We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a really enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a really enjoyable stay”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

me and my partner did a 5 night stay room only on the 1st floor...the hotel is lovely better in fact than the other 2 iberostar hotels nearby as we visited all 3 just to have a nosey..we were out everyday walking and is situated ideally for you walkers 5 minutes walk from miles of coast line either left or right whe you hit the sea front..we used the hotel pool area every day around tea time and the free ice creams and chocolates were a nice gesture from the hotel to all clients...my partner is recovering from breast cancer and she had a great holiday!..it would be only fair to mention a couple of negatives that we found ie..no cash taken at bars(extra bill onto the room)..and drinks VERY expensive..but i would definately recommend the hotel to anyone coming to tenerife..the hotel is clean..we found the staff friendly..had our room cleaned promptly every day..the pool area is lovely and always found 2 sun beds..next time we come (hopefully next year) we will use the gym as we didn,t this year..

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Martin,

Firstly we would like to thank you for your trust in our IBEROSTAR hotels for your holidays and for choosing our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel this year for your holidays in Tenerife; we are delighted to read that your partner had a great holiday among us.

As you well mention, we charge all consumptions to the room so as to comfortably settle the final bill upon check out, we are sorry to hear that this was a negative aspect of your stay as we believe this is a more convenient way to just sign and pay in the end of the stay.

On the other hand, we thank you for pointing out the little attentions by the pool as well as the cleanliness of our hotel and the friendliness of our staff.

Moreover we are grateful for your highlight on our location, with a lovely promenade and its wide array of leisure and dining options within easy reach.

Thank you again for your valuable time; it will be a real pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Tenerife and please do not hesitate contact us beforehand to organize every detail of your stay.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,556
    1,299
    475
    163
    68
See reviews for
1,009
1,787
125
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (899)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We are here at the time I am writing this, the hotel is very good but the rooms are very dated, we are in 229. The room is in need of a refurb as are most of them listening to others comments. There are not have enough sockets in the rooms to charge phones etc without having to put 1 in the bathroom.
Nowhere near 4 * more like 2* on the rooms I could list everything but I would just be repeating what others have said.
Overall the rest of the hotel is nice but the rooms are a massive letdown, would not come back again and not paying €50 to upgrade.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mncollyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time you took out of your holiday at our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel to share your feelings about your ongoing stay among us.

We sincerely regret reading that your room does not live up to your expectations and lament not being informed about it onsite as we would be able to assist you; however, thanks to feedback such as yours we are glad to inform you that a refurbishment plan is in place and that we will soon renovate our standard rooms to make our guests’ stay more pleasant during their vacation.

Thank you again for your time, we wish you a very pleasant stay in Tenerife,

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
braunton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My late Wife and I have stayed many times with no complaint. after a break of three years I did not get position of the room requested by the travel agent, but they change this from the double room booked to a single room into that position. Four out of the ten nights the room did not get cleaned, when there were two days together I complained and cleaned the room straight away.The room needs updateing. I think being a single person I felt that I had been down graded.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank bimifarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing to return to our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel and for the time you spent to share your feedback on your stay among us; we sincerely regret that we fell short of your expectations from past visits.

We would like to take the opportunity to point out that we allocate the rooms in accordance with the room type chosen at the time of booking and that depending on the occupation of our hotel, at times we cannot guarantee the location requested by direct clients or travel agents, a request is never a confirmation from our side; moreover, we want to reassure you on the fact that we never downgrade our guests, the room booked was a double room single use and that is the type of room we accommodated you in; moreover we are glad to inform you that we will soon renovate our rooms in order to provide more comfortable accommodations to all our future visitors.

Furthermore, we took good note of your comment on the cleaning of your room and can only assume that our maids were not properly informed about your room change; please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences caused; we passed on your review to our head of reception so as to avoid this from happening in the future; on the other hand, we thank you for pointing out our immediate reaction when informed about this issue.

Please be assured that we took your comments into consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. We really thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that IBEROSTAR will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Hotel ideally situated close to beach and promenade.
Food and communal areas including pools very good ,clean and well maintained.
Stayed in room 329 which needs refurbished especially the bathroom as it is well worn and out-dated.
At peak times the lifts were under pressure and using the stairs was often a quicker option,
Staff were pleasant and very attentive
Over all despite the disappointment of the room decor would go back to this hotel

Room Tip: pool side room offers a combination of sea,pool and town views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate the time you spent to share your personal impressions on your stay at our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel. We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests.

We sincerely regret reading your disappointment on the room we accommodated you in; as you may know we have been refurbishing our top floors and restaurant a few months ago and plan to renovate our rooms in the near future; however we would like to take the opportunity to point out that all rooms are regularly revised by both our head of maintenance and head of housekeeping in order to ensure that all accommodations are respecting our standards at all times.

On the other hand, we are grateful for your highlight on the cleanliness and well maintained public areas of our hotel and would like to thank you for pointing out the quality of our buffets; the gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company we strive to ensure enriching dining experiences to all our visitors and are glad that you appreciated the efforts of our talented Chefs.

Last but not least, we are enchanted to read your kind comments on our staff; at IBEROSTAR we strive to deliver an excellent and personalized service to all our guests, and we lay high value on our personnel being guest orientated and welcoming at all times.

Thank you once again for your visit and the courtesy of your time; we would be delighted to welcome you back on your next trip to Tenerife ensuring you in advance of our best intentions at all times.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Rooms on the top two floors (floors 10 and 11) have been renovated but rooms on floors 1 to 9 are shabby.
Overall this is a good hotel but when you book a 4 star hotel you do not want a 2 star bedroom. The decor and furniture in the rooms we saw look 25 years old.
They give only 20 minutes free wi-fi a day.
The towels given in the rooms are well worn.
The common areas and restaurant are good.

Room Tip: If you want a nice room book floors 10 or 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Mike,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your personal impressions on your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.

We sincerely regret reading your disappointment on the room we accommodated you in; however we would like to take the opportunity to point out that all rooms are regularly revised both by our head of housekeeping and head of maintenance in order to guarantee that everything is functional and spotlessly clean at all times; Nevertheless please be assured that they have been informed about your constructive critics and we encourage you for future occasions to contact our reception desk for anything you may need to fully enjoy your holidays among us; we are always willing to assist you.

Moreover, we took good note of your comment on the towels and passed it on to our management for revision and improvement; please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations.

On the other hand, we thank you for pointing out the comfort and cleanliness of our public grounds as well as the quality of our buffets.

Once again, thank you for your visit and the courtesy of your time; our goal is to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits. We are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

As has been mentioned by many on here this is not a 4 Star hotel by most UK and International standards. But to be fair my partner and I only wanted a base in Adeje in order that we could be with our daughter and new granddaughter who live in Adeje.
We stayed room only in Rm 107. Minors are the room very basic with one spare socket, beds on wheels that was a first! The lifts laughable and a source of fun as looking at the glum faces emerging from their marathon trips up and down. We had the shutdown of the pool as had other guests so Iberostar could take photos! Good points the Pool and Gym and clean communal areas.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Mark,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel for your holidays as well as for the time you spent to write and share a review with your personal impressions.

We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused by a photo shooting of our pool area that took place one morning from 7.00 am to 11.00 am; however we would like to take the opportunity to point out that all guests were informed the day before so as to eventually organize an alternative morning activity for these few hours.

On the other hand, we thank you for pointing out the beauty and cleanliness of our public grounds and installations.

Thank you, once more for your visit and your time; we hope that you had a nice journey back home and look forward to welcoming you back in our IBEROSTAR hotels and resorts in the most beautiful destinations worldwide, ensuring you in advance of our best intentions at all times.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

staff excellent, communal areas excellent, plenty of sunbeds, food very good, rooms tired and only 2 spare sockets, a/i ask for named brands or you will get the local brands ie gordon's gin, evening entertainment could last longer, £1450 for the hol then having to pay for wi fi, a massive negative was that hotel had deceided to have the outside communal areas photographed, all doors to these areas were locked and had staff policing them, we were kept penned in the hotel while at least 1100hrs, there was no prior warning of this and many guest were really angry, prior warning would have been nice, then alternate arrangements could have been made for the morning. shame on the management. apart from this a great holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Gary,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel for your holidays in Tenerife as well as for the time you took out of your day to review your overall stay among us.

We sincerely apologize for the disturbance caused by a photo shooting that took place on Monday morning until 11.00 am; however we would like to take the opportunity to point out that two days prior to this exceptional event, we informed all guests about it by placing informative panels all over the hotel, (e.g.: in all elevators, by the reception desk and in all common areas); Moreover during these hours our staff organized special animation activities and Cava and snacks were offered in order to make the wait as enjoyable as possible.

On the other hand, we greatly appreciate your kind words towards our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being one of our hotel's main strengths we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Last but not least, the passion for gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company, we greatly appreciate your praising comment on our restaurant where our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights.

Once more, thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting Tenerife; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and remain at your entire disposal through our call center to help you choose your next IBEROSTAR destination within more than 100 hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
1.9 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#32 of 58 in Costa Adeje
3,079 reviews
1.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.5 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#12 of 58 in Costa Adeje
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#16 of 58 in Costa Adeje
5,502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Hotel Jardin Tropical
#21 of 58 in Costa Adeje
1,876 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#20 of 58 in Costa Adeje
4,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Bouganville Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Bouganville Playa

Property: Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Address: Eugenio Dominguez, 23 | San Eugenio Beach, 38679 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#16 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#31 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Bouganville Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel is like a good wine, improving over the years so you can experience something new during each stay. The stunning sea views, its location just four minutes’ walk from the beach, its huge main pool and the pleasures of the VIP area all mean that visitors like you return 3 or 4 times in the same year. Discover more reasons why you will also want to come back to one of the best hotels in south Tenerife. Endless relaxation. Whether you come as a couple or with your family, at this hotel in Tenerife you’ll have rooms with comfortable bedrooms and a balcony where you can feel the Atlantic breeze or breathe in the fresh mountain air. And best of all, at the IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa you can get to Playa del Bobo in the time it takes to finish an ice cream at the pool bar. Star Prestige. Would you like to enjoy a completely exclusive experience? Counting the bubbles in the whirlpool bath or stretching out on the Balinese beds after trying the sensations shower are just a few of the experiences you can enjoy in the Star Prestige adults-only rooms at your hotel in Tenerife. A delicious stay. You can’t leave the islands without trying the delicious Canary Island cuisine or indulging in the flavours from around the world in our restaurants. Our buffet will leave you lost for words! And if you want to unwind, try the classic honey rum or a drink of your choice in any of the bars of your hotel in Costa Adeje. Submerge yourself in the ocean. The calm seas at Playa del Bobo are perfect for little ones to go for a swim, while lying on the sand is the best way to take advantage of the average Canary Island temperature of 22ºC. And if you prefer to stay in the hotel, you can gaze at the Atlantic Ocean while swimming in the large main pool. Fun in the water. The local people love the beach and fruit so much that, besides the home-grown bananas, there are inflatable versions pulled around by speed boats! You’ll feel like you’re on an ocean-going roller coaster when you go on the banana boat. And there are many more water sports: surfing, windsurfing, sailing, jet-skiing, catamaran trips, fishing trips, etc. And on dry land, the youngsters dress up as their favourite characters or pretend to be lovable pirates searching for treasure in the Miniclub. And the grown-ups can enjoy activities from golf or fitness to archery. Fancy a romantic dinner? Don’t worry, you can do just that; there’s an evening babysitting service available so that couples can have some intimacy. Spectacular pools, both in terms of their size and their settings. At midday, you can’t miss the weekly show cooking of paella or Canary Island dishes performed outdoors by the head chef. And for the rest of the day, choose the sun lounger you like most and stay refreshed with a sorbet or ice cream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Iberostar Bouganville Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Bouganville Playa Hotel Costa Adeje
Iberostar Hotel Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Hotel Adeje
Bouganville Playa Tenerife
Iberostar Bouganville Playa Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing