening of varying standards, but the Three Tenors Tribute are not to be missed, they really were excellent, and made for a very enjoyable evening.
The hotel is in a perfect location.Out of the bottom gate , across the road turn right and onto the Del Duque beach, or keep walking along the tarmac path for a lovely seaside walk.Or turn left and keep to the coastal walk to get to the Fanabe Beach ( lots and lots of retaurants) keep going and you reach the Americas and then Los Christianos...we caught the bus to Los Christianos, but walked back.The next time we waked there and back, with no great effort, just a lovely long pleasant stroll.
There are some fabulous shops just outside the hotel in the Del Duque shopping centre.We ate in the shopping centre food hall, great food at a reasonable price.There is also a small supermarket in there too with very reasonable priced drinks.The fridge in the room is empty (you can request it to be stocked by the hotel) but we stocked it with drinks from the supermarket.
The staff are unobtrusive but very efficient, there when you need them.Reception staff are excellent and speak so many different languages,as lots of Germans/Swedes and Russians stay here.When one of the 'Three tenors' asked where people in the audience were from , we appeared to be the only English people there.
If you stay B*B ( as we did)you can purchase evening meals at the hotel at a reduced rate , pay for 5 and get 6) otherwise it is 40 euros pppn.We ate quite a few times in the Italian restaurant( owned by the hotel) which is just outside the bottom gate.Great service and food. You will be spoiled for choice when eating out as there is something for everyone a few minutes walk from the Tacande.
Would have liked more English channels on the TV, as there was only Sky News, but we did find a couple of channels that had subtitled films on occasionally, the sofa and the large armchair were very comfortable, so watching TV was fine, better than lounging around on the bed which we have had to do in some hotels.
The Wi Fi is free, and was set up for me on both my ipad and Macbook by a lovely young woman from reception.It worked well in the reception area where the signal was stronger but it also worked in our room and on the balcony albeit a little slow at times, but it was free so no complaints there.
We will most definitely be returning to this excellent hotel.

Did not use the Spa or the pools so cannot rate them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BAW456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your really good comment on tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you had a really relaxing and an excellent vacation in our Dream Gran Tacande 5*. It is nice to hear that you liked your room so much and also the equipment we put in for you and that you had the best breakfast ever in our hotel. Our animation team appreciate that you enjoyed the entertainment a lot and that you mentioned it. Our hotel is placed at the Playa del Duque, one of the best beaches in the south of Tenerife, and along the beach there are many bars and restaurants where you can spend your time, also in the Plaza del Duque next to our hotel. We apologize for the small amount of English channels, but it is good that you tell us the problem, so that we can solve it. We are happy to hear that the staff enabled you such an excellent stay, because they work hard to implement that. We are looking forward to see you again in our Dream Gran Tacande 5*. There is also a special 5% discount for repeaters who book directly with us.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was our fourth stay at Tacande and it was just as good as our others. The friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff (this includes a gardener who directed us and decorators who were working by our room) is one of the things that makes this hotel special. Many of the waiters were familiar to us from previous visits and welcomed us like old friends.
The rooms are large and comfortable. I don't understand previous comments made about the beds, we found them extremely comfy. Bathrooms, I think, exceptional. There's never a problem finding a sunbed (although we had a problem finding the sun this year due to a storm in the Atlantic, this can't be blamed on the hotel!)
The food is varied and good quality, especially the breakfasts, we especially liked the Chinese selection.Wide ranging and often excellent evening entertainment. The tribute bands were exceptional we thought.
Only problem we had was that we had upgraded to half board deluxe which included late check out from the room. Admittedly it did state "depending on availability" but reception didn't explain we had to check availabilty, we assumed they would let us know if not available. This resulted in us being told at 1.30pm on departure day the room was needed, by which time all the complimentary rooms used for late check out had been booked. Reception did apologise for the misunderstanding and I suppose these things happen but it rather spoilt the last day.
This in no way affected our enjoyment of the holiday, our intention to return in the future or our opinion of an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you very much for you good comment on tripadvisor and especially for your trust in our Dream Gran Tacande 5* and that you plan to return. We are happy that you like our rooms especially the cleanliness, the beds and the bathroom so much. It is also nice to hear that you liked the variety and quality of our food and that you really savored that. We apologize for the trouble with your late check out, our staff always try to enable you an amazing holiday, but sometimes it is hard, like in this case, when there was no availability of rooms in our hotel. But we are really glad, that that did not affect your enjoyment of the holiday or your opinion of our hotel. We are looking forward to welcome you back in our Dream Gran Tacande 5*.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUblin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 10 nights in February. We were upgraded free to a suite which was fantastic, two rooms and the biggest bathroom I've ever seen with a massive jacuzzi bath! Room was cleaned spotlessly everyday and a turn down service every evening. My only problem was the balcony which was a big L shape had no sun at any time of the day which is a bit disappointing but saying that can't really complain when we got such a fantastic free upgrade ! Plus a free bottle of champagne on ice was sent to our room with some chocolates which was just so lovely of the hotel, we really apprappreciated these personal touches.

The hotel itself it in an ideal location, thats if you like to be away from from all bars and restaurants but close enough to walk. The beach is on your doorstep and in my opinon its the nicest beach on the island. It is a very up market area but saying that you're only a walk away from other areas (the coastal beach walk is lovely with all bars and restaurants along the way)

We were on a B&B basis and found the choice was plentifull and the staff were really lovely especially with our two little girls.

The Pools are exceptionally cold, probably the time of year, and lots of areas to sun yourself, some more private than others, then is you want a change of scene the beach is 2 minutes away!

My only slight complaint was being asked to pay in full on arrival. I have travelled all over the world and have never ever been asked this but the reception staff were quite convinced that this is the normal practice. I am so glad to hear other people staying here were asked to do the same because to be honest I really felt I was the only one being asked and that there was trust issues but I see now they ask everyone and this is how they do business. I really think they need to re-evaluate this point because first impression is everything and being asked to pay upfront before you even get the service isn't normal or proper practice! That said when I explained it would be a few days before the funds are in my account to pay, they were totally understandable and I was allowed a few days.

Our room had 2 massive flat screen TV's but no english channels, so we hired a dvd player for the kids and we also needed to hire a buggy inwhich the reception looked after this straight away and we got the dvd and buggy within an hour.

The bar has shows everynight, not a great atmosphere in the bar, they could really do with re-arranging the stage and seating and maybe all in all making the hotel more child friendly with more for them to do.

The Spa was amazing and we were given 2 free entries which was super.

I would totally recommend this hotel, so much so that we are returning this year and as loyal returning customers the hotel has offered us a brilliant price to return which we will be taking up.

Ideal quiter location with everything on your doorstep. Wonderful staff great selection of food and beautiful surroundings. Well done Gran Tacande.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sun on the balcony, alot of the rooms don't !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celinag79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your good comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate a lot that you enjoyed your time so much and that you would totally recommend our Dream Gran Tacande 5*. We are happy that you liked your room and especially the big bathroom with the Jacuzzi. Our staff works hard to enable you an amazing stay in our hotel, like they did to you with the upgrade for free, the champagne in your room and the dvd player and buggy for your kids. We are glad that you really appreciate that. It is also nice to hear that you like the area of our hotel including the Playa del Duque, one of the best beaches in the south of Tenerife, the Plaza del Duque, an exclusive shopping centre, and a lot of really good restaurants and bars. It is good that you tell us the atmosphere in the bar so we can take care of this problem. We are happy that you enjoyed our Spa Vitanova so much with its high quality treatments to relax and that you, especially your girls, liked the high quality and variety of our food. We are looking forward to seeing you again this year in our Dream Gran Tacande 5*.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Well I have just returned from this hotel and had a great time as usual.The staff were very friendly and the food and rooms extremely good. At the time we were there they were repairing a number of floor areas around the pool which they needed to use a rather loud drill. i went to see the manager who explained the situation and said it would they would only use the offending device between 9.30 and 11.00 in the morning which was ok as we just went for a walk after breakfast.
The manager also offered to pay for an excursion or transport us to any other hotel in the group to sun bathe which i thought was good I didnt bother. if they had told people what was going to happen I would not have even complained may be a little fault there
All in all great time had by all the area around is fantastic and not quite as busy as Las Americas which is what we like
Finally just booked to return in April for my wifes retirement

Room Tip: we like to look into the hotel Del Duc grounds which are extemly green and plush even in the hieght...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scunnyLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your good comment on tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you extremely liked our friendly and professional staff and the high quality food. We apologize for the trouble with the noise; we had to renovate the pool area. But as you said, all clients who felt uncomfortable with this matter received an voucher from us to enjoy their time there. We are glad that this did not affect your opinion about our hotel and you still enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in our Dream Gran Tacande 5* in April. We also offer a special 5% discount with extras for repeaters who book directly with us.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed at the Dream Tacande with my wife for 7 days in Feb and we had a very good time. We have stayed in Adeje on numerous occasions and we have utilised numerous hotels. Check in seemed a bit laboured as the receptionist was intent on selling us an upgrade to deluxe service which we eventually agreed to . For €17 per day per person we were promised upgrades to a la carte meals and spa access. We were not advised that the restaurant is only available on Tuesdays and Fridays.Our room was spacious and comfortable and was spotlessly cleaned.My biggest complaint was the channels available on the room tv .Although there were over 100 channels they were all sSpanish German etc and only Sky news and Bbc news in English.The spa service was good and food was veried well cooked and plentiful.Staff were very efficient and helpful. We ejoyed our stay but we prefer the Iberostar Anthelia located a short distance away

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimmyt62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment on tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you had a very good time in our Dream Gran Tacande 5*. We really would like to know, why you prefer the el Anthelia, this is really interesting for us. With half board deluxe you profit advantages like daily newspaper in your room, daily Thermal Circuit and 15 min. DOSHA massage, traditional Spanish Tapas, late check out on the last day (until 16h), a DREAMPLACE gift and more. We apologize for the amount of English channels; it is good to let us know that, so that we can take care of that. It is really nice to hear that you liked your room and the cleanliness here, our food and that you appreciate our efficient and helpful staff. We hope there will be another opportunity to attmept to satisfy all your needs completely in our Dream Gran Tacande 5*.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frydek-Mistek, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
134 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Yes it was definitely the worst holiday ever for me and my family... We wanted to go by travel agency to Jardines de Nivaria hotel but working duties changed our plans so we decided to go individually and instead of coming to the airport Sur we landed in Tenerife Norte. First problem started with car which was to small for me but willing staffer in the rental cars agency helped me to solved this problem. Finally we went to the hotel in Nissan.We arrived around midnight and first surprise came in the reception when I had to pay all stay in advance...They had my credit card and I´ve had pay the deposit......It has never happened to me to pay in advance when I had reservation and it showed big distrust to Czech tourist....And this is 5 star hotel??? Not.

Ok we came to the room. The room itself was very uncomfortable with hard beds. I had to call for extra blanket because it was cold and humid. After two days of stay my wife and me got some intestinal problems from food may be poisoning. I felt quite good but my wife got a fever and we had to call for doctor. First visit was Ok he prescribed antibiotics and she felt better for a while. In the afternoon we went to the Loro Park with my son and it was the only good while of our stay.
After return my son got a fever as well and we had to call for doctor again. This time came quite good doctor and looks profesionally.

On Friday my wife was getting worse and we called for doctor for the third time. And the nightmare culminated. He recommended hospitalization and called for ambulance. We refused it but ambulance arrived and we went to the hospital. I have to say that I had travel insurance but all times I had to pay cash and I felt like a thief....In the hospital bad behaviour continued and we decide to stop this suffering and escaped..After critical night we went to the airport and my wife with problems held out the flight and on Monday morning we came to our doctor at home. All treatment was bad in the island and it confirmed my feeling of bad and unwilling people there...

Let me say a couple of words about other things in hotel. The breakfasts were ok but the dinners were really bad with lack of choices. Tha spa was may be the only positive thing of hotel...The pool area was small with plastic beds (5 star Hotel???). The areas in hotels were unpleasant looked cold and dark. The management showed the lack of nterest every time.

Fortunately we are at home now and I will never go to this hotel and unfortunately I will never go to Tenerife..Please avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank DoctorCube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment on tripadvisor. First of all we are happy to hear that you liked the breakfast and the Spa Vitanova in our Dream Gran Tacande 5*. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay on Tenerife so much. We cannot influence the flight, when you book with a travel agency you should talk to them about that problem. In all four hotels of Dreamplace Hotels & Resorts it is normal to pay the stay at your arrival, normally the clients a fine with this matter. We are sorry that you did not like the bed and that you did not like the dinner. Our hotel also has two other restaurants besides the Zurrón: The Restaurant Bocana (a la carta) and the Restaurant Portofino (Italian). We are sorry that you wife and you son became sick there, but we have not heard from another client who ate in our restaurant any sickness. Maybe the change of the temperature caused the sickness. We also do not have any influence on the doctors’ treatment. We hope there will be another opportunity to demonstrate the high quality of our hotel without any trouble.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.3 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
5,445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.3 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.7 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#32 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,036 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#20 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje

Property: Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
Address: Alcalde Walter Paetzmann s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Dream Hotel Gran Tacande)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#11 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the exclusive Costa Adeje area, beside Playa del Duque, in a glorious setting overlooking the sea with a beautiful view of southern Tenerife and the Island of La Gomera. This magnificent Canary mansion offers a peaceful and intimate atmosphere, splendid gardens and swimming pools for relaxation and enjoyment - the perfect spot for an unforgettable break. The construction is divided in four colonial style blocks: Sansofe, San Sebastian, Malpais and Casa Fuerte. Gran Tacande · Wellness & Relax not only offers magnificent seaviews from its rooms and suites, but also top Canary, national and international cuisine in its exquisite and pleasantly discrete restaurants. Take in the relaxing atmosphere of the “Vitanova Spa” thalassotherapy centre, where you can benefit from the thermal waters and special treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Hotel Costa Adeje
Dream Resort Costa Adeje
Gran Tacande Tenerife
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing