We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We stayed at the Bouganville for 2 weeks in July/Aug - this was our third visit, and this time our teenage daughter brought her friend along. Once again we had a wonderful holiday. There were loads of activities on offer, such as the aqua gym, archery, football, water polo etc, and the entertainment team work really hard to ensure that everyone has a good time. The food was excellent, plenty variety and all piping hot. Every evening there was a show on such as ABBA tribute. Beatles, Bee Gees, Grease, Mamma Mia,Acrobatics, magic show etc. This was followed by karaoke, and most nights there was live music in the upstairs lounge. Our rooms were spotless clean, but possibly they could be done with upgrading, apparently this is on the cards, and it was handy having a fridge in the room. This hotel is in a great location, very well placed for the beach , shops and restaurants, and there seemed to be plenty of sunbeds. Only negative I would say is that one or two of the reception staff were not particularly pleasant, especially when we checked in at midnight. In the past we have been greeted with champagne on arrival, but this time we were 'welcomed' by Mr Grumpy. Not a good first impression. This time we visited Siam Park which is a fantastic new waterpark, and is a 20 minute walk uphill from the hotel - would highly recommend this especially if travelling with teenagers. My daughter and her friend had a great time and desperately want to go back again next year - this hotel , we feel is particularly suitable for families with older children, and seems to have a high number of repeat business.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank galaxygirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,777 - 2,783 of 3,930 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for 12 nights at beginning of July 2009 on a half board basis. Food was fantastic and really varied and the staff didn't seem to mind if you took fruit out with you after breakfast from the brilliant and well stocked fruit bar within the restaurant. We stayed on the 6th floor on the side overlooking the tennis courts. We did not get the sun on our balcony, but were glad in a way as that meant we could open the doors without getting too hot. The room itself was not too bad. Yes, the furniture was a little dated but the beds were comfortable and there was plenty of storage space. The small fridge was really handy and the bathroom looked liked it had new tiling etc. The rooms, as was the rest of the hotel, were kept spotless. The pool area was great and you got a lovely breeze most days as it is set on higher ground overlooking the sea and the pathway which goes all along the seafront between several resorts. The drinks were a little expensive but there was a little supermarket out the side gate selling cold drinks (at least half the price of the hotel) and numerous bars in the area which were cheaper. Most of the entertainment in evening was good, especially the Three Tenors - not to be missed. We did the catamaran 5hr whale watching trip which combined Los Gigantes - well worth the money and would recommend this one. Go to 'the excursion shop' in porto colon harbour for cheaper tickets for all excursions - 10% off if you visit their website before hand and print their ad! Local bus service is good and cheap if you want to visit other places and we found it really reliable. Beaches were all lovely and clean (not full of fag butts and litter) but the men from the shops trying to sell the cameras were abit of a nightmare. Only down side was the restauranteurs. They spoilt an evening walk with their incessant 'jumping in front of you' with a menu but guess this was a sign of the times as most were empty. All in all, we couldn't really fault the hotel or the area and would definately return to Tenerife and this area and probably the same hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CandSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

This hotel was amazing, the staff were so friendly and we had such a relaxing holiday.
The rooms were nice, we stayed in a room on the 10th floor which was good, we didn't see any cockroaches in them, however there were a couple by the pool
The animation team were amazing, always there to talk to and karaoke was always fun each night. The range of activities from aquagym which was done amazingly by lindsay, to waterpolo which was really fun by patrizio were always popular and ann sophie and mariano were amazing company.
food was excellent, different every night
will definately return next year!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BouganvillePlayabest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

this was the best hotel that we had ever stayed in and would come back again definetly. the the location is in the middle of everything you could want with a shopping aracade just acriss the road. you can walk to las americas center quite easily. the entertainment i in english as well which is on every night and had shows like abba, mamma mia and beatles.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank m1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

Stayed for 10 nights July 09, the hotel is in an excellent location with shops and resturants galore nearby. The rooms are very well equipped, spacious and kept very clean. Reception staff were always very friendly and helpful as well. When we were checking in, which after 10pm at night a girl came round with a tray of fruit juice which was very welcome after travelling all day, and there was a large bowl of fruit in our room and a large bottle of water in the fridge. The food is excellent with absolutely every taste caterd for, no one would need to go hungry in this hotel so don't believe any negative comments about the food. The waiting staff can't do more for you, especially Domingo who treats you like you're the only diners in the resturant. The pool areas are very well set out and there are usually sunbeds available at most times of the day. Children are very well catered for at this hotel, the animation team are brilliant and the evening entertainment is of a very high standard. The only down side being the price of drink which was expensive, 9,80 euro for 2 whisky and coke! There is a good bar just over the road called Oscar's which has live entertainment on each evening, we saw a drag act, the beatles and a rock band called Crush to name a few, they were all very good so definitely worth a visit, cheaper drink as well. Went on Teide - Masca full day trip which we booked through on of the kiosks near to the hotel, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MagBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

i Stayed at the bouganville playa with my wife and son in Oct 2008
the Hotel is very impresive, with marble floor and walls very clean Hotel staff always willing to Help ,they are very well dresses and polite The Hotel is clean and the food is first class alwayssomething for everyone the rooms are comfortable and clean but possibly needs upgaraded in the futrure, the views from the poolside restaurant
is beautiful over looking the sea the Hotel Entertainment is also good the area of San eugenio has lots of shops and bar within a 5min walk a visit to eugens to see mike clarlton is a must

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scottabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Enjoyed our stay at the Bouganville it was situated on a hill with lovely views over Port of Colon and Las Americas.
Our room was basic but clean.Furniture needs updating.
In the Restuarant the meals were very good with plenty of choice,and we always managed to get a table.The staff were very efficient.
There was a large garden area with two large swimming pools and plenty of sun beds the only fault being too many lilos in the pool.
Everywhere in this Hotel was clean and all the staff were very friendly.
We would consider returning but in the quieter months as we found at this time of year the Hotel to be family orientated which is not a fault but is not our preference.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank northeasthighflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
1.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Hotel Jardin Tropical
#23 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,101 reviews
1.4 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#18 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#31 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,332 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#17 of 61 in Costa Adeje
753 reviews
1.1 mi away
GF Fanabe
GF Fanabe
#26 of 61 in Costa Adeje
4,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Bouganville Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Bouganville Playa

Address: Eugenio Dominguez, 23 | San Eugenio Beach, 38679 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#11 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#31 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: $126 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Bouganville Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a pleasant atmosphere and excellent service, the IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel in Costa Adeje is a 4-star hotel that offers amazing accommodation for couples and families with children. At the Bouganville Playa hotel, fun goes without saying. Here children will make friends at the Miniclub where they'll have all kinds of adventures, games and activities under the supervision of our monitors. Plus, they'll also enjoy the children's playground, shows, pools... There's a bit of everything so they never stop having a good time. For their part, the adults have a special entertainment programme, delicious cuisine offered at two restaurants and three bars, a fitness room, a nearby golf course, free Wi-Fi and other services and facilities. Plus, the Bouganville Playa hotel also offers the Star Prestige service which includes access to the rooftop VIP zone, featuring a whirlpool bath and chill out terrace, sensations showers, an area with Balinese beds and sun loungers, daily press with coffee and snacks, late checkout and other services for distinguished guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Bouganville Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Bouganville Playa Hotel Costa Adeje
Iberostar Hotel Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Hotel Adeje
Bouganville Playa Tenerife
Iberostar Bouganville Playa Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing