We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“On a par with more expensive 5-star hotels!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“On a par with more expensive 5-star hotels!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife & I booked this hotel on their internet website, getting a 15% discount for early booking. We booked what is a standard room with half-board. In summary, here are our thoughts:

ROOM:
Very spacious, well decorated and tastefully furnished. Use of safe is free, bathroom has two sinks, a bath & shower and a separate shower cubicle with body jets. No problems with water pressure! TV with 100+ channels, only a handful of English speaking ones though. Room has a fridge, notice says it's not to be used for your own purchases however we put allsorts of things in it and nobody bothered. Outdoor lights on balcony are a bit on the dim side, I removed the covers each evening to get a bit more light to allow me to read! Bed was comfortable, pillows fine, extra blankets available if you need them. Rooms are spacious! The view we got was of the outdoor dining area, I think probably one of the better standard-view rooms. Be warned, some of the standard rooms don't have much of a view at all.

FOOD:
Breakfast was impressive, everything you could wish for! Cava available, fresh smoothies, freshly squeezed orange juice and quality hot chocolate! Dinner was equally impressive, the quality of the food was very good. Menu changes daily, although each day there was the option of Chinese food cooked by a guy who knew what he was doing! Also on a few occasions there was fresh sushi. Dinner & breakfast can be eaten inside or outside. As with all of these hotels I've been to the deserts tend to be of the mass-produced, freshly defrosted variety. Gran Tacande was sadly no exception, but that's only a minor thing. I would rate the food top-marks and I'm a picky eater!

POOL AREA:
Three pools, the main one which was good for swimming, a smaller heated pool and a jacuzzi. Pool was a bit chilly at first, but OK once you get used to it. We managed to get sunbeds no probs! Outdoor area was clean, well maintained and certanly looked impressive. Towels can be changed daily.

LOCALITY:
Hotel is in front of the beach and by the main Plaza Del Duque shopping centre, for those who like top-end designer labels! There is a nice walk along the front stretching from La Caleta down to Playa Fanabe and along to Los Cristianos (if you're keen). Area is quiet.

ENTERTAINMENT:
We never really bother, so it would be unfair of me to comment on it. We did see the Abba tribute evening which was OK, although I must have seen Abba tribute acts scores of times in Tenerife! Entertainment was targeted at 45+ audience (I would say).

WI-FI:
Free! I've never been to a resort hotel that does free wi-fi, so big plus points! OK connection in room and round pool. You need to get the code from reception and set it up, but once that's done it's easy enough.

BAR:
Cocktails were very good! Bar prices were very reasonable, I find you usually pay inflated prices for drinks in hotels, but not the case in Gran Tacande.

PARKING:
Hotel has it's own under:ground parking, perrfect if you don't want to get into a car that's been sitting in the sun all day. Car park is secure and entry is by the room card-key. Be warned though, if you do hire a car the hotel prices are twice the price of the hire car companies at the airport. We use Auto Reisen who are good.

OTHER GUESTS:
Mainly Germain, Spanish and Russian. Most other guests were 50+, with a few younger families. Not really geared up for children/toddlers, it seems to be a hotel for those after a quiet, but luxurious break.

SPA:
Hotel has an on-site spa. You get a complimentary spa circuit pass. We found the spa to be very relaxing and if you did want a treatment, it wasn't as expensive as other hotels would charge.

GRIPES:
Only gripe was the humming noise from the air-con all night which we got used to. You can hear it when all is quiet and you're in bed, relaxed. Also, not a bit problem, but I thought that the chain's brochure from 2008/09 could've been updated. Also, bizarrely, the reception staff didn't have any brochures/details for the other hotels in their chain, we were pointed towards the internet! Final gripe is that the entertainment is usually outside, meaning that you're treated to it whether you like it or not until about 11pm.

FINAL THOUGHTS:
Would definitely return! We paid less for this hotel than others of comparable quality, so it was very good value for money. Also in taking into account the extras other hotels charge for (safe, wi-fi), again it represented a saving. Good location, helpful staff, overall a very enjoyable experience!

Room Tip: Standard rooms overlooking the eating area were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank chief270974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,412
    421
    105
    44
    22
See reviews for
652
979
36
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have recently returned from a 4 night stay at the Hotel Gran Tacande. We stayed at the Vincci Plantation (also in Adeje) 2 years ago but were looking for a hotel closer to the seafront. This hotel was perfect. From the champagne on arrival, very welcome after a 4.5 hour flight from the UK and a 4 am start, the large and spacious room overlooking the sea (we were upgraded from a standard room), the violinist at breakfast (a very civilised start to the day!), the pool area, and the fact that you could exit the hotel from the pool area and were right on the front where the best shops, bars and restaurants are located all contributed to the perfect break. One of the hotel's best assets is its staff who were so friendly, welcoming and efficient, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast buffet was one of the best we have ever experienced and it appeared that we and most of our fellow guests were enjoying a complimentary glass of excellent Cava with our breakfast - in spite of the early hour it seemed quite normal whilst on vacation sitting in the sunshine!! Our beds were extremely comfortable, the room was quiet and the TV remote worked well. Toiletries in the room were excellent and plentiful. The shower worked well with plentiful hot water. Minor gripes - the bath towels were rather small and I wish they could repair the loops on the bathrobes. The hotel information folder in the room had seen better days and a list of recommended restaurants and a hotel postcard would have been nice. We will definitely be booking again for the same time next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pauline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have recently returned from an eight night break at this wonderful Hotel. We could not have enjoyed better service from the moment we stepped out of our Taxi.

The staff on reception greeted us with a smile and a complimentary drink at the bar whilst our bags were taken to our room.

It was my Wife's 50th Birthday and the Hotel upgraded us to a suite with a wonderful Jaccuzi Hot Tub laid with rose petals, a chilled bottle of Carva and a basket of fruit ..... a very nice touch.

The rooms were spotless and well maintained as was the rest of the Hotel and the service from every member of staff was 100% at all times.

We booked half board and found the food both at breakfast and in the evening to be of a very high quality with a hugh range of choice that should cover all preferences.

The pool area was very well maintained and staffed, although the Hotel was almost full we had no problems finding a sun bed at any time of day.

The Hotel is situated in one of the best upmarket areas of Tenerife within the excellant del Duque beach area, a side gate from the pool area gives you a two minute walk to the del Duque white beach and Promenade.

We would highly recomend this Hotel and it's wonderful staff and will certainly book again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viscount123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

A really good hotel with all the facilities required for an amazing holiday. The staff went out of their way to please and be helpful. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. I was staying in a junior suite which was great, but after a slight problem with the air conditioning, was moved to a suite - wow! More like an apartment!
The food was fantastic - a superb breakfast with everything you could wish for. The evening meal was also excellent with an incredible array of choice.
The weather while I was there was not brilliant which made it even more important to be in a good hotel and Gran Tacanda ticked all the boxes. I would recommend it whle heartedly without reservation.

Room Tip: A junior suite is well worth having
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just returned from our first holiday in this hotel and cannot praise the staff and accommodation highly enough! Unfortunately we had a very rainy week but the experience of staying in this hotel ensured that our holiday did not suffer at all .Our suite was immaculate, spotless and very comfortable. Unfortunately the extreme wet weather caused our bedroom window to leak but within 30 minutes the maintenance staff had resealed the window and left the floor totally dry. Every area of the hotel was clean, tidy and beautifully decorated.
ALL the staff throughout the hotel were extremely polite, friendly and very keen to ensure that our holiday was an unforgettably wonderful experience. The evening entertainment was thoroughly enjoyable and varied throughout the week. Our flight home was not till the evening and we were provided with a courtesy room of the same standard as our accommodation to shower and change in.
All in all, we have to say that this hotel provided a perfect holiday of very high standard and comfort.
We will definitely be returning next year and will recommend the hotel to all our friends.
Roll on next year!!!!

Room Tip: Am sure that each and every room in the hotel are of the same high quality and comfort as ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annebsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I spend load of time in large starred hotel and try to avoid them on holiday, to go for B&B instead, instead of what I call "Concrete resort factory". Since we were very unlucky with the weather, we decided to go for these, to enjoy the facilties and entertainment... But I have to admit that I was very pleased by the quality of the rooms and scenic view... The Buffet had loads of choices, but the atmosphere was a bit too "Cantine" like (very factory like)...

The staff was nice and considering we made a Walkin, I was very please with the room, Dream says it all... Great location, great maintenance, great rooms, You really can't miss your holiday going there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimJimBel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Excellent hotel, very imposing entrance & reception. Rooms were excellent, serviced daily. Meals were excellent, great standard & choice, both at breakfast and evening meal.
Rooms were large and had a view of pools and sea and the surrounding area was very pleasant, with a good variety of restaurants nearby.
The only moan I have is that I would have liked water in the rooms, but other than that, the whole experience was great. 5* quality at a reasonable price!

Room Tip: We paid for a normal twin room and a sea view double (approx £300 difference) and we got 2 rooms nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Adeje
0.2 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#15 of 58 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,988 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
1.2 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Hotel Jardin Tropical
#20 of 58 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje

Property: Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
Address: Alcalde Walter Paetzmann s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Dream Hotel Gran Tacande)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Hotel Costa Adeje
Dream Resort Costa Adeje
Gran Tacande Tenerife
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing