We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit and no regrets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Second visit and no regrets”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

It's my second review on this hotel. If you'd like all details feel free to consult my first and very detailed review.
My second visit was even better, due to the fact that they upgraded my room to a junior suite (room 155 - 70m²) with a jacuzzi, so happy me !
They've also invested in Wifi in all rooms, which is new. Quality of the Wifi is good (they use the Wifimundo 3G network) and it's for free.
I also recognized a lot of staffmembers that I met a year ago. Like for a company, always good when the staff stays. That means that it's a good place to work...and that is reflected on their customers.
Service is even better than for most 5* hotels in Europe. They guide you to the rooms, explain everything you need to know and verify that everything is OK and in line with expectations. A few hours later you'll get a call from reception to ask wether everything is OK and if you need anything else.
For the readers I add the following useful info : In the rooms the minibar can be used as a Fridge (free of charge) and the safe is large enough for a laptop (and also free of charge)
What else has changed : real fresh squeezed juice (made in front of you) at breakfast...unseen in tourist hotels !
Will certainly go back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Kurt_B7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your really good comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate a lot that you highly recommend our Dream Gran Tacande 5* and that you are planning to visit us again. We are glad that you liked the upgrade and your large room. Yes, in every room includes WIFI, a safe and a mini bar free of charge. It is really nice to hear that you appreciate our staff and their service so much. They are really motivated to enable you an amazing and comfortable stay in our hotel, so that you can relax completely. We are looking forward to seeing you in our Dream Gran Tacande 5* again. There is also a special 5% discount with extras for repeaters who book directly with us.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,517
    459
    117
    51
    37
See reviews for
713
1,078
38
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

OVERALL & LOCATION
The hotel situates only 50 meters from the prestigious beach of Duque. Nice restaurants and shops nearby. The whole area is peaceful and upscale.
It is surrounded by other 5-star hotels. Although, our family would rate Gran Tacande more like a good 4-star hotel. It does not have the luxury feeling and the attention to details that is paid by the 5-star hotels. Also, Gran Tacande does not have character.
Which, in a way, might be even good - the hotel is not snobbish, but down to earth and friendly.
Reception speaks multiple languages, even Russian.
Luckily, the hotel is not very large, so it won’t take 10 minutes from room to restaurant as in many others.

ROOMS
Very clean. OK size. Rather quiet because of double doors!
They have a pillow menu for picky people.
Each room is equipped with new flat screen TV-sets with lots of channels in different languages.
Free Wi-Fi in rooms!
TIP: Half of the rooms face north-west, which means no sun. These rooms are also colder.

FOOD
The buffet food in mornings and especially evenings is excellent. Freshly cooked fish & meat, fresh pasta & smoothies, etc.
In the evening, all drinks (incl. water) cost extra.
Coffee is no good.
They do deliver complimentary breakfast straight to room on the day of arrival if one leaves before breakfast time.

POOLS
All the pools have ocean water! Healthy option for lazy people
Some pools are heated. And there is a small heated jacuzzi outside as well.

CHILDREN
During winter time, Mini Club (actually a single room with a sunless terrace) is open by request. The hotel provides very nice and friendly nursemaids.
Unfortunately, no mini discos during winter.
Heated children’s pool outside has sun all the day.
Few steps out of the area, on the promenade, Bahia Del Duque hotel offers really good ice cream :)

ENTERTAINMENT
The adult entertainment is somewhere between average and poor. It was sad to watch the island-trapped "artists" who perform without any passion.
Yet another reason the hotel is not quite 5-star.

GYM
Large and very well equipped.

SPA
The hotel is connected to a small spa. Well... for us the ocean, sun and breeze are more spa than any spa can be.
For massage they charge between 40 and 90 euros.

AND FINALLY... SOME LOCAL WEIRDNESS
At Gran Tacande they do not bring iron to your room upon request. They claimed, it is prohibited by hotel rules :)
Haven't faced such an awkward situation anywhere in the world before. Finally, they offered an iron for rent - 10 euros per week.
For those, going first time to Tenerife – there is no kettles in any rooms of any hotels.

Room Tip: Half of the rooms face north-west, which means no sun. These rooms are also colder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emalendur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your really good comment on tripadvisor. We are happy that you had a peaceful holiday in our Dream Gran Tacande 5*. Our hotel is placed at the Playa del Duque, one of the best beaches of the south of Tenerife, and there are also a lot of nice bars and restaurant, where you can enjoy your time and the shopping centre Plaza del Duque. It is nice to hear that you liked our rooms and the equipment. We are really happy to hear that you liked the high quality food of our restaurants so much. All of our pools include high quality saltwater and two of them are heated. We are happy that your children enjoyed the mini club, although there is no mini disco during winter. It is really difficult to meat everyone’s taste with entertainment, but our animation team give their best to amuse all our clients. It is nice to hear that you liked the Spa Vitanova and the gym in our hotel. Basically there are no kettles or irons or other facilities like that, but it is possible to rent that at the reception. We hope we can welcome you back in our Dream Gran Tacande 5*.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Dark and dingy entrance. However, good location.
Fag butts around the entrance, and generally worn. corridors worn, dingy, little light.
Beds appalling for 5 *, very poor quality mattresses as can be found in cheap, self catering accomodation and probably the biggest dissapointment because a good nights sleep is most important of all - no Dream hotel, dream on !!!!
Dinning tables laid well, not squashed together and clean upholstered chairs.
Food not great for 5 star because they do not clean or change the serving utensils which get gummed up with food and the handles sticky. Neither do they replenish the trays during the evening, if you enjoy eating later then 7.30pm beware, there is not much left and looks like very depleted. Nothing special, just ok, but breakfast good.
Would not stay here again

Room Tip: Avoid service entrance for early morning garbage noise. This is difficult question - you could have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myscreen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment on tripadvisor. Our Dream Gran Tacande 5* is placed at the Playa del Duque, one of the best beaches in the south of Tenerife, and there are also a lot of nice restaurants and bars along the beach and the shopping centre Plaza del Duque, where you can enjoy your time. We are happy that you really liked that. We are sorry that you did not like the bed and the corridors in our hotel. It is not always easy to meet everyone’s taste. We are sorry that you felt uncomfortable in our restaurant. Our staff keeps the dining area clean all the time, and the chefs prepare fresh food the whole evening. We are glad to hear that you liked the breakfast. Maybe there will be another opportunity to demonstrate you the high quality of our Dream Gran Tacande 5* and to satisfy all your needs.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We decided to stay in two 5 star hotels on our trip to Tenerife. The first was the Cleopatra in Playa Las Americas. The second was the Tacande. There was no comparison. The Tacande is a superior hotel by miles.

We had a slight problem on arrival but that was sorted out with great efficiency by the reception staff.
We stayed for 5 days and had room 165 a suite overlooking the sea and towards La Gomera. Fantastic sunsets and sun on the balcony from around 10 o clock. The suite has two balonies, one with an outdoor jacuzzi bath and sunloungers. The other is angled around the corner with a wicker settee and chairs. Very nice for an evening sundowner bottle of wine or cava.

The rooms are huge with one bedroom complete with LCD TV and canopied bed. You then have a large living room with TV and settees with a dining table and chairs.
All of this furniture is of excellent quality.

The pool area is very nice with no problems getting a sunbed. They have foam mattreses for the sunbeds which add to your comfort. Everything feels laid back and even though the hotel was busy you always could find a secluded spot.

All the bar and reception areas have a large cool airy feel. Large staircases and marble everywhere. The restaraunt is spacious and offers a varied menu for everyone. They have a Chinese chef complete with wok if you fancy a change. They have a wide variety of meat and fish and the chef will cook this to order for you on the hotplate. Breakfast has a massive array of fruits, cheeses, meats, preserves and cooked to order omlettes and eggs. The quality of produce is excellent.

Entertainment is nightly and the acts are pretty good. The surrounding area is probably the best you will find. Great beaches, cafes, bars and restaraunts all within an easy walk. Nice walking along the seafront. Turn right the little fishing port of La Calletta and some lovely fish restaraunts. Or right towards Playa Las Americas or further on to Los Cristianos. I would recommend Harriets Tea Rooms nearby for a nice afternoon tea.

My only gripe is the lack of British TV stations. You get BBC and Sky news but no major UK channels. Anyway with fantastic January sunshine we were not there to watch much TV.

All in all the Tacande was probably one of the nicest hotel we have stayed in. They have probably the most valuble asset any hotel can have.....Superb staff!

Thank you Tacande. We shall return

Room Tip: Some rooms are not in the sun. Thats probably good in mid summer but book a sea view room to ensure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Salfordfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your really good comment on tripadvisor. Our management is very happy about your really good opinion about our Dream Gran Tacande 5* and that you had a fabulous stay, much better than in other hotels. It is very nice to hear that you liked your room, the balconies with a great view and our excellent furniture. All our pools include high quality saltwater and we are glad that you enjoyed our pool area. It is really nice to hear that you liked the high quality and variety of our food so much. We apologize for the amount of English channels; it is good that you tell us that problem, so that we can take care of it. We are also happy that you were satisfied with the service of our reception staff. If you have any problem, request or wish, just tell them about that and they will immediately take care of it. We hope we will welcome you back in our Dream Gran Tacande 5*. We also offer a special 5% discount with extras for repeaters who book directly with us.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

After my fitfh stay at this hotel hereby my conclusion.
Perfect location in the center of the Costa Adeje, 100 m from the sea, 100 m from the Playa del Duque.
It is a 5 star hotel however a 6 star nomination should be more correct.
Great rooms, excellent restaurant and the dedication of the staff is nearly perfect.
We will be back.

Willy Vanhemelryck
Belgium

Room Tip: Aal rooms are OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Vanhemelryck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your really good comment on tripadvisor. Our management appreciate your very good opinion and your trust in our Dream Gran Tacande 5* a lot. We are happy that you like the location of our hotel. The Playa del Duque is one of the best beaches in the south of Tenerife and also the shopping centre Plaza de Duque, the bars and the restaurants in this area are really nice. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your room, the food and especially the fantastic service of our staff. We are looking forward to seeing you again in our Dream Gran Tacande 5*.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 511 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

In general this is a spacious, clean and comfortable hotel very well situated near the beach, yet has areas of disappointment which fall well short of its 5 star classification.
CHECK IN
The receptionist is a multi tasker. While she checks you in she answers the phone, deals with queries from other guests, converses with her colleagues in Spanish and in consequence, check in is not a swift affair. She then asks if we would like a welcome drink. We reply in the affirmative but are asked to return later when it is not so busy. There are only 2 other couples waiting to check in so un professional at best, plain bad manners at worst.

ROOM
We emailed the hotel in advance requesting a high floor quiet room. We got the high floor alright but it was a room with an inter connecting door. The result was a lot of noise when our lively young neighbours arrived back late at night. Next morning we requested a room change which the reception manager readily agreed to. We were given a room on the first floor adjacent to the outside restaurant. Each morning at 0645 restaurant staff push trollys of crockery etc down the tiled hallway. Does the reception manager not even know where the quiet rooms are in his own hotel.

TV
Flat screen with multi channels in Spanish, German and Italian, even a few French. Only English language stations are a couple of News Channels. Obviously English speaking guests are way down the priority list at this property.

EVENING ENTERTAINMENT

One word sums it up, DIRE. Played mostly to a half empty hall. We spent most of our evenings in other hotels.

Disappointing experience, would not return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank redhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment on tripadvisor. First of all we are happy that you mentioned that our hotel is spacious, clean and comfortable and very well suited. We apologize that you did not completely enjoy your holiday and that you felt uncomfortable at your check in. Our reception manager always tries to fulfill all wishes of our clients, but it is not always possible to realize your room request, because this depends on the availability of the rooms in the hotel. It is good that you inform us about the TV and the entertainment, so that we can improve that matter. We hope there will be another opportunity to demonstrate you the good service of our Dream Gran Tacande 5* and to satisfy all your needs.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent 11 days in this hotel last summer. I agree with all the reviews praising Gran Tacande for its superb location and its vast spotless rooms. The worst thing we had to face during our stay was the rudeness of the staff in the main restaurant. Probably they just despise Russians and don't want them to make a part of englishspeaking highbrow society((( This fact is rather disappoing. Won't come to this place anymore.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Olga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, General Manager at Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Olga,
Firstly thank you for your kind words regarding our location and our rooms. But I hope you understand that we cannot permit being accused of discriminatory treatment to any nationality. Not only we take care equally of every guest, but also we try to have workers of different nationalities to better personalize the service. In every department of the hotel, there are Russian workers to facilitate the stay to guest of this nationality. As a sample of our good work with this nationality, I would ask you to have a look at three comments, one on 6th January, another Sept. 19th and another more on May 13th. Two of them are from dates close to the date of your stay (6 months before this comment). But I insist that it is just a sample of comments, you can investigate further and realize that the treatment we give to russian guests is really good because the Russian guests value our service very well. If your accusation is due to some particular situation we would appreciate you contact us to give you explanations about that or take any action if necessary, but we do not accept being accused without any objective data. I urge you to visit us again to spot check that our good service is the same to any nationality.
Kind Regards
General Manager Hotel Gran Tacande
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.3 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.3 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#21 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bahia del Duque
Bahia del Duque
#10 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje

Property: Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
Address: Alcalde Walter Paetzmann s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Dream Hotel Gran Tacande)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the exclusive Costa Adeje area, beside Playa del Duque, in a glorious setting overlooking the sea with a beautiful view of southern Tenerife and the Island of La Gomera. This magnificent Canary mansion offers a peaceful and intimate atmosphere, splendid gardens and swimming pools for relaxation and enjoyment - the perfect spot for an unforgettable break. The construction is divided in four colonial style blocks: Sansofe, San Sebastian, Malpais and Casa Fuerte. Gran Tacande · Wellness & Relax not only offers magnificent seaviews from its rooms and suites, but also top Canary, national and international cuisine in its exquisite and pleasantly discrete restaurants. Take in the relaxing atmosphere of the “Vitanova Spa” thalassotherapy centre, where you can benefit from the thermal waters and special treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Hotel Costa Adeje
Dream Resort Costa Adeje
Gran Tacande Tenerife
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing