We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Good Staff Good Lifts Annoying”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
lewes, east sussex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hotel Good Staff Good Lifts Annoying”
Reviewed February 21, 2006

We enjoyed our stay at the Iberostar Bouganville Playa. It was clean and the staff were very helpful and attentive.

The food was reasonable, good choice and great for salads and freah fruit. Main courses were a little bland and parts of the cooked breakfast a little disappointing.

The ninth floor made the lifts quite necessary and during meal times the wait was a little annoying.

We still had the roadworks outside the pool area, they were quite noisy and accompanied by the aroma of freshly laid tarmac.

Still overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank skip091968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,510
    1,285
    471
    163
    66
See reviews for
979
1,754
125
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (884)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 21, 2006

positives :
1. room was fine, good shower, towels etc
2.food plentiful and varied and we were always seated quickly, restaurant staff v pleasant
3. animation team were fun and lively and friendly

negatives :
1.reception staff v unfriendly, not a good first impression
2.hotel guests mainly over 60 which is great but not if you're in your 40s with teenagers
3. no porter service which is odd as clientele are mainly 60 +
4. you shouldn't have to pay for tennis in a 4 star hotel
5. swimming pools were far too cold so hardly anyone swam in them
6. hotel is most definately not on the beach- you have to leave the hotel and go on the public beach
7. you have to pay a deposit for everything- they obv don't trust the guests
8. the building itself was a bit of a concrete jungle,lacking in character and soul

will not be coming back here again.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 14, 2006

Just got back from a 2 week stay at the Bouganville (2 adults and 2 children age 7 and 10). Booked this hotel on the strength of the comments on this site but be warned, its not all its cracked up to be. The refurb money went on public areas and toilets not the rooms, these really are dated. Rooms quite small for a family of four, beds not comfortable (are they ever abroad? Made a bit of a fuss and got moved to a junior suite (beds still uncomfortable but at least kids had own room). The hotel is very large and spacious and yet due to new laws there is no provision for smokers - you will have to sit outside to smoke. There are bedrooms for smokers on the first two floors but most smokers don't actually want to smoke in the room they sleep in. It would have been nice if my wife could have enjoyed a drink and a smoke somewhere in the hotel. The entertainment team and childrens club are very enthusiastic with the shows being great for the kids (but some of the shows were just dancing and miming to music which can seem a little naff). Forget the TV to entertain the kids, one cartoon channel in German! Can see English news channel though. The food is not great but it is OK. After 14 days it gets repetative. I think what lets it down is actually the dining experience, there is no atmosphere and it is so hurried and busy in the dining room. One point worth noting if you are half board and choose to go out for dinner this can be swopped for a lunch at the hotel in the dining room (contact Reception to arrange). Lots of hanging around for the four main lifts. With the exclusion of the entertainers and some waiting staff, didn't find the staff particularly friendly. There were a lot of older guests staying at the hotel at this time (the average age was probably 65. Road works outside still on going, quite noisy on occasions, but must nearly be finished. Great bar over the road (Wali Haii) with 'Titch' doing the entertaining. We will not go back to this hotel. Weather was poor as well. Hi to Rich, Tara, Casey and baby Keaton!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2006

We came back this last Sunday from the Bouganville, we booked it from the images we had of the views from the rooms, but as we were smokers, the first two floors are the highest you get. We were on the first floor at the back of the hotel, what little sun we got during the week, never arrived on our balcony, at any time of day.
The rooms were we felt not of 4* standard, as someone has already stated, not even an English news channel on the portable tv. Yellow anaglypta type wallpaper will haunt me for a while. No facilities to make a hot drink in the room either. Rather basic. Food was plentiful, but not mind blowingly good, and i agree, the bacon was beyond decription.
We didnt realise that new laws meant that we couldnt smoke anywhere in the hotel, (or any hotel), and as we had a lot of rain, it would have been nice to have been able to sit in the bar and have a drink and a cigarette, we are aware that it is not desirable to everyone to be amongst smokers, but a little niche, somewhere inside, when its pouring down would have made all the difference. After all, we pay the same as everyone else, but didnt see any of the entertainment, mostly on principal. If you have walking difficulties, its not the best choice, its a climb from every approach to the hotel. The one advantage of being on the lower floors, was not having the fight for the lifts, the dining room is two floors down from reception, and trying to get in a lift was time consuming, all depends on how fit you are. We have been to Tenerife several times now, but this hotel will not be on my list for next time. We didnt have a bad week, just not as good as we thought we would.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank andydek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 15, 2006

I visted this hotel 2nd to 16th December 2005. My third two week stay in Tenerife in 2005 (at three different 4 star hotels). I returned to the Bouganville as we had an extremely good experience of it some five years previously. Sadly, it is not in the same class as before. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean, the staff are very efficient and friendly (with two exceptions I wont go into). The rooms are okay (let me tell you the recent refurb in the rooms consists of a lick of paint, new curtains and bed covers, nothing else!! ) However as I said they are adequate. The T.V. is a tiny portable with three news channels in English(nothing else) 6 Spanish channels(fair enough we are in Spain!!) and about 6 or 7 German channels (not fair, but to be expected, as the Germans know how to complain and get results!!) The biggest disappointment for us was the food. I have praised this hotel to lots my friends asking advice on Tenerife hotels, for the last five years, and I now regret doing so. Don't get me wrong, the food was not terrible at all, but "Out of this world!" as stated in TWO of the previous reviews is simply NOT true. The two weeks we were there we had to search (usually without any luck) for vegetables, which were conspicious by their absence!! The quality of the meat was not great, as for the breakfast bacon (my husband loves his English breakfast) it was marinated in litres of oil and inedible for about 12 of the 14 days! I wont go on as I don't want to be too critical of the hotel itself. However I will say having visited almost all of the four star hotels in the Las Americas/Adeje/ area I wont go back. Maybe the chef was on his holidays the two weeks we were there? For the hotel's sake, I hope so!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2006

This was our 3rd time at the bouganville and our 2nd xmas here, it is everything you need/want from a hotel the best we've stayed in. We will be back here again because we love the 5* service. Winter or summer its a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank bouganville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 7, 2006

My wife and I went to the Iberostar Bouganville Playa purly based on the recommendations from trip advisors.

Well we were not disappointed.

Everything you can read from the previous reviews are true, from the champagne when booking in, to the great choice of food. (I am a fussy "english food only" animal)

No problems with sunbeds, even at 11am in the morning.

Never had to wait for a table in the restaurant and waiters were also on hand for that refreshing pint in the entertaining halls.

Only downside if any was:-
1. The hotel having only 4 lifts, we were lucky, I had requested and got a first floor room,you could be waiting a while at peak times to get into one if on the higher floors.
2. Rooms dated but very clean, TV only had English news on it.
4. Entertainmented not really for the middle aged (unless you like ballroom dancing) but with such a choice of bars etc within a 5 min walk was no problem really
5. Roadworks outside.Major bit done by looks of it, but still some drilling etc being done.(see photos)


Overall,you will find it hard to beat the standards this hotel has for the price. Well recommended

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
32 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
1.4 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
5,438 reviews
1.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Hotel Jardin Tropical
#21 of 57 in Costa Adeje
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#32 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,030 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#13 of 57 in Costa Adeje
689 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#20 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Bouganville Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Bouganville Playa

Property: Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Address: Eugenio Dominguez, 23 | San Eugenio Beach, 38679 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#16 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#31 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Bouganville Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel is like a good wine, improving over the years so you can experience something new during each stay. The stunning sea views, its location just four minutes’ walk from the beach, its huge main pool and the pleasures of the VIP area all mean that visitors like you return 3 or 4 times in the same year. Discover more reasons why you will also want to come back to one of the best hotels in south Tenerife. Endless relaxation. Whether you come as a couple or with your family, at this hotel in Tenerife you’ll have rooms with comfortable bedrooms and a balcony where you can feel the Atlantic breeze or breathe in the fresh mountain air. And best of all, at the IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa you can get to Playa del Bobo in the time it takes to finish an ice cream at the pool bar. Star Prestige. Would you like to enjoy a completely exclusive experience? Counting the bubbles in the whirlpool bath or stretching out on the Balinese beds after trying the sensations shower are just a few of the experiences you can enjoy in the Star Prestige adults-only rooms at your hotel in Tenerife. A delicious stay. You can’t leave the islands without trying the delicious Canary Island cuisine or indulging in the flavours from around the world in our restaurants. Our buffet will leave you lost for words! And if you want to unwind, try the classic honey rum or a drink of your choice in any of the bars of your hotel in Costa Adeje. Submerge yourself in the ocean. The calm seas at Playa del Bobo are perfect for little ones to go for a swim, while lying on the sand is the best way to take advantage of the average Canary Island temperature of 22ºC. And if you prefer to stay in the hotel, you can gaze at the Atlantic Ocean while swimming in the large main pool. Fun in the water. The local people love the beach and fruit so much that, besides the home-grown bananas, there are inflatable versions pulled around by speed boats! You’ll feel like you’re on an ocean-going roller coaster when you go on the banana boat. And there are many more water sports: surfing, windsurfing, sailing, jet-skiing, catamaran trips, fishing trips, etc. And on dry land, the youngsters dress up as their favourite characters or pretend to be lovable pirates searching for treasure in the Miniclub. And the grown-ups can enjoy activities from golf or fitness to archery. Fancy a romantic dinner? Don’t worry, you can do just that; there’s an evening babysitting service available so that couples can have some intimacy. Spectacular pools, both in terms of their size and their settings. At midday, you can’t miss the weekly show cooking of paella or Canary Island dishes performed outdoors by the head chef. And for the rest of the day, choose the sun lounger you like most and stay refreshed with a sorbet or ice cream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Iberostar Bouganville Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Bouganville Playa Hotel Costa Adeje
Iberostar Hotel Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Hotel Adeje
Bouganville Playa Tenerife
Iberostar Bouganville Playa Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing