We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 Word - Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2011

There isn't one thing i could complain about this hotel. Food was fantastic, So much choice, so much of it and so tasty! Waiters just kept bringing more and more so the food never ran low! Staff are so friendly will never walk past without a smile or saying hello! There are 2 pools, one is heated, the other is not, there is also a kids pool, they are spotless and never crowded. Plenty of sunbeds for everyone. Every part of the hotel was spotless and the maids cleaned the rooms every day. Plenty of lifts. There's a great gym by the pool area and loads of entertainment all day and night. The nightlife wasn't as good because it was December but i suppose if you went in the Summer it would be brilliant and that's what everyone else also said. There are 3 bars and different entertainment takes place there every night. The hotel's located in a brilliant place, lovely view of the beach, shops and quiet bars accross the road and around the corner. Even though we went in the start of December, the weather was still lovely, very warm! The hotel was just great - no other word to describe it, best hotel i've been to and would most definately go there again without a doubt!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonzwmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,596 - 2,602 of 3,874 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2011

We went to the ibereostar bouganville for our honeymoon, on arrival we were treated to a very pleasant cocktail drink. We stayed on the ninth floor with a sea veiw, the rooms were basic and could do with a bit of upgrading. The room was cleaned every day, we also had clean linen everyday, the food was very good with plenty of choice. The beach was near but be aware !, there are 72 steps down to the beach and its a trek to go up them, so if your'e short of breath or disabled take this into account!!. The resort itself was lovely but we were in adeje and its quite a way from most of the nightlife in playa. The cost of a taxi from playa to the hotel was on average 3euros. there is loads of bars and clubs near the hotel vulcano, so use the vulcano as a focal pointand you cant go wrong.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOTTENHAMWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We went to this hotel on a last minute trip after (Due to unforseen circumstances) having to cancel another holiday, so was not really sure what to expect. should have flown out on 20th December at 14:55 but did not fly til 02:05 next day (thanks Thomson - not) . anyway we arrived at around 7:30am in the morning and we were rather tired and grumpy to say the least. Check in was very smooth and the receptionst very pleasant. We were allocated a room on the 8th floor.

Room itself was fine, basic but adequate, it had plenty storage for our suitcases, and large wardrobes etc. Also had a free mini fridge in which to store the wine - very important!
we had what is describerd as a side sea view which is lovely, got the sun in the morning till about 11:30 or 12ish.

Now the drawback to this room is at night. we love to sit on the balcony with a drink at night, but there are 3 karioke bars across the road from the hotel and they start kicking off at around 8:30 and they seem to turn the sound up every half hour. the bars seem to be in competition with each other to see who can shout the loudest and the result is terrible caterwauling all night. it really spoils your drink on the balcony. you can even hear it in the room with the doors shut. we were there just to recharge our batteries and some nights we wanted to go to bed around 11pm but we could not sleep because of the noise. the bars dont shut til the early hours, albeit the karioke is supposed to stop at midnight, but you can hear the drunks spilling out at shutting time, and the road running alongside the hotel is noisy.

We went to reception to ask for a different room on the other side facing the Villamar. we could have another room no problem but rooms that dont get the noise were €10 a night extra. my husband refused to pay this so we didnt move room.

Apart from this it was a great hotel. it was my birthday while we were away my husband decided to order me a cake. He said the staff couldnt have been more helpful and a large cake arrived at our table with my name on it accompanied by a bottle of the house bubbly which my husband didnt order. He tells me the head waiter wouldnt hear of charging him for either the cake or the bubbly.

the waiting staff in the restaurant were all very pleasant and helpful. The food was very good, and the Christmas day dinner was lovely I think I actually ate THREE sirloin steaks as they were cooked so well. Tables in the restaurant were cleared quickly and efficiently. breakfasts were a bit samey but plenty of variety, but i do agree with one review about the powdered juice. I just love the coffee which was supplied in coffee pots with jugs of hotmilk rather than those daft machines which only provide one cup at a time.

We were half board and that suited us, I'm not sure we would have got the full benefit from AI. the hotel bar prices ranges from €3 for a glass of cava to €8 for a courvosier brandy.

The pool area was lovely and there always a sunbed available no matter what time you went. there was some sunbed booking but only from those who wanted to sit in a specific bit. the pool entertainment staff could be a little annoying and quite loud when trying to have you join in the various games etc but perhaps that was just a personal view!

there is a very good gym which my husband used every day. you must try out the massage chairs in the gym. cost €1 for 5 mins or €2 for 10 mins. i spent €2 a day on this chair it was like having a real massage from a person and 10 minutes of bliss! not to be confused with those chairs you see in the airports which merely tickle your back in comparison!

The hotel has something for everyone, we didnt go to the evening entertainment although we overheard ABBA one night and they seemed to be reasonable. in the upstairs bar there was usually a man playing the keyboard and doing a little singing, usual stuff but pleasant enough and there were a few old timers dancing etc.

All in all this was a very good hotel but only way I would go back is if we paid for the full sea view to get the room away from the noise.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eligCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Holiday with freinds of a certain age, celebrating a big birthday. Hotel is in a great position, ocean front position close to Porto Colon. Went AI which was an excellent choice. Food was exceptional with loads of choices for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
We ate Lunch in the Pool Restaurant with I felt was excellent. Wine at Lunch was self service and waiter service at Dinner was very good. Drinks in the Bars was a good quality and larger that previous AI hotels. Bottles water was always available.
Rooms very basic with not enough plug sockets. No vents in Bathroom. Evening enterainment was awful [for our age group] would have been nice to have had a DJ and Dancing. Pool areas were very nice and there was always a sunbed available whatever time to got there.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosalindabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Hotel looked impressive on arrival. Group of 15 travelling. All very disappointed with the standard of rooms. Very basic and needed urgent upgrading. We looked at several rooms, even executive rooms and all the same. Location was good and rest of hotel fine, but rooms needed serious work. Would also have liked coffee making facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank viaveneto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Have just returned for a weeks holiday at this great hotel. Superb location with Playa da Bobo a few minutes walk. Lovely sea views. Excellent meals - we were half board, tasty and varied, plenty of salads, fish and local specialities including lobster for New Year! Staff absolutely superb both chambermaids waiters and entertainment staff. Excellent facilities - apart from 2 pools, gym and many fitness classes. We also enjoyed Petanque, shooting and fashion shows. The rooms are a little dated but impeccably clean with plenty of storage etc. We will return for the coming New Year.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BiscuitHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Having asked for a non smoking room discovered I was sandwiched between two chain smokers so could not sit on balcony or leave balcony doors open, you could smell it in corridor and it was coming through the so called air-con ( warm air!). When reported to reception as was on a non smoking floor first time basically told tough folk can smoke on balcony's if they want. Reported again next morning to reception who said I could move, but I said its a non smoking floor why should I move? When returned to hotel in the afternoon I asked to be moved but was told only next day and why didnt I tell them not to smoke, ere me..why me, its your job! . Next day I went to reception and asked to speak to the manager, Oh surprise he's too busy but we will move you. I said look I am on a non smoking floor, not once has any member of your staff been up to speak to these smoking guests, I was told there is a sign in reception warning folk not to smoke in non smoking rooms but we cannot police everybody!?

The location is on top of a very busy road and noisy bars, even with windows shut you still hear lots of noise. At least all the rooms have side sea views and when I was moved to 9th floor had great views.

Food poor quality, more a 2 or 3 star- the breakfast juice comes from a machine and seems to be that horrid powdered stuff mixed with water and undrinkable, the bacon is mainly fat and inedible, cheap cuts of cheese (Edam and Cheddar) and cheap cold meat ( Chicken roll, cheap flat ham). Dinner a hotch potch of bits, one night only hot veg was mini sweetcorns or fried peppers, plenty of salad though. The carvery was one meat different each night- the Pork night had no apple sauce, no mustard and no gravy. Two chefs do some meat and fish freshly cooked, but then they pile it up on the side of the grill, so when you go its not tasty and getting cold. Puddings and sticky cakes ok, but again cheese is cheapest and the only biscuits are cheap cream crackers. You order your drinks when you sit down, but then half way through your dinner you are interrupted by a guy with a note pad who wants your room number and what drink you had, so as you leave you have to pay at the door CASH, four star hotel?- can I add it to room bill?, no way, CASH mate! Also if you go to dinner after 8pm, at 8.30 there is a lot of noise all around you as they are laying up for breakfast and by 9pm you are shooed out, likewise at breakfast before they finish at 10am there are rushing all around you laying up for dinner- hardly relaxing!.

Like other reviews here, I asked reception to get maintenace to check the "air-con" as it was warm air only, when I got back there was a piece of card jammed in the hotel room card slot to keep the power on and the fan running. Usually when you leave room you remove your card and all power inc air-con goes off. so obviously the thing to do is leave your second key card in the slot thus air-con stays on all the time, giving a bit of cooling!

Have to say cleaners were great, both rooms I had were comfy and okay with big bathrooms:- pool areas clean. No decent lounge area to sit if it rains, and no where to sit inside overlooking the sea , weird as its a beach front hotel and even the restaurant which overlooks the sea directly always has curtains shut!? Roof top sun bathing area nice, but was very windy

Booked a pay 2 nights stay 3 night online but stayed four and seemed a good deal at Iberostar website, but walking in the area looking at the other 4 stars could see much better quality elsewhere, I would rate this a 2 star plus or standard 3 star. I would not bother to return, I have been trying to find the managers email address to write about the smokers ( If you know 75% of your customers come from Spain, Italy and Germany and are usually smokers, why only devote TWO floors out of TEN to smokers? Make SIX or SEVEN floors smoking floors surely?) but Iberostar obviously ( unlike the major chains in the UK where its easy usually to find the managers name and email) do not want you to contact or complain directly to the hotel....

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uktallguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
1.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Hotel Jardin Tropical
#24 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,054 reviews
1.4 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#18 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#30 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,294 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#16 of 61 in Costa Adeje
739 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#15 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Bouganville Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Bouganville Playa

Address: Eugenio Dominguez, 23 | San Eugenio Beach, 38679 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#11 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#31 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $122 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Bouganville Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a pleasant atmosphere and excellent service, the IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel in Costa Adeje is a 4-star hotel that offers amazing accommodation for couples and families with children. At the Bouganville Playa hotel, fun goes without saying. Here children will make friends at the Miniclub where they'll have all kinds of adventures, games and activities under the supervision of our monitors. Plus, they'll also enjoy the children's playground, shows, pools... There's a bit of everything so they never stop having a good time. For their part, the adults have a special entertainment programme, delicious cuisine offered at two restaurants and three bars, a fitness room, a nearby golf course, free Wi-Fi and other services and facilities. Plus, the Bouganville Playa hotel also offers the Star Prestige service which includes access to the rooftop VIP zone, featuring a whirlpool bath and chill out terrace, sensations showers, an area with Balinese beds and sun loungers, daily press with coffee and snacks, late checkout and other services for distinguished guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Bouganville Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Bouganville Playa Hotel Costa Adeje
Iberostar Hotel Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Hotel Adeje
Bouganville Playa Tenerife
Iberostar Bouganville Playa Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing