We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel spoiled by rooms that need updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Hotel spoiled by rooms that need updating”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Arrived to be shown room on 6th floor. A clean room but badly in need of updating . Upgraded to a room on the 10th floor at over 200 euros for the week. Many privileges with the update,therefore I feel the benefits are worth the money. Everything else is very good the staff,the food, facilities, and the entertainment. Overall a good hotel spoiled by many dated rooms.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Allan,

Thank you for the time you spent to share your feedback on you recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel; we are glad to read that overall you had an enjoyable holiday among us.

We took good note of your comment on the first room we accommodated you in and passed on your comment to our maintenance team for revision; however we thank you for pointing out its cleanliness as this is an aspect of primary importance for IBEROSTAR.

On the other hand, we are very pleased to read your satisfaction with the quality of our buffets, the comfort of our amenities and the private access to the Star Prestige area.
At IBEROSTAR we believe that nice leisure activities and entertaining evening shows are part of the real holiday feeling this is why our animation team strives to offer a wide range of activities for our guests to join in, we are glad to read that this was a pleasant aspect of your stay among us.

We also appreciate your kind words towards our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being one of our hotel's main strengths we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Once more, thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting Tenerife; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and remain at your entire disposal through our call center to help you choose your next IBEROSTAR destination within more than 100 hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,518
    1,286
    471
    163
    66
See reviews for
982
1,758
125
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (885)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

The staff in the restaraunt need a special thank you from myself and my girlfriend,we could only find one fault in this hotel and everybody knows the reception have no time for there guests they make you feel that you should of never of asked there help they are very very poor,but don't let them ruin your holiday the rest of the hotel is fantastic ,we will be back

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 196johnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your personal impressions on your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel; we always welcome feedback as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests.

We were however quite surprised to read your comment on our reception staff because their genuine helpfulness and attentiveness usually counts to our strengths as you can see in many reviews published on different portals and we lament not being informed about your dissatisfaction on the spot; for future occasions please do not hesitate to contact our management to point out any disservice, we will be enchanted to assist you.

On the other hand, we thank you for letting us know that our culinary offer could largely satisfy you, the gastronomy being an important aspect for IBEROSTAR, our talented Chefs do their utmost to please all palates; It is enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Once more, thank you for your visit and the courtesy of your time.

Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I will try to be short-spoken. Location is perfect in my opinion. Somewhere in- between noisy area and the quiet one. So your can chose between loud bars and quite sleep. There is a very good supermarket nearby. Personal is perfectly friendly and helpful, called fro the technical tree time per night once and every time he appeared with the smile on his face doing his best to help. Victor on reception is very nice , girls smiley, helpful and good humored. So thanks to all of them! Food is good and pretty various. I stayed at the room on a top floor which has been recently renovated – clean and with a great view. I also saw rooms which are still waiting for renovation. Ok, they are old-fashioned but they are clean and good enough if you are not going to lock yourself in there for the rest of your life. And pensioners mentioned so many times in review were dancing rock’-n-roll much better than young people I know- in fact they were very good. Ok, if you are hunting for a young husband this hotel is probably not so good for you. :-) and yes, wheels on the beds can also be a problem in such case. :-) So once again, I did enjoy staying at this hotel and thanks to the personnel for being lovely!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank Yuldiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your impressions on your recent holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel; we are very pleased to read we were able to meet your expectations.

Moreover, we thank you for pointing out our prime location in the lively Costa Adeje and the genuine kindness and helpfulness of our staff; we will certainly not fail to congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing during your stay at our hotel.

Furthermore , we thank you for letting us know that our culinary offer could largely satisfy you, the gastronomy being an important aspect for IBEROSTAR, our talented Chefs do their utmost to please all palates; It is enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Thank you again for you cheerful review and the courtesy of your time; we hope that you had a safe and comfortable journey back home and look forward to welcoming you back in our IBEROSTAR hotels and resorts ensuring you in advance of our utmost care and dedication.

Friendly Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Another wonderful holiday at the Bouganville. Thank you so much for making our first wedding anniversary a truly memorable time. We have stayed at this hotel many times and cannot find fault with it. The newly refurbished rooms and dining hall have increased its appeal even more. We will definitely be back in September. The staff on reception and the manager are delightful.

Room Tip: The top floors are the upgraded rooms. More expensive, but highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeandCarol14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Bethany,

We first would like to thank you for your loyalty and trust in our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel and for choosing to stay with us to celebrate such an important event as your first wedding anniversary, we are thrilled to read that we were able to make it a memorable one because we take a lot of pleasure in making each of our guests’ visits "wonderful", especially when it comes to special occasions.

Moreover we are very pleased to read your satisfaction with our newly refurbished Star Prestige accommodations as well as our new IBEROSTAR Chef restaurant; we always strive to enhance our guests ‘stay among us.

We also thank you for pointing out the genuine kindness and helpfulness of our staff always willing to assist our guests and ensure they fully enjoy their holidays among us.

Once again, thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the lively Costa Adeje and for your kind recommendation to Tripadvisor’s readers; we look forward to your next visit ensuring you in advance of our utmost care and dedication.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redditch worcs
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

avoid rooms ending with 15 if possible outside bar and traffic noise heard all night. bathroom 515 definitely needs revamp. reception staff excellent. pool area sunbeds available at all times of the day. marvellous choice of food and of good quality. waiter service in main bar sometimes good other times poor. satisfactory holiday for two weeks winter sun for the money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
Thank colinb1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Colin,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel for your holidays in Tenerife and for sharing a review on your recent stay among us; we are fully aware that this is the best way to achieve superiority and excellence in our daily services.

We took good note of your comment on the bathroom of your accommodation and commit to revise the possibility to renovate all our accommodations in the near future, however we would like to point out that the maintenance of our hotel is a continued process throughout the year undertaken by our maintenance team onsite.

On the other hand, we are grateful for your praising comments on the quality and variety of our buffest at our newly refurbished IBEROSTAR Chef Restaurant; the gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company we are very pleased to read your full satisfaction with our offer, it fills us with pride to read that you enjoyed a “marvelous choice of food and of good quality”, this is always our goal.

Moreover, we thank you for pointing out the professionalism of our reception staff and we will certainly not fail to congratulate them on your behalf.

We are glad to read that all in all you had a pleasant holiday experience at our hotel and we thank you once more for sharing your opinion; it would be a great pleasure for us to serve you again on your next visit to Tenerife and please do not hesitate to contact us beforehand to arrange every detail of your stay.

Sincere Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

After some of the gripes we have seen about this hotel before our stay we would like to set the record straight by saying this is a wonderful place to stay. Our room was on the 4th floor and was perfect comfortable and spotless with a side sea view the rest of the hotel was so clean you could have a shave in the floors and glass stair banisters. All the staff maids waiters bar staff and animation team were friendly which made us feel welcome. Food quality and choice was excellent and varied. Outside the hotel were various bars and restaurants all good value too. Once again a wonderful holiday

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ita23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

We first would like to thank you for your loyalty and trust in our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel as well as for the time you spent to share your recent experience on Tripadvisor; we are thrilled to read that, once more, you thoroughly enjoyed your holidays with us.

Furthermore, our deepest desire being to offer comfortable accommodations, we enjoyed reading your description of the rooms that are designed to make our guests’ stay as pleasant as possible and we are grateful for your highlight on the cleanliness of our hotel and the efforts of our housekeeping to keep our installations and accommodations spotless at all times in order to guarantee our high standards related to hygiene and cleanliness which is one of the most important aspects for IBEROSTAR.

The passion for gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company, we greatly appreciate your praising comments on our restaurant where our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights.

Last but not least, we want to express our utmost gratitude for your amazing words towards our staff, as you well say their great attitude, genuine helpfulness and full commitment to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay at our hotel is definitely our main asset; we will certainly not miss this opportunity to congratulate them on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing throughout your stay among us.

Thank you again for your return visit and generous review; we hope you will return to Tenerife and provide us with another opportunity to service you in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Just returned from a 10 night A / I stay . We have stayed in this hotel many times and we love the location. Our first time A / I and we were not disappointed. Plenty of choice of food, which was displayed invitingly. Staff was friendly and helpful. The only down side was our room on the 7th floor. Badly in need of an updated, was very tired and dated. 4 star grading is stretched for the quality of the bedrooms. Lot of time wasted at the lifts, very busy 8.45 am and 7.30 avoid these times. We found out by accident that there is a lending library near to pool doors 10.30 - 11.30 good choice of books. You can also order your daily paper from the shop near reception. Very handy if you are disabled and enjoy your morning paper.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Ruth,

Thank you so much for your loyalty to our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel and for the time you took out of your day to share your first All Inclusive experience among us; we are very pleased to read we were able to meet your expectations.

We also took good note of your comment on our rooms and commit to revise the possibility to renovate our overall accommodations in the near future; however we would like to point out that we do our utmost to maintain all installations to their original standards thanks to the efforts of our maintenance and housekeeping services onsite.

On the other hand, we thank you for pointing out the genuine friendliness of our staff as well as our unbeatable location fronting the ocean and the quality of our buffets.

Thank you once more for making us your choice hotel when holidaying in Costa Adeje; we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
1.4 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
5,445 reviews
1.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
1.9 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#32 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Hotel Jardin Tropical
#21 of 57 in Costa Adeje
1,852 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#13 of 57 in Costa Adeje
689 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#20 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Bouganville Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Bouganville Playa

Property: Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Address: Eugenio Dominguez, 23 | San Eugenio Beach, 38679 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#12 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#16 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#31 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Bouganville Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel is like a good wine, improving over the years so you can experience something new during each stay. The stunning sea views, its location just four minutes’ walk from the beach, its huge main pool and the pleasures of the VIP area all mean that visitors like you return 3 or 4 times in the same year. Discover more reasons why you will also want to come back to one of the best hotels in south Tenerife. Endless relaxation. Whether you come as a couple or with your family, at this hotel in Tenerife you’ll have rooms with comfortable bedrooms and a balcony where you can feel the Atlantic breeze or breathe in the fresh mountain air. And best of all, at the IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa you can get to Playa del Bobo in the time it takes to finish an ice cream at the pool bar. Star Prestige. Would you like to enjoy a completely exclusive experience? Counting the bubbles in the whirlpool bath or stretching out on the Balinese beds after trying the sensations shower are just a few of the experiences you can enjoy in the Star Prestige adults-only rooms at your hotel in Tenerife. A delicious stay. You can’t leave the islands without trying the delicious Canary Island cuisine or indulging in the flavours from around the world in our restaurants. Our buffet will leave you lost for words! And if you want to unwind, try the classic honey rum or a drink of your choice in any of the bars of your hotel in Costa Adeje. Submerge yourself in the ocean. The calm seas at Playa del Bobo are perfect for little ones to go for a swim, while lying on the sand is the best way to take advantage of the average Canary Island temperature of 22ºC. And if you prefer to stay in the hotel, you can gaze at the Atlantic Ocean while swimming in the large main pool. Fun in the water. The local people love the beach and fruit so much that, besides the home-grown bananas, there are inflatable versions pulled around by speed boats! You’ll feel like you’re on an ocean-going roller coaster when you go on the banana boat. And there are many more water sports: surfing, windsurfing, sailing, jet-skiing, catamaran trips, fishing trips, etc. And on dry land, the youngsters dress up as their favourite characters or pretend to be lovable pirates searching for treasure in the Miniclub. And the grown-ups can enjoy activities from golf or fitness to archery. Fancy a romantic dinner? Don’t worry, you can do just that; there’s an evening babysitting service available so that couples can have some intimacy. Spectacular pools, both in terms of their size and their settings. At midday, you can’t miss the weekly show cooking of paella or Canary Island dishes performed outdoors by the head chef. And for the rest of the day, choose the sun lounger you like most and stay refreshed with a sorbet or ice cream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Iberostar Bouganville Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Bouganville Playa Hotel Costa Adeje
Iberostar Hotel Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Hotel Adeje
Bouganville Playa Tenerife
Iberostar Bouganville Playa Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing